Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Odelay

_Brian wrote: »
    So I "took care" of the wasps nest.

Access was bad to get enough spray onto it.
    In the end the plan was smash it with a large rock, and then spray it.

I have to say they did get a bit annoyed shortly after the rock stage and we had to beat a hasty retreat, I returned and sprayed what was left. About 40-50 wasps going mental isn't what I like to spend my evening at, I'll go back after work this evening and see but from what I read online the wasps will keep returning and be poisened by the spray.

If it were farther away from the house I'd have left it be and watched its progress over the summer but being only 20-25ft from my front door and kids about I couldn't risk leaving it.

I really thought there would be far more wasps about when I opened it, but it was probably early enough in the summer and they weren't up to full numbers.

There are more, but they're watching you, your every move, waiting for their moment for revenge....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Odelay wrote: »
    There are more, but they're watching you, your every move, waiting for their moment for revenge....

He's screwed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Reggie. wrote: »
    He's screwed :D

He'd be fine, sure he's from Cavan
    They're thick .... skinned up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Some morning here. Birthday party here later for a seven year old. Thank God it's dry so they can stay outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

unfortunately another sad farming accident,

please be careful folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Talking to a tillage farmer there now and farmers will no longer be allowed spray ghlyphosate on crops before harvest.
    This is coming from the crop merchants and crops will be inspected prior to harvest.

Some turn around from before with the spray manufacturers recommending it as an aid to harvest.

I have an idea where this is coming from though with the EU nearly banning it outright before.

I'd be in favour of this if it meant that it still could be used for it's original purpose which was to be used for total plant and weed destruction prior to ploughing or cultivation to provide a clean seedbed for the subsequent crop and not what was happening in the last decades or so of being used on crops intended for food production either animal or human but all ultimately going into the human food chain.

The fear of ghlyphosate entering the food chain was some rumours (I don't think there's any studies confirming it) of it causing problems to unborn children from the mothers eating cereal products from crops sprayed with ghlyphosate prior to harvest.
    By problems it was thought to be the whole spectrum of autism spectrum disorders.

So to have it stopped being sprayed now on crops for food production is a welcome compromise. I'd be far from a hippie (well I think I am) but it never stood well with me that crops were sprayed with roundup and then going for either cattle feed or human feed.
    Better be safe than sorry I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Talking to a tillage farmer there now and farmers will no longer be allowed spray ghlyphosate on crops before harvest.
    This is coming from the crop merchants and crops will be inspected prior to harvest.

Some turn around from before with the spray manufacturers recommending it as an aid to harvest.

I have an idea where this is coming from though with the EU nearly banning it outright before.

I'd be in favour of this if it meant that it still could be used for it's original purpose which was to be used for total plant and weed destruction prior to ploughing or cultivation to provide a clean seedbed for the subsequent crop and not what was happening in the last decades or so of being used on crops intended for food production either animal or human but all ultimately going into the human food chain.

The fear of ghlyphosate entering the food chain was some rumours (I don't think there's any studies confirming it) of it causing problems to unborn children from the mothers eating cereal products from crops sprayed with ghlyphosate prior to harvest.
    By problems it was thought to be the whole spectrum of autism spectrum disorders.

So to have it stopped being sprayed now on crops for food production is a welcome compromise. I'd be far from a hippie (well I think I am) but it never stood well with me that crops were sprayed with roundup and then going for either cattle feed or human feed.
    Better be safe than sorry I feel.
    It's a crock of shyte driven by an agenda and not science. It's easy for the who to come and say it dangerous who they suppress their evidence which says otherwise.
    https://www.reuters.com/article/us-glyphosate-cancer-data-specialreport-idUSKBN1951VZ?utm_campaign=Storylift+-+KL0DPZG0&utm_source=Storylift&utm_medium=KL0DPZG0&utm_content=A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Accepting the Reuters piece, Waffle, I'm still very wary of chemicals, even very small amounts, getting into the food chain.
    A lot of medications we humans take, only require a few mg of active ingredient to affect us.
    And I know we have all inhaled spray drift, cattle or fly dosing on our skin.
    Some of the lads who dipped sheep with the organo, were badly affected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

It's a crock of shyte driven by an agenda and not science. It's easy for the who to come and say it dangerous who they suppress their evidence which says otherwise.
    https://www.reuters.com/article/us-glyphosate-cancer-data-specialreport-idUSKBN1951VZ?utm_campaign=Storylift+-+KL0DPZG0&utm_source=Storylift&utm_medium=KL0DPZG0&utm_content=A

I'm not sure? There may be something to it.

http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/new-study-links-weed-killer-glyphosate-to-autism-300420821.html

But all i know tillage farmers selling to a certain merchant here are getting text messages now that they're not to spray glyphosate no where on the crops not even on the headlands near ditches or the corn won't be accepted.
    So it must be coming from further down the line and whoever buys from the merchants.

But i can't let this go without adding (proven) causes of autism.
    Obesity in pregnancy.
    Diabetes in pregnancy.
    Antibiotic use in pregnancy.
    Cesarians at birth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,681 ✭✭✭emaherx

orm0nd wrote: »
    unfortunately another sad farming accident,

please be careful folks

Reports say tractor and tanker rolled back and knocked him into the slurry tank. Check them hand brakes lads!

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I'm not sure? There may be something to it.

http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/new-study-links-weed-killer-glyphosate-to-autism-300420821.html

But all i know tillage farmers selling to a certain merchant here are getting text messages now that they're not to spray glyphosate no where on the crops not even on the headlands near ditches or the corn won't be accepted.
    So it must be coming from further down the line and whoever buys from the merchants.

But i can't let this go without adding (proven) causes of autism.
    Obesity in pregnancy.
    Diabetes in pregnancy.
    Antibiotic use in pregnancy.
    Cesarians at birth.
    I probably got taken up by you wrong, the only crop we dessicate ends up being burnt in engines anyway. We have the climate here for it generally though(or the grain facilities to cope!), you don't.
    It's underhanded back door tactics to push an agenda at what ever cost by a zealous few, none of the big governmental regulatory bodies have decided it's a problem when used as prescribed.
    Is it the lads out of Drinagh? They supply diageo don't they..

Splash plate ban won't be implemented according to Agriland article.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/splash-plates-are-in-the-clear-following-government-discussions/

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

emaherx wrote: »
    Splash plate ban won't be implemented according to Agriland article.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/splash-plates-are-in-the-clear-following-government-discussions/

Slightly different point. What can happen a farmer who still uses a upwards facing splash plate. Asking for a f...

I'm pretty sure they are put against a wall and shot :D

A fine I would imagine.

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I was going to spray a few clumps of nettles, but I see there might be rain not far away....

How long dry do you need after spraying for it to be taken in by the plant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I was going to spray a few clumps of nettles, but I see there might be rain not far away....

Hope you're not planning on harvesting them after spraying :P
    I've seen them get rain 20 mins after I sprayed and still got a kill but its probably not ideal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

emaherx wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure they are put against a wall and shot :D

A fine I would imagine.

I'll tell friend to avoid walls so.... for fear of getting shot.

Shur who fine me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

I usually try to keep them dry for an hour after spraying.

Not sure there'll be much rain down in WC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Still dry here - but we had a break-down :)

(Handle broke clean off the back pack sprayer) ;):(

So that's the end of that...

It'll be dry again tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Still dry here - but we had a break-down :)

(Handle broke clean off the back pack sprayer) ;):(

So that's the end of that...

knock off them weight sessions there john ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Have a grey crow here attacking the house every morning. Hard to get him with a shotgun. Just now I am after shooting one off the top of the fence beside the house. Wife got some fright with the bang off the gun at 5:45 in the bedroom. Hope it's the right crow now after the chewing I got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Some prices for tickets to see Ed Sheehan 81 to 91 plus booking fees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Grueller wrote: »
    Have a grey crow here attacking the house every morning. Hard to get him with a shotgun. Just now I am after shooting one off the top of the fence beside the house. Wife got some fright with the bang off the gun at 5:45 in the bedroom. Hope it's the right crow now after the chewing I got.

Brother lives next door to the farm. There's two tall spruce trees growing near where I keep the silage bales. I was asking him for ages to help me cut the tops off them , as I was afraid they fall on the silage bales. They swayed a lot in big winds.
    Anyway this jackdaw took up residence on top of one of them. He kept setting off the alarm in his house attacking his reflection on a back window. For a finish the brother ended up climbing the trees himself.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Parents have the same trouble. Setting off house alarm at 5/6 am. As for the bird crap on the Windows. Disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Grueller wrote: »

LMHO.... am l right in saying you brought the gun up and took shot from bedroom window? ... :D oh that's very funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I said wrote: »

My wife laughs everytime she hears his cheesy songs on the radio. Reckons he's dillusional. God help us, but he's no oil painting.....

https://www.google.ie/search?site=&source=hp&ei=KdBUWfv5HszMgAap8IKABA&q=ed+sheeran+songs&oq=ed+s&gs_l=mobile-gws-hp.1.4.0i131k1l5.3607.4209.0.6443.5.5.0.2.2.0.177.622.1j4.5.0....0...1.1j4.64.mobile-gws-hp..0.5.423.3..0j41.F85-Cg-2RTA#imgrc=z8c3NJPP82OZXM:&scso=uid_WVTQMQAEFZgKwAOKtwPqwg_29:1565

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I said wrote: »

No interest in him but fair play doing a tour of Ireland. The effort to go up to Dublin for every little thing. Twas mighty when Bruce Springsteen came to limerick, I was home and in bed 45 mins after the concert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 837 ✭✭✭ABlur

Muckit wrote: »

I've an ugly runty red bullock here who I named Ed Sheeran!