Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    If you can get good clear access to it, snip the branch its on and drop it into one of those really tough clear bin bags.

Tie the bag quick :D

Do this at night.

If wasps work like bees, you need to bring it at least 3 miles away.

It's near ground level, bought a tin of "wasp nest destroyer foam", I'm thinking with a name like that it should be what I need.
    Not sure my running is up to the job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

_Brian wrote: »
    It's near ground level, bought a tin of "wasp nest destroyer foam", I'm thinking with a name like that it should be what I need.

Do it at dusk just the same. They're all in for the night and they're less likely to see your ninja attack coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Dusk or dawn, when they are cold, smoke will subdue them too.

Cover up well, a bee suit is ideal but tuck your trousers into your socks wear gloves. They can sting through ordinary clothes so wet weather gear might be an idea.

A GOOD general always plans his escape. if you have the jeep nearby you might not have to run too far.

We need a live video, to educate the next person with this problem, just incase something should go wrong.

I cut into a big wasps nest in a bush with a slasher one time. I was chased down the field by the swarm, it took them a little bit to get organised but they could fly faster than I could run, but I outran them in the end. My head and arms were well stung. My mother used something called 'bluebag', it was used for whitening clothes , don't think it was much good for stings but turned me bright blue. I was sore for a couple of days. I carefully made a bonfire against the ditch, Paper and wax burns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

My mother used something called 'bluebag', it was used for whitening clothes , don't think it was much good for stings but turned me bright blue. I was sore for a couple of days. I carefully made a bonfire against the ditch, Paper and wax burns.

As a kid I got dotted with the blue bag as well!
    And if you got a burn, a violently purple cream called Gentian Violet was the remedy.
    Add in bottle of Hydrogen Peroxide, and that was the basic farm first aid kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

As a kid I got dotted with the blue bag as well!
    And if you got a burn, a violently purple cream called Gentian Violet was the remedy.
    Add in bottle of Hydrogen Peroxide, and that was the basic farm first aid kit.
    You forgot about the Iodine and TCP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Ah! The TCP!

Known in our house as Tom Cats Piss :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ah! The TCP!

Known in our house as Tom Cats Piss :D

It's a great job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    It's a great job.
    I love the smell of it.
    I must be weird :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Base price wrote: »
    I love the smell of it.
    I must be weird :eek:

That and germolene. Easily pleased I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

When ye are walking though your cattle do ye always have a stick? I'm wondering 'coz I was watching a neighbor the other day going through his cows and calves and bull with no stick. Was talking to him later about the bull and it turned out that the bull was a new one, so he didn't know the farmer nor did the farmer know what the bull was like. I thought this was fierce dangerous. I never go through mine without a stick even though I can scratch nearly every animal in the field.

I remember a story my mother told me about when she was a child - she got caught in a field with a bull roaring at her and pawing the ground and she managed to bluff him with a thistle. She waved it and it fooled him enough that she was able to get up on a ditch and get clear.

I know a stick isn't much protection if a bull wanted to plaster you against the fence but most cattle seem to respect them at the same time.

KatyMac wrote: »
    When ye are walking though your cattle do ye always have a stick? I'm wondering 'coz I was watching a neighbor the other day going through his cows and calves and bull with no stick. Was talking to him later about the bull and it turned out that the bull was a new one, so he didn't know the farmer nor did the farmer know what the bull was like. I thought this was fierce dangerous. I never go through mine without a stick even though I can scratch nearly every animal in the field.

I remember a story my mother told me about when she was a child - she got caught in a field with a bull roaring at her and pawing the ground and she managed to bluff him with a thistle. She waved it and it fooled him enough that she was able to get up on a ditch and get clear.

I know a stick isn't much protection if a bull wanted to plaster you against the fence but most cattle seem to respect them at the same time.
    I never go herding without my dogs - 2 rottweilers, a terrier and a setter. However I do bring a plant with me just in case :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I never go herding without my dogs - 2 rottweilers, a terrier and a setter. However I do bring a plant with me just in case :(
    Maybe your stock are use to your dogs, but I found (especially with sucklers) that dogs can agitate and attract attention from the stock

I done a shocking thing this evening....

I lit the fire. The evenings are bet.:-o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Not long till winter now!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Feck off. Ye'll get me depressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

Just like the Offaly football team:pac:

tanko wrote: »
    Just like the Offaly football team:pac:

In fairness I thought it wasn't a bad performance yesterday evening against Cavan. Only a weeks turnaround. Club championship back on in two weeks and a rake of underage stuff for the young buckos here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Same here. Open fire was lite and it was grand to see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

In fairness I thought it wasn't a bad performance yesterday evening against Cavan. Only a weeks turnaround. Club championship back on in two weeks and a rake of underage stuff for the young buckos here.

Ah I know, couldn't make it down myself. Tipp next for cavan, wouldn't be too confident about that one.

Maybe your stock are use to your dogs, but I found (especially with sucklers) that dogs can agitate and attract attention from the stock
    I kept a herd of 80 sucklers (PB and PBNR) and the dogs were an integral part of the farm. They still are today.

tanko wrote: »
    Ah I know, couldn't make it down myself. Tipp next for cavan, wouldn't be too confident about that one.

I think they announced tge attendance at 3300.

Your midfielder kicked 1-4 from play destroyed us.
    I saw Tipp in the league, I'd think Cavan will have a bit too much for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

What mineral lick would be high in copper? Just think ours are a bit low so am trying to find one. Best I can find is the Uniblock 'Beef Booster' followed by Calf to Beef & then High-mag. Thinking of telling dad to get both a Booster one & High-Mag.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

What mineral lick would be high in copper? Just think ours are a bit low so am trying to find one. Best I can find is the Uniblock 'Beef Booster' followed by Calf to Beef & then High-mag. Thinking of telling dad to get both a Booster one & High-Mag.

Just Bolus them. I even use a sheep Cu bolus on calves. Licks are a dear way to buy molasses.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Just Bolus them. I even use a sheep Cu bolus on calves. Licks are a dear way to buy molasses.

Too much hardship without a scoop, last time we bolused them we also busted open the vets finger and the pet vet had to stitch him up :o
    Also I'm only home every 2nd weekend now so not enough hands on deck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Too much hardship without a scoop, last time we bolused them we also busted open the vets finger and the pet vet had to stitch him up :o

highest copper lick is the copper5aday its in a square bucket

How's the heifer calf doing. Is her leg getting straight.

ganmo wrote: »
    highest copper lick is the copper5aday its in a square bucket

Thank you! Hadn't seen that on the uniblock website. Know of any stockists near Leitrim so I don't have to phone them?
    How's the heifer calf doing. Is her leg getting straight.

Doubt it'll ever be perfect, she's putting weight on too fast for it to heal. Will prob factory her quite young. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

http://mixrite.ie/portfolio/mixrite-copper-5-day/
    sorry no idea where you'd get it in letrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 795 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Bullock i bought 7 weeks ago who i was concerned was starting to look a little bullish lately decided to go walkabout at the weekend. Ended up with the neighbours pedigree charlois cows !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

_Brian wrote: »

So I "took care" of the wasps nest.

Access was bad to get enough spray onto it.
    In the end the plan was smash it with a large rock, and then spray it.

I have to say they did get a bit annoyed shortly after the rock stage and we had to beat a hasty retreat, I returned and sprayed what was left. About 40-50 wasps going mental isn't what I like to spend my evening at, I'll go back after work this evening and see but from what I read online the wasps will keep returning and be poisened by the spray.

If it were farther away from the house I'd have left it be and watched its progress over the summer but being only 20-25ft from my front door and kids about I couldn't risk leaving it.

I really thought there would be far more wasps about when I opened it, but it was probably early enough in the summer and they weren't up to full numbers.