would you be embarassed by fussy eating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,563 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Things are different to when I was growing up. If I didn't eat every scrap of what was put in front of me, I'd be made to stay at the table until I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,372 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Alun wrote: »
    Things are different to when I was growing up. If I didn't eat every scrap of what was put in front of me, I'd be made to stay at the table until I did.

did your parents constantly remind you that there were people starving in Africa that would really appreciate that food?

Absolutely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Anybody who uses ketchup is sub human scum to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

IrishZeus wrote: »
    ... Ordering from the kiddies menu in fluent French would have been a good way around it, if I had thought of it at the time!
    The only restaurants in France where I have seen children's menus are in places where they expect to cater for British and Irish families. In general, the French don't habituate their children to eating different meals from their parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Why do you even go to the Chinese or Indian restaurants if you're not going to eat Chinese or Indian?

....... wrote: »
    Because then they'd end up like my sister who, with 3 kids and a vegetarian husband ended up cooking 4 different meals every night. Life's too short for nonsense like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭davo2001

Yes, I would be embarrassed, it shows a lack of willingness to try new things and to be honest, looks immature.

You're not a child OP. (or are you?!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,111 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

what really annoys me is fussy eater but on the other end of the scale. the ones who wont eat basic food or take away etc. the everything has to be organic, gourmet level food types.
    I was at a friends house last week and we got grub from the local takeaway , I got a chip kebab tray and he got a taco fries.
    in comes a 3rd friend, she sits down and starts looking at the food. we all know its not Michelin star food but its perfectly good, she starts making faces, scobbing at it, then tells us how disgusting it is. she starts fake gagging like she will throw up,
    she totally ruined the food for us . If it was my house I would have tod her where to go

It honestly sounds like there's more going on with that person and food than food snobbery.

....... wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with offal ... we had it all growing up, heart, liver, kidneys, sweetbreads and I still cook it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,321 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I actually find fussy eaters to be people who are used to really good food/restaurants.. Their always complaining that food is to bland or over cooked and their used to so much better. The simple eaters I l know you can generally get them to order something small or plain and say we'll get chips on the way home if their hungry. Fussy eaters to me are people who complain that the food is never good enough unless their in a very good restaurant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I completely forgot that my dad is a incredibly fussy eater and he can be very embarrassing with it.
    So he doesn't like a lot of herbs, like anise, cumin, oregano, fennel and a few more. But his pet peeve is vinegar.
    Whenever you eat out there is a huge list he goes through "does it contain X and Y and Z". Especially bad abroad. My mother is fluent in spanish and when he visits and they go for food he demands someone translates for him and if you won't he throws a huge tantrum like a 4 year old. He'd also send a steak back 3 times until it's cremated, the only way he eats it.

He has such bad manners, it's difficult. And that from an educated man in a well-paying job in his early 50s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I don't mind liver but I wouldn't be mad about other internal organs. I also wouldn't be embarrassed by adult ordering nuggets and fries but I wouldn't want to be in a relationship with one. I am not a 'foodie' (I hate that expression) but I want variety in food, I love fish, I'm not scared of steak tatar and similar and I love vegetables. I don't see myself going to fast food joints when dining out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Lougarden

Robsweezie wrote: »
    i was at a meal in a chinese place when i was scoffed at for suggesting id just have the plain old rice, nuggets, chips. nothing serious, there was just a sense of ''is that all, you're not having that are you?'' it was just surprise that i wasnt having something more...exotic. thats all id have usually in the chinese, im not adventurous with it. better what you know, than some dish i cant pronounce that i wouldnt eat anyway,for the sake of it.

i was a ''fussy'' eater when i was younger and, in that id eat a different meal to the proper stuff parents would make.at weddings id be happier with nuggets and chips than the ''adult'' main course of meat,veg,whatever. i always felt a bit self conscious, not that i was made to that much.

would a loved ones eating habits embarrass you in company?is it disrespectful?say they get something off the kiddie menu at a wedding or whatever because its what they want, that ok with you?

There are a lot of comments so haven't read through all yet. If someone /family scoffs at you for eating and enjoying what you like then I'd politely say that you were here for the nice company and just not a huge foodie. I don't mind trying new food and eat a variety but I think if you didn't suit yourself to what you want off the menu you would end up leaving it behind and feeling worse/getting scoffed at for that too.

In a wedding scenario, I wouldn't ask for kiddies though..the meals are usually quite generic anyway so do try in that case. To get yourself more comfortable start at home and do try a new thing each week, it'll make your meals more enjoyable and much healthier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,372 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

All this talk of food is making me hungry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭The Diddakoi

Wouldn't bother me a bit if someone was a fussy eater. Surprises me greatly that people are actually bothered by this sort of thing.
    Trivial thing to be bothered by....what harm does it do to anyone else?
    How does not wanting to eat a certain type of food make one person inferior to another. Baffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,021 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

I was once in a cafe and a man in his 40s was at the next table. He ordered chicken, mash, peas and carrots. He sent it back because the mash and chicken were touching. They brought it back all in separate bowls which he also sent back saying it was the same food. I was dumbfounded by his behaviour. He also extremely rude to the staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭The Diddakoi

I was once in a cafe and a man in his 40s was at the next table. He ordered chicken, mash, peas and carrots. He sent it back because the mash and chicken were touching. They brought it back all in separate bowls which he also sent back saying it was the same food. I was dumbfounded by his behaviour. He also extremely rude to the staff.

A lot of people with an autistic spectrum disorder cannot stand their food to be touching.
    If he thought the same food was brought back, it would still seem "contaminated" to him, even though it was no longer touching.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

It was a huge PITA.

Bread?

(Gets coat :D )

Fussy eaters kinda annoy me. If you eat plain simple food, fair enough, but say at a wedding or something. You may not like everything on the plate. But surely there's SOMETHING on it you would eat?

My mother really irritates me, if she's over for dinner she'll ask for a small portion of something and will tell you 'keep going', so you add more to her plate and then she'll say, 'oh that's too much'. And you'll have to take some off. Just leave what you don't want on the plate? She doesn't eat steak, so the last time she came over I gave everyone steak and her chicken. She gave out because she didn't have the same as every one else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,797 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

astrofool wrote: »
    what really annoys me is fussy eater but on the other end of the scale. the ones who wont eat basic food or take away etc. the everything has to be organic, gourmet level food types.
    I was at a friends house last week and we got grub from the local takeaway , I got a chip kebab tray and he got a taco fries.
    in comes a 3rd friend, she sits down and starts looking at the food. we all know its not Michelin star food but its perfectly good, she starts making faces, scobbing at it, then tells us how disgusting it is. she starts fake gagging like she will throw up,
    she totally ruined the food for us . If it was my house I would have tod her where to go

It honestly sounds like there's more going on with that person and food than food snobbery.

What do you think is wrong with her.
    When she goes out for a meal with her husband "they" usually have to go to 5 restaurant s before she is happy with the menu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

ED E wrote: »
    Personally I'd be mortified if we sat down at a wedding and the OH asked for nuggets and chips.

I don't get this at all! What's the problem? My husband can be fussy in a strange way about food. He'd prefer a Big Mac to many other beautiful dishes. If he ordered nuggets and chips at a wedding I wouldn't blink an eye, he's a grown man who owes no explanation to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

he's a grown man who
    ..wants his blanky and his bop bop..

It's not really surprising that some people would prefer children's food, it's full of sugar and calories designed to get kids hooked for life.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,476 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Never got why the kiddies get the real shyte food on the menu.
    Seems to happen most often here in Ireland as well as the UK and the USA. Most other countries do cut down versions of adult food.

If I wanted to fill my kid's stomach with shite, I'd go to McDonald's.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,507 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

conorhal wrote: »
    I shouldn't laugh, but I can't help picturing you on a first date in a snooty French bistro as a waiter takes your order.

Soo for ze lady, the Escargots de Bourgogne starter, Coq au vin and for dessert, the panna cotta.....
    And for... Sir.. the eh... 'pettite bites of breaded poussin' ......with waffles, the same for your main and ah, jelly and icream for dessert? Yes, Hold the strawberrys.
    Can I send over the sommelier, I'm sure he can reccomend something to drink from our fine selection of TK lemonades perhaps?

The little chick penises would complement the tadpoles' arseholes wonderfully.

I don't get this at all! What's the problem? My husband can be fussy in a strange way about food. He'd prefer a Big Mac to many other beautiful dishes. If he ordered nuggets and chips at a wedding I wouldn't blink an eye, he's a grown man who owes no explanation to anyone.

Yes, well any adult who would be "mortified" at her husband choosing chicken and chips at a wedding dinner is something special. The poor man to be stuck with such a shallow vacuous insecure yoke who's more concerned about the thoughts of others than the feelings of the person she married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Yes, well any adult who would be "mortified" at her husband choosing chicken and chips at a wedding dinner is something special. The poor man to be stuck with such a shallow vacuous insecure yoke who's more concerned about the thoughts of others than the feelings of the person she married.
    Yeah I really don't get why anyone would be mortified over what someone else eats. It's only food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,204 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I don't have a problem with those who dislike/only like certain foods. If that is not on the menu where we are going, they don't go.

Or if they do go, they shut the feck up and don't make it all about them and their likes/dislikes and look at me, I can't eat that, waiter, have you got quinoa or salad with no dressing, or naked chicken, no carbs. You get the drift.

Drama llamas, no!, picky eater ok, I don't care they can eat what they want from the menu. But don't make it all about you and drive the waiter nuts. Don't go!

I have knocked many off our restaurant list, not because they dislike certain foods, but because they make such a fekkin drama out of it. No more.