Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

€2for a pint of diluted orange in the airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

whelan2 wrote: »
    €2for a pint of diluted orange in the airport

Jaysus- steep enough. I've have the misery of drinking pints at airports and I've yet to get a good one. Always make the mistake of ordering one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Jaysus, I can hardly remember back to when I was 17 :-)

11 years ago now, any novelty there used to be is well gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Jaysus- steep enough. I've have the misery of drinking pints at airports and I've yet to get a good one. Always make the mistake of ordering one.

Ha ha - you poor devil, tis a cruel ould world too Kollege ;)

:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Well Patsy McCabe what did you do with the weather balloon?

Donate to local school or anyone get back to you on it or eBay/Donedeal?

Contacted Met Eireann via their webpage and in fairness they e-mailed me the following day.
    What I found is a 'Radiosonde' type so not reusable. The ozone types have a €30 reward when you return them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Do not use it for that. Well you can if you want but the cow will be a lot harder to go back in calf.

Fairy liquid has no place in the cervix of a cow.

The father here used to be a fecker for using it and then wondering why cows wouldn't go in calf.:rolleyes:
    rangler1 wrote: »
    there's chemicals in it that has no place on the insides of a cow or ewe.
    If anything it'd take off the natural lubrication in the same way as the oil on your hands

I know, I know. Hinted twice at getting the proper lubricant. ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I know, I know. Hinted twice at getting the proper lubricant. ;)

Try Liquid Paraffin if you're stuck. A bit runny but does the trick.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Back to reality here after a long long week at silage. The long days seemed a lot easier when I was 17.

I saw the boy for breakfast this morning for the first time in a week or more. He has been frantic drawing silage since the beginning of the month with barely a day off - generally if I want to see him I work out which pit he is on and turn up to cover it.

He's beginning to look a bit knackered, but keen as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Was heading to Newcastle on a good Friday a number of years ago with a few friends to see another friend who was working over there, flight delayed for 8 hours and we were in the only place in cork where you could drink. Our group and 2 stag parties on flight, was well inebriated getting on the flight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

Young lads here got work for the summer after the junior cert.

Went yesterday morning at 8 don't know what time they came home last night. They were up a 6.30 this morning eating when I left, not back yet. Getting 12 euro an hour in the hand.

Wont be able to get them to do anything here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

dzer2 wrote: »

Went yesterday morning at 8 don't know what time they came home last night. They were up a 6.30 this morning eating when I left, not back yet. Getting 12 euro an hour in the hand.

That's the drawback alright.

That and suddenly going to the back of the silage queue because we are now "family".

Actually I'm thrilled with it - he's only 16 still and he is busy at everything from mowing to drawing to pushing up the odd pit as well as all the slurry work. He's enjoying the money but he says himself he'd pay to get the sort of experience he's getting if he had to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

kowtow wrote: »
    That's the drawback alright.

That and suddenly going to the back of the silage queue because we are now "family".

Actually I'm thrilled with it - he's only 16 still and he is busy at everything from mowing to drawing to pushing up the odd pit as well as all the slurry work. He's enjoying the money but he says himself he'd pay to get the sort of experience he's getting if he had to.

Think of all the years training we have done to get them to the level of competence where they are employable at 16. The place I work have being trying for 6 months to get people the latest lad gave up because he had to turn up 5 day a week. Only wanted to "work" (come in ) 4. He is 23 just out of college and hard set to wipe his arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Youngest and I spent a few hours at the Natural History Museum yesterday afternoon but we were disappointed when we went to the second floor and realised that the two upper mezzanine levels are still closed to the public :mad:
    The place was buzzing with tourists of all ages and I had to explain to a elderly German couple as to why they could not go up the stairs. It's feckin embarrassing and imo a bad reflection on the relevant Dept (Environment, Heritage and Local Government??) for not addressing the safety problems to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

What are they at? Driving is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mooooo wrote: »
    Was heading to Newcastle on a good Friday a number of years ago with a few friends to see another friend who was working over there, flight delayed for 8 hours and we were in the only place in cork where you could drink. Our group and 2 stag parties on flight, was well inebriated getting on the flight...

Myself and a few other lads were flying out to Kenya to visit a friend working there and had a stop over for 9 hours in Moscow because of cheap flights. We met a few more Irish on the flight and because there was nothing to do in the airport, we started buying beer in the shop.

By the time the flight was announced, we had a few pyramids of beer cans built and rebuilt in front of us.

One of the sickest times I ever had from beer but great craic while it lasted.

Couldn't do anything like that now thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Moscow is some shi#ehole of an airport. Remember being in it bout 15 yr ago and being in the Irish bar waiting on a flight to Hong Kong, got drinking with a few lads and very nearly missed the flight. Such ignorant people are the Russians, one Q for the bling ones and one Q for the rest of us. Had to endure the flight to HK with an American girl and ruskey solider beside me who had drank a bottle of chivas regal and then a bottle of Johnny walker between them ride each other in full view of everyone. No hurry back to peristokia.
    On a different note Thom Yorke has aged since Radiohead last played Glastonbury.

Fun evening. Tidying up a bit of fencing. Decided to drive a new line of stakes in a valley. Post driver on the 785. On way out- one of the stabilisers broke pushing the weight of the post driver shifting the weight, slipped into a soft area.

A tm125 couldn't pull me so had to get a track machine (hitachi 135) It struggled to get it out.

Got stuck at 5:30 and just out now.

Thank god for good neighbours and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Base price wrote: »
    Youngest and I spent a few hours at the Natural History Museum yesterday afternoon but we were disappointed when we went to the second floor and realised that the two upper mezzanine levels are still closed to the public :mad:
    The place was buzzing with tourists of all ages and I had to explain to a elderly German couple as to why they could not go up the stairs. It's feckin embarrassing and imo a bad reflection on the relevant Dept (Environment, Heritage and Local Government??) for not addressing the safety problems to date.

You should have dropped me a pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Mooooo wrote: »

Had a 17hr delay to Ibiza years ago flight was to be Saturday morning at 9 didn't get out till 2 sat night Sunday morning we where paralytic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Think of all the years training we have done to get them to the level of competence where they are employable at 16. The place I work have being trying for 6 months to get people the latest lad gave up because he had to turn up 5 day a week. Only wanted to "work" (come in ) 4. He is 23 just out of college and hard set to wipe his arse.
    Nearly impossible in the last few years to get a young lad or lassie around here interested in working with cattle. We had a super young lad who was interested in livestock that would come on most Saturdays and during school holidays. His parents are not farmers although they both come from farming families. He's a keen lad and would be phoning OH on a Tues/Wed night to see if we had a bit of work for him on the following Saturday. Either OH or I would phone his Mam/Dad to make sure that they were OK about him coming to work here each and every time.
    He passed his "W" theory test and got his provisional license earlier this year and we thought that he'd be off driving for one of the local contractors for the Summer. Not a chance, this lad is ambitious and he went on to do a Safe Pass course a few weeks ago. He is now working with a building contractor for the Summer months but has come to us for a few Saturdays to skip out the calve sheds/slatted unit and power hose the sheds.

Reggie. wrote: »
    You should have dropped me a pm
    Feck, I never thought about it - my bad :mad:

Nearly impossible in the last few years to get a young lad or lassie around here interested in working with cattle. We had a super young lad who was interested in livestock that would come on most Saturdays and during school holidays. His parents are not farmers although they both come from farming families. He's a keen lad and would be phoning OH on a Tues/Wed night to see if we had a bit of work for him on the following Saturday. Either OH or I would phone his Mam/Dad to make sure that they were OK about him coming to work here each and every time.
    He passed his "W" theory test and got his provisional license earlier this year and we thought that he'd be off driving for one of the local contractors for the Summer. Not a chance, this lad is ambitious and he went on to do a Safe Pass course a few weeks ago. He is now working with a building contractor for the Summer months but has come to us for a few Saturdays to skip out the calve sheds/slatted unit and power hose the sheds.

That's mighty to see. Always handy to have a bit of help but seeing enthusiasm gives great energy to the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Yea, we brought the kids when it reopened and I couldn't understand why after a year or more closed they couldn't have sorted all the problems out.
    Still, the "dead zoo" is a good trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Feck, I never thought about it - my bad :mad:

There ya go. If we timed it right I would have gotten ya to the upper levels. Half of it is up there

We are staying in a small campsite. There's a family from our village here. The mother teaches eldest lad in secondary school. Saw the louth jerseys on the kids and was wondering if we knew them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

We are staying in a small campsite. There's a family from our village here. The mother teaches eldest lad in secondary school. Saw the louth jerseys on the kids and was wondering if we knew them

Is that good or bad?

I dislike to meet people from home when am away... I would be a bit anti social tho in a way...

Is that good or bad?

I dislike to meet people from home when am away... I would be a bit anti social tho in a way...
    Just as well that I didn't eat the head off her at the parent teacher meeting. She is a brutal teacher. They are going home tomorrow. Interestingly she had been telling people at home she was going to Cannes for 3weeks. The campsite is a long way from Cannes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 795 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Just as well that I didn't eat the head off her at the parent teacher meeting. She is a brutal teacher. They are going home tomorrow. Interestingly she had been telling people at home she was going to Cannes for 3weeks. The campsite is a long way from Cannes

Now now !
    Maybe her geography isnt the best 😉

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Now now !
    Maybe her geography isnt the best 😉

Ha, we said funny a german teacher going to France on holidays. Eldest lad said she should have gone to Germany to brush up on her german

Wedding today. OH left me to organise the small lady to go to a miracle worker in town. Running around like a blue arse fly.

First pint of the day- dull the senses for the wedding ceremony