Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

If you leave any distance, some other gobdaw hops into it, thinking it's especially for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Got a bit of Johnny lynches mozzarella in Aldi today. Good stuff lads. Fair decks to him. Where would a man get a buffolo sirloin steak to try?

Not sure where Will. I don't know have they developed that market yet. Locally, in Cork some places would have buffalo burgers on the menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

ganmo wrote: »
    The m50 is a nightmare! I don't know how truck drivers do it.
    The main problem I see with it is drivers aren't thinking far enough ahead.
    Does your oh have a dash cam?

Definitely drivers seem to get onto the M50 and get into some sort of trance seeing no father than the back of the car in front, even if that.

Too much speed, not paying attention, poor lane discipline, short tempers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Willfarman wrote: »
    Got a bit of Johnny lynches mozzarella in Aldi today. Good stuff lads. Fair decks to him. Where would a man get a buffolo sirloin steak to try?

Twomey butchers in macroom have em o think, could ring see if they deliver anything

Good shout Mooo, along with the Wagu beef.
    Has an online shop, also in Bantry and Bandon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Willfarman wrote: »

If you are ever in Tayto park they have them there selling from a fridge in the gift shop. Didn't get them the last time I was there but will pick some up for myself and the kids next time. As a beef farmer I am disgusted to say that the wife doesn't eat red meat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

I am a clown BTW. Sitting here waiting on diesel. Let the f*cking tractor go dry and I hauling silage bales in. In my defence, the gauge told me I had about 1/8 of a tank left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

We have all done it! I bet she died in the most inopertune spot possible too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Home Breaking News
    Breaking News
    Mayo chemist pleads guilty to oversupplying Galway farm with medication
    By Our Reporter - June 21, 2017

A court has heard that a Co Mayo-based pharmacist “grossly over supplied” antibiotics and other prescription-only medication to an East Galway farm in September 2015
    Daragh Quinn of Quinn’s Chemist, Bridge Street, Crossmolina admitted to 34 breaches of Department of Agriculture regulations regarding the supply of animal remedies to a farm in Eyrecourt
    Castlebar District Court heard this week that Mr Quinn was over supplying antibiotics to farmer Richard Bourns of Lisbeg Farms, Eyrecourt which is one of the largest farms in Connacht.
    Giving an example of Mr Quinn’s practice Louis Riordan, a veterinary inspector with the Department of Agriculture said on one occasion he dispensed a total of 26 bottles of a certain antibiotic over a period of time despite the prescription being for six bottles.
    According to the Irish Times online Mr Quinn pleaded guilty to a number of breaches of the European Communities Animal Remedies regulations, including the supply of animal remedies without a valid prescription and falsely endorsing a prescription.
    While Mr Quinn admitted to the charges, he said his premises had been inspected by department officials on a previous occasion and his practices were never queried before then.
    Mr Riordan explained that it appeared that the vets had not inspected the animals before issuing the prescriptions and they were not cooperative during the investigation.
    While accepting Mr Quinn pleaded guilty, Judge Devins felt it would be difficult to find him guilty of some of the charges against him based on the evidence.
    She adjourned the closing submissions until September 12th in Ballina District Court.

Muckit down near you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Grueller wrote: »
    If you are ever in Tayto park they have them there selling from a fridge in the gift shop. Didn't get them the last time I was there but will pick some up for myself and the kids next time. As a beef farmer I am disgusted to say that the wife doesn't eat red meat....
    I think the buffalo meat sold in Tayto park is probably Bison (American Buffalo) http://www.taytopark.ie/zoo/buffalo as apposed to what John Lynch has which are Water Buffalo.
    Raymond Coyle (Tayto park/Largo foods) has kept a herd of American Buffalo (Bison) on his farm for over 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I said wrote: »

Muckit down near you?

A bit away but l know of the farmer mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Muckit wrote: »
    A bit away but l know of the farmer mentioned.

Bit closer my side. He's gotta fairly sizeable bloodstock operation over stateside!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Bit closer my side. He's gotta fairly sizeable bloodstock operation over stateside!

And has been in court for similar before ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Methinks the last post got lost in the wrong forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Mod note: spam deleted, BTJ

Me Thinks someone has misplaced a post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

rangler1 wrote: »
    Me Thinks someone has misplaced a post
    I reported it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    I reported it
    Thanks for that, there's a bit of that going on today so best to just report and ignore.

Finally got the last of the money owed to me for calves this year, the dick had the cheek to ask me had I any culls for sale :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Finally got the last of the money owed to me for calves this year, the dick had the cheek to ask me had I any culls for sale :cool:

Sorry about that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Ah jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Grueller wrote: »
    I am a clown BTW. Sitting here waiting on diesel. Let the f*cking tractor go dry and I hauling silage bales in. In my defence, the gauge told me I had about 1/8 of a tank left.

Ha! Same happened me today. Drawing in silage bales. Gauge is gone in tractor. Noticed tractor starting to miss a bit about a mile form the house. Made it home and parked up. Filled it with diesel and it wouldn't start. Had to bleed it.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

My niece is 6 in a week and she keeps asking me what am I getting her. I keep answering with really boring book names, like
    "The contribution of the four stroke internal combustion engine to 20th century Ireland"

Or "A historical overview of the colour brown"

The look of disappointment is well worth it. (I got her walkie talkies which I know she will enjoy so the tormenting will be worth it for her.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

rangler1 wrote: »
    And has been in court for similar before ;)

Yup and wasnt he on tv lately aswell

No offence Whelan or other dairy farmers, but why do you not insist on payment at collection. We buy our calves ex farm and normally pay by cash, unless its a regular customer. Some people have a problem paying with cash but it's not an issue as long as you keep records, with calves the blue card acts as a receipt of sorts as it records where you purchased them from.
    I appreciate that "agents" buy dairy bull calves ex farm (on commission) for export shippers but unless the export shipping firm has a record/sound financial history then you may as well kiss your arse goodbye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I wouldn't mind a shower of rain :P I forget what my bed looks like after the last 2 weeks.

I said wrote: »
    Home Breaking News
    Breaking News
    Mayo chemist pleads guilty to oversupplying Galway farm with medication
    By Our Reporter - June 21, 2017

A court has heard that a Co Mayo-based pharmacist “grossly over supplied” antibiotics and other prescription-only medication to an East Galway farm in September 2015
    Daragh Quinn of Quinn’s Chemist, Bridge Street, Crossmolina admitted to 34 breaches of Department of Agriculture regulations regarding the supply of animal remedies to a farm in Eyrecourt
    Castlebar District Court heard this week that Mr Quinn was over supplying antibiotics to farmer Richard Bourns of Lisbeg Farms, Eyrecourt which is one of the largest farms in Connacht.
    Giving an example of Mr Quinn’s practice Louis Riordan, a veterinary inspector with the Department of Agriculture said on one occasion he dispensed a total of 26 bottles of a certain antibiotic over a period of time despite the prescription being for six bottles.
    According to the Irish Times online Mr Quinn pleaded guilty to a number of breaches of the European Communities Animal Remedies regulations, including the supply of animal remedies without a valid prescription and falsely endorsing a prescription.
    While Mr Quinn admitted to the charges, he said his premises had been inspected by department officials on a previous occasion and his practices were never queried before then.
    Mr Riordan explained that it appeared that the vets had not inspected the animals before issuing the prescriptions and they were not cooperative during the investigation.
    While accepting Mr Quinn pleaded guilty, Judge Devins felt it would be difficult to find him guilty of some of the charges against him based on the evidence.
    She adjourned the closing submissions until September 12th in Ballina District Court.

Muckit down near you?
    When I started rearing calves in 1982 you could purchase antibiotics and doses from the local chemist without a prescription.
    If my memory severs me correctly, the first meds restriction was over the counter sales of hormone implants like Ralgro and Feneplex (sp) in the early 90's. Since then the regulations have become stricter and long may it continue.
    If any livestock farmer can't afford to pay the Vet for consultation/prescription then they should quit.
    Why should I and my Vet adhere to the rules whilst others feel that they can flaunt them.

Base price wrote: »
    No offence Whelan or other dairy farmers, but why do you not insist on payment at collection. We buy our calves ex farm and normally pay by cash, unless its a regular customer. Some people have a problem paying with cash but it's not an issue as long as you keep records, with calves the blue card acts as a receipt of sorts as it records where you purchased them from.
    I appreciate that "agents" buy dairy bull calves ex farm (on commission) for export shippers but unless the export shipping firm has a record/sound financial history then you may as well kiss your arse goodbye.
    This lad has bought calves from me this last few years, has always been cash when loaded. This year though his other job has collapsed. He started this crap of giving me a small bit and saying I will have the rest for you next week . He wont be getting any more stock from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Ha! Same happened me today. Drawing in silage bales. Gauge is gone in tractor. Noticed tractor starting to miss a bit about a mile form the house. Made it home and parked up. Filled it with diesel and it wouldn't start. Had to bleed it.:mad:

You should have left her running!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Muckit wrote: »
    You should have left her running!

Ah well. You live and learn. Couldn't believe I made it home to be honest.