Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

excellent performance by eimhin courtney as the townies easily progress to round two of the championship pattering starting to develop between the strong and weaker teams already in the championship , clondegad v kilkee likley to throw up a similar scoreline while cratloe v ennistymon should be more competitive tonight

https://twitter.com/EireOgInisGAA/status/876445285186232322

comfortable win as expected for clondegad , brain fart by the county board to put this game on at the same time as the hurling in thurles , especially considering several inter county hurlers are tied up with clondegad

https://twitter.com/BrennanEoin/status/876463187746578432

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Will have to book early for the Munster final tickets. Cork are going to bring an enormous crowd to Thurles on the 9th of July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

letowski wrote: »
    Will have to book early for the Munster final tickets. Cork are going to bring an enormous crowd to Thurles on the 9th of July.

Is it definitely Thurles?

heard talk of it being in limerick but the gaa will probably pick thurles , it holds the bigger capacity which cork will bring a huge crowd , also i imagine there will be an above average clare support especially if the minors beat limerick next week in there semi final

Yeah not definiete

You will have to think so, given Thurles has a bigger capacity than the GG and Cork will pack it out. PUC is out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

It's gonna be in Thurles. We're back and coming for ye lads!!!

Mahony0509 wrote: »

Has the making for a great game. Looking forward to it!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Replay of the 1999 final when Clare's free taking cost them the day imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I saw Lehane limped off after injuring his ankle again. It'd be a big loss for Cork if he doesn't make it.

Mahony0509 wrote: »

Definitely prefer to play ye while ye are favourites . Ye can be a far more dangerous obstacle when ye are underdogs

Regardless of the venue it will be like a home game for ye . I expect ye to bring close to 30000 the hype is very much back in cork

Clareman wrote: »

First thing I taught about this evening after the game . We were probably coming to the end of that era at the time while cork were starting out with a great team

Final game in the club championship this weekend sees cratloe advance to the winners round .expect to see more of ennistymon at the latter stages of the championship

https://twitter.com/CratloeGAAClub/status/876513582967656449

Confirmation of venue as expected thurles it is

https://twitter.com/MunsterGAA/status/876478711385772033

Confirmation of venue as expected thurles it is

https://twitter.com/MunsterGAA/status/876478711385772033

I know Cork will bring a huge support, but there should be no reason for Clare not to have 18-20k too. Like where else would a Clare person rather be that day only in Thurles. We rarely make MSH Final, and this has the makings of a really great game.

I for one just can't wait for it anyway. Hopefully the minors win on the 28th also.

letowski wrote: »
    I know Cork will bring a huge support, but there should be no reason for Clare not to have 18-20k too. Like where else would a Clare person rather be that day only in Thurles. We rarely make MSH Final, and this has the makings of a really great game.

I for one just can't wait for it anyway. Hopefully the minors win on the 28th also.

I hope we do but fact is our support is gone to ****e in recent years . Even in bad times cork bring huge support . Great incentive now for the minors to win Wednesday week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

I was there that day, shocking seat nearly on the Killinan End line.

Can't fecking wait for it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

county champions kilmurry showed exactly why changes needed to be made in the football championship 5 teams been relegated next year with a facile win over wolfe tones , keelan sexton scored 3-7 while missing 2 penalties last night

the biggest worry for clare club football is there are worse teams in the senior championship then wolfe tones at the moment ,and expect smular scorline in one or two games today today

o'currys beat newly promoted kilfenora last night while cooraclare beat st breckans and lissycasey beat doora/barefield today in much closer ties

https://twitter.com/Westclarepage/status/876157937420578817

https://twitter.com/muirioch/status/876159886534467584

https://twitter.com/Westclarepage/status/876417208263606272

https://twitter.com/DooraBarefield/status/876422262953521153

When is junior football championship starting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Clareforliam17

Lads what is the story regarding some of Clare's minor footballers as regards to availability for their clubs this past weekend. Was it the case that the Clare minor football management put a gun to the heads of players about playing for their clubs? I know that the players along with their parents were furious and upset over the whole thing. This is the last thing that the Clare minors need ahead of the Kerry match on July 2nd. It paints the management in a very bad light me thinks. Finally can anyone confirm regarding the 13 day rule. Does it apply to minor players?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

13 day rule applies to everybody. As the Leaving Cert is on at the moment I don't think minors should have been expected to be playing at the weekend anyway.

The footballers are away to Laois in the championship, I'd expect they'll be favorites for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

13 day rule applies to everybody. As the Leaving Cert is on at the moment I don't think minors should have been expected to be playing at the weekend anyway.

But wouldn't that rule only kick in today?

No idea to be honest, don't know anything about that's happening, just think that the 13 day rule can be enforced at all levels.

Gael85 wrote: »
    When is junior football championship starting?

I think it's next week they are down for . Senior and junior are usually played on separate weekends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Draw for next round of the club hurling and football championships was just made.

Standout game would have to be ballyea v the bridge in the hurling.

Hurling winners group
    Ballyea v bridge
    Eire og v whitegate
    Inamona v clonlara
    Barefield v Newmarket

Losers group
    Cratloe v crusheen
    Tulla v clarecastle
    Clooney v feakle
    Mills v tones

Football winners group
    Eire og v cratloe
    Clonegad v lissycasey
    Kib v o currys
    Doonbeg v cootaclare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,060 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Clondegad Lissycasey should be entertaining for local bragging rights.

bit of a strange one alright , clondegad are in the lissycasey parish , yet there are several players coming in from the ballyea area which is in the clarecastle parish

given clondegad's recent success from junior to senior there probably is not that much of a rivalry between the two clubs in fact the two were always synonymous with fergus rovers ladies football down through the years

very tough one to call lissycasey seem to be improving in a big way , there championship exit to killmurry was a write off last year when the club was hit with a tragedy, i expect them to go far closer this year , think they are better then clondegad at the moment

Draw for next round of the club hurling and football championships was just made.

Hurling winners group
    Ballyea v bridge
    Eire og v whitegate
    Inamona v clonlara
    Barefield v Newmarket

Losers group
    Cratloe v crusheen
    Tulla v clarecastle
    Clooney v feakle
    Mills v tones

Football winners group
    Eire og v cratloe
    Clonegad v lissycasey
    Kib v o currys
    Doonbeg v cootaclare

off the top of my head from the first round games i would say

sixmileridge
    eire og
    clonlara
    barefield

cratloe
    tulla
    feakle
    tones

think the magpies and the mills could be in big trouble in the relegation stakes, feel maybe clooney will avoid the drop as they probably expected to be in the mix at the start of the year anyway

other then kilmurry in the football all other ties are going to be very close

Lads what is the story regarding some of Clare's minor footballers as regards to availability for their clubs this past weekend. Was it the case that the Clare minor football management put a gun to the heads of players about playing for their clubs? I know that the players along with their parents were furious and upset over the whole thing. This is the last thing that the Clare minors need ahead of the Kerry match on July 2nd. It paints the management in a very bad light me thinks. Finally can anyone confirm regarding the 13 day rule. Does it apply to minor players?

i believe there is more to it then that . think one club in particular tried to put a stop to two of there players playing in the munster final as they had not committed enough to there club a few weeks back , thats where the sour taste has come from

not going to go into the in's and outs of the situation , its not fair on the lads on the panel , but a number of people in a club in the west should hang there heads in shame over there behavior , same ****e if you ask me as always , first time in 20 plus years we have a team in the minor final and someone has to stick in the boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Boots234

Hurling winners group
    Ballyea v bridge
    Eire og v whitegate
    Inamona v clonlara
    Barefield v Newmarket

Losers group
    Cratloe v crusheen
    Tulla v clarecastle
    Clooney v feakle
    Mills v tones

Football winners group
    Eire og v cratloe
    Clonegad v lissycasey
    Kib v o currys
    Doonbeg v cootaclare

In the losers group in the football it's:
    Kilfenora v St Joseph’s Doora Barefield
    Ennistymon v Kilkee
    Wolfe Tones v Corofin
    St Breckan’s v St Joseph’s Miltown

How many teams are being relegated to intermediate football this year?