Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

This is great news especially for those who guaranteed it would never ever happen:D

The sky will not fall on August 26 and the 2 sports will not be damaged in the slightest at this "fight". Both will walk away laughing and with 9 figures as that what it is all about and no pretense about it.

Height, weight, reach, age, experience, stance etc are as meaningless here as the betting and comparing with sports. Mayweather is the A side for very valid reasons.

I wouldnt go near it but will watch it as it will be fascinating. No doubting the winner whatsoever but am interested how long it will last.

Honestly dont understand how any Irish person wants to see Conor badly injured but I dont understand hatred generally as it says more about those spouting hatred.

As they say here a ****show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Conor via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    And for the record Conor deserves a lot of credit to step in the ring in a sport that is not his to challenge a career veteran. It is, after all D toughest sport on earth..

ah it's not though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭17togo

Floyd via DQ
    Lots being said about the age difference and what kind of condition Mayweather will be in. But klitschko is 41 and fought Joshua who is 27/28. Vlad looked in unreal shape and condition and was very close to winning. He had also been out of the ring for 18ish month, didn't he?! Age won't matter in my opinion.

Apologies if this point was made already, there's way too many post to go through at 3am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,432 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Jesus Wept wrote: »
    ah it's not though.

It is though..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Wow, people actually think McGregor will beat Floyd ? Are you delusional ?

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I think it's worth pointing out Jason Quigley and Conor have been pretty good friends since at least late 2013 and Jason trained with Conor a fair bit in the lead-up to Conor's fight with Chad Mendes in 2015.

It's *a lot* easier to root for a friend.

Friend or not the claim seems plain stupid. Not sure he even based it off anything clever. Just flat out baseless kind of claim..

Thinking about Conor's chances...his best chance to win is some non boxing type scenario like a freak injury to Mayweather or a DQ win...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Conor via DQ

Not going through this car-crash of a thread but I doubt highly anyone has argued or believes conor will win this fight, what people are arguing is that he can, which, objectively, is true, two guys in a ring throwing punches at each other anything can happen. However unlikely a possibility it is that conor connects with floyd's chin and puts him out its still a possibility. This unpredictability is the whole point of sports, any team/competitor can win on any given day, all this bs just takes the fun out of the whole thing, lot of lads in here could really do with getting over themselves.

Conor via DQ
    Friend or not the claim seems plain stupid. Not sure he even based it off anything clever. Just flat out baseless kind of claim..

Thinking about Conor's chances...his best chance to win is some non boxing type scenario like a freak injury to Mayweather or a DQ win...

outside of a tiny few involved in training of the two guys etc, no-one saying anything about this fight is based off anything clever, for most of us we have zero info to go off of outside of biased pre-conceptions. As far as 99% of us know conors been sparring pure boxing twice a day behind closed doors for the past ten years, or he might have never done it. Too many lads getting ahead of themselves getting over-confident one way or another with essentially nothing to base it off.

Floyd via KO-TKO

They are more wondering/hoping. That hope being a hail mary shot...

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Depp wrote: »
    with essentially nothing to base it off.

Would you say those backing Floyd with confidence are getting ahead of themselves?

Surely a career pro boxer who is one of the best of his generation getting a W against a non pro boxer, and folks being confident that he does is not getting ahead of ourselves?

Conor via DQ
    Would you say those backing Floyd with confidence are getting ahead of themselves?

Surely a career pro boxer who is one of the best of his generation getting a W against a non pro boxer, and folks being confident that he does is not getting ahead of ourselves?

You can be confident all you like but that doesn't make you right. Look think what you want to think thats where the enjoyment of stuff like this comes from, but while he might not have a pro-record you haven't a brown notion what conors like as a boxer so stop pretending that you do. For all any of us know he could be the goat in hiding or he could be absolute shite, not directed at you personally but there are a lot of armchair experts in here and you'd swear from reading some of them they've been present for every round of sparring the man has done they know so much about his skill level, if you're at that you definitely need to get a hold of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

You can be confident all you like but that doesn't make you right. Look think what you want to think thats where the enjoyment of stuff like this comes from, but while he might not have a pro-record you haven't a brown notion what conors like as a boxer so stop pretending that you do. For all any of us know he could be the goat in hiding or he could be absolute shite, not directed at you personally but there are a lot of armchair experts in here and you'd swear from reading some of them they've been present for every round of sparring the man has done they know so much about his skill level, if you're at that you definitely need to get a hold of yourself.

Max Kellerman was making the point that you can assume Conor is the most naturally gifted, naturally talented boxer that ever walked the earth, he still has zero shot. Kellerman was saying that experience counts for so much, he gave a few examples that I just can't remember right now.

Hell look at Lomachenko, arguably the greatest amateur fighter of all time, and he gets beat by a good/very good fighter in his 2nd pro bout. Experience counts for so much, that is why you see Olympic Gold medalists typically being brought through learning fights in the pro game.

Floyd via KO-TKO

No offence but you are going way off logic here. Could be this, could be that......It's beyond fence sitting.....

Conor has one hope (barring a "non boxing" hope like injury or DQ) and that is a hail mary.

Other than the hail mary he has 0 chance to win on points, unless Floyd is in on a fix to allow him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    Even a hail mary shot .

Dont think he will have one punch KO power in boxing .

For instance , it would pale in comparison to the right Mosley caught Floyd with .

Conor via DQ
    No offence but you are going way off logic here. Could be this, could be that......It's beyond fence sitting.....

Conor has one hope (barring a "non boxing" hope like injury or DQ) and that is a hail mary.

Other than the hail mary he has 0 chance to win on points, unless Floyd is in on a fix to allow him.

If you actually believe either man would risk a fix in something this high profile you're more deluded than the guy coming out 100% confident conor puts floyd down in the first

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Even a hail mary shot .

For instance , it would pale in comparison to the right Mosley caught Floyd with .

Those two shots in rd 2 stood out for me.

Cono'r hail mary would need to be perfect. I just cannot see his delivery resulting in the shot knocking Mayweather out, or badly hurting him.

I know, some very innocuous and less than dynamite shots have knocked out men. It's not an exact science. Can depend on several things.

Mayweather on fight night could be really off, maybe unwell, and a lucky shot does a lot more damage than it would normally do if he is fit and healthy.

So many permutations.

The main one being is this a legitimate above board fight?

I will only call it after the event. Anyone being really confident or certain before the fight is a little naive in my book.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    If you actually believe either man would risk a fix in something this high profile you're more deluded than the guy coming out 100% confident conor puts floyd down in the first

I don't believe anything. That is my whole point, and until the event happens/finishes nobody should.

It's a novelty act. The very nature of it will arouse suspicion. If people cannot see this then good luck..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭chin nuts

Even a hail mary shot .

That right hand 7 years ago by a 38 year old Mosley at 147lb would pale in comparison to a left from McGregor?? that is some nonsense your talking. Now I don't think for one minute McGregor will win but to absolutely dismiss his punch power is just ridiculous

Floyd via DQ
    ...................... As far as 99% of us know conors been sparring pure boxing twice a day behind closed doors for the past ten years, or he might have never done it. Too many lads getting ahead of themselves getting over-confident one way or another with essentially nothing to base it off.

Well he trained in Crumlin boxing club for years up to when he was 17.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    chin nuts wrote: »
    That right hand 7 years ago by a 38 year old Mosley at 147lb would pale in comparison to a left from McGregor?? that is some nonsense your talking. Now I don't think for one minute McGregor will win but to absolutely dismiss his punch power is just ridiculous

Can you verify that Mosley, a known puncher with power, a career boxer delivering a boxing punch after years of technique and perfection pales in comparison to a non boxer who has never shown or proved KO power in the pro boxing ring?

Conor via DQ
    I don't believe anything. That is my whole point, and until the event happens/finishes nobody should.

It's a novelty act. The very nature of it will arouse suspicion. If people cannot see this then good luck..

you do realize even if you do consider it a ''novelty act'' the same legal sanctions still exist for a fix? anyone who honestly thinks a guy with 400mil in the bank would risk one of the greatest legacies in the history of the sport for another 100mil is an idiot. Also stinks of someone scrambling to have their excuse pre-loaded in the off-chance conor does pull off a miracle.

Conor via DQ
    Can you verify that Mosley, a known puncher with power, a career boxer delivering a boxing punch after years of technique and perfection pales in comparison to a non boxer who has never shown or proved KO power in the pro boxing ring?

do the laws of physics work differently in a boxing ring than they do in an mma cage or something? :D:D say what you like about technique but power is power no need to be silly.

Conor on points

Im sorry but Mosleys power would be a different world entirely

Floyd via KO-TKO
    do the laws of physics work differently in a boxing ring than they do in an mma cage or something? :D:D say what you like about technique but power is power no need to be silly.

See, that is where the nuances can be lost. It's not simply a case of power is power. MMA striking and boxing striking are not the same. Similar, yes.

As it stands all we know is that to date Conor's power is untested in the pro boxing ring. That is fact!

Power and delivery are two very important areas. Sometimes they need to coexist!

I really shouldn't have to be explaining this...

Floyd via KO-TKO
    you do realize even if you do consider it a ''novelty act'' the same legal sanctions still exist for a fix? anyone who honestly thinks a guy with 400mil in the bank would risk one of the greatest legacies in the history of the sport for another 100mil is an idiot. Also stinks of someone scrambling to have their excuse pre-loaded in the off-chance conor does pull off a miracle.

I can't be clearer.

Anyone being really confident/certain that this is all legit and above board where both me are free to try their best to win within the rules IMO are being a little naive.

Not saying it won't turn out to be the case, just that the fact i's a novelty act should arouse suspicion.

Conor on points
    People are really delusional . Even looking at a journeyman boxer on pads compared to an elite MMA striker is miles and miles apart . Just go on youtube and have a look at it .

The speed, accuracy and power is just next level. They are experts in their field . Anyone who cant see that is deluded .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭chin nuts

Where did I say that Mosley power's pales in comparison to McGregor??
    What I'm saying is that McGregor is a much bigger guy, is younger and is fighting a guy a decade older. He's dropped guys at 170lb with that left hand but you think it won't have an effect on floyd because he's a boxer??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,099 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Floyd via DQ
    The only way Conor wins is an early stoppage.

Backed him at 10/1 with PP in Rds 1-3.

8/1 on KO, and 9/1 on TKO.

If it goes longer than three rounds, then Floyd takes it easily.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Where did I say that Mosley power's pales in comparison to McGregor??
    What I'm saying is that McGregor is a much bigger guy, is younger and is fighting a guy a decade older. He's dropped guys at 170lb with that left hand but you think it won't have an effect on floyd because he's a boxer??

I never said it wouldn't have an affect.

And, if you are not saying that Mosley's shot pales in comparison to Conor's then grand. Nothing to see here.

Conor on points
    The only way Conor wins is an early stoppage.

Backed him at 10/1 with PP in Rds 1-3.

9/1 on KO, and 8/1 on TKO.

If it goes longer than three rounds, then Floyd takes it easily.

I'd say Floyd and Conor are delighted you think that way