Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sets of faahve

• Registered Users Posts: 17,470 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

June 9. Heavy day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    135kg x 1
    142.5kg x 5

Was fecked by the end of this. Form felt inconsistent but never any fear of failing.

I'm soooo glad I dialed back Monday's volume. The 120kg warmup today felt considerably lighter than the 122.5kgs a few days ago. Not 2.5kg lighter, but felt about 10-20kg lighter. I could have done 5x5 instead of 5x3 but I knew my legs were already fatigued. Glad my instincts were correct.

OHP:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 1
    57.5kg x 5

New 5RM, +1.5kg. Reps felt heavy but I felt strong.

Deadlift:
    50kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    70kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    * belt *
    130kg x 2
    152.5kg x 5

Spent some extra time recording my warmup sets to ensure form was good. Extra 50kg set was because I forgot to switch from photo to video so took a selfie of my t-shirt instead. Smrt.

The main thing I realised was my shoulder locking was off recently. I had a tendency to shrug a little when trying to tighten my upper back which meant my elbows were going up in a half-row when pulling. Also, it meant I was pulling myself further down so was essentially pulling at a deficit, which may have contributed to me finding it hard to set up with a straight back. As a result, all 5 reps felt solid. Usually my 5th rep was terrible due to being tired, but not today.

Good session.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Oh i did the bendy elbow at one stage as well. Oops

June 12. Volume day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * belt *
    100kg x 3
    115kg x 1
    125kg x 5
    125kg x 5
    125kg x 5
    125kg x 5
    125kg x 5

These took forever. Felt like death. But with last week's temporary drop in volume, I couldn't afford to chicken out and drop volume/weight this week. Just rested long enough between sets to ensure everything got done. And form felt solid.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 3
    70kg x 3
    75kg x 1
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5

Was afraid of failing these due to how last Wednesday felt, but they were fine actually. Last Wednesday must have been a bad day. No fear of failing any of these and form felt solid.

Power clean:
    20kg x 7 (hang clean)
    30kg x 7 (hang clean)
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 1
    50kg x 1
    55kg x 1
    60kg x 1

Didn't have time to do 5x3 @45kg quickly so did some singles to see where my strength was at. 60kg would have been a +15kg PB and there was more in the tank. But power cleans are the most unimportant aspect of this program so I don't really care that much.

Good day, but took forever. In the gym for almost 2 hours. Boss probably won't be happy.

June 14. Recovery day

Aaalll the mobility. Upper hamstrings and glutes in bits

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5

OHP:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5

Glute-ham raise:

Can't believe I'm able to bang out reps whereas before last week, they made me cry. It's at the point where I'm probably cheating them somehow. I know my posterior chain is strong isn't lagging, but this is a bit weird. Might just slow the descent to 5 seconds or something to get some extra burn next week.

Pullup:

Grand day

June 16. Heavy day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    135kg x 1
    145kg x 5

Matched my 5RM. The 135 felt really heavy, to the point that I doubted I'd get the 145. But my "shut up and lift" mentality kicked in and I got the reps done. Slow and grindy, but form otherwise felt solid.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    65kg x 5
    75kg x 3
    85kg x 1
    90kg x 5

New 5RM. This was the weight I failed 2 weeks ago so am delighted to get it. Last rep was sloooww, but don't care.

Deadlift:
    40kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    * belt *
    130kg x 2
    145kg x 1
    155kg x 5

Recorded my warmup sets again to make sure form was solid from the start. Bendy elbows crept in but when I concentrated on keeping my arms straight, my entire body felt more solid. All 5 reps felt solid and not grindy, but still felt heavy. Happy.

Good day, all things considered.

June 19. Volume day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 1
    127.5kg x 5
    127.5kg x 5
    127.5kg x 5
    127.5kg x 5
    127.5kg x 5

Flew through warmups as everything felt solid from the start. 3rd work set was awful as I didn't unrack properly. Should have reracked and put the bar on my back properly, but you live, you learn. Considering the heat, I thought it would be worse.

OHP:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 1
    51kg x 5
    51kg x 5
    51kg x 5
    51kg x 5
    51kg x 5

Every single set was difficult to finish. The last 1-2 reps were all grindy.

Power clean:
    20kg x 6 (hang clean)
    30kg x 3 (hang clean)
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    50kg x 4

Was short for time so didn't get to finish these. the 50kg sets were a bit crap though. Either pulled too hard and hit my neck off the bar or didn't drop into catch position properly, resulting in a pseudo curl to finish. At least they didn't feel weak.

Grand day. Compared to last week, time spent in the gym was an improvement at around 1h30.

June 21. Recovery day

Performed approx 244 gigadoms of mobility. Legs were in bits

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    102.5kg x 5
    102.5kg x 5

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    65kg x 5
    65kg x 5
    65kg x 5

GHR:

Trying to both slow the descent and increase reps from 10 to 12 in the same session was a bad idea. Was tired in 2nd set and came close to cramping in 3rd set.

Pullup:

Just felt weak here

Facepull:
    29kg plate x 12

Humid day. Just glad to be able to get the work done and get out

• Registered Users Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Cramps on the GHR are bast*rds. You're kinda stuck

June 23. Heavy day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    147.5kg x 5

New 5RM. Video below. Had failed at this weight 6 weeks ago so gave myself a deload and wound back up. Form kinda fell apart on last rep but I was exhausted by then. Still happy.

OHP:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 1
    55kg x 1
    58.5kg x 4 + F

New 4RM :-/ Couldn't get the bar past my chin on the 5th rep. But my form was all over the place. I usually breath during the descent but kept forgetting, so would rest on the shoulders, breath and then go again. Silly stuff. I'll go at it again in 2 weeks. No deload.

Deadlift:
    50kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 3
    * belt *
    130kg x 2
    150kg x 1
    157.5kg x 5

Matched my 5RM. Form was good for 3 reps, a bit off for 4th and hips shot up for 5th. I think my legs were just tired so was hard to keep form together.

Mixed bag of a day. But nice to get back to getting 5RMs in the squat. Hopefully it is back to being a weekly thing.

I had high hopes at the start that it would look like you were squatting onto your bottle.

Nice work...the squats looked really tight and solid.

June 26. Volume day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 1
    130kg x 5
    130kg x 5
    130kg x 5
    130kg x 5
    130kg x 5

3rd set was a bit all over the place. I unracked it badly and should have reset, but didn't. Aside from that, I'm surprised at how grand this was.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 3
    60kg x 3
    70kg x 3
    75kg x 1
    82.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5

Form felt rock solid. Tension in the lats throughout every part of every rep. It all felt heavy though. As it should.

Power clean:
    20kg x 5 (hang clean)
    30kg x 5 (hang clean)
    40kg x 3
    40kg hang clean + OHP x 3

I was running out of time. Last set, decided to superset hang cleans and OHPs due to an idea I got in my head about a future accessory movement to see what it was like. Need to narrow the grip for it to work as my clean grip is wider than my OHP grip.

I didn't get as much sleep or eat as well as I should have over the weekend, so I expected this session to be crap, but it was the opposite. Because I was watching the IPF worlds, I've been living and breathing powerlifting recently. Maybe my form on the bench felt surprisingly good today because of how I was studying benchers of all categories. I dunno. Maybe I realised how wimpy I am compared to the absolute beasts that were on display. Either way, I'm happy.

Also, new program might be starting soon. Watch this space. If you could be arsed.

I just looked back and it's only 11 and a bit weeks since 130 was your new 5RM. Today, it's your volume squats at a 'grand' 5x5.

That's worth sitting back and admiring followed by a pat on the back for yourself.

Excelsior!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

That's awesome

I just looked back and it's only 11 and a bit weeks since 130 was your new 5RM. Today, it's your volume squats at a 'grand' 5x5.

That's worth sitting back and admiring followed by a pat on the back for yourself.

Excelsior!

I also did 130 5x5 here (albeit not 'grand') but it led to a bad heavy day that week, so dialed everything back and have gradually gotten back to where I was.

June 26. Recovery day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    105kg x 5
    105kg x 5

OHP:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 5
    42.5kg x 5
    42.5kg x 5
    42.5kg x 5

GHR:

Pullup:

Facepull:
    29kg plate x 12

Grand day. There was a sparrow that managed to get inside the gym and was flying around trying to get out. I was hoping it didn't crap on me cos that would mean I'd have to go for a PR.

June 30. Heavy day

Saw that there were meets announced for Autumn/Winter. I think I'll aim to do Athlone at the start of September. Leinster/Revfit one would be ideal but it's the most likely to sell out and I'm on holidays the week before.

Decided on the way in that I'd max out to see where I was at, but then decided I'd see what my 3RMs were like as a 3RM is a good indicator of what your opener should be.

Also, I haven't pause benched since February so have to start today.

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    150kg x 1 (+2.5kg PR)
    155kg x 3

New 3RM. Video below. Was concerned after last week's video that I haven't been making depth recently so set the phone on a bench so it was roughly knee-level. Sunk my hips down and it seems like I'm just making parallel. At an IPF meet, that might not cut it so extra mobility for me in the near future.

Bench:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    65kg x 3
    75kg x 1
    85kg x 1
    92.5kg x 3

New paused 3RM. First rep flew up and 3rd was a mega grind. All had slightly longer than IPF pause pauses. Delighted that my paused bench hasn't gone to crap. The 100kg milestone is looking good for Athlone.

Deadlift:
    40kg x 5 (RDL)
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    130kg x 2
    150kg x 1
    170kg x 1
    180kg x 1

I had it in my head that a 3RM of 180kg was possible but due to how slow and sh1tty it felt, it was a silly thing to even try. Should have gone for 165x3 as something more realistic. But the stubborn bastard in me wanted my next meet openers to be more than my last meet finishers (140/90/175).

They got deeper from first to last. I'd have said last was definitely in. I've had a problem committing to that first rep and when I'm getting to 5RM (and lower rep) territory, I find if I'm going to miss any on depth it will almost always be the first.
    That said, mobility work is always a good idea.

July 3. Volume day

Usually go early morning when the gym is quiet but circumstances meant I could go at lunchtime at the earliest, where it was busy but not packed. I'm a creature of habit and the smallest changes to my routine put me off my workout massively. But at least days like this help somewhat towards preparing for being on a platform in unfamiliar surroundings, i.e. a meet in Athlone.

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    132.5kg x 5
    132.5kg x 5
    132.5kg x 5
    132.5kg x 5
    132.5kg x 5

First 4 sets felt like sh1te. Couldn't figure it out. Before my 5th set, I thought about what I did in the past when the sets felt sh1te and remembered: upper back tension! One of the most basic, beginner cues there is for squats and I concentrated on that for my 5th set and it ended up being the easiest of them by far.

Can't believe I still make silly mistakes like this after so long.

OHP:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 2
    51kg x 5
    51kg x 5
    51kg x 5
    51kg x 5
    51kg x 5

These were a grind. Got through them anyway.

Power clean:
    20kg x 5 (hang clean)
    30kg x 5 (hang clean)
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    45kg x 3

These felt crap, so left them.

Mixed bag of a day.

July 5. Recovery day

Approx 80 gigadoms of mobility

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    107.5kg x 5
    107.5kg x 5

Bench (paused):
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 3
    67.5kg x 5
    67.5kg x 5
    67.5kg x 5

Pullup:

Ran out of time as I had an early start for work. My hamstrings were still in bits from Monday so maybe skipping GHRs wasn't a bad thing.

July 7. Heavy day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    150kg x 1
    157.5kg x 1

New PB. Was going to try for 157.5 x 3 because of how last week went but it was just too slow. Felt like RPE 9. Figured out that I may be fatiguing so with the comp 8 weeks away, a small deload here should be in order.

OHP:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 7
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 2
    55kg x 1
    58.5kg x 3 + F

Just felt weak here. Failed this weight two weeks ago but at least I got to 4 reps then, so I've regressed. Pity, but I'm not too bothered because it's the Peter Criss of the 4 compounds.

Deadlift:
    50kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 3
    * belt *
    130kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    167.5kg x 3

New 3RM. Felt solid. Probably looked ugly but at this stage I just want the bar to feel like it's moving smoothly.

Mixed bag of a day.

Congraaaats

• Registered Users Posts: 12,696 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

What was your 1RM on the 3 lifts before you started this program and what are they likely to be now?
    How long are you doing this program? Looks like you're making huge progress

At the beginning of February, I did 140/90/175, all +5kg PBs. I started Texas Method about 3 weeks afterwards and in the meantime, learned how to LB squat. Had been HB only before that.

Its a great program for squats, but poor for everything else. Bench doesn't get much love. Deadlift work is left low to aid recovery and relies on squat carryover. Many of Ripp's own SS coaches think it is a bad program.

The last few weeks, I've deviated from the program and will continue to do so until the meet at my own discretion.

July 10. Volume day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3

Due to how Friday felt, I decided a deload was in order. 120kg felt horrifically difficult so yes, I am definitely fatigued right now so this deload came at a good time. Form was dodgy and inconsistent too as I was making sure I sunk my hips low for every rep.

Bench (touch and go):
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 2
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5

Every time I go up in weight for the bench, I think that this is the time I will fail. But not today. Just having found my groove in recent weeks with a more solid setup meant I was way more confident before I started today. A few reps did have a dodgy barpath but overall, everything felt solid.

Deadlift:
    50kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    130kg x 1
    * belt *
    130kg x 1
    130kg x 1
    130kg x 1

Replacing power cleans with light deadlift singles these days. I figured that my time is spent in competition mode so these are just for practise. Singles with a hold at the top so I can practise my setup and lockout. Just did enough singles so there were no mistakes.

Also, the first 130kg was possibly a double overhand PR. Not sure. It was accidental though as I just forgot to switch grip.

Barbell row:
    50kg x 15

Because I consider power cleans to be a legit back exercise, I thought I better add something like that. The program is scarce enough with it's back work.

Tired today.

After just hitting a 1rm a big deload is definitely an idea

bluewolf wrote: »
    After just hitting a 1rm a big deload is definitely an idea

A 1RM a week after doing a big 3RM :)

July 12. Recovery day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3

OHP:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5

GHR:

Pullup:

Facepull:
    29kg plate x 12
    35kg plate x 12
    41kg plate x 12

Had to skip most of my accessory stuff last Wednesday due to time which resulted in having achey shoulders after Monday. Back work is scarce in this program so skipping what little there is of it is bad. Got a nice hamstring pump from the GHRs and major upper back pump at the end.

July 14. Heavy day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 3

The 140 felt like Monday's 120s. Hopefully that's a sign that the fatigue has nearly gone.

Bench (paused):
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    75kg x 3
    85kg x 3
    95kg x 3

New 3RM, new PB. Was delighted. Wanted to shout in joy but settled on a few mild slaps of the thigh. There was nobody around to spot (gym owner was in the jacks for ages) so I'm doubly happy as I'm convinced loadouts make benching a little easier.

Deadlift:
    50kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    * belt *
    130kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    170kg x 3

New 3RM. Got a little complacent with my new setup during warmups so had to stop and have a good think about whether or not I want to get a deadlift PR in this meet or just get this session out of the way. Bad Nicolas Cage, bad!

Happy with today.

July 17. Volume day

Did something silly and stayed up for GoT so was lacking sleep and time this morning. Also spent a good portion of yesterday trying to prevent our cat from killing our new 6 week old kitten.

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    *belt *
    120kg x 7
    120kg x 7
    120kg x 7
    120kg x 7
    120kg x 7

Am following TM merely as a template only, but using sets/reps at my own discretion. This week involved building muscular stamina because early peaking days. 7 reps might not seem like much, but I haven't done anything over 5 on this program so this was a massive struggle. Last set was rough as my back was gone mega sweaty and I was afraid of the bar slipping, but that's only a problem if I lose back tension.

OHP:
    20kg x 5
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5

Actually got a stitch between sets. What the actual. Those squats killed me and on paper, they're not even difficult. Even the OHP was less than prescribed. Only had enough time for 3 sets.

Had to skip my light deadlift singles because of time too. Lucky to be alive after today.

July 19. Recovery day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5

Bench (paused):
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5

GHR:

Chinup:

Facepull:
    35kg x 15
    35kg x 15

Was 21C at 7am. Feck sake. Can't be dealing with that. Grand day otherwise.