Can't really get excited about this wedding and hen part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yes except there'll be hurt feelings etc.
    Are they concerned about your feelings? The cost associated etc? Other people's feelings aren't any of your business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

I always thought the idea of having a wedding abroad was to get away from the hordes of barely-known relatives and neighbours that'd be offended if they weren't invited. :confused:

Unless one of the to-be-weds comes from the not-here country, then I don't see why anyone should be expected to pay for themselves to go somewhere foreign when they could just as easily say "I do" in any county in Ireland. :mad:

(No - I don't get invited to many weddings! :pac: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'd love to post them over a toaster in a big box to the hotel just to annoy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Honeymoon fund? They are taking the mick. They have some neck on them to ask for money for their 'Honeymoon'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

I'd say there'd be more hurt feeling when they find out you've moaned about it on Ireland's biggest forum. Very specific details, no way this doesn't get back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Rezident

I'm coming under pressure to go to a weekend hen party in the west of Ireland that involves two nights in a hotel, some expensive Spa treatments and a meal in an upmarket restaurant. I'm also expected to attend the wedding which will be in Spain this Autumn and consists of a pre wedding party, the wedding itself, and a barbecue the day after. They're then going on their honeymoon to the Caymen Islands and are, apparently, setting up a honeymoon fund for guests to contribute to in lieu of presents.

The bride to be is in her forties, has been living with her fiancé in their own house for about twelve years and they have two children together. Am I being a grump to wish they'd just go off quietly and get married with their children and parents as guests?

I'm happy for them and all that. But surely all this palaver is a bit OTT when they've been living like a married couple for years?

If you don't want to go or can't afford to go, then don't go.

But you'll be missing out on the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

What is wrong with us Irish and our inability to say no. Why don't you not attend the hen and go to the wedding. Let the bride know that at the moment you are having issues budgeting for an extravegant hen due and a foreign wedding. She will understand.

I really feel like you are the one making this such a big issue. If you can't be arsed or can't afford to go to either the hen or indeed the wedding then don't. If the bride (who isn't a child) doesn't understand then she will be the one being unreasonable, not you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭9or10

Everyone who refuses invitations like these helps to stamp out the obnoxious vanity fest of overblown Irish weddings.

I do it all the time - I don't really give a flying fuk about offending people anymore - comes when you get a few years in.

Have two cousins getting married next year in UK and on the same day - wtf.

I've already said I wont be offended if I'm not invited - saves a stamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Shinbin223

Ah here. They sound extremely self-entitled and selfish. If they are having a foreign wedding, the cost and time guests are taking to travel should be enough and this idea of a hen costing €250 is ridiculous.
    If they are prepared to put all this expense on people they should also understand that not everyone is willing or able to attend hen and wedding.
    They also are inconsiderate of people who have more than one wedding a year. I know myself I have four weddings between now and Christmas and if one of these was costing the same amount as yours OP, I would be respectfully declining the invitations.
    It's also very cheeky of couples who have a foreign wedding to suggest that it can be people's summer holiday. I will choose where I holiday during my well earned time off thank you.

Sometimes I honestly think that couples believe they are the only people to ever get married and that for their big day, people should jump through hoops for them. OP, if they fall out with you over not being willing to pay the bones of €1000 for their big day, are they really great friends??
    Friends should be judged on how they treat you and how you consider each other etc, not a willingness to pay ridiculous money to attend their hen and wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Very good thread.

Also, very specific details about the wedding, might want to edit some of that to throw in some fictional locations or something. There can't be too many weddings/hens with that structure.

I agree with the sentiment though. Weddings are something OTT these days, especially when it's not that long ago that the whole country was screaming about how they could barely get by in day to day life, and that hasn't really gone away IMO. There's a lot of face-saving rigmarole where people fork out on stuff they don't really have to hold up what they consider their part of the bargain.

The day after celebration is just too much. People are done and dusted the day after, there's only so much that the vast majority of the 150-200 people at the wedding can bask in the joys and expense of the whole thing. It should be pretty much a family thing at that stage.

When you consider the stag or hen (I've been invited to two stags this year, both of which in central Europe.....both of which 4 days long! Both also have additional domestic versions), the cost of the journey to the wedding, the stayover, the gift, and then the days either before, after or indeed both, it can be a fairly hefty amount!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,749 ✭✭✭Grueller

Have a relation getting married abroad this year. Only having immediate families as he wishes it to be intimate.
    Coming home then to a hotel booked for a Saturday evening with a finger food buffet for 250 people who "could not be there".
    What the greedy sh1t means is he wants to harvest the presents without having the people at the wedding. Some people are horrible gits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

What is wrong with us Irish and our inability to say no. Why don't you not attend the hen and go to the wedding. Let the bride know that at the moment you are having issues budgeting for an extravegant hen due and a foreign wedding. She will understand.

Think it might be a pride thing too, people don't want to let on that they can't afford something, maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Murrisk wrote: »
    Think it might be a pride thing too, people don't want to let on that they can't afford something, maybe?
    I do think that is often the case. The Celtic Tiger might be dead, but the need to pretend that money is no object remains for a lot of people, both wedding hosts and wedding guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The recession is OVER folks, you heard it from me first, back to 2007 we go now!

I wouldn't worry for a minute about declining both Hens and Wedding. They won't give a damn, as long as your regret about not being able to attend is accompanied by a couple of hundred euro.

Well it's cheap at the price, and you don't have to spend any money on clothing, footwear, hotels, drinks, being nice to people you don't know (that's the best bit!)

Just open a bottle of chilled Prosecco on the night of the wedding and toast them from your sofa as you thank the stars you are not there.

I am a veteran at this. I am convinced I only get invites to give back a regret and cash. But it's worth it. Family weddings I love though. They are nice. And fekkin normal too. All others I attend via my chequebook only. LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I stopped going to weddings a few years ago.
    It wasn't that I couldn't afford it, it was that I just got p1ssed off with the ever increasing amount of bullsh1t that went on. Most people that I mentioned it to agreed with me. The only exception I would make would be if it was someone in my immediate family.
    Anytime I get an invite now, I just say 'sorry, I don't do weddings any more'. Now I'm just regarded as an oddball who doesn't go to weddings and that suits me fine.
    I don't think I'm missing anything and I haven't lost any friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

Grueller wrote: »
    Have a relation getting married abroad this year. Only having immediate families as he wishes it to be intimate.
    Coming home then to a hotel booked for a Saturday evening with a finger food buffet for 250 people who "could not be there".
    What the greedy sh1t means is he wants to harvest the presents without having the people at the wedding. Some people are horrible gits.

I dunno, a lot of people do that when they have a wedding abroad and for some I know, it was genuinely all about getting the family and friends together for a party! If I was doing that, I'd be very firm that I don't want anyone to give me a gift. After all, it'd just be a function room in a pub with finger food and a DJ, people shouldn't have to bring a gift to that sort of laid back affair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

I have a friend who for her hen party is looking for it to be a wk abroad and the wedding also abroad. When i said id only be going to one of the events she snapped well my really friends would go to both.
    funny thing is same girl hasnt two cent to rub together and then wonders why she cant afford a place of her own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Life's too short. Fcuk her feelings.
    Too many people, particularly women, always trying to please other people.
    Look after number one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

Just reread this post.. they are expecting people to pay to go abroad to their wedding AND "donate" towards their honeymoon?????? Thats just plain greedy I'm sorry! If i even thought about having my wedding abroad, making people go to a country they hadnt intended on going to, spending money to get there, bring kids or not?, Using annual leave to take time off work, paying hotels and all... I wouldnt expect ANYTHING from them except a card wishing us well! Some people are just plain blind when it comes to weddings... If they have their feelings hurt by people saying no then they should have taken into consideration the amount of pressure they are putting on them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 808 ✭✭✭waterfaerie

anna080 wrote: »
    I'm half thinking of just the two of us going abroad and coming back like "oh ya we got married there the other day".

That's exactly what my husband and I did. It was the most romantic experience ever and I'm so glad we just did what we wanted instead of worrying about other people's expectations.

My mum was the only one who was bothered by it but she got over it. My husbands parents thanked us!

I really think that many (not all) Irish people have a very warped sense of what a wedding should be about. From my observation, they seem to either be all about putting on an extravagant show to keep up with or outdo each other, or about raking in cash gifts from the guests (or both).

As for overseas weddings or unnecessarily expensive hen parties, I would never attend one whether I could afford it or not and I wouldn't be apologising or giving any excuses. And to expect a cash gift as well! I don't think their age or living situation is relevant. Nobody should be at that kind of nonsense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭scarepanda

Op, regretfully decline all aspects of the wedding events if you don't want to go regardless of the reason.

I'm getting married on a Friday in the middle of November this year with about 6 months notice that we're even getting married. We're trying to keep it small, closest friends and family only to the full day. We will not be insulted in any shape or form if someone can't go. We understand a Friday in November isn't exactly the best time of the year for people.

We are also putting in a little note with the invitations that our guests presence at our wedding is the best gift they can give us. Of course some people will want to give us gifts, so we have also added a line that if someone does want to give a gift that they should make a donation on our behalf to a charity of their choice.
    The last thing I want is for our invitation to arrive through the door and for someone to only see it as another expense. It nearly drove me mad the amount of people who said to have a bigger wedding 'for economic' reasons. Like wtf? People really need to cop on with the expectations that they place on their family and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

My older sister got married abroad just the 2 of them - no friends or family. I understood their reasons at the time but my Parents were hurt that none of us knew about the wedding ahead of time.

My Husband and I got married abroad too. 13 years ago. We had separate low key overnight Hen & Stag in Ireland. Abroad we had a Rehearsal Dinner the night before and a post-Wedding Dinner the night after both of which were paid for by my Dad and father-in-law.
    We specifically asked people who travelled not to give gifts. We got a lot of gifts anyway.
    We had a party at my Parents when we got back.

My Husband's nephew got married abroad last year. We both and the kids went. There was only the Wedding Day and a family only Dinner the night before. The couple in the Invitation asked Guests for a Contribution to their Honeymoon as Wedding gifts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

I hate Stag dos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

Exactly. I already have plans for my annual leave this Summer and really don't want to have to waste several days and a load of money travelling somewhere I don't want to go with people I don't necessarily want to spend several days with.

So don't... it's only an invitation not a summons... people get so annoyed about couples getting married abroad... say no... if you don't want to go it's only an invite... if they didn't invite you you'd probably have a snot on as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,565 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Best thread ever!!!

link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

If I was having a wedding abroad, I would invite immediate family only. Expecting others to travel for my wedding would strike me as very self centered and self important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

If I was having a wedding abroad, I would invite immediate family only. Expecting others to travel for my wedding would strike me as very self centered and self important.

Why? It's not summons. We are getting married abroad (where I am from). We are very much aware how much hassle travel is so we don't expect too many to travel. We most certainly don't expect gifts but we won't apologize for inviting people we like. It's not couple's problem if people are such delicate flowers that they are not able to say no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I'd love to post them over a toaster in a big box to the hotel just to annoy them.

do it anonymously

they'll be bewildered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Weddings can f**k right off. Unless it's mine, I ain't going.

Even if it was mine I'd probably end up seeing sense and not go to that either.

Outdated social witchcraft and the main participants can't party it up at all

Bullet The Blue Shirts