Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London terror attack confirmed by Met Police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,669 ✭✭✭✭flazio

From what I've observed, the Gardaí have been doing pretty well at terrorism prevention rather then full blown reaction to an incident. The ambulance paramedic trainees do get "mass casualty" training but it's never set up as a terror attack but the procedure is the same.
    Just because you don't hear about it doesn't mean it doesn't happen.

This too shall pass.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

flazio wrote: »
    From what I've observed, the Gardaí have been doing pretty well at terrorism prevention rather then full blown reaction to an incident. The ambulance paramedic trainees do get "mass casualty" training but it's never set up as a terror attack but the procedure is the same.
    Just because you don't hear about it doesn't mean it doesn't happen.

That's good to know, but I still feel we wouldn't have enough ambulances or access into the hospitals for quick turn around. Hopefully we never ever need to find out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

For the record, there was literally dozens of Muslim police officers and doctors involved in the response to tonight's events in London.

That should, in a nutshell, settle the stupidity spouted on here blaming the entire religion for the actions of an insane tiny minority. It should stop the false equivalency that anyone not agreeing with "banning Islam" or "banning all immigration" is to blame for these attacks.

The idea that someones attitude on After Hours is part of a worldwide geo-political terrorist problem is laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Yasmin Alibhai-Brown was discussing this in the aftermath of Manchester.

You are either part of the solution, or part of the problem. That journalist, on national TV, cheerfully admitting she is Muslim, being Muslim, is part of the problem. Just because she is on the 'tame' end of the Muslim spectrum doesnt get her off the hook - she is still part of the movement that generates the murderous loonies.
    Any Brit wanting to disassociate themselves from the bat **** crazy jihadis can only do so by renouncing their Islam, recognising it is dangerous bunkum, and urging others to do the same.
    There is too much pussyfooting around this point. The political leadership in Britain and Europe generally must stand up and say this loud and clear - Islam is bad stuff, and has no place in Europe.

(BTW: what had David Walliams son/younger brother to say for himself in that discussion).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I'm equally as worried about the 25 year-old in Waterford you linked me to as I am for those clowns arrested in Dublin.

Zero worries.

It all started somewhere for the UK, Germany, France, Belgium and so on. These countries are in a state of constant terror alert. You can continue to deny what's happening in Europe with the mounting and more frequent attacks over the past couple years along with the damaging social consequences, that's your prerogative. My opinion is if we allow floods of migrants in from the middle East and other places the exact same thing is going to happen here. There's so many Jihadis ( estimated 23,000 ) in the UK now there's no where near enough police to monitor them.

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/659913/two-in-three-British-Muslims-would-NOT-give-police-terror-tip-offs

"Two in three British Muslims would NOT give police terror tip-offs"

"The survey also discovered that more than half of Muslims think that homosexuality should be illegal in Britain and 23 per cent of Muslims want Sharia to replace British law in certain parts of the country.

The findings also revealed that 39 per cent of Muslims thought that their wives should always obey their husbands and 31 per cent thought it was acceptable to have more than one wife."

You can keep bringing up the IRA every time an attack happens to justify it, and I mean this in the nicest possible way, but imo you are part of the problem. We have too many people in Governments throughout Europe who refuse to tackle the problem, or even call it out for what it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Says the person who refuses to condemn RUC/British collusion with the mass-murdering ISIS-like unionist paramilitaries.

This is gonna get this thread closed. Give it up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

I am so sorry for all the Victims. And London. RIP I hope this never happens again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,687 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

For the record, there was literally dozens of Muslim police officers and doctors involved in the response to tonight's events in London.

That should, in a nutshell, settle the stupidity spouted on here blaming the entire religion for the actions of an insane tiny minority. It should stop the false equivalency that anyone not agreeing with "banning Islam" or "banning all immigration" is to blame for these attacks.

The idea that someones attitude on After Hours is part of a worldwide geo-political terrorist problem is laughable.

Jesus h Christ, most people (as in like the vast vast majority) are not blaming the entire religion ffs. Unlike yourself who only seems to be capable of saying that anyone questioning extremist Islam = advocating internment/concentration camps/genocide, all whilst simultaneously ignoring any reasonable arguments.

I mean, we all know that there are lots of Muslim immigrants contributing to U.K. society. We aren't stupid. Acknowledging that some Muslims are extremists does not negate the fact that other Muslims assimilate and contribute to society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Where will it end? How many more innocent people have to die before we accept that the softly softly watch and wait approach is not going to work?

Whether you were born in the country in question or immigrated there if you are in any way known to the police as being terrorist or extremist in ideology you should either be locked up or deported, no exceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Wait so both Poland and Ireland have suffered 0 Radical Islamic terrorism but you feel safer in Poland?

You're free to go live in Poland you know that right?

Meanwhile, back home:

https://www.buzz.ie/news/ira-bomb-plot-foiled-gardai-seize-explosives-dublin-240609

""A massive New IRA bomb plot was foiled" after armed gardaí stopped and searched a taxi on Spring Garden Street, Ballybough, Dublin, in the inner city at approximately 6 p.m. on Friday evening.

During the search, more than 5kg of TNT plastic explosives, detonators and other military grade items were discovered and seized. The two men, who are known to gardai, were arrested and are still being questioned at Clontarf Garda Station."

I'm equally as worried about the 25 year-old in Waterford you linked me to as I am for those clowns arrested in Dublin.

Zero worries.

So far you've tried to order someone to "go back to breibart" and are now telling someone else they are free to "go live in Poland". I think you are the one failing to understand your beloved multiculturalism. If you want to hear only how great muslims are and have all non believers of how great muslims are sent to Poland maybe you should move to a Muslim country it would be easier for your ideals? Seem to solve your issues.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

All hospitals have a major incident plan and all staff would be aware of the plan (should be anyway), should a major incident occur. I've no doubt we could handle it the same way as UK cities. Of course, any medical / hospital / emergency staff would all report straight to work when off should an incident occur.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Jesus h Christ, most people (as in like the vast vast majority) are not blaming the entire religion ffs. Unlike yourself who only seems to be capable of saying that anyone questioning extremist Islam = advocating internment/concentration camps/genocide, all whilst simultaneously ignoring any reasonable arguments.

This is their standard behaviour at this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Lots are college educated, the loser who did the Manchester bomb was college educated.

The reason I asked was ( this is he says she says) I heard someone say that mostly the level of education of young people in the UK has dropped that there now are young people ( in their 20's) turning up for work on building sites that can barely read their own name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

To be honest be more worried about getting stabbed by our own scumbag "hardmen" who walk the streets of every town and village in this Country carrying knifes than some ISIS attack.

You are either part of the solution, or part of the problem. That journalist, on national TV, cheerfully admitting she is Muslim, being Muslim, is part of the problem. Just because she is on the 'tame' end of the Muslim spectrum doesnt get her off the hook - she is still part of the movement that generates the murderous loonies.
    Any Brit wanting to disassociate themselves from the bat **** crazy jihadis can only do so by renouncing their Islam, recognising it is dangerous bunkum, and urging others to do the same.
    There is too much pussyfooting around this point. The political leadership in Britain and Europe generally must stand up and say this loud and clear - Islam is bad stuff, and has no place in Europe.

(BTW: what had David Walliams son/younger brother to say for himself in that discussion).

The same way all Irish should have been locked up in the UK in the 60's and 70's, I suppose?

To be honest be more worried about getting stabbed by our own scumbag "hardmen" who walk the streets of every town and village in this Country carrying knifes than some ISIS attack.

Knife crime is in every city of the world. Children being blown up at concerts is just across the water now. I'm not telling you to be afraid, I'm just saying wake up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I've no problem if people want to advocate for something closer to the Australian skills-based immigration system but it can't be done on a religious test basis.

I would be in favour for this being enforced for all non EU countries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

The same way all Irish should have been locked up in the UK in the 60's and 70's, I suppose?

Irish is a nationality while Islam is an idealogy.

Knife crime is in every city of the world. Children being blown up at concerts is just across the water now. I'm not telling you to be afraid, I'm just saying wake up

I lived across the water when it was being blown up in the 80's and 90's this is nothing new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Yeah that's really likely to happen. Every British Muslim is going to renounce their religion.

Why do some of the "we have to stop Islam" brigade come up with such daft solutions.

1. Get all Muslims to renounce Islam. Yeah that's likely.
    2. Stop immigration: A lot of these attacks are perpetrated by homegrown terrorists that can't be deported.
    3. Lock up anyone suspected of being a terrorist. That's thousands of people and most of them haven't actually done anything wrong yet.

Isn't there a saying that "sometimes a problem has no solution. Then it just becomes a fact of life." Perhaps that's the case here. I don't see how this sort of terrorism can actually be defeated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Over the few days we have had

2 imminent foiled attacks in Paris and Berlin
    A terror attack in London
    One of Europe's biggest music festivals abandoned due to terror threat
    200 injured in Turin after mass panic of a terror attack
    Many incidents in France of Muslims attacking people buying alcohol or eating during during Ramadan
    Another suspected grooming gang uncovered in Keighley. 180 suspected cases in a town so small most of us have never heard of.

This is just the last few days. Last week there was 22 people murdered at a children's concern.

What's next week?

I lived across the water when it was being blown up in the 80's and 90's this is nothing new.

Ok, we can all sleep tight so.
    Nothing to see here

pangbang wrote: »
    Agree to a certain extent. But only one side is maintaining a status quo that is literally costing people their lives.

Ah here. Remember Trumps first attack?

https://www.google.com/amp/www.independent.co.uk/news/world/middle-east/donald-trump-us-military-attack-yemen-civilians-women-children-dead-a7553121.html%3Famp

30 civilians.

It boggles my mind that we don't see anything wrong with bombing "them over there", but when there's retaliation its all, "Close the borders, keep them out!" "Its one side that's doing it"

Imagine if Syrians, or Yemenese bombed the UK or the US as regularly as we bombed then?

Its insane that people think further bombings are the solution.

Do you think the jihadi's think the same? Keep blowing up each other, in the UK or US? Allah's will will be done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Where will it end? How many more innocent people have to die before we accept that the softly softly watch and wait approach is not going to work?

Whether you were born in the country in question or immigrated there if you are in any way known to the police as being terrorist or extremist in ideology you should either be locked up or deported, no exceptions.

Where do you deport British nationals to?

At what point do you get deported? For attending the same mosque as a suspected terrorist? For being related to them?

How do you think such a policy would affect the Muslims left behind in Britain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,104 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Yeah that's really likely to happen. Every British Muslim is going to renounce their religion.

Why do some of the "we have to stop Islam" brigade come up with such daft solutions.

2. Stop immigration: A lot of these attacks are perpetrated by homegrown terrorists that can't be deported.
    3. Lock up anyone suspected of being a terrorist. That's thousands of people and most of them haven't actually done anything wrong yet.

Isn't there a saying that "sometimes a problem has no solution. Then it just becomes a fact of life." Perhaps that's the case here. I don't see how this sort of terrorism can actually be defeated.

Have you an issue with your kids watching Peppa Pig? If the answer is yes get them out of the country pronto.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

DeanAustin wrote: »

The gentlemen you quoted was being a tad facetious

Ok, we can all sleep tight so.
    Nothing to see here

If you are that scared move to Leitrim and dig a big hole and move in there set a timer to come out in 2027.

You'll be ok then.

If you are that scared move to Leitrim and dig a big hole and move in there set a timer to come out in 2027.

You'll be ok then.

Leitrim? By god you are a cold creature Son of Coul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,872 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Irish is a nationality while Islam is an idealogy.

Republicanism is an ideology though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭kevinandrew

As a Londoner, watching the events of last night unfold live on television and across social media was nothing short of disturbing especially so soon after the Westminster and Manchester attacks. At first I was convinced it wasn't terror related, it seemed like wrong time of day, an odd target and conflicting reports from eye witnesses made it sound like a much smaller incident but within minutes it seemed to spread, stabbings, shootings, explosions and mass panic as people poured out of the nearby bars and ran into streets. 

I know the area in question very well, having worked there until very recently so could visualise the streets and alleys, bars and restaurants involved, some of areas of Borough Market are very dark during the day never mind at night so it must have been terrifying for anyone down there as this was going on. There are some horrific videos going around, mainly from the bridge while the eye witness accounts are just as bad, one young man was unable to describe what he because it was so violent, he broke down multiple times according to the reporter. 

London's emergency response has to be applauded, the attackers were dead within 8 minutes of the first 999 call and ambulance crews were on the scene almost immediately, together they undoubtably saved many lives last night. The SAS were also called in, two helicopters landed on London Bridge itself carrying special forces, it's not known if armed police or the SAS killed the attackers.