Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Mooooo wrote: »
    Would autonomous drive tractors have any application with you dawg? I guess cost and I assume you'd stilll have to have a man on it make it a number of years away

Already do able, now today with deere and topcon/fendt systems and about 25k. You just need a chunk of meat to sit in the seat to watch out for stuff atm.
    Some jobs yes, others no. It's like wondering about a milking parlour with a robot to put on clusters, but someone will still need to check all the cows left the field for milking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

whelan2 wrote:
    Would you be tempted to ever move there?

Mm good question, I wouldn't sell to buy and I don't have enough equity to buy. lovely country but language is tough, herself is happier in ireland too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Dwag wrote:
    Pl, Cz, Sk etc are now almost part of the greater Germany.

Dwag wrote:
    What part? I found quite a bit of the land to be weak sandy stuff?

Centre North from warsaw, I never even got out of the car this time! I believe land is dearer than 1k/acre correct me if I'm wrong, labour In local factories at 3 to 4 euro an hour big incentive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Dwag

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Centre North from warsaw, I never even got out of the car this time! I believe land is dearer than 1k/acre correct me if I'm wrong, labour In local factories at 3 to 4 euro an hour big incentive

German industry has expanded into the former eastern block inc Romania because of manufacturing know how and excellent mathematics/engineering capabilities. Carryover from soviet era.

North of Warsaw wouldn't be the best of land. 10yr wheat yields are always a good indicator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Dwag

Word on radio here is that Jeremy Paxman handed Theresa May her ass on a plate last night. Anyone see the interview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dwag wrote: »
    Word on radio here is that Jeremy Paxman handed Theresa May her ass on a plate last night. Anyone see the interview?

She's a power hungry puppet for whatever is popular on the day. Unfortunately we'll pay for camerons gamble on the brexit vote. He was a good leader for the UK and therefore good for us. Notice how quiet the likes of Boris Johnson is? She'll still win the election thou.

Heard macron saying he was going to be a strong negotiator for France, any public sector talks coming up? That'll test him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭thisyear

Lads hows breeding season going for you. I seem to have lower than usual repeats and starting to worry am I missing heats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

thisyear wrote: »
    Lads hows breeding season going for you. I seem to have lower than usual repeats and starting to worry am I missing heats!

Let the bull out today with the cows, I've just been too busy with getting silage ready and a few other jobs and heat detection hasn't got the priority it needs. I've definitely missed a few cows who say haven't rubbed off the tailpaint fully etc in the last week. Used about 90fr straws, Fr bull running with the 18 heifers also, so should still end up with sufficient replacements next year, not that breeding too few heifers would bother me at all when I can buy in as cheap as I can rear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭thisyear

Timmaay wrote: »
    Let the bull out today with the cows, I've just been too busy with getting silage ready and a few other jobs and heat detection hasn't got the priority it needs. I've definitely missed a few cows who say haven't rubbed off the tailpaint fully etc in the last week. Used about 90fr straws, Fr bull running with the 18 heifers also, so should still end up with sufficient replacements next year, not that breeding too few heifers would bother me at all when I can buy in as cheap as I can rear.

Not too worried about the replacements either, a few more days and that's sorted and plan on using KYA to compact the late ones. Are you not worried the bull wont be able keep up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Just got a call from a lad there who cut grass 2 days ago without getting results back for nitrogen. Came in at 1800 Nitrogen & 1 Sugar. Wants me to tedd it out for him to reduce it but without getting hay it would never take that much out of the grass in this overcast weather would it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Had a cow with mastitis last night, treated her and she walked out fine. Down this morning but bright. Vet said prob acute staph which helped cause milk fever. She's up now anyway

visatorro wrote: »

She's a power hungry puppet for whatever is popular on the day. Unfortunately we'll pay for camerons gamble on the brexit vote. He was a good leader for the UK and therefore good for us. Notice how quiet the likes of Boris Johnson is? She'll still win the election thou
    Tories are making the election purely about a majority to get through. What will happen is they'll agree more or less an as we were deal for up to 10 years with a visa system for migration, island of Ireland will be used as a single border post going to continent and U.K. With allowances for customs to be similar. The big thing is keeping London in the financial market.
    As my boss put it, a hard brexit would take 10%+ off the entire Irish economy over night and crash the euro with it. There'll be lots of tough talking but not a lot will change for the first decade or 2.
    Labour are unelectable for the next decade under Corbyn. He's like Santa Claus promising gifts for all and adults laugh at those who believe him.

A lot of the big British manufacturing firms left are German owned also...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dairyqueen1989

What sort of prices are people paying per cow per day on cubicle bedding? We've used fresh sawdust from local timber yard, but think we're after something dry to keep scc's low without having to use lime for next winter. Any idea of prices for bales or bags of dry stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I did but I fell asleep half way through.

Paxman certainly left a lot of doors open for Corbyn to make the best of himself - and I have to say he did, as he did earlier with Faisal Islam.

It's an odd election. Corbyn has more integrity than Theresa May and appears to have the courage of his convictions. I'm glad that people are getting to see the better side of him, I think he is the sort of person that should be heard - although not, under any circumstances, elected. His economic ideas are those of a dangerous fantasist and the place would be gone to the dogs in a heartbeat.

Theresa May on the other hand has all the right instincts, and - oddly - I think having promoted the "remain" case she, more than most politicians, has had the chance to study the message of the referendum and really gets the message the British people sent last summer. That makes her a pretty good candidate for dealing with the hissy fits of the Brussels bureaucrats.

Whether she has the skill to turn her instincts into executable policy without alienating voters and Ministers is another thing entirely. In some ways she's like Angela Merkel but without the sense of humour.

So neither candidate is the smarmy, electable, all things to all men politician that we had in Blair and latterly perhaps in Cameron - and that's a good thing.

She'll get a mandate, I think, although nowhere near so strong as she and others (including those in the EU commission) might have hoped - and that, if it turns out correct, will be enough to keep Corbyn in position for a while yet.

Perhaps that was the plan all along!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,807 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Up to date co op reports are in icbf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I got my approval letter today for TAMSII grant on some roofing over a slatted tank and the collecting yard. In since the first application and happy out but not looking likely I'll get them up before winter but hopefully some space will open up:)

Second last to calve, cleaning coming before the calf, jacked out a dead aa bull. Cow down. Balls

I got my approval letter today for TAMSII grant on some roofing over a slatted tank and the collecting yard. In since the first application and happy out but not looking likely I'll get them up before winter but hopefully some space will open up:)

Just got approval for my tams2 today, slatted tank and shed, just looking at the time line, I did up the maps and applied for the planning permission last August, the planning took 3months in total because of a few issues on my side. I submitted the Tams application the end of December. Some clarification needed last month from the local office here (which annoying involved me have to accept a 3500e cut in the grant because I had not accounted for an auxiliary wall, where the new shed joins the old shed). So 10months in total. And in fairness the initial planning probably started early last summer, when I had one or 2 contractors out to give me both ideas and some quotes.

Still hoping to at least get in the slatted tank before this winter, just need to find the best part of 30k from somewhere ha. I've already decided to make the slatted tank 20ft longer, even without the grant on that extra 20ft its still very cheap extra storage.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Just got approval for my tams2 today, slatted tank and shed, just looking at the time line, I did up the maps and applied for the planning permission last August, the planning took 3months in total because of a few issues on my side. I submitted the Tams application the end of December. Some clarification needed last month from the local office here (which annoying involved me have to accept a 3500e cut in the grant because I had not accounted for an auxiliary wall, where the new shed joins the old shed). So 10months in total. And in fairness the initial planning probably started early last summer, when I had one or 2 contractors out to give me both ideas and some quotes.

Still hoping to at least get in the slatted tank before this winter, just need to find the best part of 30k from somewhere ha. I've already decided to make the slatted tank 20ft longer, even without the grant on that extra 20ft its still very cheap extra storage.
    Herself was delighted when I told her I was putting up another shed so I'll have to negotiate around that hurdle first:D

Mine was delayed through a different wording on the planning application before TAMS was even mentioned. There was a lot of work put in to try to get the Dept to accept to original wording but they wouldn't budge. Eventually we had to withdraw the cubicles from the application but the auto scrapers were accepted so not too bad, all in all. Finally getting the yard sorted the way I wanted when I first started building 22 years ago now.

Calf house and a slatted tank and sheds for weanlings and a few dry cattle up next after this one paid for. It never ends, does it? I think I have been only 6 months without a loan being paid for building sheds since I started:o

Herself was delighted when I told her I was putting up another shed so I'll have to negotiate around that hurdle first:D

Mine was delayed through a different wording on the planning application before TAMS was even mentioned. There was a lot of work put in to try to get the Dept to accept to original wording but they wouldn't budge. Eventually we had to withdraw the cubicles from the application but the auto scrapers were accepted so not too bad, all in all. Finally getting the yard sorted the way I wanted when I first started building 22 years ago now.

Calf house and a slatted tank and sheds for weanlings and a few dry cattle up next after this one paid for. It never ends, does it? I think I have been only 6 months without a loan being paid for building sheds since I started:o

Agreed, I'm still in 2 minds about the shed over the tank here. Winter accommodation/ calf houses etc around here often only get 8wks use per year if it's a mild winter, I really don't like building sheds unless I have a 2nd use for them (internal pit gets emptied 1st every year and used for calving, dry cow shed that doubles up as calf pens for late born etc). I'm also certainly not replacing the old silage pit in that yard, inside I'll make more bales moving forward.

Lan finished here next month, another one finished in October. Will be getting another one for building new milking parlour etc. Wonder what its like to have no loans at all?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Lan finished here next month, another one finished in October. Will be getting another one for building new milking parlour etc. Wonder what its like to have no loans at all?
    I probably wouldn't get up in the morning:)

Older generation here reckons you'll only work for the banks and your children

Second last to calve, cleaning coming before the calf, jacked out a dead aa bull. Cow down. Balls

My girl was up this morning, but throwing the leg away out wont do on concrete for a long time yet, only a heifer. Thinking of maybe leave her with maidens and bull and if she goes incalf before the mid July keep her and if not let her on. Dunno

My last heifer that calved in April hasnt been in the parlour yet. Stuck a fart of an Angus calf on her and put them out in paddock. Both doing well. She hurt her leg calving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Teagasc figures are that, two thirds of dairy farms have loans, at an average of €100K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

anyone using ambic mastitis detectors? ive no problem drawing out spins but herself and my sister do milk at times and thinking it might be handy for them just give a glance at it at chnageover?

simx wrote: »
    anyone using ambic mastitis detectors? ive no problem drawing out spins but herself and my sister do milk at times and thinking it might be handy for them just give a glance at it at chnageover?

Jesus you can call upon two females for help! My partner wouldn't know where the parlour is!

How is being a new entrant suiting you now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

simx wrote: »

Surely they will just clog up with grit and dirt and be a pain in the proverbial...