Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

_Brian wrote: »
    I'd have thought it would take quite the effort to burn wrapped bales, couldn't see it being an accident.

Seems someone thought it was a good idea to burn rubbish beside bales. And right next to a forestry and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Dropping their all star corner back and former young hurler of the year for disciplinary reasons?

Did he do the usual and have a feed of porter after the Cork game or what?

Might be more going on too. I herd today that one player was let's say, cutting another players lawn.

Doing a john terry 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Have 2 cows slimming this evening (drool type), 1 is 20 days calved the other 70.
    I've bought a CIDR for the 70 cow.
    Is this a sign that she'll be in heat tomorrow or should I go with plan a insert CIDR (tomorrow/Friday)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Must be some sort of record http://jrnl.ie/3419792f

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

whelan2 wrote: »
    in for a penny...

imported car too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

whelan2 wrote: »

Some people just don't care.
    He'll be back out tomorrow driving an uninsured car again.:rolleyes:

I had a good one here a few weeks ago.
    We have to cross the road with the cows here and it's impossible to get some traffic to slow down on this road.
    Anyway the speed van wisely picked a good spot 100m from our gateway.
    The van was there for the last couple of months now and again.

Usually when the traffic passes our entrance they see the van and the breaklights come on.
    But this one evening we had the cows just off the road and us in our yellow jackets and a car comes flying down the road and the driver was rubbernecking looking in at us in the yard and never spotted the van. (Well the breaklights never came on the car). I'd say it was too late by the time he spotted the van.:p
    I'd say the lesson was learnt to keep your eyes on the road and not be gawking into people's places.:pac:

Probably was a farmer and all.:rolleyes:

I had this come up on YouTube this evening.

With the people at silage in this country now, I thought it was timed well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Miserable day here. Am turning turf- mother loosing her mind over it being cut 2 weeks and not turned. Would rather be saturated rather than hear it again.

Block layers tearing into the work on our house. The will be a ceiling level today/tomorrow. Delighted with the progress

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

June July and August, 3 good reasons to be a...........:cool:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »

Fact.... there are some days you'd question your sanity but when pay day lands on the first day of the summer, it doesn't matter the weather- it's sunny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

blue5000 wrote: »

I think they work 183 of the 365/366 days in the year. By work I mean turn up :D

Herself was doing reports for her class last night (primary) and i said would you not do that at school. she said no, sure i have school tour and gaa stuff for the rest of the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I came across this little yoke today after losing it last year. It's for turning high tensile wire in a neat loop on the end insulators. It definitely makes working with HT wire a lot easier.

xyD8i2i.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Youngest lad started a week "mid term break" toda. Would much prefer that they finished earlier than 29th June than this week off :(

I think they work 183 of the 365/366 days in the year. By work I mean turn up :D

Herself was doing reports for her class last night (primary) and i said would you not do that at school. she said no, sure i have school tour and gaa stuff for the rest of the week.

Why do you think I'm so rich? Nearly All the cheques I get have a harp on top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Why do you think I'm so rich? Nearly All the cheques I get have a harp on top.

I guessed from your list of assets and bonuses that my taxes were responsible, no other industry would stick that..... you're just confirming all my posts about PS ya jammy bugger, I wouldn't mind paying if we were gettin an efficient and proper service

rangler1 wrote: »
    I guessed from your list of assets and bonuses that my taxes were responsible, no other industry would stick that..... you're just confirming all my posts about PS ya jammy bugger, I wouldn't mind paying if we were gettin an efficient and proper service

Hardly jammy, I studied and worked hard to get to where I am. Nothing stops anyone from following the same career path.
    I'm a young public sector, I pay for a lot of those assets myself. And you wouldn't work with some of the young lads I teach in situations I've been in. I don't think you've ever had to deal with a large cohort of exam students sitting exams while their classmate was being buried after dying by suicide a few days earlier.

Although I am very aware of the long holidays and greatful of them also, but after the school year I put down, they couldn't arrive at a better time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

rangler1 wrote: »
    I'm probably not the best for lauding our public sector services but for all the tea in China I could not be either a teacher or nurse/doctor. I can't understand why anyone would commit their working lives to such vocations - I'd rather pick stones.
    Btw I have the highest respect for most teachers and medical staff that I have dealt with. I don't begrudge teachers having their Summer break. Some are excellent and do a lot of work outside hours to help their students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

Miserable day here. Am turning turf- mother loosing her mind over it being cut 2 weeks and not turned. Would rather be saturated rather than hear it again.

KK do you perhaps give too much heed to what your mother thinks.

I am always telling my sons do such and such (they are not farming mind) and they suit themselves when to do it. I know this before I say it but I say it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Base price wrote: »
    I'm probably not the best for lauding our public sector services but for all the tea in China I could not be either a teacher or nurse/doctor. I can't understand why anyone would commit their working lives to such vocations - I'd rather pick stones.
    Btw I have the highest respect for most teachers and medical staff that I have dealt with. I don't begrudge teachers having their Summer break. Some are excellent and do a lot of work outside hours to help their students.

Enough said

KK do you perhaps give too much heed to what your mother thinks.

I am always telling my sons do such and such (they are not farming mind) and they suit themselves when to do it. I know this before I say it but I say it anyway.

I know but since the father died, she has lost the nerve/mind a bit. Big house alone. She is hard work on my brother, his wife and myself. My OH avoids her. Interesting to see how she will do it when we're 200 meters away from her:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Enough said

But sure that applies to every job / profession / person...
    Not everyone will be good, not everyone will be bad...

That's life ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

Hopefully things will settle down

2.5 years and counting.

Thank god for my small lady. Keeps her occupied and brings happiness to her he place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Base price wrote: »

I'd be the same Base...

A lot of my family would be teachers... I think it's a horrible job...

And I'd agree with kollege - anyone can become a teacher, just get the qualification and then get the job... it's not some secret society :)

I do however also see ranglers point - some of our public service is very wasteful...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Enough said
    During my schooling I had excellent, understanding, sympathetic teachers who were able to deal with and inspire my rebellious younger self. My favourite was my science teacher - initially junior cert & laterally biology & chemistry for the leaving cert. She used to sit with me in the school library at lunchtime on Wednesdays (5&6 yr) to assuage my ever growing demand for knowledge. Only for her and my sister's ( who held a science degree) input I would not have gained A honours in the leaving cert.
    Unfortunately my Dad died from cancer (brain tumour) within months after my leaving cert results and his death changed the financial dynamics without our home.
    I have always encouraged my sons when they were in school along with working with of their teachers. Unfortunately not all teachers are singing from the same hymn sheets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

What's the junior cert I did the group cert,inter cert and leaving cert.

I said wrote: »

It's a certificate that allows you to use question marks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    It's a certificate that allows you to use question marks.

Piss off pandantic pat.

???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

The Junior Cert replaced the Inter Cert.
    The Inter Cert, I think is being replaced after next year by some form of Continuous assessment.