If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Not The Annoyingly Trivial Things-Bitches be cray cray week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I recorded a programme called The Truth about Sleep a few weeks back to try to shed some light on my crap sleeping. I fell asleep watching it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

Jrop wrote: »
    TA It's PMS time ! I'm super cranky and want to get my body weight in chocolate.

I'm TA because, despite having an app to track my period, I only just realised after reading your post that mine is due the day after tomorrow and that's why I'm craving chocolate. I don't really eat chocolate and don't normally get cravings for chocolate so I'm wondering is that an indication of my period being terrible. I also have really bad pains in my lady parts wah wah wah:(

My other TA is that my neighbour is having work done on the roof of her house - when I say "neighbour" I mean the country definition of neighbour, her house is a field away from me - and the workmen can see into my yard because they're up so high. In the mornings, I go out into the yard with my dogs and stroll around with them while still in my pj's, my pj's are shorts because I get too hot otherwise. I have a medical issue with my legs, which makes them absolutely hideous. I know the workmen can see me wandering around with my hideous exposed legs so I can't decide whether to get dressed or just not care. Normally, I'm a "not care" kind of person but I don't want the workmen to think I'm out in my shorts because I think I'm some hotty:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jrop

TA like Erica 74 the period tracking app isn't 100 percent accurate

Jrop wrote: »
    TA like Erica 74 the period tracking app isn't 100 percent accurate

Oh mine is because I'm on the pill so I have a "fake" period every month, approx. every 28 days. I just forgot to pay attention to the reminder that popped up on my phone reminding me to expect and log my period.
    That is a TA in itself, setting reminders and ignoring them and then forgetting about the event the reminder was reminding you of:mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Bleedin starvin. 4 weetabix just wasn't enough this morning. I might be having 2 lunches today :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

erica74 wrote: »
    Oh mine is because I'm on the pill so I have a "fake" period every month, approx. every 28 days. I just forgot to pay attention to the reminder that popped up on my phone reminding me to expect and log my period.
    That is a TA in itself, setting reminders and ignoring them and then forgetting about the event the reminder was reminding you of:mad:

TA at all the lucky people who are on a 28 day cycle. I got shafted last month when it appeared on day 25. Fraudulent fúcking plumbing.

TA the weather at the moment is wreaking havoc with my eyes. They are so dry and scratchy and I have midge bites and am sick of the heat at night when trying to sleep. I miss the winter.

TA when you are waiting for the luas on the platform and there are others waiting for a luas across on the other platform, and there is a 6 minute gawking festival before the thing arrives. Have ye no smartphones to be looking at? Do you have to stand with your pie hole open staring at other people just because they are in your line of vision? Dullards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jrop

ONW I hear TA that it could be 29 one month the following 24 the following 27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭farmerwifelet

Nits - one child got them in school and passed them onto other child and me. ahhh itchy scratchy feckers! child two now appears to be allergic to anti-nit shampoo. yay. Even though i shampooed my hair last night scratching like mad today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,166 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

People who 'tail' you on the motorway, or use you as a 'pace car'

I'm driving from Limerick to Dublin yesterday and just outside Limerick, this car starts tailing me, overtaking with me etc... I'm driving with cruise control set at 120 km/h, and this guy is following me for a good while.
    Half way to Dublin, he's still behind me, regularly slowing down and catching back up with me but never overtaking me, a few times I thought I'd finally lost him when I started pulling away and putting some distance between us, only for him to come back up and sit behind me again.
    I thought I'd finally lose him at the toll booth, but he caught up with me again a minute or 2 later!!
    I finally lost him at Naas where the M7 becomes the N7 and it goes to 3 lanes and down to 100 km/h.

I know he was just an idiot, and this happens all the time and they are most likely oblivious to what they are doing, but it's annoying, and I've never had one the full length of the M7 before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I'm driving from Limerick to Dublin yesterday and just outside Limerick, this car starts tailing me, overtaking with me etc... I'm driving with cruise control set at 120 km/h, and this guy is following me for a good while.
    Half way to Dublin, he's still behind me, regularly slowing down and catching back up with me but never overtaking me, a few times I thought I'd finally lost him when I started pulling away and putting some distance between us, only for him to come back up and sit behind me again.
    I thought I'd finally lose him at the toll booth, but he caught up with me again a minute or 2 later!!
    I finally lost him at Naas where the M7 becomes the N7 and it goes to 3 lanes and down to 100 km/h.

I know he was just an idiot, and this happens all the time and they are most likely oblivious to what they are doing, but it's annoying, and I've never had one the full length of the M7 before!

What kind of car was it?

TA still not being able to drive my car :mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I reckon that his speedometer was broken and he saw you putting on the cruise control. And he thought your tail lights were pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,166 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

it was a 171 rental car, a citroen of some sort with a distinct daylight running light.

Though I was also driving a rental car, and I believe the lights are indeed pretty on it.

Other TA;

Driving on the motorway down to Limerick in the pi$$ings of rain yesterday morning, and seeing so many people quite happy to be driving about 4-5 metres behind a truck/coach (which is throwing up tons of water into it's slipstream), doing about 80-90 km/h

mostly older people, no lights on, trucks probably don't even know they are behind them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Had something stuck under my tongue last night. Felt like maybe a grain of rice or something was under my tongue. Tried get it out with my tongue, but couldn't so tried with my finger, just sweeping finger under tongue. I felt it pop and there was a weird taste in my mouth :(

I didn't realise you could get spots under your tongue. I googled it and the first things that came up was oral cancer. F uck you google.

Nits - one child got them in school and passed them onto other child and me. ahhh itchy scratchy feckers! child two now appears to be allergic to anti-nit shampoo. yay. Even though i shampooed my hair last night scratching like mad today.

TA that even the mention of nits has me scratching my head and being paranoid:mad:

Another totally unrelated TA of mine is that since I cancelled my contract with my provider (at the end of my 24 month contract), my service has gone to absolute shite :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I have a lot of friends in the UK and my facebook feed is clogged up with pro-labour/tory/lib dem 'shares'. Bar a cheeky bet on Jeremy to be the next PM I have no interest.
    Need to be off facebook until after their election. I am bound to be missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I was in bed at 10.45 last night, slept like a log.

Now I'm knackered tired!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Minnie Snuggles

My TA is people not reading the description of what they are buying, I was looking for a replacement filter for my cooker hood. The description clearly said "cut to fit". In nearly all the comments people said the filter was excellent but the down side was that they had to cut the filter to fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Lets dump all the old IT equipment that the old company who sold us own in a pile in a corner ..........

And everyones reaction to me going why did you leave the stuff there is ?. I seen others do it ....

My reaction is if you seen john jump of a bridge would you jump with them .......

Why do you need to fight with me over me asking for your laptop, dock and chargers ?????. You dont own them .... Our company does not own them ..... Or old owners own them and wont them back .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Reading other posts, TA that medicine has not resolved PMS. I used to be half mad with it. An ould one now, but sympathise with you younger ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Reading other posts, TA that medicine has not resolved PMS. I used to be half mad with it. An ould one now, but sympathise with you younger ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

My neighbour is right outside talking loudly for ages to some other foreign fiend. Shut the fck up man I'm trying to block you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,199 ✭✭✭✭bnt

This TA is a bit "meta", but it's real to me. I have an imperfect memory, and have positions on subjects where I don't have instant recall of all the reasons why I have that posiition. My TA is people who think that, just because I don't recall all the details on the spot, that my position is not supportable. My position is supportable, it's just that I have better things to do with my memory than clog it up with such details.

Example: on Dublin's streets I often walk past preachers or missionaries of various sorts. Christians, Muslims, Jehovah's Witnesses, and more recently Mormons (LDS, the guys in shirts & ties on Grafton St.). At various times in the past I've looked at those and other religions, and came to an answer: "No". I don't remember all the details at the time I pass. Each of those missionaries, on the other hand, comes prepared for arguments about his or her specific religion. If I was to get in a discussion with any of them, I would get details wrong, and thus give the incorrect impression that I'm closed-minded to dismiss their religion out of hand. Well, I didn't dismiss their religion out of hand, it's just that I looked at it years ago and have forgotten some of the details - but haven't forgotten the conclusion I came to after proper consideration. :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

TA that I'm not sure whether a) I don't get Pms or b) I'm a raging lunatic all day errrrryday

One should be able to distinguish if she has pms and not wonder if her entire life is pms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Turns out it wasn't the flu but a throat infection. On antibiotics and painkillers for it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

My friend's typos..trying to figure out whether they're answering in the affirmative or not is most annoying. Today the typos are more funny than annoying ''I was with some Franking activists..'' (after several minutes I deduced that he was talking about anti-fracking activists, not disgruntled post office workers.)
    ''You are a string person.'' (He was commending my inner strength)
    ''I like that about you, I like combative post women'' (I eventually discovered this was supposed to be a compliment, and he was calling me an assertive posh woman.. Even though I'm not posh.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

My neighbour is right outside talking loudly for ages to some other foreign fiend. Shut the fck up man I'm trying to block you out.

A foreign fiend? Like a baddie in a James Bond film? 😂

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,704 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

It's not like it's the middle of the night, in fairness. Unless you're on a night shift...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

New Home wrote: »
    It's not like it's the middle of the night, in fairness. Unless you're on a night shift...

I work from home and there's a girl upstairs has people at the door every hour on the hour then you've everyone else banging doors and talking really loudly. It's the nosiest place ever. It's very hard to concentrate and I use the phone a lot so you can hear them clearly in the background. I don't know many people who could handle it plus there's parties most nights so I don't get sleep.
    I'm too old for this crap. You'd have to see it first hand to understand really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I work from home and there's a girl upstairs has people at the door every hour on the hour then you've everyone else banging doors and talking really loudly. It

Sounds like the girl upstairs is working from home too. Are you sure it's doors that are banging? :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,704 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I work from home and there's a girl upstairs has people at the door every hour on the hour then you've everyone else banging doors and talking really loudly. It's the nosiest place ever. It's very hard to concentrate and I use the phone a lot so you can hear them clearly in the background. I don't know many people who could handle it plus there's parties most nights so I don't get sleep.
    I'm too old for this crap. You'd have to see it first hand to understand really.

If you work from home and it's a regular occurrence, then it's entirely different, and I apologise - I was picturing you home during your lunch hour watching TV and your neighbour in her driveway talking loudly to a friend.
    gramar wrote: »
    Sounds like the girl upstairs is working from home too. Are you sure it's doors that are banging? :pac:

Excellent question.