Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Conundrum.....have a 5* cow in heat and dunno whether to put a ch or blue on her. She's gone bull/heifer/bull/heifer for last 7 or 8 years and had a heifer this year. BUT, there's always the chance she'll have another heifer, had a Carrickbrack Hutch heifer from her this year.

Crossmolina Jupiter or Boherard Cian.....hmmmm.

The bull/ heifer order is just fluke. Don't worry about that.

I'd use ZGH but that's just me

Go for the blue. Charolais are overrated in my book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Conundrum.....have a 5* cow in heat and dunno whether to put a ch or blue on her. She's gone bull/heifer/bull/heifer for last 7 or 8 years and had a heifer this year. BUT, there's always the chance she'll have another heifer, had a Carrickbrack Hutch heifer from her this year.

Crossmolina Jupiter or Boherard Cian.....hmmmm.

Charolais, she's probably bulled at this stage tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

The bull/ heifer order is just fluke. Don't worry about that.

I'd use ZGH but that's just me

Go for the blue. Charolais are overrated in my book
    Charolais, she's probably bulled at this stage tho

Went with Jupiter, cow is €115 for replacement so if it is a heifer, she should (in theory) be just about 4 stars replacement.
    Have a limo heifer just calved Sunday off her, just find there's maybe a bit too much limo in her, though her calf may surprise me yet! So just felt like a bit more hybrid in the mix would be no harm. :D

I'll have to remember to come back and quote this tweet if/when she calves next year to say if it was a bull or heifer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

The boy, with all the youthful optimism of a sixteen year old, has just left the yard to go back to drawing grass having texted me to see "can someone pick him up from the field at 10:30am to take him to school for his ag science exam?"

I hope they're giving out extra marks for dedication, he's going to need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

kowtow wrote: »
    The boy, with all the youthful optimism of a sixteen year old, has just left the yard to go back to drawing grass having texted me to see "can someone pick him up from the field at 10:30am to take him to school for his ag science exam?"

I hope they're giving out extra marks for dedication, he's going to need them.
    Lad up here since 5. Studying for his. 3exams today. Ag science, maths and construction. Horrible day for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

whelan2 wrote: »
    Lad up here since 5. Studying for his. 3exams today. Ag science, maths and construction. Horrible day for him.

Never easy.
    Junior Cert ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

_Brian wrote: »
    Never easy.
    Junior Cert ?

Doesn't start until 6th of June we have 2 for it this yr.
    Was war here to get them to school as we are drawing in bales today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Never easy.
    Junior Cert ?

Too early and construction is a leaving cert subject following woodwork at junior cert. School summer house exams I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Used to hate the exams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Any contenders here for the Farmer of the year awards Tonight, I was one of the judges for the sheep section so free night tonight in the Ballsbridge hotel....woohooo

Reggie. wrote: »
    Used to hate the exams

Yea.
    Eldest girl is finishing second year, puts serious pressure on herself for results, have to say when I see the work she puts in I'm embarrassed about how little effort I put in, was always away with my dad on the trick or tricking at stuff round the farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/farmers-being-able-to-help-each-other-out-is-a-thing-of-the-past/#

Fairly honest description of the problem seen regarding Farming and safety..

Definitely around us nothing happens during the day as lads are away working..

Yeah the amount of lone working is very high on farms I'd say. I wonder what other industries are like.

Never easy.
    Junior Cert ?
    No fifth year, daughter is doing first year exams and she thinks they are a breeze :rolleyes:

Had a cow came in to the parlour with collic or something and pulled the air lines out of the cashman feeders :mad: young lad came roaring for me, he cut his leg in the garden. Massive gash on his shin. Very glad of the bord bia first aid kit for the dressings cleaning wipes. He's gone to school with a massive bandage around it. Only finished milking now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I see a bull in ennis mart is after putting three people in hospital, I thought Ennis was one of the safest marts in the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Trying to eat my dinner here at home and there's about a hundred starlings screeching around the house and garden.
    They've been around in a big flock for the last few days around the fields here.
    There's a fair few nests on the farm and these would be the new fledglings.
    I don't mind wildlife and all that but why couldn't they sound like a blackbird?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Home tonight, been a long fecking 2 weeks.  Got home almost for free as 3 other lads sharing the boat fare and a lady i only know via facebook is paying me to tow a caravan home for her... i hope its not full of drugs :p

I was just reading the local rag.

The headline on an article was "Strawberry growers breach Labour laws".
    It goes on to say how two well known fruit growers found themselves before the District Court last week facing charges of breaching employment labour laws in relation to both record keeping and the employment of minors.
    You have to provide details it seems for under 18's.
    Whatever that means now. Not sure if it is illegal or not now but the article seems like they're clamping down on it.

My own experience of strawberry picking is very fond.
    I started about 8 years of age and was collected in a box van in the morning along with about 15 others (all from the same primary school) in the back of the van. Then we'd get a bucket each (strawberries for chivers) and start on a drill. Everyone got paid by weight. So when your bucket was full you carried the bucket up to a cattle trailer and it was weighed and put in a tray for chivers.
    The more strawberries you picked the more you got paid and you would be in awe of the older pickers who could earn up to 60 pounds a day.
    It really installed a great work ethic in all of us who were picking and you learned pretty quick that by working hard you got paid more. It was up to yourself whether you picked or not. There was never any pressure on. But we all loved the comradery and banter with our friends during the summer and talk of what everyone would spend the money on when the season was finished.

Then we had a bit of a competition going with the carlow pickers who picked there as well. (They were collected in a cattle trailer). Quite right too.:p
    If the strawberry grower was absent sometimes a strawberry fight would break out. All good humoured rivalry and never went too far.

But I was thinking when I saw the article about our group picking strawberries.
    Everyone of us is in paid employment. There's none of us on the dole.
    There's teachers, nurses, farmers, hotel managers, shop owners, high level accountants, oil industry workers, lab technicians.
    But the point is everyone are workers.

The strawberry field was a great learning experience for children/teenagers and instilled a fantastic work ethic.
    I feel anyway.

Be a crying shame to loose that in young people.

rangler1 wrote: »
    I see a bull in ennis mart is after putting three people in hospital, I thought Ennis was one of the safest marts in the country

Safest maybe but People do get complacent around animals, hopefully those hurt will be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Is that the same bull Patsy waved off in the Ambulance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I was just reading the local rag.

The headline on an article was "Strawberry growers breach Labour laws".
    It goes on to say how two well known fruit growers found themselves before the District Court last week facing charges of breaching employment labour laws in relation to both record keeping and the employment of minors.
    You have to provide details it seems for under 18's.
    Whatever that means now. Not sure if it is illegal or not now but the article seems like they're clamping down on it.

My own experience of strawberry picking is very fond.
    I started about 8 years of age and was collected in a box van in the morning along with about 15 others (all from the same primary school) in the back of the van. Then we'd get a bucket each (strawberries for chivers) and start on a drill. Everyone got paid by weight. So when your bucket was full you carried the bucket up to a cattle trailer and it was weighed and put in a tray for chivers.
    The more strawberries you picked the more you got paid and you would be in awe of the older pickers who could earn up to 60 pounds a day.
    It really installed a great work ethic in all of us who were picking and you learned pretty quick that by working hard you got paid more. It was up to yourself whether you picked or not. There was never any pressure on. But we all loved the comradery and banter with our friends during the summer and talk of what everyone would spend the money on when the season was finished.

Then we had a bit of a competition going with the carlow pickers who picked there as well. (They were collected in a cattle trailer). Quite right too.:p
    If the strawberry grower was absent sometimes a strawberry fight would break out. All good humoured rivalry and never went too far.

But I was thinking when I saw the article about our group picking strawberries.
    Everyone of us is in paid employment. There's none of us on the dole.
    There's teachers, nurses, farmers, hotel managers, shop owners, high level accountants, oil industry workers, lab technicians.
    But the point is everyone are workers.

The strawberry field was a great learning experience for children/teenagers and instilled a fantastic work ethic.
    I feel anyway.

Be a crying shame to loose that in young people.

Same experience as that pedigree. Powerful post.
    Summer was strawberries and Halloween was potatoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Grueller wrote: »
    Same experience as that pedigree. Powerful post.
    Summer was strawberries and Halloween was potatoes.

...and stones the year round...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

rangler1 wrote: »
    Just after finding out that the guy seriously injured is a brother of my neighbour.

Can hear them practising in slane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

whelan2 wrote: »
    Can hear them practising in slane.

Lucky you, get to hear GNR for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

...and stones the year round...

Square bales of hay here

In my opinion, since the min wage came in (think 2000), when students got the same/similar wage to adults summer work has gotten harder to be got.
    Summer work was good for instilling independence, responsibility, respect, awareness & work ethic into teenagers

It's getting a bit like the Open university here but anyway.:pac:

If you want to know how Calcite limestone was formed.
    Read this.http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=103634499&postcount=1692

It's a post by me in the After Hours forum in the "I bet you didn't know that" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Just for Haywire

http://www.leitrimobserver.ie/news/local-news/252077/back-to-the-rain-in-leitrim.html

I'd say we get more rain in West Cork though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Spring barley is pathetic in parts of east cork. Pass it down!
    Water John wrote: »
    Just for Haywire

http://www.leitrimobserver.ie/news/local-news/252077/back-to-the-rain-in-leitrim.html

I'd say we get more rain in West Cork though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

A wet and windy May, fills the barns with corn and hay.