Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Bull****. Farm accident not far from here last spring. Doctor on scene in 15 minutes followed by ambulance 5 minutes later. Rural area too.

young lady passed away here a month ago. From time the emergency call was made to advanced paramedic arrived was 7/8 minutes. Nearest hospital over 20 mins away. unfortunately she didn't make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

pure spoiling the auld mccormick the last 2 weeks

Topcon X14 fitted 2 weeks ago
    New Bluetooth radio in tractor and digger yesterday
    and softride accumulator going on the mx loader this evening
    auld lad is going to service it over the weekend and she should be ready for silage, hay and bog

Where are ya going with yer TopCon?!

Fertilizer and spraying (doing the boom sprayer course this weekend)

they night time rolling, aerating , topping etc especially useful during the short evenings

Its a fecking pain to get use to and set up though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

they night time rolling, aerating , topping etc especially useful during the short evenings

Thought you were leaving the spraying to later in the year.

Not that hard to set up if you would only read the manual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Yeah, but have you not got like a 'small farm'?

sure it still has to be done. And I do a few bits for others also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I was working for a farmer outside belfast, and he had a GPS installed on the tractor in January. I was joking with him that santa must have been good to him. He said he needed it for night time slurry spreading......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

sure it still has to be done. And I do a few bits for others also

Fair play

I said wrote: »
    Fair play

Lick arse:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Just had first day of TB herd test. Christ complete torture. Cows went stone mad and just wouldn't go into crush. Had my quietest cow nearly have a heart attack racing up and down the crush. You could get the smell of flint from her digging her back feet into the concrete. Gate came off the back of crush then in the middle of the whole thing. I need a trible brandy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Reggie. wrote: »
    Lick arse:D

You'll have it borrowed of him in no time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,681 ✭✭✭emaherx

Just had first day of TB herd test. Christ complete torture. Cows went stone mad and just wouldn't go into crush. Had my quietest cow nearly have a heart attack racing up and down the crush. You could get the smell of flint from her digging her back feet into the concrete. Gate came off the back of crush then in the middle of the whole thing. I need a trible brandy.

I'll do the reading for you Patsy, if you could do a few night feeds ;)

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

Sure I have one myself. Package deal

took a pro over 2 hours to fit it into the mccormick .

hardly easy installed like Topcon say. but its in and working

I was working for a farmer outside belfast, and he had a GPS installed on the tractor in January. I was joking with him that santa must have been good to him. He said he needed it for night time slurry spreading......

set of work lights on the tanker would have done the job :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

The vet here reckons a crush big enough for 5 cows is the ideal size.
    Then you have no racing and squashing in the crush.
    Just have another holding pen in front of the crush to draw the waiting cows in the first pen into the crush itself and keep the operation flowing.

Thing that made me happy today.

I had a field that got too alkaline after I spread lime on it last November.
    The grass was burnt looking and made worse by the easterly wind up to a few weeks ago.
    It got all nitrogen up to now in non urea form.
    I spread urea on it last week before the heavy rain.
    Walked it today and the grass has turned from yellow to dark green.
    Job done. Happy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Got offered the stephen cullinane scholarship today exciting times ahead for me

Well done! Seriously good program. One of the best things macra ever came up with

Saw red clover getting cut so went over for a gander. Got talking to the owner and now I'm getting half a dozen bales as an experiment

Any pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Just have another holding pen in front of the crush to draw the waiting cows in the first pen into the crush itself and keep the operation flowing.

I don't particularly enjoy testing but it is hard to beat long crushes on dairy farms, 7 or 8 cows long. Jesus you can work things alot faster in longer crushes. 5 is handy as the tuberculin bottles are 20 doses so it falls nicely for reloading.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Any pics

Took one but never saved it. Raging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

set of work lights on the tanker would have done the job :D

Not if you don't want to be seen in January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Dead right 5 cows is best or even better have two crushes side by side of 5.
    pedigree 6 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭tractorporn

That stuff is rocket fuel.

How do you put it in the rocket though?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

pure spoiling the auld mccormick the last 2 weeks

Topcon X14 fitted 2 weeks ago
    New Bluetooth radio in tractor and digger yesterday
    and softride accumulator going on the mx loader this evening
    auld lad is going to service it over the weekend and she should be ready for silage, hay and bog

Need to change the stereo in the tractor and was thinking of getting one with Bluetooth. Is there much to swapping out the old stereo and sticking in the new one? Would I be better off using a Bluetooth headset then rather than trying to go through the speakers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/farmers-being-able-to-help-each-other-out-is-a-thing-of-the-past/#

Fairly honest description of the problem seen regarding Farming and safety..

Definitely around us nothing happens during the day as lads are away working..

Parishlad wrote: »
    Need to change the stereo in the tractor and was thinking of getting one with Bluetooth. Is there much to swapping out the old stereo and sticking in the new one? Would I be better off using a Bluetooth headset then rather than trying to go through the speakers?

I have on in the dini. Great job. You only need to plug in the microphone into the back before installation and install as normal. Easy job. Only a few euro dearer to get the one fully setup over one than is compatible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Conundrum.....have a 5* cow in heat and dunno whether to put a ch or blue on her. She's gone bull/heifer/bull/heifer for last 7 or 8 years and had a heifer this year. BUT, there's always the chance she'll have another heifer, had a Carrickbrack Hutch heifer from her this year.

Crossmolina Jupiter or Boherard Cian.....hmmmm.