Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,031 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

I'd like to know if this Alex Jones wannabee will open his invitation to anyone who wants to challenge him on air as per the text he read out and then threatened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I found that item on the Challenger Disaster very moving, particularly Christa McAuliffe's final interview :( I've vivid memories of watching that tragic day as a young child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

I appreciate that George is upset today but maybe he should have pulled a sickie - he has been ranting, raving and crying since noon, it's not very professional.

I listened back after reading the comments here and thought it was a quite moving piece of radio and George at his best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

I listened back after reading the comments here and thought it was a quite moving piece of radio and George at his best.

I thought it was way too self-indulgent myself, even allowing for the fact the that self-indulgence is Hook's stock-in-trade.

foxtrot101 wrote: »

I thought it was way too self-indulgent myself, even allowing for the fact the that self-indulgence is Hook's stock-in-trade.

That doesn't surprise me. :)

It does make me wonder why you bother listening though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Oh piss off George. He actually said "We were very lucky on Monday that no Irish people were hurt in Manchester."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,029 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

George managed to make it all about himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

That doesn't surprise me. :)

For the lack of alternative more than anything else, I'm not really into showbands. I never used to mind the Right Hook, quite like the CSO bit, essential songs...etc I just can't be doing with the new alt-Right Hook element.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

People who listen to the show (or don't listen to the show anymore) and wish to comment on Hook's performance seem to bother you.

It does make me wonder why you bother listening though reading this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,998 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

People who listen to the show (or don't listen to the show anymore) and wish to comment on Hook's performance seem to bother you.

Maybe you should switch off until liberal lefty darling of the airwaves Moncrieff comes on if You don't like George!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

Maybe you should switch off until liberal lefty darling of the airwaves Moncrieff comes on if You don't like George!

Jasus! Does this mean that anyone who disagrees with George is a liberal leftie? Or is it anyone who disagrees with you that is a liberal leftie? I am confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Mod: Guys, enough. Anyone who listens to the show no matter what the reason is entitled to comment on it. The "switch station" argument is against the forum charter. Just discuss the show like adults please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I stopped listening a while back.

The thing is, if George was on about films, music, travel, sport etc., I'd listen all the time. Because I'm actually really fond of the old spanner, and quite like him discussing those kind of things.

But anything political, and worse still anything along the lines of "Here come the girls"...impossible to listen to.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I stopped listening a while back.

The thing is, if George was on about films, music, travel, sport etc., I'd listen all the time. Because I'm actually really fond of the old spanner, and quite like him discussing those kind of things.

But anything political, and worse still anything along the lines of "Here come the girls"...impossible to listen to.

The film spot was on today. Its a good segment. They did 12 Angry Men today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

[QUOTE=Snake Plisken;103627952]Maybe you should switch off until liberal lefty darling of the airwaves Moncrieff comes on if You don't like George![/QUOTE]

...remind anyone of that old chestnut about those on the left trying to close down debate by name calling..snowflake anyone...oh the irony of it all.

Clearly there was an editorial decision for Hook to **** stir as its always good for ratings and keeps the phones hopping. Neil Prendeville/Niall Boylan and many others make a living out of it..repeating the same old drivel over and over again to a seemingly insatiable audience.I actually think Hook is a very insecure man who needs attention of any form .I enjoy the show but listen to it with a health warning on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

...remind anyone of that old chestnut accusing the left of name calling in attempt to stop debate...snowflake anybody...oh the irony of it all.
    Clearly an editorial decesion was taken to engage in ****stirring...its good for ratings .Look at Prendeville/Boylan and loads more who pile out repetitive but contentious drivel..they all do fairly well.
    I actually think Hook is a very insecure person who needs any form of attention.. and enjoy his show...if taken with a pinch of salt.

Is this, like, spot the difference?

Is there a prize?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Ah yeah, When he talks about the movies you can just see the young George wide eyed looking up at the big screen entranced in some epic with one of his favourite "dames". He does seem to truly love the films. He sometimes even managed to get Philip Molloy enthused about movies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

He's very knowledgable about music too. I think he runbed Bill Huges up the wrong way one too many times and now Hughesy won't give him the time of day

Put your handbag down. I merely gave an opinion on the show in question.

High Noon started in September. Some people have been giving out about George and the show since then, others switched off, hence my question.

I'm not at all bothered by it and now I know it is against the charter to ask such a question I won't do it again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,031 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

J Mysterio wrote: »
    He's very knowledgable about music too. I think he runbed Bill Huges up the wrong way one too many times and now Hughesy won't give him the time of day

Up to the mid 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭jooksavage

The f**k is Hook talking about? "DUP gonna defo push for hard brexit". An hour after Arlene Foster says the opposite. Jesus would he ever wake up.

jooksavage wrote: »
    The f**k is Hook talking about? "DUP gonna defo push for hard brexit". An hour after Arlene Foster says the opposite. Jesus would he ever wake up.

Dunno. The Untouchables is great, though.

I ain't no classical music buff, but was that not Ode To Joy, not Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves?

Or are they just similar?

Here come the girls is terrible. Every time george tries to outrage the girls I think of this simpsons scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I can imagine him drooling as "the girls" sashay their way into the studio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

I can imagine him drooling as "the girls" sashay their way into the studio.

At least you know hes not getting a boner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Jaysus, George trying to tear this Kiwi a new one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

Loving this kiwi telling hook to shut the hell up! He's speaking a lot of sense about Dublin as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Jay's this fella is tearing George a new one. Not letting George get away with his ranting raving.