Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭White Clover

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    They had 40 ambulances going in convoy onto the scene last night.

You can't get 1 in this country let alone 40.:mad:

Bull****. Farm accident not far from here last spring. Doctor on scene in 15 minutes followed by ambulance 5 minutes later. Rural area too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bull****. Farm accident not far from here last spring. Doctor on scene in 15 minutes followed by ambulance 5 minutes later. Rural area too.

Yeah but be hard to get 40 tho :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Reggie. wrote: »
    No the ERU is now. Along with the ARW as backup

The ERU provide the heavily armed element to SDU, The SDU are the people that follow the counter terrorism leads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

5 Ambulances arrived to a garda chase crash at the end of our lane, along with numerous squad cars and vans, and fire brigades and recovery vehicles. Never saw as many flashing blue lights in 1 place

Boaty wrote: »
    The ERU provide the heavily armed element to SDU, The SDU are the people that follow the counter terrorism leads.

They follow them but can't react to them unless engaged directly during a surveillance. Why do you think the ARU and ERU are with them at the checkpoints or when they search an area.

Only the ERU or ARW will engage in such a situation. With ourselves giving direct support or providing a cordon.

It's the ARU that provides the armed element to the SDU.

The ERU is a different beast altogether. Something nearly on par with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

and who brings the alphabet soup? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I had a traffic accident a number of years ago and the ambulance was very swift, about 15 minutes.
    My eldest took ill when she was seven and we needed an ambulance, they must have set off when I was on the phone given how soon they arrived, the operator stayed on the phone and gave me the locations of local AEDs and how to use on a child.

The night my dad died the ambulance was there in 20 minutes at 2am on a Saturday night.

I think there are occasional problems where ambulances are slow to come out and that's terrible but my own personal experience is that it's a very professional service and considering the rural nature of our country their response times are as you would expect.
    If I choose to live 40 minutes from the nearest hospital I can hardly expect an ambulance in 10 minutes !!

Also comparing the response and availability of ambulances in a major urban area to rural Ireland is senseless, I expect the population of Manchester is in excess of 2.5million and so will have the associated resources of half of Ireland, all in one city, hardly comparable.

ganmo wrote: »
    and who brings the alphabet soup? :D

I know. The apprivations look mad to anyone not used to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

_Brian wrote: »
    I had a traffic accident a number of years ago and the ambulance was very swift, about 15 minutes.
    My eldest took ill when she was seven and we needed an ambulance, they must have set off when I was on the phone given how soon they arrived, the operator stayed on the phone and gave me the locations of local AEDs and how to use on a child.

The night my dad died the ambulance was there in 20 minutes at 2am on a Saturday night.

I think there are occasional problems where ambulances are slow to come out and that's terrible but my own personal experience is that it's a very professional service and considering the rural nature of our country their response times are as you would expect.
    If I choose to live 40 minutes from the nearest hospital I can hardly expect an ambulance in 10 minutes !!

Also comparing the response and availability of ambulances in a major urban area to rural Ireland is senseless, I expect the population of Manchester is in excess of 2.5million and so will have the associated resources of half of Ireland, all in one city, hardly comparable.

Good for you Brian and I mean that.

There's people have died in wexford town for the want of an ambulance when the wexford hospital ambulance had to go and provide cover for Ardkeen in Waterford.

Don't live in wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Well done.
    The wife's first cousin got that one year. Met a woman there, she became with child.. His wedding is in NZ this year.

And they were telling us in the interview wed be fierce isolated out there 😂

Better living everyone

It'll take something like that to show up the faults in the system

They should do an unannounced mock exercise and see how they get on.

Only way to properly show up any faults.

Reggie your lot would be well used to those.

And they were telling us in the interview wed be fierce isolated out there 😂

She was the only woman out there though. :(

You're too late!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

They did a mock exercise in one of the Manchester stadiums a while back...and they forgot to pick up the 'bomb' after it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

The reasons there's no ambulances is that there all in the hospitals A&e with patients from nursing homes cos thers no docs in nursing homes.
    Have seen them waiting to hand over patient for over two hours as the A&e departments are full, if they get a call and still haven't handed over the patient they can't go and radio the next available ambulance which is mad if you ask me even if there only 5 mins away.

Edit wrong man I quoted sorry Brian

She was the only woman out there though. :(

You're too late!!!:p

May make a stop in bangkok on the way over so 😂😂😂😂

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

May make a stop in bangkok on the way over so 😂😂😂😂

Check the undercarriage first

naughto wrote: »
    Check the undercarriage first

May bring a drop of jeyes fluid or bluestone for afterwards 😂😂😂

Better living everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

I attempted to pm you to correct you on your miss information but your message box is full.

whelan2 wrote: »

The roads are a dangerous place to be now.:(

Would that be classed as a farm fatality?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Would that be classed as a farm fatality?

It's only pedantics.
    But i'm not sure. It said in the article it was a road traffic accident.
    The Guards would be calling it a RTA anyway.

Makes no difference really.

R.I.P

We are trying to do that but we aren't being listened to

I attempted to pm you to correct you on your miss information but your message box is full.

Believe me when I tell you I'm not. Certain procedures have changed recently and will change alot more if we have anything to do with it. Work in process shall I say.

Have to stop this discussion there....if ya get my meaning

Fixed that mailbox issue as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭EpicPothole

Believe me when I tell you I'm not. Certain procedures have changed recently and will change alot more if we have anything to do with it. Work in process shall I say.

Have to stop this discussion there....if ya get my meaning

Fixed that mailbox issue as well

Whats this 'we' craic Reggie. You part of the committee making all the changes. Boaty is right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Back to farming.

I've a saler (5 star) and a limo x (3/4 star). No h have not calved yet. Thought they were due in April but must have broke. Do I let them calf, sell them at 5 months with calf at foot or do I sell them in calf now or do I fatten and sell in spring before weanlings are out.

I have zero interest in cattle calving too late. It's a legacy issue from the time dad got sick- we sold the early calvers to make more money during his illness/ to cover costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

mate of mine worked as a paramedic in NI during the troubles, he told me he hardened to the shootings, road fatalities, sucidies etc, but when they got a call to a bomb, he used to go rigid, he'd never know what to expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

orm0nd wrote: »
    mate of mine worked as a paramedic in NI during the troubles, he told me he hardened to the shootings, road fatalities, sucidies etc, but when they got a call to a bomb, he used to go rigid, he'd never know what to expect.

I can only imagine! I got caught up in an 'incident' in Paris back in 1995 and the things I saw will never leave me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

pure spoiling the auld mccormick the last 2 weeks

Topcon X14 fitted 2 weeks ago
    New Bluetooth radio in tractor and digger yesterday
    and softride accumulator going on the mx loader this evening
    auld lad is going to service it over the weekend and she should be ready for silage, hay and bog