Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terrorist Attack in Manchester (Read MOD WARNING in OP Updated 24/05/2017))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭SkepticQuark

They didn't target those deliberately.

I'm getting tired of the IRA comparisons but do you actually think they set off a bomb not knowing it would kill civilians? A bomber knows full well who they are going to kill. You don't "unintentionally" kill people in an attack like the Omagh bombing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

neverever1 wrote: »
    I think the only real link between Irish freedom fighters and attacks by those from the Middle East is that Britain has slaughtered many in both lands.

So you think the attack was justified? Assuming you think the "freedom fighters" were justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭.........

If you plant a bomb in a shopping centre or on a major street and set it off during the middle of the day, on the balance of probabilities, you are going to kill and maim women and children.

Shopping centres were army barracks in disguise and women and kids were really secret British soldiers, didn't you know ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

......... wrote: »
    Dissent republicans don't exist and haven't murdered anyone recently, news to me ? It was brought up in response to people claiming Irish republican terrorists are not terrorists and never carried out terrorist bombings. You might want that lie going unchallenged but decent people don't, and you're not going to silence them. So by all means drop the republican subject, but only when people cease the disgusting claim they are not terrorists and never blew up women and kids.

start up a new thread and address those issues if you must, but leave this thread to the original topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,356 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

They didn't target those deliberately.

So please tell me who were they trying to target by leaving bombs in places where there would be a large amount of civillians? The Tooth Fairy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Exeggcute

Jesus can people shut up about the IRA already.

roddy15 wrote: »
    I'm getting tired of the IRA comparisons but do you actually think they set off a bomb not knowing it would kill civilians? A bomber knows full well who they are going to kill. You don't "unintentionally" kill people in an attack like the Omagh bombing.

Apparently they did. A warning was supposed to have been given. Anyway I'm not defending the IRA. Not as bad as Isis is not the same as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,356 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Shopping centres were army barracks in disguise and women and kids were really secret British soldiers, didn't you know ?

No wonder my mother could find any washing up liquid whenever she was it a shopping centre when she visited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Apparantly his family have already gone back to Libya.
    roddy15 wrote: »

Even killing babies in the womb. The vile IRA are no better than the terrorists who are behind the Manchester atrocity or all the other atrocities in Paris etc

So please tell me who were they trying to target by leaving bombs in places where there would be a large amount of civillians? The Tooth Fairy

The only person defending the IRA here is neverever. Take your ire out on him.

Drop the IRA subject people seriously its getting stupid now.

tomofson wrote: »
    start up a new thread and address those issues if you must, but leave this thread to the original topic.

The day of threatening people to be silent is over.
    No, it's actually its the republicans on here claiming the republicans never carried out any terrorist bombings and never targeted women and kids, are the ones that need to start a new thread. Whether you like it or not, every time they state that disgusting lie on this thread, a thread about the murder of women and kids, they are going to be challenged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

You kind of address your own point there. He IRA and UDA etc. were rarely referred to as 'Christian terrorists'.

Whys it so important to yourself and Fox News, to refer to them by their religion?

Irish terrorist were not fighting to establish religious supremacy or on a religious point of principle. They were called Irish terrorists all around the world even though they did not represent the values of the vast majority of the Irish people. Islamic terrorists are fighting for religious values. It's plain inaccurate to call them anything else.
    The name doesn't suggest all Muslims are terrorists anymore than the name Irish terrorists suggest all Irish people are terrorists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 864 ✭✭✭neverever1

So you think the attack was justified? Assuming you think the "freedom fighters" were justified.

Why do you keep making that claim? Where have I said it's justified?

I'm just explaining where it's coming from. Irish freedom fighters bombed England numerous times between 1881 and 1885. Do you think it had anything to do with the conditions in Ireland at the time?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 864 ✭✭✭neverever1

Dublin and Monaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭DrWu

No defender of the Ira here but by and large they didn't target civilians.

Not so:

Kingsmill, 11
    Warrington, 2
    Enniskillen, 11
    Red Lion, 3
    Abercorn, 2
    Claudy, 9
    Coleraine, 6
    Birmingham, 21
    Hilton Hotel, 2
    La Mon bombing, 12
    Dunmurray train, 3
    20th April (multiple locations), 2
    Harrods bombing, 3 + 3
    Victoria Station, 1
    Teebane, 7
    Baltic exchange, 3
    Bishopsgate Bomb, 1
    Docklands bomb, 2

The day of threatening people to be silent is over.
    No, it's actually its the republicans on here claiming the republicans never carried out any terrorist bombings and never targeted women and kids, are the ones that need to start a new thread. Whether you like it or not, every time they state that disgusting lie on this thread, a thread about the murder of women and kids, they are going to be challenged.

The only actual republican on here is not being challenged. Except by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

Ah lads this thread is about the attack in Manchester not the ira FFS

Is there any way you can request the mods to lock a thread???

I'm just explaining where it's coming from. Irish freedom fighters bombed England numerous times between 1881 and 1885. Do you think it had anything to do with the conditions in Ireland at the time?

Given that you use the term freedom fighters for republicans and therefore justify that violence, you are in fact justifying this attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭SkepticQuark

News now I imagine will slow down a bit while they conduct all the investigations and get the suspect formally identified. The vigil took place with no incidents thankfully. Some of the images and stuff from it I found here:

http://www.bbc.com/news/live/uk-england-manchester-40007967

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,079 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Masterful deflection by the islamist fans. Turn it into an IRA discussion to distract from talking about the actual incident. Well played islam fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

If you reckon that that is an excuse for the murder of innocent people (and I don't say you do, but if you do), then you presumably reckon that the conditions in parts of the Middle East obviously justify the terrorist attacks now.

Yes, conditions were bad. Yes, conditions in the Middle East are (actually a lot worse than were in Ireland, not to start a who's-worse-off) awful. No, it's not a good reason.

sjb25 wrote: »
    Ah lads this thread is about the attack in Manchester not the ira FFS

I have been trying to get the thread back on track but when you do they use that as an excuse to bring up the IRA AGAIN!!!

This thread really needs to be locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

I couldn't give a toss about the past, the whataboutery or motivation/justification or any of that. I'm just boiling that the cowardly b****d targeted kids and their parents out enjoying themselves.

What sort of scummer walks in amongst a load of children and detonates a bomb? Utter evil c**t doesn't even cover it.

tomofson wrote: »
    Is there any way you can request the mods to lock a thread???

Yeah good idea, would't want the lie challenged now would you. You're free to talk about Manchester but instead of posting about that, all your interested in instead is covering up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Ok folks. Drop the whole IRA thing now. Start a thread elsewhere if you want to discuss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

Yeah good idea, would't want the lie challenged now would you. You're free to talk about Manchester but instead of posting about that, all your interested in instead is covering up.

Start another thread on the IRA and talk about them fcuking lunatics to your hearts content this thread is about the attack in Manchester which has absolutely nothing to do with any republican unless IS are now republicans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,079 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Says the man who cant go a post without mentioning IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭DrWu

You claim to be old enough to remember the shame of when the RA carried out bombings but then come out with absolute bollix like that

lol, gtfo

Even the most conservative of Tories would not say that what the IRA did is 'the same thing' as what happened last night.

Yourself and Godge (blanch or whatever he's calling himself these days) should be feeling rather ashamed right now, nevermind for stuff that happened 30 years ago. You're using this atrocity as a political football to belittle and vilify those who use their democratic vote in a way you don't approve of. Very scummy

I have no political axe to grind. Actually I probably share a lot of SF's political views and policies. I have no time for murderers, and their twisted political or religious motivations.