Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Journalism and cycling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Why bother? They clearly thrive on this kind of trolling, so it is not worth engaging with them. Engage with BAI or Eir, and let them engage with Newstalk.

Nothing to loose. In my complaint I mentioned that I'd also advised their show sponsors I would no longer be purchasing their products. Also, someone mentioned somewhere you have to complain to the show before you can do so to the BAI?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

When filing an online complaint with the BAI pretty much the first question asks if you're been in touch with the broadcaster about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Tomred13

Sent complaint to Newstalk earlier today and just sent complaint to BAI..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Complaint sent to Newstalk, CC'd to BAI:
    Dear Sirs,

As a cyclist it is with dismay that I write this email concerning comments made by Paul Williams on Newstalk Breakfast, today, 22 May 2017.

I refer specifically to the following:

"If some cyclist comes up and starts to pull my mirror on my car than me and the cyclist are going to have a serious crash and he won’t have to worry about banging into my car a second time I tell you."

This is at best an idle attempt to stir up controversy, and hence ratings for the show. However, I fear it is more than that. I fear that it is closer to the worst possible explanation - a direct threat to the safety of cyclists on Dublin, and Irish roads.

The majority of cyclists do attempt to cycle in as safe and courteous manner as possible. They want to get where they are going just as much as those in motor vehicles. I know I certainly do. The fact though, that your station allows this kind of inflamatory statement to be broadcast, serves to show that your staff believe that this treatment of cyclists is permissible and condoneable, and provides a platform to the public that it is right to treat cyclists as an obstruction to be driven off the road, a location that we have as much right to be as motorists.

I believe that it is important for Newstalk to distance themselves from these comments, and to both publicly apologise to the cycling population of the country, and censure the staff member concerned, showing that it is wholly inappropriate to use the platform given by the station in such a way. Failure of the company to take appropriate action can only be seen as the company condoning such comments. Discussion and debate is one thing, and should be encouraged. Threatening a large segment of the population is not something that should ever be allowed.

Yours Faithfully,
    Robyn Morton

(CC: Broadcasting Authority of Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Rojo

Sent complaint and a few tweets just there. I'm so bloody SICK of people like Williams.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

To be honest, I would be surprised if Eir responded there. Particularly looking at some of the less friendly replies. I imagine the thread will be locked by tomorrow.

The reps there only have power to flag it up higher and their responses will be generally neutral or non existent to a thread like that. Would love to be wrong though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭I love Sean nos

CramCycle wrote: »
    To be honest, I would be surprised if Eir responded there. Particularly looking at some of the less friendly replies. I imagine the thread will be locked by tomorrow.

The reps there only have power to flag it up higher and their responses will be generally neutral or non existent to a thread like that. Would love to be wrong though.
    You were right and the thread was locked. The reps were too cowardly to even post an acknowledgement.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,281 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

The reps were too cowardly to even post an acknowledgement.
    ah here; the thread was posted after 8pm and locked before midnight. they were not online.

+1 only a few hours old and it was turning into a sh1t show. It wouldn't have stayed open in After Hours the way it was going, certainly nowt to do with the reps.

Didn't notice that. So Boards.ie were too cowardly to let them respond to the question then.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,281 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

that forum is there to allow people ask questions about their broadband, not submit feedback on eir's sponsorship policy in relation to radio talk shows. i'm not sure what sort of response you expected.

BAI have replied to me already, acknowledging the email I sent yesterday to Newstalk, CC'd to them.

They note that I have made the complaint to Newstalk in the first instance, and that under BAI rules, Newstalk have 21 days to respond before the complaint can be officially referred to BAI.

At least it's a response.

As for the Eir thread - I understand completely why Zaph locked it. It was always likely to go to sh!t very quickly.

I would have been happy to see someone from Eir say they're sending it on to the right people, but c'est la vie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Weepsie wrote: »
    It would be like coming into me at work and giving out about my marketing department. I'd quickly tell you where to go.

To the marketing department?

that forum is there to allow people ask questions about their broadband, not submit feedback on eir's sponsorship policy in relation to radio talk shows. i'm not sure what sort of response you expected.
    Where does it say that?

Talk_to_Eir.jpg
    myzaM

the bit that says 'customer support'.
    this wasn't a customer query.

I was a potential customer from today when my Vodafone contract expired. Thus it was a valid thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

BAI have replied to me already, acknowledging the email I sent yesterday to Newstalk, CC'd to them.

They note that I have made the complaint to Newstalk in the first instance, and that under BAI rules, Newstalk have 21 days to respond before the complaint can be officially referred to BAI.

At least it's a response.

I was just wondering that - so no point in putting in a BAI complaint for 21 days. Have Newstalk even mentioned yesterdays comments anywhere? Presume they will just ignore everything and we will all go away quietly until the next issue arises! I must put a reminder in my calendar for 21 days time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

I was just wondering that - so no point in putting in a BAI complaint for 21 days. Have Newstalk even mentioned yesterdays comments anywhere? Presume they will just ignore everything and we will all go away quietly until the next issue arises! I must put a reminder in my calendar for 21 days time!

YOU can make a complaint directly to them now. The other complainant has to was 21 days as they CC'd Newstalk on the complaint. The waiting period doesn't apply to you.

Its funny, but I don't listen to Newstalk Breakfast anymore, mainly because of PW. This is his cycling opinions aside. I don't even believe him, he just is in it for the ratings, I just dislike him as a presenter. If he ever changes his mind or apologises, I won't know unless someone here tells me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭blackwhite

CramCycle wrote: »
    Its funny, but I don't listen to Newstalk Breakfast anymore, mainly because of PW. This is his cycling opinions aside. I don't even believe him, he just is in it for the ratings, I just dislike him as a presenter. If he ever changes his mind or apologises, I won't know unless someone here tells me.

He's one of the worst "journalists" on the radio at present.

It's a pity; it used be a very good show with Yates and Donoghue, and I find Coleman to be very good as well, but Williams makes it nearly unlistenable.

He seems to be trying to play the cantankerous grump to Coleman's "straight man", similar to what Yates sometimes did with Donoghue. The difference is, where Yates made it obvious that he was often being contrary to wind Chris up, or just in jest, Williams comes across as aggressive, arrogant and obnoxious. Added to that, he's a very poor interviewer, and offers little-to-no valuable analysis into anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Seen a text sent into NT this morning.

"Considering Paul's comment about harming people/kids who might touch his car, by crashing into them, using a one ton car as a weapon, he's not much different to that evil person in Manchester"

Hope he read it, and it might have clicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,350 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Nothing to loose. In my complaint I mentioned that I'd also advised their show sponsors I would no longer be purchasing their products. Also, someone mentioned somewhere you have to complain to the show before you can do so to the BAI?
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    When filing an online complaint with the BAI pretty much the first question asks if you're been in touch with the broadcaster about it.

Apologies, I missed that bit on the BAI site. It's not an unreasonable rule in fairness.
    Weepsie wrote: »
    Seriously? It's a forum for customer support. They have other channels and better ones for you to register your disdain. That wasn't one that should have been used.

It would be like coming into me at work and giving out about my marketing department. I'd quickly tell you where to go.

If you want to complain, use the right channels.

I am an Eir customer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

This thread is already turning into a train wreck

A train wreck? A series of posters said they'd been considering moving to Eir, but would not now because of Eir's sponsorship of Paul Williams and his dangerous statement.

I'd be in the same position. With Virgin at the moment and I discovered yesterday that I couldn't call some Paris phones while in Paris (though I could call Irish mobiles of people who are in Paris). Nor could people in Paris call me from their French landline to my Irish mobile.

So I'm thinking of changing to a company that has a normal concept of what a phone is for. But that certainly won't be Eir as long as they're sponsoring this hate speech. Frankly, I don't care whether the hate speech is directed against blacks, Jews, 'migrants', women, Roma, Travellers or people on bikes - as long as it's fomenting hatred I want nothing to do with it or its sponsors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭Thud

Some sort of a retracement from Williams there...no apology. Said he'd never use violence as he's seen it in his dealings with the underworld (you may have heard he was a crime writer!) Also made out he is actually a cyclist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭gmacww

Thud wrote: »
    Some sort of a retracement from Williams there...no apology. Said he'd never use violence as he's seen it in his dealings with the underworld (you may have heard he was a crime writer!) Also made out he is actually a cyclist

Paul Williams is actually a cyclist and does quite a few events/sportives. His comment about is arm is an injury he got from a fall while cycling. He didn't apologise he clarified and to be honest I agree with absolutely everything he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Blowhard backs down (sort of). Williams was on just now making a form of apology/clarification regarding his crashing into cyclists comments. He said he really meant to say that he would report someone who hit his wingmirror to the Guards, rather than run them over as he had vaguely implied by saying that he would run them over.

After the clarification he drifted towards ranting about cyclists breaking rules again, but Coleman pointed out that motorists are guilty of rule breaking also, and that there are 'fundamentalists' on both sides giving out about the other.

It was interesting to see that Williams said anything. He wasn't happy to do it, really, but he did make an attempt I suppose. I'd imagine that he was coerced into making the statement by management. Possibly under the pressure contributed by posters here.

Yeah a bit of a mea culpa. He mentioned he bust his arm cycling, which was why he was in a sling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭Thud

gmacww wrote: »
    Paul Williams is actually a cyclist and does quite a few events/sportives. His comment about is arm is an injury he got from a fall while cycling. He didn't apologise he clarified and to be honest I agree with absolutely everything he said.

Clarified is a stretch, backtracked more like.
    Most on here will agree withbwhat he said re cyclists/motorists breaking rules.

Said he'd never use violence as he's seen it in his dealings with the underworld
    does one have to have had dealings with the underworld to realise Violence Is Bad, mmmkay?