Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

jooksavage wrote: »
    Why do these radio threads always eventually descend into "Denis O'Brien (aka Paddy Rothschild) is a fascist" ?

I presume this is in reference to my comment. To be clear I didn't say, suggest and I certainly don't think that Deni is a fascist. I think he owns the radio station. Like I think Murdoch owns Sky and Fox. They do. I want to know why they have pushed their station in that direction. I think given their incredible wealth and influence it is a legitimate question to which the public are entitled to answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,029 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why do these radio threads always eventually descend into "Denis O'Brien (aka Paddy Rothschild) is a fascist" vs. "Blah blah liberal agenda blah blah lefty luvvies..."?

Fairly good percentage of all threads on Boards sooner or later descends into lefty righty. Lack of imagination probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭jooksavage

I presume this is in reference to my comment. To be clear I didn't say, suggest and I certainly don't think that Deni is a fascist. I think he owns the radio station. Like I think Murdoch owns Sky and Fox. They do. I want to know why they have pushed their station in that direction. I think given their incredible wealth and influence it is a legitimate question to which the public are entitled to answer.

It's just ridiculous to chalk up Hook or any other presenter you don't agree with as an O'Brien stooge. The rest of the programmes are pretty unsympathetic to Trump. Hook is just a bonehead - it's unlikely his incoherent ramblings are being influenced by anything other than his blood sugar levels.

Other shows like Moncrieff and the abysmal Global Village get it from the nuts on the reactionary right -"Denis O'Brien's globalist agenda etc." That kind of thinking is either flat-out paranoia or the arrogant incredulity of a listener who can't toletate a challenging opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭positron

Hook is the only reason I switch away from Newstalk time to time. He was alright many many years ago, or so I thought, apart from a bit of old-person world view, but then he went down the slippery slope with that guy from Boston and 'tea party's and far right ideals like that and looks like he has gotten worse since.

I can't believe he's still on radio!!

It's just ridiculous to chalk up Hook or any other presenter you don't agree with as an O'Brien stooge. The rest of the programmes are pretty unsympathetic to Trump. Hook is just a bonehead - it's unlikely his incoherent ramblings are being influenced by anything other than his blood sugar levels.

Other shows like Moncrieff and the abysmal Global Village get it from the nuts on the reactionary right -"Denis O'Brien's globalist agenda etc." That kind of thinking is either flat-out paranoia or the arrogant incredulity of a listener who can't toletate a challenging opinion.

Listen, I have often posted how I loved George, I still kind of do. I've listened to him for years. As a listener I have noticed an undeniable shift in his style, positions and the content of his shows. In its final months the Right Hook moved very incoherently and quickly into further and further right wing territory. Similarly with PK in the morning, the show has become more tabloid, more of the 'lets get on a weird crank with righty views'. Pat generally does a somewhat better job at challenging these but they have still increased in number. How many times has Pat had Katie 'drown those refugees' Hopkins on?

It has nothing to do with my views on right or left, it has to do with the power of owning a radio station, maybe it isn't deni himself, maybe it is the people who are managing his media business, or the station itself. IDK. I'd like to find out though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,029 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Listen, I have often posted how I loved George, I still kind of do. I've listened to him for years. As a listener I have noticed an undeniable shift in his style, positions and the content of his shows. In its final months the Right Hook moved very incoherently and quickly into further and further right wing territory. Similarly with PK in the morning, the show has become more tabloid, more of the 'lets get on a weird crank with righty views'. Pat generally does a somewhat better job at challenging these but they have still increased in number. How many times has Pat had Katie 'drown those refugees' Hopkins on?

It has nothing to do with my views on right or left, it has to do with the power of owning a radio station, maybe it isn't deni himself, maybe it is the people who are managing his media business, or the station itself. IDK. I'd like to find out though.

DOB or his management team want to turn us all into right wingers via the power of suggestion for some bizzare agenda that nobody can figure out.

A worrying amount of people believe this ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭jooksavage

How many times has Pat had Katie 'drown those refugees' Hopkins on?

Agreed, that's text-bating at its worst. Matt Cooper downstairs on Today FM does the same thing and it's always terrible.

In all fairness though, Hook has been indulging little-Englanders, Obama-haters and Islamoskeptics long before Trump or Brexit arrived on the scene. Jesus, one time he even let Kevin My-Arse fill in for a whole week. It's all part of his wearisome contrary-old-man shtick.

kneemos wrote: »
    DOB or his management team want to turn us all into right wingers via the power of suggestion for some bizzare agenda that nobody can figure out.

A worrying amount of people believe this ****.

Only I didn't say that at all.

I said two shows have changed. Become more right wing more tabloid. Curious as to know why. Is it a thing of trying to boost ratings by becoming a kind of controversy zone? Or is it George and Pat just changing their styles.

Hook has to be playing-up the right wing agenda, appearing as he does to be channelling a strange mixture of General de Gaulle and Winston Churchill, with a Cork growl.

He was banging on today about how Chelsea Manning "SHOULD HAVE GOT THE CHAIR". It's difficult to take him seriously at all. I approach the show like it's a light hearted current affairs show. It isn't serious and I have a hard time believing that Hook is being serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

He was banging on today about how Chelsea Manning "SHOULD HAVE GOT THE CHAIR". It's difficult to take him seriously at all. I approach the show like it's a light hearted current affairs show. It isn't serious and I have a hard time believing that Hook is being serious.

Manning should get the chair, but no mention of Trump giving intel to the Russians that puts a US allies operative in grave danger. Hook now has an almost pathological resistance to criticizing Trump about anything. It's getting to be pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

91sn32Q.jpg?fb

Sums him up for me. Not sure why anyone would want to listen to him, he's like the drunken, vaguely racist uncle that no-one wants to sit near at a wedding.

91sn32Q.jpg?fb

Sums him up for me. Not sure why anyone would want to listen to him, he's like the drunken, vaguely racist uncle that no-one wants to sit near at a wedding.
    Yeah but it's a bit of craic! I laugh out loud listening to Hook far more than I do when listening to more explicit satire like Callan's Kicks.

And if it's a choice between sitting beside Racist Uncle George or placid Aunt Mary at a wedding , I'll pick the racist crank every time. It isn't infectious, and it's so ridiculous and irrational I find it amusing.

If anything l find that outrageous comments spouted by the likes of Hook just reinforce my pre-existing outlook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,353 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Hook has to be playing-up the right wing agenda, appearing as he does to be channelling a strange mixture of General de Gaulle and Winston Churchill, with a Cork growl.

Most listeners came to that conclusion at day 1.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

How many times has Pat had Katie 'drown those refugees' Hopkins on?

I always felt a bit embarrassed for Pat when he had her on. I get that he's pretty right wing and while that's not completely my cuppan tae I respected him as a journalist/presenter (all the same I'd hate to have him as a neighbour).

But the Hopkins slot really brought him to tabloid levels.

And if it's a choice between sitting beside Racist Uncle George or placid Aunt Mary at a wedding , I'll pick the racist crank every time.

I get what you are saying but does it not get tedious? Especially if Racist Uncle George is not especially bright, eloquent, witty? Second cousin Ivan, bit of a shıt stirrer, but a bit of craic at least.

Precisely. If this is shtick... it's badly done. His positions are incoherent, hypocritical and often just utterly nonsensical. When talks with women it has become embarrassing. The constant need to try and be shocking is mortifying. I heard him maybe last week talk about how he didn't wash his hands after going to the bathroom... and banging on about changing his underwear...

It stopped being funny quite a while ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

The most entertaining part is that people actually get worked up about him, continue to listen and then complain. Just change the station, it's not like he will suddenly change. And no I don't think he s part of DOB agenda to take over the world.

BTW I don't overly listen to him but if I am I just skip first half an hour and then you are grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Cadbury were the enemy for removing the word Easter. Now George is happy to support their event.

That's true, but sadly Ivan isn't an alternative option. I dont listen to music in work, so that (and decent musical taste) rules out Roman Collins or the other Irish stations, and BBC Radio 4 is pure sh1te from 12pm to 1pm (that consumer affairs programme).

I do sometimes listen to New York breakfast radio but it's not usually feasible to listen to radio on my phone so I listen to racist uncle George.

There's very weak competition in that time slot. what do ye all listen to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Second cousin Ivan, bit of a shıt stirrer, but a bit of craic at least.

Maybe it's more a sign of how bad my day has been, but this comment brightened my day to such an extent I felt it necessary to reply to say thank you. I literally laughed out loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Ciara seemed to lose it at George today. She went mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Ciara seemed to lose it at George today. She went mad!

cant blame her.
    it was funny though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

cant blame her. it was funny though

Missed it. What was the context?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

George asked Ciara about if eating a big meal is the same as having a few pints.
    she says no and George starts agreeing with healy rea and dismissing the stats that drink is the biggest cause of road deaths.
    ended up in a heated discussion. she wasn't having any of it. it was funny

There's very weak competition in that time slot. what do ye all listen to?

Spotify.
    Not really an answer I know, but as you say nothing else on the other stations at that time worth listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Hook on today about being worried about doctors being influenced by drug companies doesn't seem to see the irony of discussing same on a radio station that's virtually sponsored by drug companies, granny farmers (Bloomberg Care) etc. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I appreciate that George is upset today but maybe he should have pulled a sickie - he has been ranting, raving and crying since noon, it's not very professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

How inconsiderate of him to have a heart, maybe pat the plank is more to you taste?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

George is just quite vulnerable now in his later years. Its a little upsetting really.

He seems to genuinely get upset from texts sent from the public etc. and its just not healthy. I think his producers should have a look at themselves too.

For one, get rid of that piece of shīt Michael Graham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

J Mysterio wrote: »
    George is just quite vulnerable now in his later years. Its a little upsetting really.

He seems to genuinely get upset from texts sent from the public etc. and its just not healthy. I think his producers should have a look at themselves too.

For one, get rid of that piece of shīt Michael Graham.
    I agree, George was genuinely upset today, I thought he was too upset to present the show and was behaving irrationally at times. (He was actually inviting trolls to text him today and then he was distressed when they did).