Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Muleman wrote: »
    Hi lads first post here hope it's allowed or please redirect me to a more apt forum. Looking at getting in to cows from a beef and sheep set up. Have 113acre milking platform and 60 acres silage heifer block. Any one man operations here that could advise on cow nos manageable by 1 person and relief if available. Talking to local dairy men relief hard got in our area.

Former one man band with relief.

It's really hard to say . A lot depends on set up . Parlour drafing cow flow road ways etc.

I was heading to 100 but stopped at 70 before I exited .

I know a lad with milking 190 with only small bit of help. Help does not milk cows but feeds calves

I know another lad was milking 150 but went back to 120 as he said anything over that was unmanageable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Muleman wrote: »
    Hi lads first post here hope it's allowed or please redirect me to a more apt forum. Looking at getting in to cows from a beef and sheep set up. Have 113acre milking platform and 60 acres silage heifer block. Any one man operations here that could advise on cow nos manageable by 1 person and relief if available. Talking to local dairy men relief hard got in our area.

Best of luck with it, very hard to answer depends on how much machiery work you do how efficent your facilities are.
    Everyone needs relief though, not sustainable to milk everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Mooooo wrote: »
    Think we were on about that article last week was it Buford who posted it then?

Ye that's the same one, very biased view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭blackdog1

What are guys fats like atm? Since I ran out of whole crop they've taken a dive from 3.9 to 3.6... Cows getting 3kg and milking well. Lactose 4.95 can't figure it.
    Dairygold don't due a urea test so don't have that info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭visatorro

Fat 3-51 prot 3-47. Urea 18. Scc 191, 22 litres three kg 14% hi maize nut in parlour.

Fat here has ranged from 3.6 to 3.8 with the last few weeks protein around 3.6. They seem to be fine up to 4 kg now with the rain were on 3 kg. Even in last 2 days growth is taking off so keeping grass right could b the issue in the next week or two esp if no opportunity to cut a few paddocks

Anyone here that had stock outwibtered have issues with an animals vision? have a heifer here and she can see me fine I think but trying to get her in or even out of a pen is strange she'd run into a gate or wire instead of an open gap, got boluses and are on grass since the end of Feb now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Anyone here that had stock outwibtered have issues with an animals vision? have a heifer here and she can see me fine I think but trying to get her in or even out of a pen is strange she'd run into a gate or wire instead of an open gap, got boluses and are on grass since the end of Feb now
    Vision I'm probably wrong on this but can it be related to a selenium deficiency.
    I know we had a foal born blind and selenium was recommended but it was born blind so made no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

blackdog1 wrote: »
    What are guys fats like atm? Since I ran out of whole crop they've taken a dive from 3.9 to 3.6... Cows getting 3kg and milking well. Lactose 4.95 can't figure it.
    Last text was P 3.51% F 4.03% L 5.07. Doing 30 Litres per cow on 1kg of 16% dairy nut & 1kg of maize meal a day

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Vision I'm probably wrong on this but can it be related to a selenium deficiency.
    I know we had a foal born blind and selenium was recommended but it was born blind so made no difference.

I must check the boluses see if they covered it, she's after calving out in the field and have to bring the group she's in in to get her in, will see how she'll do in the parlour with thecows she may just be daft when isolated maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I must check the boluses see if they covered it, she's after calving out in the field and have to bring the group she's in in to get her in, will see how she'll do in the parlour with thecows she may just be daft when isolated maybe

I just looked it up. Who ever gave my father that advice got it arseways. Selenium toxicity (too much) can cause blindness and it can be brought on by applying sulphur to land and also some plants are high in selenium e.g Bracken.
    Teagasc have good advice about it and the areas affected by it in Ireland.
    On phone so can't really link but Google selenium toxicity in cattle Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Dwag

Try some beet pulp or even soya hulls.

It's your fibre source is wrong.

Dwag wrote:

Dwag wrote:

What would you recommend on a grass diet dawg? Getting a load next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Are you sure she's not just adverse to change in her environment? If she's following the group to the yard, I can't see it being a problem her eyesight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dwag wrote: »

Don't give out to me but how does the likes of greenfield get good figures from grass alone. I'd imagine the fibre in the covers they graze would be minimal.

Is there much point worrying about low fats provided cows are healthy and in good condition it usually sorts itself. There is a video on twitter by Tommy hefferan the vet explaining the causes. Didn't have any definite solutions.
    When we had pure hol herd here would get some fats below 3.5%. As the herd became more crossbred it became less of an issues should average out about 4.2% fat for may.
    Currently doing 4.15% fat on 1.5 kg meal, 27 litres. 50% soya hulls in the mix. Growth is taking off here might pull the meal completely, when your feeding low levels not sure it makes much difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,728 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

visatorro wrote: »
    Don't give out to me but how does the likes of greenfield get good figures from grass alone. I'd imagine the fibre in the covers they graze would be minimal.

Jex cows simple as ,they won't hit anywhere near the high levels of milk or kg ms that a hol will do

yewtree wrote:
    Is there much point worrying about low fats provided cows are healthy and in good condition it usually sorts itself. There is a video on twitter by Tommy hefferan the vet explaining the causes. Didn't have any definite solutions. When we had pure hol herd here would get some fats below 3.5%. As the herd became more crossbred it became less of an issues should average out about 4.2% fat for may. Currently doing 4.15% fat on 1.5 kg meal, 27 litres. 50% soya hulls in the mix. Growth is taking off here might pull the meal completely, when your feeding low levels not sure it makes much difference

I'm finding they are losing a small bit of condition and ate getting loose so a bit of fibre is worth a lot I think.

What would you recommend on a grass diet dawg? Getting a load next week.

Maize base.
    Wouldn't be against some good spec barley.
    Beet pulp or soya hulls. Preferably beet.
    Would include a pinch of soya to bring overall pr to 12-14%. No more.
    No fats.
    Pinch of salt. No more than 6g/hd/day.
    Mins and vits.

As the season goes on I'd tweak that ...

visatorro wrote: »

....and they don't mind cows shooting the moon...:)

Dung too dry = dietary problem.
    Dung too watery = dietary problem.

Both problems are easily and cheaply rectified.

I have a 14% ration atm.
    26% barley
    20% maize
    20%soya hulls
    15% soya bean
    7% wheat.

Advisor is saying add 10% more soya hulls and get rid of the wheat and some barley....I'm not so sure what do you recommend ? Beet pulp can't be got.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Just upgraded mine ,both water system and troughs ,220 gallon bottom fill troughs from Spillane concrete nenagh ,have a few Murphy concrete troughs ,much prefer Spillane's

What size pipe did you use on the main line, i am just pricing water pipe big difference in prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

I have a 14% ration atm.
    26% barley
    20% maize
    20%soya hulls
    15% soya bean
    7% wheat.

Advisor is saying add 10% more soya hulls and get rid of the wheat and some barley....I'm not so sure what do you recommend ? Beet pulp can't be got.

It probably won't make a huge difference if you start messing about with it or leave as is, there's no fear of acidosis you just want it to increase energy intakes and balance out the variability in grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I have a 14% ration atm.
    26% barley
    20% maize
    20%soya hulls
    15% soya bean
    7% wheat.

I did. Happy enough. Reduced barley and maize in my case. Soya at 10% for .5kg/day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

yewtree wrote: »
    What size pipe did you use on the main line, i am just pricing water pipe big difference in prices.

Glanbia beat any plumbing suppliers out the gap for water pipe in this area. Wouldn't say that about many products they'd be selling. I think it's down to the volume they are shifting. Inch and a half was the last lot we bought. Mainline here is that bore and I wouldn't dream of going any smaller. Tails in inch or 3/4 inch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Glanbia beat any plumbing suppliers out the gap for water pipe in this area. Wouldn't say that about many products they'd be selling. I think it's down to the volume they are shifting. Inch and a half was the last lot we bought. Mainline here is that bore and I wouldn't dream of going any smaller. Tails in inch or 3/4 inch.

Inch and a half Jayzuz.

If you had Jersey's you could use it for road crossings.

Are you sure she's not just adverse to change in her environment? If she's following the group to the yard, I can't see it being a problem her eyesight.

I don't know perhaps partial, got her into a pen with a group and she walked straight into the gate on the other side, but when I was guiding them out of the field. She saw me or acting like it when I was going left and right from a distance

I did. Happy enough. Reduced barley and maize in my case. Soya at 10% for .5kg/day.

Don't think I'd drop the maize at all. They need the starch. Last year I had 4 fat this time of year on the same ration...just goes to show grass is a great feed but inconsistent.