Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are we hating all the men?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 864 ✭✭✭neverever1

Calhoun wrote: »
    They do not but they redefine rape so as to weaken it's meaning. On one level we are to believe it's a very serious crime on another level we have had conversations about not wanting to have a difficult conversation can lead to rape.

So discussing rape is on the same level of defending rapists and abusing rape victims?

pjohnson wrote: »
    How much do you earn? No just a time waster? Good job.
    take your nonsense elsewhere.

Are your feelings hurt snowflake? :D

still no sign of this?

Did you go search where I told you to?

No sure keep going. Showing off your stupidity is your own right. Dont want to oppress you.

Do you defend rapists too?

I told you. You claimed it so you provide the reference. Maybe you didnt go to college to be familiar with the concept of referencing or providing sources.

:D You need to get a life. I don't have to provide anything, this is the internet.

Says the child spouting random nonsense with no basis in reality. What an excellent life you lead.

It's amazing. :D Do you just spend your days abusing people on the internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

neverever1 wrote: »
    So discussing rape is on the same level of defending rapists and abusing rape victims?

Depends on the discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Mod

Neverever and pjohnson, don't post in this thread again. Your posts hurt my brain and I can feel myself getting dumber with each one I read. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,591 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I have been with men who got pleasure out of them having pleasure and giving me no pleasure. A form of power and control.
    Ive heard from numerous women about them having sex with men, and the man just pumping away until he orgasms and then went asleep. While she got zero pleasure. Its a form of use and abuse, and it is one of the damaging forms of control of women.
    Would you like to be held down , pumped into, while someone bigger and stronger than you orgasms, and then rolls over and goes to sleep?

How do you stand up to someone who treats you so humiliatingly?

You hear of so many women who feel used after sex.

Its not what sex was meant to be like, where both people were meant to get pleasure.

Eh, maybe ask for what you want? And say 'stop' if you're not enjoying it? And certainly, do not feel under any obligation to go again with such a ****ty partner. ffs, what a ridiculous post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Hagar7

I have been with men who got pleasure out of them having pleasure and giving me no pleasure. A form of power and control.
    Ive heard from numerous women about them having sex with men, and the man just pumping away until he orgasms and then went asleep. While she got zero pleasure. Its a form of use and abuse, and it is one of the damaging forms of control of women.
    Would you like to be held down , pumped into, while someone bigger and stronger than you orgasms, and then rolls over and goes to sleep?

Its not what sex was meant to be like, where both people were meant to get pleasure.

Walk out on him.
    How many women who are married to a rich man who daily plays the field with other women,Tiger Woods,Donald Trump,etc etc,yet choose to stick by them simply because they are rich,to me that's obscene,it certainly ain't love,is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

I can't tell which one of you is the immovable object and which one is the unstoppable force

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

its ok I figured it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,591 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

That must have been awful. I was raped when I was 17 and assaulted once in work by a man grabbing my wrist as I tried leave a treatment room where he was having a massage and expecting more than he was getting and had himself completely exposed.

That said, some of the closest people to me and those I relied most on when I was emotionally vulnerable were male. I've had strange males walk me home after a night out to make sure I got home ok, men I'd never met before or since. Random men stopping to help me change a flat wheel, men on here who helped mecwith advice on DIY (step by step never once making me feel stupid), men sharing their chips in supermacs on a Saturday night. 2 horrible assholes won't make up my mind on an entire gender. Most guys I've met are pretty sound.

icon14.png

Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

mzungu wrote: »
    It's not and nor should it be. The clue is in the name. It has always been a movement for women, and rightly so. You say that the "power structures that we are ALL confined by" should be changed. What exactly are you referring to here and how do you suggest that it be changed?

The "gender pay gap" is a myth. According to the NWCI, women with no children out earn men with no children by 17% up to the age of 30. After that, the age when most women will start a family and be out of the workplace, causes a huge bulk of the difference. If a man was being paid more than a woman for doing the exact same job then that is against the law. Why are we not seeing lawsuits galore? The professions we choose have an impact on our salary. For example, in the US, Asian Americans earn more than European Americans, but we don't say that there is a pay gap between the two. The average Asian American will have a profession that pays more.

That said, I do think a lot more can be done for women (and men) returning to work after taking time out to raise children.

How do you know that those women at the school gate are not there simply because they want to be there for their child? Do we know for certain that the women in parliament without children want them? Remember, the creche in the House of Commons (costing £725,000) is not being filled to capacity. The options are there for MPs to avail of top quality child care facilities. Just like the mums who wait for their children at the school gates because they want to be there, maybe the women without children in the House of Commons don't want them. Both perfectly valid decisions.

I think those men have failed themselves tbh. You can't pin the blame on society for everything. Violent scumbags act like violent scumbags. Jail them for a hell of a lot longer.

Where in the media? Who is the target audience? Do the women who appear as these commodities not have agency? These days, the likes of the Kardashians et al. seem to be 100% in charge of their own image and self-promotion. Besides, you could say that pretty much everything nowadays is treated as a commodity.

Is any of the above gender specific? Both seem to dish it out. I think once people move past a certain point in their lives and start to mature, they don't engage in any of the above.

How can we change things? I'm not sure just as I'm not sure about how political change will take place, we live in a society where financial institutions are all powerful and the politicians are just middle managers but access to education has improved, proportionality systems in party politics... all positives

Never heard of the NWI. 'The European Commission published a report in 2010 based on Eurostat’s findings of the same year that showed the gender pay gap in Ireland stood at 34.7%, withthe EU average earnings gap standing at 41.1%. Closing the gender pay gap has been identified by the European Commission as central to achieving the growth objective of the EU Europe 2020 strategy.

The first European Equal Pay Day was held on 5th March 2011, and is held every year on the date that marks the number of extra days a woman must work to match the amount of money earned by men in the previous year. This year it was held on 8th March indicating the number of extra days to have grown to 67.

The Gender Pay Gap debate has been gaining momentum of late with the UK
    government implementing mandatory gender pay gap reporting legislation earlier this year. This will oblige more than 8,000 UK employers with more than 250 employees to collate from early 2017 data of salaries and bonuses paid to male and female staff in their organisations, with requirement to publishing it on their websites from April 2018. Here in Ireland, the Programme for Government includes a commitment to put the reduction of the gender pay gap formally on the political agenda. While the full details of what this will look like have yet to be defined, the early indicators point to the introduction of wage surveys for companies of 50 or more employees. This will be the starting point in promoting wage transparency in Ireland". Morgan Mckinley report.

If it's a myth why implement legislation?

Sports women have had a fight on their hands recently to get equal pay, the Williams sisters have been great pioneers in tennis.

It would be interesting to know what the up take is of male m.p usage of the creche in the house of commons or does their partner look after the children. Some of the females may not want children you're right but then again availability of a creche may not be the deciding factor on whether they have a child or not it could be the support of their partner, it could be time management, based on the statistics the males seem to be able to have more of a work life balance in that regard.

Why are their more women at the school gates? Are the women choosing to be the main care giver without pressure or societal acculturation, my mother did it so I should do it. If you're going to ask that question why not ask why more men aren't choosing to be at the school gates and asserting that opinion that they should be the primary carer?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

There was one time that I said, 'I would like you to do this for me in return' and he said he was too tired.

Selfish people are selfish.

So what do you do, when you do voice what you want, and they still only do what feels good for them only.

Or maybe he was too...tired.

cloudatlas wrote: »
    How can we change things? I'm not sure just as I'm not sure about how political change will take place, we live in a society where financial institutions are all powerful and the politicians are just middle managers but access to education has improved, proportionality systems in party politics... all positives

Never heard of the NWI. 'The European Commission published a report in 2010 based on Eurostat’s findings of the same year that showed the gender pay gap in Ireland stood at 34.7%, withthe EU average earnings gap standing at 41.1%. Closing the gender pay gap has been identified by the European Commission as central to achieving the growth objective of the EU Europe 2020 strategy.

The first European Equal Pay Day was held on 5th March 2011, and is held every year on the date that marks the number of extra days a woman must work to match the amount of money earned by men in the previous year. This year it was held on 8th March indicating the number of extra days to have grown to 67.

government implementing mandatory gender pay gap reporting legislation earlier this year. This will oblige more than 8,000 UK employers with more than 250 employees to collate from early 2017 data of salaries and bonuses paid to male and female staff in their organisations, with requirement to publishing it on their websites from April 2018. Here in Ireland, the Programme for Government includes a commitment to put the reduction of the gender pay gap formally on the political agenda. While the full details of what this will look like have yet to be defined, the early indicators point to the introduction of wage surveys for companies of 50 or more employees. This will be the starting point in promoting wage transparency in Ireland". Morgan Mckinley report.

Sports women have had a fight on their hands recently to get equal pay, the Williams sisters have been great pioneers in tennis.

It would be interesting to know what the up take is of male m.p usage of the creche in the house of commons or does their partner look after the children. Some of the females may not want children you're right but then again availability of a creche may not be the deciding factor on whether they have a child or not it could be the support of their partner, it could be time management, based on the statistics the males seem to be able to have more of a work life balance in that regard.

Why are their more women at the school gates? Are the women choosing to be the main care giver without pressure or societal acculturation, my mother did it so I should do it. If you're going to ask that question why not ask why more men aren't choosing to be at the school gates and asserting that opinion that they should be the primary carer?

Complete bunk at least put an opinion forward rather than the whole boogey man of the institution, the man putting the womens down eh.

Ignoring most of the crap on gender pay gap as i will allow mzuna to answer that the reason we have a law is to ensure that if we have a case of a pay gap there is legislation in place to bridge that gap. It does not mean by default that we have a gender pay issue.

As for the sports women, i firmly believe it should be down to popularity and marketing revenue. If you don't earn you don't get paid that well and that can be for male or female. I think in the case of tennis it is actually unfair as the level of work required from male side of the sport is allot more than the female.

Not sure what argument you are trying to make on work life balance, having a child is a joint decision.

Why are there more women behind the school gates as well? that is a big question to answer, the education system particularly at primary level is dominated by women. Is it a case that this shows that women will go for softer jobs that enable them to have more time off?

I think in this day any age if any parent can decide to be a care giver at home good for them, i think though its an argument that is cut off from reality. As income dispersal has changed over the past couple of decades it is rare i would have thought that we have a one income home.

You want to know what my primary care 90% of the time is? and i also assume this is the same for most real couples. Its getting the mortgage paid, having enough money to run the care, pay the creche ect ect. In this day and age only an idiot would cripple their family financially because they needed to be the "primary" earner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

According to Wikipedia the adjusted gender pay gap (taking into account hours worked) is < 10% in the UK.

Capitalist society is highly unequal. It seems odd to accept huge class inequalities and then demand certain sub groups be equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭buckwheat

There are a lot of very confused and disturbed people on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Complete bunk at least put an opinion forward rather than the whole boogey man of the institution, the man putting the womens down eh.

Ignoring most of the crap on gender pay gap as i will allow mzuna to answer that the reason we have a law is to ensure that if we have a case of a pay gap there is legislation in place to bridge that gap. It does not mean by default that we have a gender pay issue.

As for the sports women, i firmly believe it should be down to popularity and marketing revenue. If you don't earn you don't get paid that well and that can be for male or female. I think in the case of tennis it is actually unfair as the level of work required from male side of the sport is allot more than the female.

Not sure what argument you are trying to make on work life balance, having a child is a joint decision.

Why are there more women behind the school gates as well? that is a big question to answer, the education system particularly at primary level is dominated by women. Is it a case that this shows that women will go for softer jobs that enable them to have more time off?

I think in this day any age if any parent can decide to be a care giver at home good for them, i think though its an argument that is cut off from reality. As income dispersal has changed over the past couple of decades it is rare i would have thought that we have a one income home.

You want to know what my primary care 90% of the time is? and i also assume this is the same for most real couples. Its getting the mortgage paid, having enough money to run the care, pay the creche ect ect. In this day and age only an idiot would cripple their family financially because they needed to be the "primary" earner.

lol I'll let Mzuna answer this reply. i'm sure she has opted for a soft job also. The Williams sisters are an awesome force to be reckoned with and deserve every penny.

anna080 wrote: »
    Are you on Twitter? Twitter lately is a man hating machine
    You can say that again Anna.

https://twitter.com/jpy_kurdish/status/861404580768362496

lol I'll let Mzuna answer this reply. i'm sure she has opted for a soft job also. The Williams sisters are an awesome force to be reckoned with and deserve every penny.

There we have it folks, as usual feminist not getting the reaction they want so ignore and move along.Terrible that society keeps them down.

I am not saying they don't i am just pointing out the effort versus reward is not always so equal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭.........

Ive heard a man say 'women are just for sex'.
    I've heard a man say, 'of course men keep women down, would you give up that power'
    I've heard a man say, ' why are women nice to men when they treat women like dirt'.
    I've heard a man say, 'if you knew what men say about women you would never talk to us again'
    I have seen women cry from rape.

We do not have to live in a world of abuse.

The first thing to to is be stronger.

I want more for our daughters.

I've heard plenty of women say derogatory things about men and their sons, so what ? Do you really think someone is acting like arsehole simply because they are male / female ? Wake up.

Plenty of women treat men like dirt, is that to do with their gender, or in reality it has nothing to do with their gender ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

At the rate we are going we'll need to teach our daughters how to treat men with kindness and respect and not the other way around if these type of feminists continue to behave as they are.
    This has occurred to me too.

Hagar7 wrote: »

It's great to see videos like this that show so called 'feminism' for what it really is.

"This fcking country" as she likes to call Ireland, took her in, provided her with a home and financial support, and this is what it gets in return.

What's worse is the applause cheering whoops and support for the speech from the crowd of Irish women surrounding her and hanging on her every word.

If any white Irish male made a speech like this about women, it would be all over the international media as a scandal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

At the rate we are going we'll need to teach our daughters how to treat men with kindness and respect and not the other way around if these type of feminists continue to behave as they are.

I find online men talk in terms of equality between the sexes and women talk in terms of feminism.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Never heard of the NWI.
    The NCWI (National Women's Council of Ireland) did the study a couple of years back.
    'The European Commission published a report in 2010 based on Eurostat’s findings of the same year that showed the gender pay gap in Ireland stood at 34.7%, withthe EU average earnings gap standing at 41.1%. Closing the gender pay gap has been identified by the European Commission as central to achieving the growth objective of the EU Europe 2020 strategy.
    In 2014 the Eurostat findings showed that men in Ireland earned 14.4% more than women. However, "Eurostat said there were various reasons for the existence and size of a gender pay gap and that they may differ strongly between member states. They include the kind of jobs held by women, the consequences of breaks in career or part-time work due to childbearing and decisions in favour of family life."

The studies do not compare what men and women earn for the same job. The differences are down to lifestyle and career choices.
    As above, they do not compare like for like. So, there will always be a pay gap. For the same reason that somebody working the spreadsheets in an admin job won't get paid as much as a computer programmer.
    Irish women working in the UK have overtaken male peers in terms of salaries, according to a study of the gender pay gap by ethnicity today. (...) "But this is largely due to generational factors as they are more likely to be older, working full-time or in senior or managerial roles," Sam Smethers, chief executive of the Fawcett Society, said in a statement.

Here is the thing, when women are earning more than men it is down being older, or working in senior and managerial roles. Excellent, they worked hard and reaped the financial benefits. But, when it's men earning more there is no mention that they are the ones in senior roles, instead it is a "gender bias"? Sorry, I can't buy that.
    It is keeping a lot of people in business. As always, follow the money. Lobby groups love it!
    Yep, they are titans of sport. No question. Although, as the women's grand slams are best of three sets and men's is best of five, one could say there is a bit of a wage gap too there, eh? :pac::D
    That is not measured in the statistics given. Truth is, we don't know about the work life balance.
    As above, I am not privy to the private lives of those adults at the school gate, but I accept that each and every one of them has agency and are not there because they beholden to outdated societal expectations.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

i will allow mzuna to answer that
    lol I'll let Mzuna answer this reply.
    Ahem....Mzungu! :D
    i'm sure she has opted for a soft job also.

2b2180d4f04c04bdb572dea359c6bcfb_-you-just-assume-my-gender-meme-did-you-assume-my-gender_500-348.jpeg

:p

......... wrote: »
    It's great to see videos like this that show so called 'feminism' for what it really is.

"This fcking country" as she likes to call Ireland, took her in, provided her with a home and financial support, and this is what it gets in return.

What's worse is the applause cheering whoops and support for the speech from the crowd of Irish women surrounding her and hanging on her every word.

If any white Irish male made a speech like this about women, it would be all over the international media as a scandal.

Or lynched by them.
    Treat a woman right and be fair,care and share,9/10 they will do likewise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Hagar7 wrote: »
    Treat anyone right, including men, and be fair,care and share,9/10 they will do likewise.

fyp