Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

awec wrote: »
    If it was a KE that might explain the price increase, given the large social and crime issues and general delinquencies associated with Kildare.

The real problem in your case though is that odd numbered Dublin post code you have. :)

ahhhhhhh, well that explains that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

Asking for a friend here - he's doing a 15 day road trip from Galway to Cobh and wanted some recommendations as to good non tourist trap stuff to do. Anything you can give for him will be appreciated.

As for myself, picked up my wedding licence today. Won't quite believe its happened until it does but nearly there.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That increase sounds mental buer

I've an 04 2.0 petrol accord and my renewal with Ada a few months ago went from 800 to 1150

Rang them up after I got a few other quotes and it went back to 850

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

sydthebeat wrote: »
    thats as a result of the fact that the majority of costs paid out by the insurance companies are not for the value of cars, but for medical issues / out of court settlements.

so if you go from a ?1K '95 reg to a ?10K '12 reg, the likelihood of you being in / causing an accident is lessened... thus the cheaper premium.

So there are figures that show most accidents involve older cars?

• Subscribers Posts: 43,133 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

stephen_n wrote: »

There are figures that show newer cars are safer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,969 ✭✭✭✭phog

Asking for a friend here - he's doing a 15 day road trip from Galway to Cobh and wanted some recommendations as to good non tourist trap stuff to do. Anything you can give for him will be appreciated.

Really depends on what their interests are or when they're visiting.

I know you said non tourist traps but they should do some of the Atlantic Way, fabulous views, a trip (hike) through the Burren is a must and any trip to Kerry (if they're going to Cobh via Kerry) should take in the Dingle peninsula, I'd also recommend the mountains in Kerry.

They could take in a GAA game if their visit clashed with a Munster Championship game, personally I'd prefer hurling but the gaelic football isn't too bad if the got the right fixture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Union Hall coffee shop - serious cakes. :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm on a three day break in killarneys at the minute and we are doing part of the ring of Kerry based on off the beaten track recommendations so I'll post after we do them.

One thing I'd say is don't discount the sheer loveliness of the towns your friend might visit we arrived in killarney about four o'clock today went into town had dinner and an amble and it was suddenly ten o'clock
    Same in kinsale which I love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

stephen_n wrote: »

Its really not about the number of accidents, if it was women would pay more for insurance than men. It's about claim sizes. As was already pointed out, the damage to the cars has very little to do with claim levels, that comes down to damage to the people in the cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Stheno wrote: »
    I'm on a three day break in killarneys at the minute and we are doing part of the ring of Kerry based on off the beaten track recommendations so I'll post after we do them.

One thing I'd say is don't discount the sheer loveliness of the towns your friend might visit we arrived in killarney about four o'clock today went into town had dinner and an amble and it was suddenly ten o'clock
    Same in kinsale which I love

If you get a chance drive over to cahirsiveen then follow to road to ballinskelligs, then finian's bay (stop at the skelligs chocolate factory) then down to portmagee and over to valentia island and then the car ferry back to cahirsiveen. Well worth it.

• I've been awake since 1:30am for some godforsaken reason. Thought I might as well come into the office. My alarm, which is meant to wake me up, just went off while I'm sitting at my desk here :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

I've been awake since 1:30am for some godforsaken reason. Thought I might as well come into the office. My alarm, which is meant to wake me up, just went off while I'm sitting at my desk here :(

Welcome to my normality ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,969 ✭✭✭✭phog

mfceiling wrote: »
    If you get a chance drive over to cahirsiveen then follow to road to ballinskelligs, then finian's bay (stop at the skelligs chocolate factory) then down to portmagee and over to valentia island and then the car ferry back to cahirsiveen. Well worth it.

If he's going to Valentia he may as well check these out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

He actually has to go to the Aran Islands. Inis Mor while in Galway. Should probably eat Dough Bros pizza while he's there too, it's spectacular.

As he heads from Galway down the coast towards county Clare to the cliffs of Moher, he will come close to a chocolate factory and cafe near Boston. It's a little off the road on the side of a hill. It's called Hazelnut Mountain. Absolutely spectacular cup of coffee, and gorgeous food. Well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I will take him to meet a real leprechaun for 2 grand, photos are 500 each but very worth it.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,133 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

phog wrote: »
    If he's going to Valentia he may as well check these out

The two ring forts near caherciveen are well worth a visit too, plus the one the far side of caherdaniel (staigue fort)

http://www.theringofkerry.com/things-to-see/ring-and-stone-forts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,205 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Ignore all the rubbish the others have been telling you. Tell your mate to head to Dublin from Galway for two weeks of quality eating and drinking. Might be pricey but at least he will avoid all those boggers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Ignore all the rubbish the others have been telling you. Tell your mate to head to Dublin from Galway for two weeks of quality eating and drinking. Might be pricey but at least he will avoid all those boggers :pac:
    He's clearly catching the steam packet from Cobh back to Liverpool. #MakeBritainGreatagain. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

I will take him to meet a real leprechaun for 2 grand, photos are 500 each but very worth it.

Well he's American so he might bite... do I get a percentage if I convince him? ;)

Thanks guys :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/860111499230150661

Jaysus - surely shouldn't be too radical to expect the Dail to be secular?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Not a bloody hope that 97 of our TDs are religious enough to want to stand for a prayer each morning.

Spineless.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I genuinely find that utterly dumbfounding. Whatever about it remaining as a historical holdover, to vote on it now and leave it there by such a large margin. It's crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

That's shocking

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I genuinely find that utterly dumbfounding. Whatever about it remaining as a historical holdover, to vote on it now and leave it there by such a large margin. It's crazy.

Cowards are frightened to vote against and risk isolating themselves from conservative sections of society i.e. the ones that turn out in the highest numbers come election day.

The tentacles of the church are so ingrained in our culture and society, I don't think we'll be free of them in my life time i.e. in the next 50 years.

Have a look at census figures for the last 10 years. A surprising number of people still mark themselves down as Catholic and politicians are going to have this in mind.

More importantly however, people of no religious persuasion probably don't care what their local TD voted and certainly won't remember come the next election but religious people absolutely will. Voting against is in all likelihood bad for the numbers so we get this.

I would still be of the opinion that we have the most left leaning government in the history of the state.

97 to 17 to make it compulsory to stand for the D?il prayer.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/dail-prayer-4-3372533-May2017/

tenor.gif

A non-issue compared to other topics but still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Have a look at census figures for the last 10 years. A surprising number of people still mark themselves down as Catholic and politicians are going to have this in mind.

More importantly however, people of no religious persuasion probably don't care what their local TD voted and certainly won't remember come the next election but religious people absolutely will. Voting against is in all likelihood bad for the numbers so we get this.

I would still be of the opinion that we have the most left leaning government in the history of the state.

I tend to put Lapsed Catholic down on the census form, but I always get the feeling the CSO folks look at it and think "Lapsed Catholic, eh? Thats a sort of Catholic" and proceed to lump me in with the rest of them.

Agree with pretty much everything there.

That's not to say that this isn't a ridiculous vote though. I'm not against religion. I have a very jaundiced and cynical view of the religious orders that exist in Ireland but I have no issue with religion as a whole or Christianity.

But we live in a nation where the church controls who can attend schools. We live in a nation where the church can have a massive impact on the medical well being of women. We've seen a total clusterf*ck recently in relation to the building of a new maternity hospital. There are massive payments outstanding to victims of abuse from various religious orders which they would appear to have no intention of paying after agreeing to do so.

This vote says to me that the leaders and legislators of this country are too spineless and scared to speak out against those whose opinions side with those of the religious orders. And, if they won't do it for something so simple and basic as this (and they're actually expanding the religious protocol in the chamber from what I can see as opposed to just maintaining the existing protocol), then what hope do we have of any of the major issues above being addressed?

DGRulz wrote: »
    I tend to put Lapsed Catholic down on the census form, but I always get the feeling the CSO folks look at it and think "Lapsed Catholic, eh? Thats a sort of Catholic" and proceed to lump me in with the rest of them.

Misses has herself and our kids down as Catholic. I put myself down as Jedi Knight. She didn't find it one bit amusing but I did and that's all that matters

hqdefault.jpg

Secular country my arse clearly.