Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Mellor wrote: »
    A gym is defined as a place of public assembly.

In law? I'm not sure, a 'public place' is defined as an area a person can enter without obstruction.

Signing in, payment, membership, even a closed gate/door would mean it's not but again I'm not sure.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

Zillah wrote: »
    If it's relevant to the story, sure, but needlessly reminding everyone that the person you're complaining about is a foreigner talking to other foreigners really comes across as invoking a collective sense of that making it worse than if they were just normal people like the rest of us.

You'll find it wasnt me who mentioned foreigners doing anything..i was moaning about the "wankerwear" crowd who are usually irish like i said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

bladespin wrote: »
    In law? I'm not sure, a 'public place' is defined as an area a person can enter without obstruction.

Signing in, payment, membership, even a closed gate/door would mean it's not but again I'm not sure.
    Yeah in law. Building regulations and classifications of building types. It's to do with various requirements, based on the users.
    Now some surveillance/video/photo regulations might use a different definition of course. Such as private property vrs public property.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

MysticMonk wrote: »
    Zillah wrote: »
    If it's relevant to the story, sure, but needlessly reminding everyone that the person you're complaining about is a foreigner talking to other foreigners really comes across as invoking a collective sense of that making it worse than if they were just normal people like the rest of us.

You'll find it wasnt me who mentioned foreigners doing anything..i was moaning about the "wankerwear" crowd who are usually irish like i said.

can we refrain from overly negative posting here? This thread should stay light hearted. Terms like "wankerwear" really aren't welcome"

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Cake Man

In the gym yesterday morning a guy doing some Crossfit type routine, one of the exercises he was doing was grabbing a ~10kg medicine ball and bouncing as hard as he could off the ground. The whole gym was literally shaking every time he smashed it off the floor, sounded like someone going hard at it with a sledgehammer.
    The gym is located just next to a bunch of apartments and there's signs up in the gym saying no slamming of weights to consider neighbours next door etc. Can't really say he was being a d!ck doing this as technically he wasn't slamming weights but more doing an exercise that involved making a bit of a racket! Probably best to do that kind of stuff in the evening as opposed to early morning (before 6am) when you could hear a pin drop outside. Wouldn't be surprised if the gym got a few complaints today lol!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Lads wearing tights under shorts when doing some weight training, mind boggling.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Lads wearing tights under shorts when doing some weight training, mind boggling.
    You prefer they took off the shorts? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Are they compression tights? Could just be doing legs tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I don't really see how it's worse than someone wearing a long sleeve baselayer top under a t-shirt, which most people's minds aren't boggled about.

Though the shorts mean they're nor putting their ballbag on show.

People throwing weird shapes in teh steam room.

I don't get it at all.

Some blokes stand up in the corner nearest the heater and start doing stretching routines whilst sighing and grunting.

Another bloke stands on one leg and starts breathing all heavy,like he he's on a marathon porn-watching spree.

Yet annother bloke starts rubbing himself agressively all over with his swimming cap and squeezing the resulting liquid on the floor..and there's the spitters of course.

I wonder what it is about the steam room that brings this sort of behaviour on.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

How would compression shorts or tops help in the gym? Genuine question, I'm a GAA-head so I only wear them for outdoor training at the start of the year when it's f?cking baltic out - and for that purpose they're an absolute life saver

D'Agger wrote: »
    How would compression shorts or tops help in the gym? Genuine question, I'm a GAA-head so I only wear them for outdoor training at the start of the year when it's f?cking baltic out - and for that purpose they're an absolute life saver

I've only started to notice the leggings under shorts (for blokes) in the gym since Conor McGregor became a household name.

He wore that sort of gettup a lot on the documentary about him and in a lot of his training videos too. That look often goes hand in hand with the big beard look too so i think it's a desire to look like mcgregor as i can see no functional reason to wear a leotard when lifting weights :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Some lad in the locker room was taking a picture of his towel, trainers, gloves and water bottle on the bench in the locker room this morning. Might have been a #morninggainz or #fitfam thing but another fella was telling him to cop on as there could be someone in the background. I don't think there was but it's a fair enough warning IMO. The guy taking the photo was a bit indignant about it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

D'Agger wrote: »

Wicks away the sweat, for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

Compression tops also help with the jiggles.....

I've only started to notice the leggings under shorts (for blokes) in the gym since Conor McGregor became a household name.

He wore that sort of gettup a lot on the documentary about him and in a lot of his training videos too. That look often goes hand in hand with the big beard look too so i think it's a desire to look like mcgregor as i can see no functional reason to wear a leotard when lifting weights :D
    Really common to wear them for grappling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Those ridiculous tight fitting tracksuits. They are meant to be loose smh.

I don't really see how it's worse than someone wearing a long sleeve baselayer top under a t-shirt, which most people's minds aren't boggled about.

People who wear base layers to the gym are psychopaths. Possible crossing over to sociopaths. Fact.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

People who wear base layers to the gym are psychopaths. Possibly crossing over into sociopaths. Fact.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,985 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Brian? wrote:
    People who wear base layers to the gym are psychopaths. Possible crossing over to sociopaths. Fact.

I couldn't be arsed buying more stuff for the gym, my base layers work fine. Now I must plot my next murder!

Have we done blow-drying bollocks with a hair dryer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

People who bleed on the platform! there was a bit of a splatter there the other night, EWWWWWWWW!

Probably the base layer people claiming a victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭RTighe

Have we done blow-drying bollocks with a hair dryer?

yep was early on in the tread

RTighe wrote: »
    yep was early on in the tread

How about spitting in the water fountain?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

People throwing weird shapes in teh steam room.

I don't get it at all.

Some blokes stand up in the corner nearest the heater and start doing stretching routines whilst sighing and grunting.

Another bloke stands on one leg and starts breathing all heavy,like he he's on a marathon porn-watching spree.

Yet annother bloke starts rubbing himself agressively all over with his swimming cap and squeezing the resulting liquid on the floor..and there's the spitters of course.

I wonder what it is about the steam room that brings this sort of behaviour on.:confused:

Ew, what a petri dish. Glad I don't go near them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭RTighe

n that here yet but jesus Christ its one of the mankiest things ever.

A glob of phlegm hanging by a string of the tap.

bleurgh :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Ah yes, I tend to not do a huge amount of cardio in the gym so that makes sense now

That's deplorable stuff!!

RTighe wrote: »
    n that here yet but jesus Christ its one of the mankiest things ever.

A glob of phlegm hanging by a string of the tap.

bleurgh :mad::mad::mad:

Plenty of gobbing in Northwood.

I've seen people spitting in the water fountain,on the floor of the steam room and actually on a leg press machine once.

The bloke who spat on the leg press is worthy of further mention.
    He's about seven foot tall,weighs ten stone and does EVERYTHING with the most appalling lack of form.

In the two or three years since i've started to notice him he's put on no muscle and gained no strength...his elbows must be heading for arthritis though as they seem to do all the work in his "routines".

He also has a dubious hygene presence and seems these days to favour hanging round downstairs where the girls are.

He can also be seen splashing away wildly in the swimming pool like a frog suffering from tetanus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Northwood is some kip was there once, full of juicers acting hard even seen a wannabe silveter stallone up there late 50s guy roided to the gills image of him.

Juicers love the cable crossover machines...it attracts them like moths to a flame because they have a clear view of themselves giving it loads in the mirror opposite.