Bouncer punches woman who tried to punch him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Jaysus man, you're one twister you are.
    Bet you're a great person to have a conversation with :pac:

I'm not twisting it BA, I'm agreeing with you in a sense that yes, the thread would be completely different, because the circumstances would be different. I was trying to point out that it's not just simply the case that a man retaliated against a woman in self-defence. There's plenty I could understand about that, even if I still didn't agree with it, but in the circumstances in this case, a drunk woman slaps a sober guy? Jesus, most men I know anyway would laugh that off, but I have known some men who have done exactly as some posters here have suggested.

That's why I said they only did it because they knew they could get away with it. I've known plenty of spoofers too who claim to have taken down lads and afterwards I'd hear that's not how it went down at all, classic "you should see the other guy" stuff.

Most places I worked the door on (and they weren't kiddies discos like Barcode), having to escort anyone off the premises was rare, and even more rare that they put up any sort of resistance, and any serious fighting that was done was done out in the car park, or they were pushing and shoving each other till they got down to Supermacs where it all kicked off in style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I hate all this hard man stuff now. Hit and be hit blah blah blah. Lots of wannabe MMA heads thinking every interaction means ground and pound. Whatever happened to acting like a civilised person and simply moving away, only using force when it's absolutely necessary, never hitting a woman whatever the provocation etc. etc.

You sound like a White Knight.

Either sex should prepare to get one back if they strike out at a person first.

Women can be just as vicious as any man when they're beered up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Sure can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

FTA69 wrote: »
    Yawn. A succinct display of both ignorance and snobbery.

Based on many many years of personal experience ......... you can go back to sleep now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Chris.

Elemonator wrote: »
    He didn't respond with reasonable force, I think that's the main issue here.

It looked like perfectly reasonable force to me. She swung a wild haymaker, he ducked under it and knocked her back a couple of feet with a slap. Just enough force used to make her realise that her bullsh**t wasn't going to fly in this situation.

The other alternative would be of course to try and restrain her and put up with sceaming, potential kicking, biting, scratching, headbutts, spitting, more screaming, allegations of sexual assault etc etc.

I know which one I'd choose and I wouldn't think twice about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Either sex should prepare to get one back if they strike out at a person first.

A few years ago I was with my kids outside main entrance to a new plush private hospital in Waterford waiting for someone to come out.
    Down the road from the entrance was bus stop and 2 couples who were rather inebriated were arguing.

One of women proceeded to launch a series of one twos on one of the guys.
    And I mean she was connecting with his head.
    My little fellow said look at Katie Taylor.
    The guy didn't hit back, but pushed her away which meant she just kept coming back with more punches.
    I have to say I was impressed with his patience.

10 odd minutes later saw them outside hospital entrance and guys were in lobby asking porter to phone for taxi.
    It was quiet obvious one of the guys had his lower lip swollen and split.
    He had blood down front of his shirt.
    I was surprised he wasn't looking for a doc.

The porter and security had phoned Garda? who did a drive by and basically had left them to it.
    Obviously it was a domestic and they didn't want to know on a saturday evening of a bank holiday weekend.
    According to porter the couples had already been booted off the bus to Cork.

And we all had pity for the taxi driver because they were still arguing as he drove them off.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭foxatron

If she wants to act like a scumbag she should expect to be treated like one. He didnt even hit her that hard. If he punched her with as much intent as she used, she be face down on the ground. Stupid girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Keyzer wrote: »
    Is this acceptable? Indian game show where contestants appear to be insulted. presented wallops a man and he instinctively hits her back. The gets seven shades of ****e k1cked out him. Absolutely no justification or reason in the world why she hit him, he had every right to hit her back.

What the hell is that about, what is the purpose of this show. Indian television, fecking bonkers.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

What the hell is that about, what is the purpose of this show. Indian television, fecking bonkers.

She is like a female extreme version of Simon Cowel. Without the high waistband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Based on many many years of personal experience ......... you can go back to sleep now. :)

Well if you've had years of rowing with doorstaff then it's far more likely that you're the one with the issue to be honest.

I've worked with people who went on to do things like travel the world, finish PHDs, set up multi-million pound businesses and play rugby for Ireland. I've worked with arseholes of course but the vast majority of people I've worked with were decent people grafting to make a few pound. This notion that doorstaff are power-tripping dopes is a nonsense.

Well if you've had years of rowing with doorstaff then it's far more likely that you're the one with the issue to be honest.

I've worked with people who went on to do things like travel the world, finish PHDs, set up multi-million pound businesses and play rugby for Ireland. I've worked with arseholes of course but the vast majority of people I've worked with were decent people grafting to make a few pound. This notion that doorstaff are power-tripping dopes is a nonsense.

Who said I was rowing with anybody? You've, typically, made an incorrect assumption .........

In fairness people will only remember the bad 'uns. Only bad experiences I've directly had with bouncers have been the power tripping and sneaky ones. One was them letting me in, pay in, pay the cloakroom, buy a drink then kicked me straight out. On my own, hadn't spoke to anyone. :P Other time I just held up a queue for 10 minutes because a guy wouldn't let me in. He kept trying to get me to escalate but he would've been the aggressor so he could do nowt. 10 minutes later his mate let me in, and skip the queue which had formed. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Who said I was rowing with anybody? You've, typically, made an incorrect assumption .........

Maybe I assumed you'd come into some sort of conflict which causes you to assume that most bouncers are dopes with notions? If not it just seems you go through life blithely categorising people who do certain jobs out of an innate sense of snobbery or whatever. Either or, it's you with the problem.

In fairness people will only remember the bad 'uns. Only bad experiences I've directly had with bouncers have been the power tripping and sneaky ones. One was them letting me in, pay in, pay the cloakroom, buy a drink then kicked me straight out. On my own, hadn't spoke to anyone. :P Other time I just held up a queue for 10 minutes because a guy wouldn't let me in. He kept trying to get me to escalate but he would've been the aggressor so he could do nowt. 10 minutes later his mate let me in, and skip the queue which had formed. :pac:

My experience of them over the years has been work-related and personally knowing them (through the gym, social situations and family members etc.) so never really had a problem with them on the doors personally (although I have witnessed that side of them too) because they "know" me.

Maybe I assumed you'd come into some sort of conflict which causes you to assume that most bouncers are dopes with notions? If not it just seems you go through life blithely categorising people who do certain jobs out of an innate sense of snobbery or whatever. Either or, it's you with the problem.

You're confusing an opinion with a problem ......... sometimes stereotypes originate in truth ......... sorry if that offends your sensibilities in some way. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,420 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

pilly wrote: »
    I can not believe the amount of people on here saying gender should not come into it. Is this actually where we're at now?

I don't know how others are brought up but my 2 sons would never lay a hand a woman whether or not she was beating the crap out of them, for the simple reason that they KNOW RIGHT FROM WRONG.

They know that there's a dangerous power imbalance there.

It's very easy to defend yourself against someone half your size, even more so if you're a so-called bouncer.
    I thought #equality was the done thing or is that no longer fashionable in 2017?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I see a lot of EE lads on the doors these days, they look like they would be well able to handle themselves if they needed to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

I see a lot of EE lads on the doors these days, they look like they would be well able to handle themselves if they needed to.

What's EE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,226 ✭✭✭gifted

erica74 wrote: »
    What's EE?

Easterern European?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I can not believe the amount of people on here saying gender should not come into it. Is this actually where we're at now?

I don't know how others are brought up but my 2 sons would never lay a hand a woman whether or not she was beating the crap out of them, for the simple reason that they KNOW RIGHT FROM WRONG.

It's very easy to defend yourself against someone half your size, even more so if you're a so-called bouncer.

Too right there's a dangerous power imbalance there, headbangers who think their gender gives them the right to assault people without let nor hinderance

Omackeral wrote: »
    Left out a bit there Mr White Knight.
    Wildcard7 wrote: »
    While you're at it, my white knight in shining armor...

Amused that being brought up in the belief that you simply do not hit a woman now sees so many label you a "white knight". Whatever that is...I thought it was some KKK reference!

The world is definitely changing. A lot. As I've said before, it may just be that my views are old fashioned...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 109 ✭✭Dublin Pintman

So you raised your sons to be too ashamed to defend themselves? Great job on that one. Presumably you also tell them not to defend themselves if they are attacked by a smaller, weaker man?

I suggest you take a job in a pub or a nightclub and see how vicious some women can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Amused that being brought up in the belief that you simply do not hit a woman now sees so many label you a "white knight". Whatever that is...I thought it was some KKK reference!

The world is definitely changing. A lot. As I've said before, it may just be that my views are old fashioned...

But why make gender an issue at all. Why not teach children not to hit anyone? Doesn't singling out women for protection imply men are fair game?

I don't think so. No more than the idea that you should not hit older people or children means everyone else is fair game. Why make age an issue? It's just recognition that generally there is a power/strength imbalance between adults and the young, adults and the elderly, and men and women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,420 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I don't think so. No more than the idea that you should not hit older people or children means everyone else is fair game. Why make age an issue? It's just recognition that generally there is a power/strength imbalance between adults and the young, adults and the elderly, and men and women.
    Not all women are helpless damsels in distress nowadays.........

Ok, most bouncers are far stronger than me, so presumably I can hit them and not expect any retaliation on account of being a weaker man?

Society takes a view that women are inherently less strong/athletic/powerful. Open the sports pages and you will see for example that most sports categorise women records and results separately.

And? I am less strong/athletic/powerful than many men, particularity those who are bouncers, so why can't I start **** and not worry about the consequences? What about the strength and power imbalance when I want to punch the 6'4, 250lb man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

That's pretty patronising.

And? I am less strong/athletic/powerful than many men, particularity those who are bouncers, so why can't I start **** and not worry about the consequences? What about the strength and power imbalance when I want to punch the 6'4, 250lb man?

I think society also kinda takes that view. For example, a person who is perceived as much stronger who is beating up a weaker person, even if both are male, may receive opprobrium as a bully. We all know the "pick on someone your own size" phrase.