Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Buer wrote: »
    Should be.

Restaurants will mostly be closed though (after lunch time anyway) as they make a lot of their money from drinks.

My brother is opening his restaurant today as BYOB thing, and will probably start serving at midnight. It'll be rammed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭b.gud

.ak wrote: »
    My brother is opening his restaurant today as BYOB thing, and will probably start serving at midnight. It'll be rammed.

What would the law be around him saying it's BYOB but we charge corkage? I'm guessing that he's not doing this as he'll be happy with the business he'll be getting but was just curious what the law would be around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

awec wrote: »
    Shops are open today, right?

The more surprising thing is that you are awake at this time of the morning.

• Administrators Posts: 55,100 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

mfceiling wrote: »
    The more surprising thing is that you are awake at this time of the morning.

My body is still on Dubai time, I keep waking up at like 6am. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

My body is still on Dubai time, I keep waking up at like 6am. :(

You mean 15 minutes later than the rest of us actually get up at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

b.gud wrote: »
    What would the law be around him saying it's BYOB but we charge corkage? I'm guessing that he's not doing this as he'll be happy with the business he'll be getting but was just curious what the law would be around it.

Fairly sure he can't charge corkage as that'll be seen as serving alcohol.

Parenting advice for Zzippy and all you other lads with young kids.

Apparently 9 year olds shouldn't be listening to Cypress Hill at full volume in the car. I'm not sure why as she was enjoying it as much as I was.

Parenting advice for Zzippy and all you other lads with young kids.

Apparently 9 year olds shouldn't be listening to Cypress Hill at full volume in the car. I'm not sure why as she was enjoying it as much as I was.

Possibly because you're both insane in the membrane?

• Subscribers Posts: 43,173 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

My youngest at 6 knew the continuation of "cruising down the street in my 6 4..."

Used to come out with it randomly in the strangest of places ;)

On the bus on the way into town and some poor scobe is behind me on the phone to his "ma".

Apparently he has lost his "bag of yokes"...the mother seems fairly helpful and has checked his room and the kitchen for him but to no avail.

He's alright though because he's not going to pay his maintenance this week so he's going to text his dealer to meet him in town to get a bag from him.

Gotta love dublin.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Jokes on him, his Ma found them and is selling them herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Well, if it keeps her off the game.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

On the bus on the way into town and some poor scobe is behind me on the phone to his "ma".

Apparently he has lost his "bag of yokes"...the mother seems fairly helpful and has checked his room and the kitchen for him but to no avail.

He's alright though because he's not going to pay his maintenance this week so he's going to text his dealer to meet him in town to get a bag from him.

Gotta love dublin.

What drove you to have to take the bus!

Stheno wrote: »
    What drove you to have to take the bus!

Herself is away to kerry with the nippers (I'm following in the morning on the train). Fancied heading into eatyard and then on for a couple of pints. I resent paying 20 quid in a taxi - watching the meter fly on as we sit in traffic. 2.70 on the bus and 10 or 15 mins later I'm in town!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Herself is away to kerry with the nippers (I'm following in the morning on the train). Fancied heading into eatyard and then on for a couple of pints. I resent paying 20 quid in a taxi - watching the meter fly on as we sit in traffic. 2.70 on the bus and 10 or 15 mins later I'm in town!!

€2.05 with a leap card. Rookie mistake.

'Mon United!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

UK general election in June. Hmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

UK general election in June. Hmm.

Not great timing for Labour.

Labour a complete shambles. They will have a terrible election.

I read an interesting piece recently that said that Tories calling a GE early in the Brexit window would be a white flag for the process. Wonder if that will be the case.

Will be interesting to see what platfoms the various parties run on. I can see the Lib Dems having their best ever election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I think this is the best thing that could happen to Labour tbh, otherwise they would stutter on with Corbyn as leader until 2020 where we would see the Tories returned until 2025. This was Corbyn will be gone after June, hopefully getting their act together and we'll have 2 less years of the Tories.

Teferi wrote: »
    I think this is the best thing that could happen to Labour tbh, otherwise they would stutter on with Corbyn as leader until 2020 where we would see the Tories returned until 2025. This was Corbyn will be gone after June, hopefully getting their act together and we'll have 2 less years of the Tories.

I hope you're right. But I genuinely think Labour could get absolutely stuffed in this election, go back to a leadership contest, and put Corbyn back in charge. The last leadership contest was a total embarrassment for them.

I see Farron is already pushing hard about how the Lib Dems are the only way to stop a hard brexit. Could be a good election for them if people have forgiven them for their previous time in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I hope you're right. But I genuinely think Labour could get absolutely stuffed in this election, go back to a leadership contest, and put Corbyn back in charge. The last leadership contest was a total embarrassment for them.

I see Farron is already pushing hard about how the Lib Dems are the only way to stop a hard brexit. Could be a good election for them if people have forgiven them for their previous time in power.

'but muh tuition fees' is the constant refrain on some various UK forums I frequent from those who are against the LibDems. The tories are going to walk this one, I fear.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The Lib Dems tripling their seats would still only see them getting back to half their height. That collapse is just not the kind of thing that is recovered from in one (short) election cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I hope Labour will also push this, or even push a second referendum platform. Spoiler: they'll do neither and sleepwalk into annihilation.

In reality the safest way to ensure a constructive Brexit is to go Tory. With a sizable majority May won't need to placate the hard line anti EU Tory backbenchers, and negotiate more pragmatically with Europe.

I fear that any other shift in voting patterns from 2015 will ultimately end up with the same end result, a narrow Tory majority, and we'll be more or less back where we started.

are many of you folks employed outside of Ireland but maybe get to work in Ireland during the year? well the tax rules have changed, you may be liable to income tax under certain circumstances

https://www2.deloitte.com/ie/en/pages/tax/articles/changes-to-the-taxation-of-business-travellers-into-Ireland.html

Speaking of neighbouring states in the midst of electoral madness, things have really gotten serious in NI: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/lamp-post-installed-in-middle-of-footpath-sparks-outrage-among-locals-its-ludicrous-35629065.html

Incredible journalism.

Speaking of neighbouring states in the midst of electoral madness, things have really gotten serious in NI: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/lamp-post-installed-in-middle-of-footpath-sparks-outrage-among-locals-its-ludicrous-35629065.html

Incredible journalism.

My home town. It has really gone to the dogs since I left

This was my favourite quote
    "I take my grandkids for a walk here, and if holding one in each hand, will have to move onto the cycle path to get around it. If cyclists are coming then we could have total gridlock."

It sounds appalllng. There will be protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

It sounds appalllng. There will be protests.
    Marches* even?

*Inevitably leading to a standoff as the lamp post and the marchers refuse to move.