Wives... were you glad pubs weren't open today

Eight pints wouldn't be a night out? How many would you drink on a night out?

Well it would be a quiet night out I suppose rather than not a night out but for me its more the amount you would have in a few hours in the pub after work without waiting out too late. A night out would normally be into the double figures of pints but more so would also involve of shots and spirits too. Then there is the day session which is the real deal, could be up on 15 or 16 pints + shots and spirits.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Well it would be a quiet night out I suppose rather than not a night out but for me its more the amount you would have in a few hours in the pub after work without waiting out too late. A night out would normally be into the double figures of pints but more so would also involve of shots and spirits too. Then there is the day session which is the real deal, could be up on 15 or 16 pints + shots and spirits.

That sounds a bit off to me. It's an awful lot of fluids to be consuming before you even take into account you're talking about Beer and Mixed Spirits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Really? that sounds really excessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

What would be your weekly average? Around 25-30 drinks (Pints and spirits)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Mr.Wemmick wrote: »
    I did not highlight the word fact in your post, you did..

Show me where I said you highlighted the word fact? I highlighted this word, as it was the main point of my entire post. That should be clear from my post so I don't understand this claim at all??

But you did responded to this post where I was talking about facts (The whole post).
    Accurately stated refers to his lengthy hangovers resulting from lots of drink - read it again.
    You still do knot know how much the OP's husband drinks each night?
    I get bad hangovers after very few drinks, Everyone is different.
    You can not say it is not a fact at 7000 Euros either, as much as anyone say for a fact it is.. however, I do believe it is based on what the OP has said and my own experience of practiced drinkers. People can say it's fair to say, or fair to assume and still be correct as much as incorrect.
    Yes I can say its not a Fact...it is not a fact until it is proven (although if maybe right in the end).

Nobody on this thread knows how much he spends a year on drink..that was my entire point..while people are stating that he spends over €7k and how much debt that could pay off...we do not know this...
    Your point is arguing about pedantics.

No I was arguing about assumptions being made with no basis to the OP case..but you want to change it to something else

My point is nobody here has the full facts and assuming and best guessing will not help the OP.

Each unknown assumption is adding legs to what the husband is doing to build a case against him...if you really want to help the OP let her guide you with the information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

7 or 8 pints would be fairly quiet few mid week pints or a "few" pints after work on a Friday to me. Wouldn't really consider it a night out.

If this is normal, I hope you're not driving.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    What would be your weekly average? Around 25-30 drinks (Pints and spirits)?

Depends on the time of year, could easily be that during busier times with more events, particularly if there are midweek nights too. Would be less at other times. Dry weeks basically wouldn't exist would always be at least a few cans at home watching tv even if there wasn't a night out/pub visit.
    Chuchote wrote: »
    If this is normal, I hope you're not driving.

Obviously I wouldn't drive home from the pub after 7 or 8 pints.

Depends on the time of year, could easily be that during busier times with more events, particularly if there are midweek nights too. Would be less at other times. Dry weeks basically wouldn't exist would always be at least a few cans at home watching tv even if there wasn't a night out/pub visit.

Obviously I wouldn't drive home form the pub after 7 or 8 pints.

Would you suffer very little from hangovers? No way I could be drinking eight pints and not be suffering all the following day, probably two days and I'm not that much older than you. Have a brother in law who could drink any amount and then be fine the following morning. I'm not sure am I lucky or unlucky to be getting hangovers, definitely keeps you in line a bit more.

Again, may I ask, is someone who drinks seven to eight pints a night on weekdays driving the next day (every day)?

Would you suffer very little from hangovers? No way I could be drinking eight pints and not be suffering all the following day, probably two days and I'm not that much older than you. Have a brother in law who could drink any amount and then be fine the following morning. I'm not sure am I lucky or unlucky to be getting hangovers, definitely keeps you in line a bit more.

Oh I get hangovers alright after big sessions but I'd be fairly fine after 8 pints. I'd know I wasn't drinking water all evening but any effects would be shook off fairly fast if getting up in the morning. If sleeping in I'd be fine on getting up.

Again, may I ask, is someone who drinks seven to eight pints a night on weekdays driving the next day (every day)?

Of course I'd drive the next morning after 7 or 8 pints, why wouldn't I?

Oh I get hangovers alright after big sessions but I'd be fairly fine after 8 pints. I'd know I wasn't drinking water all evening but any effects would be shook off fairly fast if getting up in the morning. If sleeping in I'd be fine on getting up.

Of course I'd drive the next day after 7 or 8 pints, why wouldn't I?

According to this calculator you'd need 15 hours between drinking seven pints and driving.

http://morning-after.org.uk/?page_id=82

According to this calculator you'd need 15 hours between drinking seven pints and driving.

http://morning-after.org.uk/?page_id=82

I wouldn't believe everything you read. If nothing else was wrong there you start calculating from the time you start drinking not when you finish and the limit isn't zero.

I've seen people bagged the next day after far more drink than that and pass.

Of course I would try to avoid driving before lunch after a very heavy session but 8 pints I wouldn't alter any plans (I usually don't drive before 9am anyway even on work days so when I say morning I don't mean 6 or 7am).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I'm 28 and eight pints would have me lying on the floor trying not to fall off for most of the next day.

Mind you the last year or so it seems like I'm in bits whether I have three pints or eight so f*ckit, might as well have the eight. But I do appreciate that it's a big amount of alcohol to have in one night. To have in a week really.

I'm 28 and eight pints would have me lying on the floor trying not to fall off for most of the next day.

Mind you the last year or so it seems like I'm in bits whether I have three pints or eight so f*ckit, might as well have the eight. But I do appreciate that it's a big amount of alcohol to have in one night. To have in a week really.

Also a lot of money to spend! I remember telling an alcoholic friend that I'd paid €30 for a book - he was horrified! It was only when I realised that all spending was calculated in his mind against what drink you could get with it that I understood :P

Women usually drink a spirit and mixer vs a pint for a man so I find myself drinking faster often if in a round with women as they polish off their drinks very fast. Also I find drinking with a slower person could actually mean you end up drinking more rather than less as you might get a pint in between rounds if you are very far ahead or throw back a whiskey etc.

Your posts make me laugh so much!!
    I mean, you're clearly very young but yet your outlook on life is soooooo old!
    How does that happen?

Oh and if you find yourself having to throw back a whiskey because the person with you drinks normally, then that's a problem!!

Hence its not only variable meaning of terms like hungover but also how people are effected.

I'm early 30's so not a young lad by any means and 7 or 8 pints would be fairly quiet few mid week pints or a "few" pints after work on a Friday to me. Wouldn't really consider it a night out. Might feel a bit groggy after it if I had to be up early but i'd have it shook of in no time. 7 or 8 pints would only be getting warmed up in a proper session.

Early 30s!!!!!
    God, i thought maybe early 20s at most!
    Over what length of time would you have these pints? Would you be in the pub all night, after work till closing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Game Face MCGee

poor feckers liver will be shot by the time he's 50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Personally, I would consider anything under 80 pints and 60 shots to be a warmup session.

Am I doing this right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Just after reading through this and the 1 thing that stands out for me is that there doesnt seem to have been rows over this. Its like the OP thinks it the norm and in fairness to the husband, If she hasnt discussed this with him of course he isnt going to change his ways.

Maybe she needs to sit him down and explain how happy she was this weekend and how she'd like this more frequent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,383 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

mockingjay wrote: »

He pays the mortgage, I pay all other bills, including groceries and things the kids need or for the house, house/car insurance/tax etc - really not a lot left over - this is fine - after that we have our own money - I try to save for Christmas, holidays etc. I earn much less than him - we don't pool leftovers. Might seem strange but that's how we do it. So a night out would impact on my budget, there's always something to spend it on or try and save for (so alcohol definitely not a priority).

sorry if i have missed other comments on this but my observations for what its worth:

He drinks too much it seems to me, the odd night out with the lads to blow off steam is one thing (and vice versa for you with your friends) but two nights a week every week is taking the mick

also your financial arrangement is to my mind unfair, once you get married and have kids especially there should be an equal split regardless of who earns more. Its now your money plural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

juneg wrote: »
    I'm just wondering how much money would a man be spending on two nights out in the local pub?

Could vary massively. Walking to and from the local for 5 or 6 pints and you're looking at about €30 a night.

Add taxis, cigarettes, food, more pints / shots and you might not see much change from €100 a night.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Over what length of time would you have these pints? Would you be in the pub all night, after work till closing?

When I stay out from after work till closing there is more than 8 pints drank ;).

If I need to catch the last bus home I can squeeze in 7 or 8 pints if I make the pub for around 5:30/6 and leave around 10:40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

When I stay out from after work till closing there is more than 8 pints drank ;).

If I need to catch the last bus home I can squeeze in 7 or 8 pints if I make the pub for around 5:30/6 and leave around 10:40.

I'm not in the business of preaching to others about their drinking but you sound like some man for a session!

I'm early 30s myself and I definitely find that, rather than hangovers being worse, I am overcome by 'The Fear' more regularly. However, it would be a rare night out that I'd drink more than 10 or 11 pints and a couple of spirits. 15 or more and I'd be in a heap for 2 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

15 or 16 pints plus shots and spirits?! :eek: I don't know how anyone can physically drink that much liquid, let alone that much alcohol. Would that not be in alcohol poisoning territory for a lot of people?

However, it would be a rare night out that I'd drink more than 10 or 11 pints and a couple of spirits. 15 or more and I'd be in a heap for 2 days.

Oh trust me I'd be sick as a dog too after that much, now I'd be feeling ok by late afternoon/evening rather than two days later but still would be a tough morning (unless the cure was had :pac:).
    ceadaoin. wrote: »

15 or 16 pints plus shots and spirits?! :eek: I don't know how anyone can physically drink that much liquid, let alone that much alcohol. Would that not be in alcohol poisoning territory for a lot of people?

In fairness that's not after work on a Friday levels of consumption, that's all day session stuff starting at lunch or even the morning and going till closing. I know people who can drink a fair bit more than me too, I've seen people drink more than 20 pints and still go to the night club and onto spirits in full day sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

In fairness that's not after work on a Friday levels of consumption, that's all day session stuff starting at lunch or even the morning and going till closing. I know people who can drink a fair bit more than me too, I've seen people drink more than 20 pints and still go to the night club and onto spirits in full day sessions.
    Those guys must be a real pleasure to encounter in a night club after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Those guys must be a real pleasure to encounter in a night club after that.
    Just think of the bantz that would be had!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Personally, I would consider anything under 80 pints and 60 shots to be a warmup session.

Am I doing this right?

Sidebar, but a lot of the Irish craft brewers do ales that are specifically called Session Ales. Under 4% abv so if you're going for a long day's session and/or the session is going to involve other craic they're a good idea. Of sorts.

I couldn't imagine drinking eight pints of water, much less alcohol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

I just don't see the point in that kind of high volume drinking - drink all day, head to the club, have a session the next day. I just can't see the appeal. It just strikes me as trying to reach a drinking goal or something, for what reason I don't know. It certainly doesn't sound like fun.

The idea of someone rocking up to the club with 20 pints in them is amusing though. How sexy. :P