Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread - **MOD NOTE POST #1**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 bluelad1

Deise Gael wrote: »
    Don't let the bullies get to you lad.

Anyone who knows anything about what's going on in the camp knows that the whole thing is falling apart.

Pretty fed up with the subterfuge going on here.

Big meeting on the Monday night after the Cork game when Philip Murphy was told to sling his hook because he challenged McGrath to try to play a more positive game.

McGrath likes to talk a good game but just imagine if it was any of the previous Waterford managers in the last twenty years who couldn't hold on to a selector for longer than one season.

Anyone tuned in around the town knows that McGrath's latest ravings over the past month on the media are designed to position himself for a job next year out of Croke Park.
    This guy hasn't confidence in himself not to mind trying to having what it takes to bring a team with him.

Keep on posting lad.

The turnover in selectors and members of backroom team over last 4 years is something that would make you wonder what's going on in the squad....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Anyone who knows anything about what's going on in the camp knows that the whole thing is falling apart.

Big meeting on the Monday night after the Cork game when Philip Murphy was told to sling his hook because he challenged McGrath to try to play a more positive game.

McGrath likes to talk a good game but just imagine if it was any of the previous Waterford managers in the last twenty years who couldn't hold on to a selector for longer than one season.

Anyone tuned in around the town knows that McGrath's latest ravings over the past month on the media are designed to position himself for a job next year out of Croke Park.
    This guy hasn't confidence in himself not to mind trying to having what it takes to bring a team with him.

Keep on posting lad.

And what job would that be. Would it be Martin Fogartys job cause he would have to resign up in Croke Park as he will be too busy training Ballygunner, like you said earlier in the year. How many sessions has Fogarty and Tommy Dunne done with the gunners by the way?

On Philip Murphy challenging McGrath to play a more positive game, I highly doubt that. The Roanmore teams he trained were even more defensive than Waterford under McGrath. We need someone like Paul Flynn as a selector. Someone who would get us playing attacking hurling. If only.

debok wrote: »
    Sorry just wondering how do you know magrath wrote the statement ? Like is that official cos i find it hard to believe that devine would give the go ahead for it.There was a need to release a statement because there would be fellas on here coming up with crazy reasons for him leaving panel if a statement wasn't given.hes a big loss though cos when he gets his first touch right hes hard man to stop
    I'm not telling you here how I know but I'm telling you its fact Derek wrote it and anyone who knows him can see Derek's phrases all through it. I'm sorry there was no need to release a statement as it's fairly common knowledge Tom had this in mind since Christmas. Tom is an independent free spirited kind of fella too so nobody would have read anything sinister into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

bluelad1 wrote: »
    I'm sorry there was no need to release a statement as it's fairly common knowledge Tom had this in mind since Christmas. Tom is an independent free spirited kind of fella too so nobody would have read anything sinister into it.

Clearly not the case reading this forum though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

I'm not telling you here how I know but I'm telling you its fact Derek wrote it and anyone who knows him can see Derek's phrases all through it. I'm sorry there was no need to release a statement as it's fairly common knowledge Tom had this in mind since Christmas. Tom is an independent free spirited kind of fella too so nobody would have read anything sinister into it.
    Fair enough but I just find it hard to believe that tom being the type of character ya said he is would let someone else speak for him. Fair play to him I think hes dead right to go travel if thats how he feels.id say there is alot of fellas who give there best years to hurling regret not going off for a while.

debok wrote: »
    Fair enough but I just find it hard to believe that tom being the type of character ya said he is would let someone else speak for him. Fair play to him I think hes dead right to go travel if thats how he feels.id say there is alot of fellas who give there best years to hurling regret not going off for a while.

Tom wouldn't see the need to issue a statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭fowlerDgrowler

Keep on posting lad.
    Lol, Murphy was axed as the west contingent didn't like him!! Please state facts!!

Tom wouldn't see the need to issue a statement

So Tom Devine is such a weak character he would allow a statement to be written on his behalf and release it!!

Waterford players have proven before that they are willing to oust a manager if they deem that they are not worthy of the position. Who can blame them based on the level of commitment they need to give and sacrifices they make.

Thus it is evident that McGrath has the backing of the the team whether you like or not.

The turnover in selectors and members of backroom team over last 4 years is something that would make you wonder what's going on in the squad....

Selector turnover is quite common annually on every intercounty team

Selector turnover after 3 years maybe ...not 5 months or 1 year...what about turnover of volunteer members of backroom team????

So Tom Devine is such a weak character he would allow a statement to be written on his behalf and release it!!

Waterford players have proven before that they are willing to oust a manager if they deem that they are not worthy of the position. Who can blame them based on the level of commitment they need to give and sacrifices they make.

Thus it is evident that McGrath has the backing of the the team whether you like or not.

Not weak by Tom no....Derek took advantage of the situation to his own advantage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Not weak by Tom no....Derek took advantage of the situation to his own advantage
    Lord above can we give it a rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Waternut

Agree Robo, he is gone. Time to move on. 
    I know people who have done medicine in UCC and a lot of them have gone on similar trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

his statement was not going to be anything other than polite and gracious ,but the way i see it is ,he may as well go off on a holiday ,he is busting his balls training and then has to sit out every match while he looks on at the unfolding chaos that is Mc Grath.s brand of hurling ,watching many non scoring forwards get in ahead of him ,he will not get a game ahead of the Brick ,he knows it ,mc Grath knows it ,so its off to the sunshine

Am I reading this correctly?

you think brick walsh should not be on the Waterford team?

the longer I watch hurling matchs the more I realise that half the lads watching haven`t the faintest idea whats going on in front of them or how things happened. they just look from the program to the scoreboard and that's it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

not every year its not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,668 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

do we have a decent shot at the Munster Intermediate Title this year ???, i think Tipp are not putting a team in it this year and we are playing Cork in the semi final.

It could be a big ask for the under 21s to retain the title, we play Cork at home in the semi final and if we get through that we have to travel for the final. Cork seem to be all out for the under 21 this year with a strong management panel led by John Meyler and they have already played a few games

Going by last week our minor hurlers may not be strong enough to progress to a semi final but we have 2 more chances to do it.

Dont knw a whole lot of our under 17 hurlers ???

minor footballers take on Limerick tonight in the Munster QF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

I'm not telling you here how I know but I'm telling you its fact Derek wrote it and anyone who knows him can see Derek's phrases all through it.
    I don't know about anyone else, but I'm convinced.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    do we have a decent shot at the Munster Intermediate Title this year ???, i think Tipp are not putting a team in it this year and we are playing Cork in the semi final.

It could be a big ask for the under 21s to retain the title, we play Cork at home in the semi final and if we get through that we have to travel for the final. Cork seem to be all out for the under 21 this year with a strong management panel led by John Meyler and they have already played a few games

Going by last week our minor hurlers may not be strong enough to progress to a semi final but we have 2 more chances to do it.

We are not in the Intermediate Championship this year..Cork only county who entered and are automatically Munster Champions...they'll get 200 All Irelands with this craic.

Waterford are playing winners of Clare and limerick under 25 teams I think which could be played prior to Munster Senior semi final...confusing stuff!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Surely even you can see the irony and ridiculousness of the bolded statements, or have i given you too much credit again??

danganabu wrote: »
    Surely even you can see the irony and ridiculousness of the bolded statements, or have i given you too much credit again??

Look boy believe what you want...the dogs on street know Derek wrote the statement..I actually feel sorry for you if you're so naive to believe otherwise.

You will have to explain to us no canine sorts so why Devine would go along with it, you know him being an independent free spirit like??

Your agenda against McGrath is fairly obvious and funny at this stage but the fact that you fail to realise that you have actually cast serious assertions on Devine's character is quite amusing, you cant have it both ways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

You will have to explain to us no canine sorts so why Devine would go along with it, you know him being an independent free spirit like??

Your agenda against McGrath is fairly obvious and funny at this stage but the fact that you fail to realise that you have actually cast serious assertions on Devine's character is quite amusing, you cant have it both ways!

I can't see where Bluelad has cast any "assertions" (sic), or even aspersions, on Tom's character.

What he has asserted about Tom however, is what many people know and that hurling is not the be all and end all for the lad.

Bluelad has also made reference to Tom's inherent modesty and decency which would never lead him to make such a self important statement referring to his absence from the Waterford set up.

Tom is comfortable enough in his own skin not to bother with that rubbish.

The question is, is our glorious leader?

I can't see where Bluelad has cast any "assertions" (sic), or even aspersions, on Tom's character.

What he has asserted about Tom however, is what many people know and that hurling is not the be all and end all for the lad.

Bluelad has also made reference to Tom's inherent modesty and decency which would never lead him to make such a self important statement referring to his absence from the Waterford set up.

Tom is comfortable enough in his own skin not to bother with that rubbish.

The question is, is our glorious leader?

Thanks for the grammar lesson, you should be a teacher maybe??

He has claimed that Devine passed off a statement written by someone else as his own, why would Devine do that it makes fcuk all sense and only an idiot would believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cascade12

He has claimed that Devine passed off a statement written by someone else as his own, why would Devine do that it makes fcuk all sense and only an idiot would believe it.
    Correct danganabu, but as you are aware now there are plenty idiots on here. The vast majority of hurling people in Waterford would only laugh at the likes of these clowns with agendas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

PTH2009 wrote: »

I wonder if our u21s will be back to the same old routine of underachieving on the night again this year. Last year was an exception to the norm with an exceptional group of players. This year not quite as much but still some quality lads and it's good that Sean Power has stuck around as he will try bring some of that momentum forward. We should be capable of beating a Cork side that was no great shakes at minor but like I say we are notorious underachievers in this grade. Looking at our best minors of the past few years I'd expect to see a panel featuring GK Billy Nolan/Jordan Henley backs; Conor Gleeson, Conor Prunty, Darragh Lyons, Michael Cronin, Jack Mullanney, MJ Sutton, David Prendergast, Eoghan Murray, Eddie Hayden, Callum Lyons, Forwards; Patrick Curran, Shane Bennett, Colm Roche, Cormac Curran, Peter Hogan, Shane Ryan, Andy Molumby, Aaron O'Sullivan, Neil Montgomery, Jack Prendergast,
    Plenty more I'm missing no doubt maybe someone could hazard a guess at naming a team

I'm starting to feel sorry for you at this stage...as pointed out to you above Tom is far too modest and free spirited to even dream of issuing such a statement...clearly "somebody " was starting to panic after gavin and Philip left the previous week and issued that nonsense of a statement.
    I've nothing against Derek but there are questions that need to be asked and if you want to go around like his bodyguard off with you but you're being extremely naive

cascade12 wrote: »
    Correct danganabu, but as you are aware now there are plenty idiots on here. The vast majority of hurling people in Waterford would only laugh at the likes of these clowns with agendas.

So cascade do you believe Tom wrote the statement???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cascade12

I will go further than that. I know that he did. How is that for you.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

bluelad1 wrote:

Tom Devine is on twitter and Facebook, ask him there and post his answer here , he is after all an affable fellow so I'm sure he would answer. Maybe that might put an end to this spat here or maybe just take the war of words to private message instead

I'm starting to feel sorry for you at this stage...as pointed out to you above Tom is far too modest and free spirited to even dream of issuing such a statement...clearly "somebody " was starting to panic after gavin and Philip left the previous week and issued that nonsense of a statement.
    I've nothing against Derek but there are questions that need to be asked and if you want to go around like his bodyguard off with you but you're being extremely naive

Save your sympathy for someone a little closer to home lad.

Nothing against Derek lol now you are taking the piss :D a quick look at your post history would suggest otherwise. If you are not man enough to admit it how can we take anything else you say seriously??

Look I'm not from Waterford and am one of a very small few here who can 100% say that I have no vested interest here and no club bias, and it is very clear that you and a few others here have a very serious vendetta against McGrath.

I feel sorry for the genuine Waterford supporters.