Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Stoner wrote: »
    I never expect to win these things. I always suspect that they only go to the locals.

So I only gave my name and phone number.

I'll keep you posted !!

Read the small print .. I'd say you have to be there on the night of the draw to collect yer prize .. probably holding the draw in a phonebox :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Gaeil Triucha Clg development fund.

For the kids too apparently.

20€ a ticket was too steep for me!

I thought yer man selling them was joking first!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Just saw there Meath are kept down where they belong in division 2.

I am devastated for them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

JRant wrote: »
    Exactly right, we have Trollier who is a savage in the air and others around him well capable of competing. When we go direct we look good.

I can't understand the almost dogmatic obsession with the short puck outs, even when it's blatantly obvious it's not on. It also makes us a very easy team to defend against. Teams can push right up on us safe in the knowledge that we'll struggle to get in behind them.

All the teams GC has been involved with have relied heavily on short puck outs. Indeed the Cork team of late 90s, early 2000s almost invented it so he clearly thinks it pays off.

unfortunately, opposing teams man mark defenders now rather than politely stand aside and let's be honest we do not have the quality Cork had then in back seven; Cusack, Rock, Gardiner, Kenny, O hAilpin,

It can be effective tactic sometimes but watching Dublin it often means playing themselves into difficulty close to their own goal, or at best a corner or wing back belting the ball from 30 yards out but dropping it shorter and less accurately than the goalkeeper!

Just saw there Meath are kept down where they belong in division 2.

I am devastated for them :D

They handed out some heavy beatings along the way in fairness, ultimately the game after caning Derry they coughed up the 2 points to Down (who I think had lost their last dozen or so games) cost them promotion. There's signs that they along with Kildare, Westmeath and Louth are on the up which can only be a positive for Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,654 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DoctaDee wrote:
    They handed out some heavy beatings along the way in fairness, ultimately the game after caning Derry they coughed up the 2 points to Down (who I think had lost their last dozen or so games) cost them promotion. There's signs that they along with Kildare, Westmeath and Louth are on the up which can only be a positive for Leinster

I would have loved to have seen Meath in division 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i expect them to join ye next year , mcantee has done a fairly good job with them , in the space of 12 mines they went from 1 point up to 18 points up . i know we are no world beaters but that seems like a team playing with a purpose , had big wins over fermanagh , derry and galway also , so going in the right way to be fair

disappointed to see ye head for 1B in the hurling today (maybe not today ...but in general;) ) maybe with a better line next year ye can bounce back i dont rate cunningham and ye have some great promise coming through especially donal burke who was outstanding in the first half today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

The number 7 for Monaghan Karl O'Connell had a bit about him as well.
    I enjoyed the game some great scores from both sides.
    I will be keeping a close eye on Monaghan in the championship.
    Themselves and Donegal seem to have overtaken the likes of Tyrone and Roscommon as the teams to watch as a neutral.

First man (i think it was him anyway) i've ever seen outpace James McCarthy. In the rugby parlance he carried for serious metres.

Proper game of football for April i thought. Loads of lads, on both sides, wilted with the pace of the game. Lowndes was close to me near the end and he looked absolutely bolloxed. Also refreshing, especially in light of what Kerry are sure to bring next week, that both sides went for the game and not each other from the outset.

The mental strength of Dublin is something you rarely see in sport. More often than not they just battle until the opposition relent, and even if its by tiny margins.... they always relent. Thats what happened today anyway. The Monaghan tackling tired a little bit and their shot selection became a little panicked. Dublin pushed on as if the result was always inevitable.

Highlight of the day was watching the umpires blag certainty with Dublins first two shots at the target. They hadn't a ****ing clue where the ball went.:D

What did you guy make of Reddin today? K Hughes is a big lump (unit in the local lingo) and he found it tough going against him imo.
    Thought he was close to the line with the ref at the start

O'Sullivan looked very rusty imo, Lowdnes was good again while McCarthy got around he nearly had a goal and set up McCafferys, he's had better days though but won out in the end, overall the fullback line were good and the starting halfback line appeared a bit off the pace.

Flynn was ok Kevin Mc wasn't great and I thought Kilkenny had a good game but was over cautious and made some poor decisions when attacking opportunities seemed on.

Fenton and Reddin found it tough going but Fenton was instrumental towards the end, turning over the ball and running at them, he used the ball well.

Andrews was busy, and Rock was solid. Thought brogan was dangerous when he came on signs are good there.

It ruin nostalgia for me hammering a meath team.
    When Meath are 'back' I hope they have a bit of steel and fight.
    Because it is getting to the stage where I am almost feeling sorry for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I wouldnt have minded Meath back in Div 1 either to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,162 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Bonniedog wrote: »
    All the teams GC has been involved with have relied heavily on short puck outs. Indeed the Cork team of late 90s, early 2000s almost invented it so he clearly thinks it pays off.

unfortunately, opposing teams man mark defenders now rather than politely stand aside and let's be honest we do not have the quality Cork had then in back seven; Cusack, Rock, Gardiner, Kenny, O hAilpin,

It can be effective tactic sometimes but watching Dublin it often means playing themselves into difficulty close to their own goal, or at best a corner or wing back belting the ball from 30 yards out but dropping it shorter and less accurately than the goalkeeper!

Yeah and the fact remains that it didn't work in the previous 2 seasons and is not working this one either. It's also an extremely taxing way to play and could be contributing to our dropping off late in games.

Teams know that if they push up on us we'll invariably cough up a few goals chances per game. I just heard his comments after the game on RTE and he clearly identified turnovers are a big problem so it's not like he can't see what's happening. That just makes it more confusing really.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Slattsy wrote: »
    I wouldnt have minded Meath back in Div 1 either to be honest.

My wife is from Meath, and there's just no rivalry there anymore. Most Meath people know it too, used to be a bit of craic out of them, now it's just acceptance.

I'd love for them to be back in division 1, and being good enough to make a good go at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

CatInABox wrote: »
    My wife is from Meath, and there's just no rivalry there anymore. Most Meath people know it too, used to be a bit of craic out of them, now it's just acceptance.

I'd love for them to be back in division 1, and being good enough to make a good go at it.

I don't think the rivalry ever goes, I just think their expectations have lowered, given where both teams are right now, and with that, the aggressiveness of their game has somewhat diminished.

Still an awful lot of hatred there between both teams. Not nasty stuff, just good honest hate lol

I've family from Meath, and I can see their blood boil when I start ribbing them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

There isn't a division thats too low for them in my book

CatInABox wrote:
    My wife is from Meath.

Sorry to hear about that CatInABox, we didn't know. Was she from Meath when you met her or did it develop later on? ;)

I'd say they'll be up next year. Roscommon and Cavan going down to division 2 shouldn't scare them going on what we've seen this year. Should be a nice league there next year some good teams in it.

Truagh Gaels, I'll get a dig at them tomorrow. Meanwhile learn the 'I got one earlier' walk past!

Update!!!

I got a call from a Monaghan number.

Thought I'd won. Guy asked me if I bought a ticket , I said I did then he said he couldn't make out the name I told him , then he said "and you're from Dublin" I said I was. Some best wishes followed and the call ended.

Do you think I have a chance !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Bambi wrote: »
    There isn't a division thats too low for them in my book

+ 1

A few years ago, when Westmeath were beating Meath in a Leinster semi, all the Dubs around me was losing their $hit at the prospect of W'meath winning. Granted part of that was seeing an underdog have a good day at the office, but there was definitely an added edge to it, seeing as their opposition was Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Update!!!

I got a call from a Monaghan number.

Thought I'd won. Guy asked me if I bought a ticket , I said I did then he said he couldn't make out the name I told him , then he said "and you're from Dublin" I said I was. Some best wishes followed and the call ended.

Do you think I have a chance !!!

If you'd answered "Well Hi?" when he rang you'd have been in with a chance

Bambi wrote: »
    If you'd answered "Well Hi?" when he rang you'd have been in with a chance

And mentioned how you are a big fan of local radio station Northern Sound and Charlie McGetigan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,654 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

And mentioned how you are a big fan of local radio station Northern Sound and Charlie McGetigan :D

Steady on Hi! Charlie McGetigan is from Leitrim! :eek:

They all they all look and sound the same to me..... :rolleyes:

CatInABox wrote: »

Sorry to hear about that CatInABox, we didn't know. Was she from Meath when you met her or did it develop later on? ;)

I'd say they'll be up next year. Roscommon and Cavan going down to division 2 shouldn't scare them going on what we've seen this year. Should be a nice league there next year some good teams in it.

Same here CIAB - I remember the 1st flourishes of romance in 2001 scoring a couple of tickets to the AISF for them v da Kingdom - I didn't know whether to laugh or cry, but it wasn't hard to be a neutral that day. At Dublin/Meath games she used to shake my hand at the start then utter the immortal " dont effin talk to me for the next 70 minutes"... I honestly miss the hostility .. luckily enough she gives it to me in spades at home :D

Royals are my second team. Partly because I worked in Navan for a while, but also because of all our rivals they were the most stand up of all. Vicious, ruthless... murderous even! But they never tried to cheat. Which is more than you can say of some others.

Oh absolutely ... Coyle, Harnan, Lyons etc were as hard as they come.. they'd knock yer teeth out but help you look for them ;)

The young lads I coach gave one of the big southside teams a right good seeing to last year in the championship ...end of the game their coach comes over and speaks to the lads .. yer a great team blah blah .. "and youse have a nice bit of nastiness about ya" .. that was probably the biggest compliment we were ever paid ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Ah here.

The single most unjust moment in GAA history was Joe Sheridans goal in the 2010 Leinster Final (or more specifically, that it was allowed to stand).

Not that I blame Joe Sheridan, but much like Thierry Henry - he got away with it.

You never condone lads running on the pitch to have a go at the ref, but this was one occasion where I thought it was understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Having said that....

I was at the Leinster semi last year with the kids...

Two moments stand out
    (I) the groan in the crowd when 6 minutes of injury time was announced.
    (II) Meath spending the 6 minutes with 13 players behind their own 45m line - blanket defending - despite being ten points down. They were protecting a 10 points deficit.

Not good.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Having said that....

I was at the Leinster semi last year with the kids...

Two moments stand out
    (I) the groan in the crowd when 6 minutes of injury time was announced.
    (II) Meath spending the 6 minutes with 13 players behind their own 45m line - blanket defending - despite being ten points down. They were protecting a 10 points deficit.

Not good.

I was referring to Meath under Boylan. Clearly standards have slipped since!

On other hand, the Sheridan goal was a call that had to be made by the umpires and/or ref. If Bernard got a goal like that to win a big game would he hold his hands up and do the decent thing?

I was referring to Meath under Boylan. Clearly standards have slipped since!

On other hand, the Sheridan goal was a call that had to be made by the umpires and/or ref. If Bernard got a goal like that to win a big game would he hold his hands up and do the decent thing?

If you had a heart you might say that the free Bernard got against the Lillie's in 2011 Semi was a terrible call - but that's hindsight and on the back of 4 All Irelands, at the time and with the cupboard bare no one was putting their hand up