Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIP Martin McGuinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Patww79 wrote: »

They said that in 1998 too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,297 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

10p527o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,259 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

You surely understand her issue with Sinn Fein and its. leadership though. What she was subjected to was horrific and inexcusable.

Her issues with SF should not be fodder for newspapers. None of what she said was ever backed up with evidence. 5 people were prepared to go into a court and defend themselves and never got the chance.
    There are letters showing that members of SF offered her help and advice like they claimed they did.
    I am not saying who is right or wrong but 5 people are deserving of their good names and rights until proven otherwise. They have been tried in the media and with no evidence whatsoever you have obviously made your mind up.
    Why has she never taken a civil case against these people?

Why use a death to draw attention to herself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Funeral pic

Obviously the Indo won't run this on the cover, but they should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

You surely understand her issue with Sinn Fein and its. leadership though. What she was subjected to was horrific and inexcusable.

No. It was manufactured for political purposes. I'm not saying it's completely false but She didn't press charges against people, and when asked about civil action, she quickly faded away with the help of Joan Burton and Alan Kelly.

As I said, if she had credibility, FF, LAB, FG would have spouting this nonsense over and over. Its gone, it was used for the election and nothing else, she knows it too that the elected representatives double crossed her.

Promised the world, sucked up and spat out. That's Leinster house.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Enda ? I was just thinking the same.

Jayop wrote: »
    Ah it's an awful pity that priest is there between Gerry and Enda. You could imagine Gerry trying to get a rise out of him, nipping the back of his legs and whatnot.
    :eek: Enda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Yeah, she went on to despise them (SF) and the peace process they partook in so much, she signed up to a dissident Republican organisation.

As you do.

No. It was manufactured for political purposes. I'm not saying it's completely false but She didn't press charges against people, and when asked about civil action, she quickly faded away with the help of Joan Burton and Alan Kelly.

As I said, if she had credibility, FF, LAB, FG would have spouting this nonsense over and over. Its gone, it was used for the election and nothing else, she knows it too that the elected representatives double crossed her.

Indeed. It is a good job Enda and Michael were not tasked with pursuing justice for the victims of Bloody Sunday.
    They forgot about Maria's case almost before the photographers put away their cameras.
    Always curious why that was. If they believed her they'd never have let SF forget it.

Joan Burton she is not there at the Martin McGuinness funeral?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,195 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

And so the thread descends into the mud...

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

No fierce relevant but they should have put Mary Lou at front and Michelle in middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,366 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Is change really what you want? Because even in this thread you've shown an unwillingness to accept it

You're still trying to drag things backwards

Esel wrote: »
    And so the thread descends into the mud...
    mud Throwers

10p527o.jpg
    fantastic picture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

No fierce relevant but they should have put Mary Lou at front and Michelle in middle.

Maybe future leader in the south? I'd prefer pierce. But it's symbolic to have her behind the new NI SF leader.

Tws a load of anecdoteal porkies that had no Solid evidence. Hence why she got the cold shoulder fairy quickly. The lads talk in the Dail bar amongst them selves. Political suicide to back up this woman. Get rid..

I have no idea if what she said was true or not.
    IMO she shouldn't have gone to the media without trying to get her case into a court.
    The people accused were prepared to defend themselves and didn't run. They got tried in the media and judging from comments on here Maria Cahill won the case.

The behaviour of the political class with this was wrong though and beyond despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

RIP Martin. A very courageous man who took massive strides for the GFA.

Powerful to see the likes of clinton there.

just looked at the English daily mail on line and the comments Allowed up on line about the Irish and Martin McGuinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,298 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

just looked at the English daily mail on line and the comments Allowed up on line about the Irish and Martin McGuinness.

And yet people here still buy the Oirish versions of the likes of this and the Scum. Gob****es

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

And yet people here still buy the Oirish versions of the likes of this and the Scum. Gob****es

indeed. but don't worry, the vermin who will insult us on those gutter rags will have the laugh on the other side of their faces soon. ireland is modernising. britain is retrenching, and the people who wanted it because they will "get their country back" from nobody, will end up with nothing, and they deserve it. the people who voted against the madness i feel sorry for, and they won't be the ones insulting the irish because they are a modern people.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

Tell me pat, is it just us Ulster folk you hate with a consistent passion or is it just some of my neighbours across a few fields ?

And why the hate ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

fantastic picture

Just as well 2 off duty British soldiers didn't take a wrong turn and drive into that funeral cortege.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

seachto7 wrote: »
    Just as well 2 off duty British soldiers didn't take a wrong turn and drive into that funeral cortege.

Why is that ? do you think Bill Clinton might have attacked them ? and the incident in which your trying to be funny/smart with, They weren't off duty .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,785 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Why is that ? do you think Bill Clinton might have attacked them ? and the incident in which your trying to be funny/smart with, They weren't off duty .

???? Ah it was grand then.

This is After Hours by the way.

Is it not a great thing that there is no need for foreign soldiers to be driving around on our streets?
    Remember, they came to us, not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,476 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I think that picture is the best one from yesterday.
    Sums up the day perfectly.