Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Even good ones. The price has climbed up again due to lads wanting Altezza lookalikes but 4.5k is beyond laughable.

Exactly. But there are young lads out there with money again who will pay 3 grand for the car because it looks like an alternative but it.seems insurance friendly being a late model and Irish.

But yeah generally 4500 for that yoke is hasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

The colour removes at least 60% of any potential value, 1k max....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Ah stop, these things were making 1500euro a few years ago. Even good ones. The price has climbed up again due to lads wanting Altezza lookalikes but 4.5k is beyond laughable.

Given the colour of that particular one 1500 would be plenty for it. The fact it has not test 1k would be more like it even then it's a tough sale.

Black, grey, blue, red or white are the colours that young fellas want. Silver then and lastly that cream colour, sunburnt orange and green are the
    least desirable colours by a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

bear1 wrote: »
    The ad alone would convince me to part with 4.5k
    I'd prefer that to an altezza though.

An altezza is a better car tbh. You'd expect to pay 4k+ for one of those. is200's aren't worth a whole pile these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    An altezza is a better car tbh. You'd expect to pay 4k+ for one of those. is200's aren't worth a whole pile these days

All the gas guzzling with none of the performance...Not that altezza Is pulling up any trees at that. It was definately the most underwhelming drive of any of the boy racery things I've driven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

But on a run the is would beat it no? Considering an altezza would be limited to 180.
    Around our way years ago the way people were doing them up put me off them.
    Always preferred the is as it's nice on the eye and the altezza just screams boy racer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

bear1 wrote: »
    But on a run the is would beat it no? Considering an altezza would be limited to 180.
    Around our way years ago the way people were doing them up put me off them.
    Always preferred the is.

The beams engine in the altezza is better and offers more performance. They are limited but I think they can be delimited. Id agree about them being done up, most are done up in a tacky way and are wrecked but a nice one can look very well

I get you on that point about the general driveability of them.
    Pity the is was such a bitch on fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

The rear wheel drive plus LSD is why they are popular. Great for messing around in car parks or crossroads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

I would love to know who would buy a 2006 3.3L petrol Hyundai for 5k with 1800 euro Tax.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-grandeur-xg-range/13193211

YzcxYWQ0Mzc2ODZmOWFkMGZiMGQ1MDExM2FjNjJiOTYHf-pcyTVtn0vCgcnqE3TsaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDg0NTE3OXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Perfect as a taxi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Weren't they all given to big wigs in Hyundai in their heyday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

There a were a few knocking around alright.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rocketbunny-350z/14997066

YjAxMjJlOWNjY2VkNjk0ZTMzY2YwOTk1NTIxMmM5N2RUujBnKNN_wuJN3RsF3FVxaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183MTAyNDU0OHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Twenty grand, on fiddled tax and no NCT since 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

You would need to invest in a trailer and keep it on it. That would never pass a test.

3.5 litre tax is a tad bit more then the 2.0 €710 ha must think people are that stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

You would need to invest in a trailer and keep it on it. That would never pass a test.

3.5 litre tax is a tad bit more then the 2.0 €710 ha must think people are that stupid.

I hate seeing that stuff. If you really looked after the car then pay the right tax on it. It's unlikely to be insured/tested/taxed at all as well.

I kind of like the mad design to be fair, just a pity it screams dodge. Nobody will pay €20k for that in Ireland. Where do people get the money for these things...:confused:

See, I don't understand how one can harp on about buying only the best, brand new parts and how there has been no expense spared..but then goes on and fiddles with the tax forms.

There was a time when it was cool and in demand, but people are wising up to it now.

That used to be such a nice car. Was for sale in 2014 for €6950.

Oh so it wasn't finished last May?

This is what it looked like when I knew it.
    IMG_0131.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Patww79 wrote: »
    So much better looking in its previous guise.

A pink Micra convertible would be nicer to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I really really like the rocketbunny kit... I love their kit for the s14 even more. I think that's class...But not worth that money, nowhere near.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭jharr100

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/honda-civic-1-6-vti-dohc-eg9-showroom/15120231

NzI2NjJiZWViYmY3NTk3NDA5Nzg1MjQ5ZGVmOGRmMTKJShc5ikKI2XR3uHWR2dM6aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183MTY5MTY2N3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

I don't know much about these ... Maybe its a bargain for 9 grand..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

^^ I love them cars to bits. They do have a seriously strong following in this country and it looks in good order (albeit the rear door appears to be a different shade of white in the 1st pic - but that might just be my imagination) but I can't see it fetching anything near €9k unless I'm seriously out of touch....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

^^ I love them cars to bits. They do have a seriously strong following in this country and it looks in good order (albeit the rear door appears to be a different shade of white in the 1st pic - but that might just be my imagination) but I can't see it fetching anything near €9k unless I'm seriously out of touch....

fond of them myself.. But is VRT included in that price? I'd rather spend the 9k on an AP1 S2k on Irish plates. And get some change..

maybe I'm out of touch too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Shut lines around the rear light clusters don't look right either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

magentis wrote: »
    Shut lines around the rear light clusters don't look right either.

Boot looks out of alignment alright..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Oh, it has a tape deck. Now I'm interested......