Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Does points difference come into play? If Dublin were conceivably to beat you boys by three points and Waterford lose to Clare by 3/4 then we'd be ahead of them.

Anyway, going to 1B not be a disaster, and I really thought this team would have been hammered in every game so happy enough. Might be better if Cunningham maintained fate in them rather than throw in the Cuala players, which could be mixed blessing no matter what happens on Paddys Day as they will be played out one way or the other you would think, for a while.

NB. Think Waterford would be ahead of us because they beat us. I seem to recall that is how they worked it out before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,935 ✭✭✭Brian017

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Does points difference come into play? If Dublin were conceivably to beat you boys by three points and Waterford lose to Clare by 3/4 then we'd be ahead of them.

Anyway, going to 1B not be a disaster, and I really thought this team would have been hammered in every game so happy enough. Might be better if Cunningham maintained fate in them rather than throw in the Cuala players, which could be mixed blessing no matter what happens on Paddys Day as they will be played out one way or the other you would think, for a while.

Points difference only matters if 3 or more teams are level. Otherwise, it's straight H2H

So play off no matter what. Still, next game will matter, certainly to stripey lads as a win makes them safe if Waterford lose to Clare. Glad it is in Parnell rather than as a warm up for the football. Should be good atmosphere and game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Topcat32 wrote: »
    There is a relegation playoff again this year.
    Are you sure? The last official word I heard from Croke Park was no relegation playoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Kavrocks wrote: »
    Are you sure? The last official word I heard from Croke Park was no relegation playoff.

this has been debated alot this year there is some confusion after a press release earlier in the year , but the gaa insist there is a relegation play/off for 1A even though there is no date fixed on the master fixture list :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

So play off no matter what. Still, next game will matter, certainly to stripey lads as a win makes them safe if Waterford lose to Clare. Glad it is in Parnell rather than as a warm up for the football. Should be good atmosphere and game.

Its not a play off no matter what for Dublin. If you win, Cork lose and Clare and Waterford dont draw that will be 3 teams on 4 points and this is where points difference will be applied. Dublin can still make the quarter finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Not too dispirited after that. Felt we ran out of puff again in the latter stages but the age and experience profile probably plays a part in that.

Loads of positive performances. Backs are playing really well. Carrying no one in the team despite the potential for resentment of the man in charge. Everyone pulling in the same direction. The Cuala lads will add a lot (when they win;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

this has been debated alot this year there is some confusion after a press release earlier in the year , but the gaa insist there is a relegation play/off for 1A even though there is no date fixed on the master fixture list :rolleyes:
    Where have they said this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

What was changed was the really stupid situation where the winner of 2A had to play against the last placed team in 1B to get promoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Martin567

Kavrocks wrote: »

Where did you ever hear this 'official' word? The play-off between 5th and 6th will take place on 2 April as per the attached master fixture list (page 5).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,935 ✭✭✭Brian017

It's down for 2nd April on Page 12 of the League Master Fixture PDF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Anyway, going to 1B not be a disaster, and I really thought this team would have been hammered in every game so happy enough.

I think Dublin need to be competitive in 1A above all else, right now they're not.

1B with Galway not making it into 1A this year would not be good, they will have a major bee in their bonnet next year

Topcat32 wrote: »
    Its not a play off no matter what for Dublin. If you win, Cork lose and Clare and Waterford dont draw that will be 3 teams on 4 points and this is where points difference will be applied. Dublin can still make the quarter finals

Jaysus! Anyway, it is good format and every game other than our hammering by Tipp has been worth watching. Last night was great game. Dublin can put it up to anyone in Parnell, place will be full, and Cats need to win as well so has all the ingredients of a good one.

Bambi wrote: »
    I think Dublin need to be competitive in 1A above all else, right now they're not.

1B with Galway not making it into 1A this year would not be good, they will have a major bee in their bonnet next year

Don't think you can say they have not been competitive. other than the hiding by Tipp.

I was ultra pessimist at start of year. Thought they'd be hammered out the gate every game. They haven't. This is basically not even a full strength 21s team with a few older fellas. They are getting invaluable experience and have not made a show of themselves.

No great ambitions for the Summer but with Treacys and Shuttes back they be serious enough team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,152 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Can't see the Cuala lads being back for the Cats game at all. I'd like to see the younger lads give it a lash without them. They've fought hard to get there and need to see it out now.

If we go down so be it. To be honest I think it may even be a good thing if we did. With the age profile of the team a year or two in 1b might be the making of them.

One thing that has driven me mad the entire campaign is our inability to lift the ball cleanly. It's put us under serious pressure at times and killed a good few attacks as well. When the pitches improve so should we but if we don't then it'll be a short summer campaign again for the lads.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

JRant wrote: »

One thing that has driven me mad the entire campaign is our inability to lift the ball cleanly. It's put us under serious pressure at times and killed a good few attacks as well. When the pitches improve so should we but if we don't then it'll be a short summer campaign again for the lads.

It drives me up the wall, how often this year have we seen a dublin player leave the ball behind him when trying to lift it on the move. Or losing ball in a ruck because they cannot get it to hand. Even under no pressure lads are having to make two-three attempts. Both teams are playing on the same pitch so that's no excuse. Maybe that's why Cunningham tried the short hand passing game last year :D

we go down to 1b this year there's no guarantee we'll get back up next year. At least Cunningham will be gone although he's not the only cause of our recent woes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

From the outside looking in I think cunningham will be happy the way his youngsters have done.I'm not familiar with all yer players but dublin are certainly building a nice team for the future and with dotsy and the cuala lads back ye'll certainly give it to galway in the summer.young o donnell at full back is a lad I've great time for and he'll probably remain yer full back with o callaghan maybe going corner back.i wouldn't be to critical of the young lads but I believe ye'll have a very good team in a year or two time when cunningham will probably be gone

Bambi wrote: »
    It drives me up the wall, how often this year have we seen a dublin player leave the ball behind him when trying to lift it on the move. Or losing ball in a ruck because they cannot get it to hand. Even under no pressure lads are having to make two-three attempts. Both teams are playing on the same pitch so that's no excuse. Maybe that's why Cunningham tried the short hand passing game last year :D

we go down to 1b this year there's no guarantee we'll get back up next year. At least Cunningham will be gone although he's not the only cause of our recent woes

I just can't wrap my head around it. I see the same players having no difficulty doing it at club level yet they look like they're using shovels out there when wearing blue. Happened a good few times today, one lad (McMarrow i think??) took 3 attempts to lift with nobody anywhere near him and completely killed our attack.

I think it may take us at least 2 seasons to get back up. There's good teams down there that are probably more at our level than where we are now. Obviously I'd much rather we stayed up but being completely honest I think most teams in 1a would bate us out the gate if they took it seriously. Tipp, Waterford, Cats are miles ahead of us, only Cork are at our level.

brookville wrote: »
    From the outside looking in I think cunningham will be happy the way his youngsters have done.I'm not familiar with all yer players but dublin are certainly building a nice team for the future and with dotsy and the cuala lads back ye'll certainly give it to galway in the summer.young o donnell at full back is a lad I've great time for and he'll probably remain yer full back with o callaghan maybe going corner back.i wouldn't be to critical of the young lads but I believe ye'll have a very good team in a year or two time when cunningham will probably be gone

He'll be gone at the end of this season, no question.

If we had a few of the exiled players to help the younger lads along I'd be far more confident about our future. Add Sutcliffe and Kelly to the Cuala lads with some of the excellent youngsters coming through and we could be challenging for a leinster title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

He'll be gone at the end of this season, no question.

If we had a few of the exiled players to help the younger lads along I'd be far more confident about our future. Add Sutcliffe and Kelly to the Cuala lads with some of the excellent youngsters coming through and we could be challenging for a leinster title.
    Anyone care to shed some light on the falling out between Cunningham and the two lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

It doesn't be long coming around again - draw for 1st round of SFC

It can be hard to find a competitive game of any significance at this early stage, but Boden/OPER, Raheny/Cuala and Skerries/Fins look the pick to me

Parnells v Fingal Ravens
    St Sylvesters v St Annes
    Skerries Harps v Fingallians
    Na Fianna v Naomh Olaf
    Clontarf v Thomas Davis
    Whitehall Colmcille v St Marys
    Castleknock v Templeogue Synge Str.
    Lucan Sarsfields v UCD
    Kilmacud Crokes v Erins Isle
    Ballyboden St Endas v St Oliver Plunketts
    St Vincents v Round Towers (Clondalkin)
    Ballinteer St Johns v St Maurs
    Raheny v Cuala
    St Brigids v St Peregrines
    St Judes v Naomh Mearnóg
    Ballymun Kickhams v St Patricks (Palmerstown)

Joekers wrote: »
    Anyone care to shed some light on the falling out between Cunningham and the two lads?

More than just the two of them unfortunately. Seems largely personal.

Fact that Rushie is hurling out of his skin while Sutchcliffe has basically slagged them off on telly persuades me which side has the best interests of Dublin hurling at heart.

Not saying GC is perfect. He is apparently not great dealing with individuals, but he is making best of a difficult situation. And more importantly making decisions that will benefit Dublin after he has departed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Gael85

Fact that Rushie is hurling out of his skin while Sutchcliffe has basically slagged them off on telly persuades me which side has the best interests of Dublin hurling at heart.

Not saying GC is perfect. He is apparently not great dealing with individuals, but he is making best of a difficult situation. And more importantly making decisions that will benefit Dublin after he has departed

Would agree with all that. GC man management skills are not great but he has introduced a lot of new bodies. Daly done a great job in his time but definitely stayed too loyal to some players. When he left players were out of their comfort zone and didn't take to GC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DoctaDee wrote:
    It doesn't be long coming around again - draw for 1st round of SFC

You forgot Eoghan Ruadh again Doc.

I demand that you edit your post!!! Or we are heading to the DR again !

Not saying GC is perfect. He is apparently not great dealing with individuals, but he is making best of a difficult situation. And more importantly making decisions that will benefit Dublin after he has departed.

Hadn't heard Sutcliffe slagging off the team. I know Keaney was very critical of them and got a bit of criticism himself over it alright.

It think GC made a rod for his own back with a lot of whats happened, not saying it's all his own fault mind. He seemed to fall out with a number of individuals and to me that points to a poor management style above all else.

Hadn't heard Sutcliffe slagging off the team. I know Keaney was very critical of them and got a bit of criticism himself over it alright.

It think GC made a rod for his own back with a lot of whats happened, not saying it's all his own fault mind. He seemed to fall out with a number of individuals and to me that points to a poor management style above all else.

Suthcliffe was on TV3 last year as panellist and seemed to be laughing at them. Unforgiveable really.

Cunningham does appear to be pretty distant from the players compared to the old regime, and I've heard he was same with other teams he was with. There is no doubting however that he is shrewd hurling man - his record proves that - and he has shown ability to change things around with Dublin to suit what he has at his disposal.

I can't see him lasting beyond the Summer but I certainly wouldn't be as critical of him as some are.

There is also the fact that when they go looking for someone new, assuming they do, that the perception of a disgruntled player base will put a lot of people off. I've heard that Daly might be offered it again but can't see that to be honest. Clare job will be up for grabs again this year I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Stoner wrote: »
    You forgot Eoghan Ruadh again Doc.

I demand that you edit your post!!! Or we are heading to the DR again !

:D .. Worse again Stoner .. I pulled the draw from DCB .. it was them that omitted ER .. I on the hand gave them due recognition in "OPER"

I remember the time when Eoghan Ruadh would never have got worked up about the big ball game ;) .. yer gone soft

Suthcliffe was on TV3 last year as panellist and seemed to be laughing at them. Unforgiveable really.

Cunningham does appear to be pretty distant from the players compared to the old regime, and I've heard he was same with other teams he was with. There is no doubting however that he is shrewd hurling man - his record proves that - and he has shown ability to change things around with Dublin to suit what he has at his disposal.

I can't see him lasting beyond the Summer but I certainly wouldn't be as critical of him as some are.

There is also the fact that when they go looking for someone new, assuming they do, that the perception of a disgruntled player base will put a lot of people off. I've heard that Daly might be offered it again but can't see that to be honest. Clare job will be up for grabs again this year I'd imagine.

Fair enough, like I hadn't seen that but sounds like poor form and surprising as well if I'm being honest.

He may be a shrewd hurling man but his tactics have lead to some heavy and inexcusable defeats during his tenure. I've been critical of him, not because I don't like him but because I want to see us be competitive. The short hand passing game was just crazy, especially considering how is just wasn't working. We seem to be more direct this tear but a lot of the ball into the forwards is aimless stuff. Nobody seems to have the composure to lift their heads and pick a pass.

On a more uplifting note Rushie is playing as well as ever, an absolute beast. Seems to be marshalling the younger lads around him really well. Young Eoin has been terrific as well. A lot more positives this year than the previous 2 combined but some basic errors need to worked on. We really need to be quicker at getting ball to hand.

He has more or less abandoned the short puck out and Dooley gets some length out of them. Forwards have been poor enough against the better teams but you have to factor in the lack of experience. Schutte and the Treacys be massive addition when they come back. Not sure what the story is with Dotsie?

was out injured but he has a lot miles on the clock now too