Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Bonniedog wrote: »
    MAM you are obsessed!

As I said above my daughter was called a "knacker" by a woman teacher from Mayo in 2013. I would never dream of claiming that she is representative of even a small % of Mayo people.

You get a small amount of idiots from all counties. Usually half cut like your woman!

No need for anyone to call someone a knacker. Equally not right to call someone a bogger, just as offensive imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

No need for anyone to call someone a knacker. Equally not right to call someone a bogger, just as offensive imo.

Well I've never done either. Nor have vast majority of Dublin or Mayo supporters I am sure,

Personal abuse is unacceptable in any situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Listen, all I have said is that the type of, what can only be described as hate, that was being dished out, is 100% unacceptable. I tried to describe the content and tone of the stuff and to display how it was being hurled, seemingly without any real motivation or cause for anger. How you can deduce that this means I have a chip on my shoulder, I do not know.

It is very easy to deduce this means you have a chip on your shoulder - you only get this worked up about Dublin and spend more time posting in the Dublin thread than the Mayo thread. You have also refused to accept that Mayo fans (and fans from other counties) have been equally bad despite numerous examples given. If you believe that only Dublin fans are guilty of such types of abuse despite the numerous examples given, well then that does clearly imply a chip on your shoulder.

It's not sticking in my craw though.

Oh, but it does. If it isn't the "vile abuse" hurled at you by Dublin fans, it is the unfair advantage given by referees/the GAA/the sponsors/RTE/the media/demographics/money/whatever given to Dublin that is sticking in your craw.

At the end of the day, if Mayo had won the game, we wouldn't be hearing anything from you about the abuse, just about how glorious Keegan/Vaughan/O'Connor/whoever was during the game and how a new era of Mayo domination had begun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

What proof have you of any of this?

Your posts in the Mayo forum, I've read them and concluded that you haven't a clue about Mayo GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

OK let's agree there are so called supporters that are an embarrassment to every county.

There's a particular person who I'm regularly seated in close proximity to at our games and what comes out of said person's mouth is always absolutely disgraceful.I cringe when I see said individual seated in the season ticket area.The rants ruin one's ability to enjoy a game.

There was a so called Mayo supporter who should know better who hurled a dusted tirade of abuse at a group of Monaghan supporters post our league defeat.Same prompted the only response needed.Take your beating.I offered the same person an obvious facial expression of disgust.Who goes around saying you should f*** off back to Monaghan and hopes the protestants/black and tans shoot you?No offence meant to our protestant brethren.

My worst experience ever was yet again at the hands of a supporter of my own county at last year's final.I was asked who I thought was likely to win.I truthfully replied Dublin,said person was from a rival town and told me we were chokers and I should f*** off up to the Hill like my fellow Dubs!Bizarre behaviour,said person ranted later when I thought a free was rightly awarded to Dublin.Midway through the half I'd had enough and turned around and told said person I was no longer going to accept unacceptable behaviour towards a fellow county supporter.

As has been mentioned these idiots are a very small minority of those who attend GAA matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

^ very well said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

seligehgit wrote:
    As has been mentioned these idiots are a very small minority of those who attend GAA matches.

Good man seligehgit , I've been embarrassed by my own County's supporters before, a particular gang in Longford last year were terrible and Yops experience in the 2013 final are up there at the top of my list.

Stoner, decent supporters from any county do not need to be embarrassed by the small number of clowns who support the same team. I don't have anything in common with the minority of idiots who follow Dublin - usually for three months in the Summer.

Likewise when we had a bit of unpleasantness in Omagh - and it was mild enough - it was one of the stewards who told them to fk off and then got one of his mates to drive ahead of us out of Healy Park. They represent Tyrone to me, not some drunken fool/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,031 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

seligehgit wrote: »

http://hoganstand.com/Dublin/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=0&TopicID=99557

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

As the St. Brigid's player contact stated - encourage a player after a mistake and bollock them for lack of effort. EOG against Tyrone definetely was in the former.

I do think that some supporters are prewired to be over critical at games - whatever about the opposition it grinds my gears to hear our own getting a lashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

blanch152 wrote: »
    It is very easy to deduce this means you have a chip on your shoulder - you only get this worked up about Dublin and spend more time posting in the Dublin thread than the Mayo thread. You have also refused to accept that Mayo fans (and fans from other counties) have been equally bad despite numerous examples given. If you believe that only Dublin fans are guilty of such types of abuse despite the numerous examples given, well then that does clearly imply a chip on your shoulder.

I don't refuse to accept others have faced similar abuse, I just haven't seen any examples given that rivalled what I seen on Saturday, and I have explained that. When that is the case, why would I say otherwise? Im just telling the truth man. You seem to want me to pretend otherwise so I can be more agreeable to other people on the board. That isn't what the thing should be about.

Oh, but it does. If it isn't the "vile abuse" hurled at you by Dublin fans, it is the unfair advantage given by referees/the GAA/the sponsors/RTE/the media/demographics/money/whatever given to Dublin that is sticking in your craw.

I never said anything was directed at me personally, and Im not foolish enough to be getting involved in arguing with people like that in the ground. You seem to be re-writing me point pretty much completely.
    Re Dublin's advantages, well they are a talking point in the gaa today, probably one of the biggest issues facing inter county football going forward, so of course being a gaa fan Im going to debate them. But that isn't anything to do with what goes on in the ground. It is disappointing that when someone tries to have a conversation about this stuff, they are basically blamed for it.

At the end of the day, if Mayo had won the game, we wouldn't be hearing anything from you about the abuse, just about how glorious Keegan/Vaughan/O'Connor/whoever was during the game and how a new era of Mayo domination had begun.

Actually no, Id have mentioned this regardless of the result if it happened because it has no place in sport. You see this is the real issue, you aren't actually reading what Im saying, you are assuming your own take on things, almost exclusively.

Stoner wrote: »
    Your posts in the Mayo forum, I've read them and concluded that you haven't a clue about Mayo GAA.

But what would you know about Mayo gaa to be deciding that? That is a bit like me saying you haven't a clue about Dublin gaa, i.e. completely hollow.

Also, in fairness, aren't you supposed to play the post and not the poster around here? And aren't you supposed to be the guy ensuring that happens?

It is a shame people cant take what I have stated at face value and just debate it openly and honestly instead of just trying over and over to shoot the messenger. One guy was checking the times of the scores to validate my story -ffs like. It is my belief that there is a nasty edge developing between Mayo and Dublin that is going beyond what it should be. I was trying to address that is all and thought I might find some reasoned Dublin fans on this thread who might be able to shed some light on it. But all people seem to want to do is row the wagons, which there is no need for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

But what would you know about Mayo gaa to be deciding that? That is a bit like me saying you haven't a clue about Dublin gaa, i.e. completely hollow.

Also, in fairness, aren't you supposed to play the post and not the poster around here? And aren't you supposed to be the guy ensuring that happens?

It is a shame people cant take what I have stated at face value and just debate it openly and honestly instead of just trying over and over to shoot the messenger. One guy was checking the times of the scores to validate my story -ffs like. It is my belief that there is a nasty edge developing between Mayo and Dublin that is going beyond what it should be. I was trying to address that is all and thought I might find some reasoned Dublin fans on this thread who might be able to shed some light on it. But all people seem to want to do is row the wagons, which there is no need for.

You're the Duracell bunny of goading.....you've been at it a full 24 hours now, or more.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    You're the Duracell bunny of goading.....you've been at it a full 24 hours now, or more.....
    It's been going on since before the league.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Kavrocks wrote: »
    It's been going on since before the league.

Not sure why anyone is responding to him really, he's got a terrible habit of confusing his opinion with incontrovertible fact, and then when he's called on his BS, he complains about only wanting an "honest debate".

Been at it long enough now that everyone here should know better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I don't refuse to accept others have faced similar abuse, I just haven't seen any examples given that rivalled what I seen on Saturday, and I have explained that. When that is the case, why would I say otherwise? Im just telling the truth man. You seem to want me to pretend otherwise so I can be more agreeable to other people on the board. That isn't what the thing should be about.

I never said anything was directed at me personally, and Im not foolish enough to be getting involved in arguing with people like that in the ground. You seem to be re-writing me point pretty much completely.
    Re Dublin's advantages, well they are a talking point in the gaa today, probably one of the biggest issues facing inter county football going forward, so of course being a gaa fan Im going to debate them. But that isn't anything to do with what goes on in the ground. It is disappointing that when someone tries to have a conversation about this stuff, they are basically blamed for it.

Actually no, Id have mentioned this regardless of the result if it happened because it has no place in sport. You see this is the real issue, you aren't actually reading what Im saying, you are assuming your own take on things, almost exclusively.

You are funny at times. You state that you don't have a chip on your shoulder about Dublin, and then you post this.

I don't think you understand what is meant by the term...

There are issues with Dublin in the gaa, just like there are issues with Leitrim or football in Kilkenny. Recognising these issues and discussing them doesn't mean you have a chip on your shoulder about anything, it means you are discussing issues in the gaa. This 'chip on the shoulder' bit seems no more than a handy way to dismiss something people are more comfortable not discussing. In fact, it is these people who seem to have a chip on their shoulder about discussing these issues. They get defensive, attack the poster or the poster's county team etc etc. You would think that if I was just talking bs, guys wouldn't need to resort to that, as they could just disprove my point. If someone does that Im happy to acknowledge it.

CatInABox wrote: »
    Not sure why anyone is responding to him really, he's got a terrible habit of confusing his opinion with incontrovertible fact, and then when he's called on his BS, he complains about only wanting an "honest debate".

I don't see how you can come to that conclusion. It is a fact that I witnessed what I described. What else have I claimed as fact? Can you give examples?

I do want an honest discussion. You can start by giving some examples of what you are claiming above. Not too much to ask surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Gael85

CatInABox wrote: »

Exactly the kid is prob on mid term and entertaining himself. At the same time has a serious horn for Dublin GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

MOD

Ok enough is enough - this is the 2nd time in recent weeks a poster has brought a contentious issue with regard to Dublin GAA into the county thread for "debate". The fact that both issues and their arguments were constructed to portray the negativity of certain aspects of Dublin GAA and then present them in the county thread forum for discussion is misguided at the very least.

It is generally accepted that Dublin GAA receive large funding and also there is an element of the supporter base that doesn't reflect well on the rest of us, but both of these facts remain outside the control of the vast majority that post here, that some would make us accountable for both is absurd.

There is a difference between looking for a debate and looking for a reaction - it stops here.

If anyone has an issue with this feel free to PM me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Tickets for the game in Tralee went back on sale again earlier and I missed out again if anyone has two going spare they would be greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Joekers wrote: »
    Tickets for the game in Tralee went back on sale again earlier and I missed out again if anyone has two going spare they would be greatly appreciated

It might be like Cavan where you can pay at the gate!!!

We don't like Mayo. Neither do the players. I know some of them.

I doubt they are tossing and turning in their beds at night or posting on Mayo forums ...

DoctaDee wrote: »
    MOD

Ok enough is enough - this is the 2nd time in recent weeks a poster has brought a contentious issue with regard to Dublin GAA into the county thread for "debate". The fact that both issues and their arguments were constructed to portray the negativity of certain aspects of Dublin GAA and then present them in the county thread forum for discussion is misguided at the very least.

It is generally accepted that Dublin GAA receive large funding and also there is an element of the supporter base that doesn't reflect well on the rest of us, but both of these facts remain outside the control of the vast majority that post here, that some would make us accountable for both is absurd.

There is a difference between looking for a debate and looking for a reaction - it stops here.

If anyone has an issue with this feel free to PM me

Only read this after my last post!

Yeah, its a bit stupid. Your man is total obsessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,152 ✭✭✭✭JRant

That result is a tough one to take in all honesty. Thought we were the better team for large portions of the game. If we could link up with the forwards we would be a far better team. Far too many aimless balls in to forward line that gave them no chance to win ball.

Rushe was outstanding today. Thought Both Dillions played well off scraps. I have a lot of respect for O'Dwyer and he gives his all but he is extremely limited these days.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Another good performance but no points. Will all come down to last game with the Cats. Whoever loses goes down. Thankfully it is in Parnell so we have a fighting chance.

Have to say, this team has exceeded expectations and are doing us proud. Will stand to us in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Tbh I don't think we are in such dire straits as people make out, be very interesting to see how we line up when the cuala lads are back.

As for today very frustrating to watch so much wasted ball into the full forward line and we won none of it. A bit more cohesion in our play and looking up and picking better passes out will help us create so much more scoring chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Another good performance but no points. Will all come down to last game with the Cats. Whoever loses goes down. Thankfully it is in Parnell so we have a fighting chance.

Good performance from the back line, everything else was cat. Back to the old Dublin of not having the confidence or skill to win this kind of game

Kilkenny will ate us. At least they can score from free's, can't believe there's no better free taker in dublin than a 19 year old kid who's playing his first year at senior :mad:

Free taking is pretty abysmal granted.

Think you are being slightly harsh otherwise. Baptism of fire for most of these fellas and they are doing themselves justice.

Interesting to see if Cunningham brings Cuala lads back for the Cats game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Have to say, this team has exceeded expectations and are doing us proud. Will stand to us in the future.

There is a relegation playoff again this year, Dublin could still be in it if you win, Kilkenny will definitely be safe if we win, its possible that we may end up playing each other twice.