Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭squrm

You aren't listening to what I am saying. Any foul were awarded - 'you pack of dirty fn inbred cs'. Any foul that went against mayo - good man deano/mick/etc etc, show them useless fn scumbag kn***ers'. Any mayo wide, big cheer followed by similar tirade, etc etc. From start to finish, game long since decided. Not just one or two, maybe 20 different sources.

Mothers and kids sitting there listening to it. There was an old lad over from me who was visibly insulted and afraid. That isn't a bit of craic, it is disgusting and makes me feel ashamed.

Im not trying to start a big long argument here. Im just calling it how it was. How anyone could be trying to class that stuff as a bit of craic I will never know.

Works both ways, in section 314 I had a Mayo 'supporter' behind me who I had to tell to calm it down after 3 foul mouthed rants. That section was full of kids, not just my own.

In contrast I had a great conversation throughout the game with another Mayo lad beside me. He could see his team were well beaten but kept up supporting them without finding a reason to blame the ref/dirty dubs/weather/Subaru etc

You also mentioned some of the rubbish thats posted on the Hill16 Army facebook - have you read any of the comments on Willie Joes Mayo GAA blog?! Keyboard warriors are everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

A few better stories - at the AI final, the replay, my son was taking a selfie and we only realized when we got home that he'd been photobombed by the Mayo lads behind us. We had some laugh at it when we found out. Same lads tapped him on his shoulder to shake his hand when the game was over. He learnt as much from that as he did from Dublin winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

This would be my experience too. I have seen people trade words alright but nothing like what has been mentioned in previous few posts.

The worst incident I saw was on the hill at Tipp - Galway hurling semi final a couple of years ago where Tipp fans threw bottles at Galway fans at final whistle. The guards intervened. That is certainly an exceptional instance from the games I have attended. And I defitinely wouldnt say Galway and Tipp fans dont get along because of that one experience.

Was at that myself. Didn't see the bottle throwing but it was unpleasant atmosphere. Tipp and Cats and Galway hurling have similar problem as Dubs had years ago. Big bunches of drunken teenagers all together. Mostly harmless but 20 teenagers drinking since early hours of morning is not a recipe for social order!

Seen a few dodgy incidents in Thurles over same crack but not to extent where there was serious trouble. Would put you off the terraces all the same, even as a neutral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

corny wrote: »
    I'll add my tale of woe. Had a Waterford chap to one side of me denouncing the Dubs every chance he got. In fairness to him he thought he was being playful but could easily have started a row if someone felt inclined.

The other side of me i had a Dublin girl who was the lowest of the low. ****ing pits of society stuff. Wouldn't shut up about O'Gara. 'Poison, ****ing scumbag, wanker, etc'.....this was when he wasn't in possession now. Imagine her reaction when he kicked into touch when clean through on goal. She kept coughing on me too. ****ing tramp. Been waiting to get that rant out of my system.:pac:

I think O'Gara gets very unfair criticism even from Dublin supporters.

Playing O'Gara almost seems like a deliberate Gavin tactic. When he is on the pitch, he is clearly under instruction to stay at the edge of the small square. When marked one-on-one, he is capable of winning more than his fair share of ball and distributes well, even under pressure.

As a result, a second defender or sweeper often drops deeper to ensure that a full-back isn't isolated one-on-one with him. This means that there is more space for the other forwards and for midfield and half-back pouring through.

O'Gara's is less directly effective when there is a second defender dropping deeper to deal with him, but indirectly it can be more effective for Dublin's attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    If we could move on slightly from yer wan; and talk about O'Gara.

Now O'Gara did fire way wide (ok over the sideline) from 6 yards out.

Against that - Dublin had 4 goal chances when he was playing, and he was involved in all of those. Yes two he hit wide himself but he was in the right place and in a position to take the chances. They had no goal chances when he went off, apart from the penalty, and despite Dublin being out of sight on the scoreboard. Dublin haven't been prolific goal scorers.

Felt sorry for him when he hit the ball out over the sideline, his head went down a bit after that and he started playing deeper; crowd reaction didn't help. But he definitely brings an option that I don't see anyone else on the team bringing, unless you move Fenton to full forward, which wont happen.

Agree 100% with what you say. He won everything that went in and yet got nothing from it. However I feel that if he could have converted that first goal chance he possibly could have got a hat trick.
    I hope his confidence doesn't drop and that he can pick himself up for the next one.

On another note, why did Paddy take the penalty, when he only walked onto the pitch previously. I know Connolly normally takes them but surely Rock or someone elae could have stepped up on the night.

Donal55 wrote: »
    Agree 100% with what you say. He won everything that went in and yet got nothing from it. However I feel that if he could have converted that first goal chance he possibly could have got a hat trick.
    I hope his confidence doesn't drop and that he can pick himself up for the next one.

On another note, why did Paddy take the penalty, when he only walked onto the pitch previously. I know Connolly normally takes them but surely Rock or someone elae could have stepped up on the night.

You have obviously forgotten Rock's last penalty!

As those of us who survived the nineties know, missing penalties is potentially a disaster. Not only in terms of the points but in providing a boost to the opposition. In fairness Connolly is good at them. Although did he miss one for Vinnies last year against Corofin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Rock is 0/2 on penalties, and I think he was shaken up a bit from the challenge .. well he did score a point from the 1st one .. we lack the soccer like subtlety of a good peno taker - O'Donoghue would be a good exqample .. Paddys penalty was well taken but he put a postage stamp on it added to the fact that Clarke is a fantastic shot stopper. I'd have Connolly or Mannion taking them - but I've a feeling Mannion will be wearing a number higher than 17 this season

Bonniedog wrote: »
    You have obviously forgotten Rock's last penalty!

As those of us who survived the nineties know, missing penalties is potentially a disaster. Not only in terms of the points but in providing a boost to the opposition. In fairness Connolly is good at them. Although did he miss one for Vinnies last year against Corofin?

I remember Rock's alright, however I think he's probably better than Paddy & deserved a second go. As you say, the impetus swung to Mayo when the peno and rebounds were missed. In a tight game its possibly the edge that can turn it.
    Its just an aspect of the game that I'm sure Gavin will put on his 'to do' list.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Yeah, O'Gara just needs to get going with a bit of momentum, and he'll be back to a higher level in no time. The last time he was out for a period, he took ages coming back as well, that's most likely why he's getting so much game time with out hitting the heights.

Any trouble that I've ever seen at matches has more to do with alcohol than supporters from any particular county. A few too many pints and a large crowd just really don't suit some people.

On a brighter note, I remember Mayo Dublin in 2013. It was infuriating going into the grounds, because every Mayo person we met (was with my Dad, who's from Sligo) on the way in was 100% convinced that this was their year, it seemed like all they had to do was show up. I was in a foul humour by the time we took our seats, and I ended up sitting next to this Mayo supporter in his fifties. The guy was a gent, a great supporter of Mayo, and an absolute pleasure to sit beside. Had a great chat and banter with him all throughout the game, but when the final whistle blew, all the life went out of him. It took us ages to walk up the steps on the way out, and he was just sitting there all that time. I would have loved to buy him a pint and chat about the match afterwards, but I just couldn't disturb him right then and there.

It was a day where I really realised how special our sport is, and how totally different our country would be if we had to segregate supporters.

I remember Rock's alright, however I think he's probably better than Paddy & deserved a second go. As you say, the impetus swung to Mayo when the peno and rebounds were missed. In a tight game its possibly the edge that can turn it.
    Its just an aspect of the game that I'm sure Gavin will put on his 'to do' list.

While mentally they may have got a boost, they weren't able to deliver on it - they didn't score after the penalty. Dublin got the last four points unanswered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

It would be unacceptable if it happened - I was at the match, and it certainly didn't happen anywhere near me.

You were at the match - why didn't you inform the stewards about it and make a proper complaint. I really don't see what your point is in coming on to Dublin Gaa forum an boards to raise it as an issue. What do you hope to achieve - raise awareness amongst the 10-12 people who will read your post?

The stewards could hear it the same as everyone else. The reality is Im not asking why these people were not reprimanded, Im more trying to work out why this attitude is prevalent in the first place. This is a medium to discuss it with people of both sides, therefore it is a good a place as any.

As for mayo people sending tirades at O'Gara or Rock or whoever, that isn't acceptable, but look a fair few dubs were giving out about C O'C's elbow too, I understand that kind of thing to a degree. That is more people getting worked up over the game. Are people suggesting that that is the same as mayo kicking a run of the mill point when the game was over and the inhabitants of the county being labelled inbred, stupid and those are the ones I can print. That simply isn't the same thing. Im no shrinking violet, but this stuff was simply disgraceful and is far beyond any friendly rivalry.

I suppose it is in line with this 'thick ignorant culchie' idea that many dubs seem to give weight to. Have you ever stopped to consider how insulting that sort of attitude is to those people? Why do you think less of people simply because they are from outside Dublin?

As for the person who stated I must be attracting this stuff, I never interacted in any way and personally I find it depressing that people automatically try to blame everyone and anyone else to justify something like that.

squrm wrote: »
    You also mentioned some of the rubbish thats posted on the Hill16 Army facebook - have you read any of the comments on Willie Joes Mayo GAA blog?! Keyboard warriors are everywhere

Yes I have, and to be frank about it, it is nowhere near the level or type of abuse that would be on the hill16 page. The two are not the same at all. In fact the gaa blog is moderated and guys don't get away with abuse for abuse' sake. To compare the two is completely disingenuous.

The stewards could hear it the same as everyone else. The reality is Im not asking why these people were not reprimanded, Im more trying to work out why this attitude is prevalent in the first place. This is a medium to discuss it with people of both sides, therefore it is a good a place as any.

As for mayo people sending tirades at O'Gara or Rock or whoever, that isn't acceptable, but look a fair few dubs were giving out about C O'C's elbow too, I understand that kind of thing to a degree. That is more people getting worked up over the game. Are people suggesting that that is the same as mayo kicking a run of the mill point when the game was over and the inhabitants of the county being labelled inbred, stupid and those are the ones I can print. That simply isn't the same thing. Im no shrinking violet, but this stuff was simply disgraceful and is far beyond any friendly rivalry.

As for the person who stated I must be attracting this stuff, I never interacted in any way and personally I find it depressing that people automatically try to blame everyone and anyone else to justify something like that.

I think you're probably reading a bit too much into it. It's not a prevalent problem and anytime I've witnessed this its normally carried out by people with drink on them or else young lads showing off in front of their pals.

It can also be rectified by shouting at the little fcukers to sit down and watch the game.

I suppose it is in line with this 'thick ignorant culchie' idea that many dubs seem to give weight to. Have you ever stopped to consider how insulting that sort of attitude is to those people? Why do you think less of people simply because they are from outside Dublin?

You are just making stuff up now.......half the population of Dublin grew up outside of Dublin.

There is not 1 GAA club in the entire city, where you wont find a heap of country people playing, mentoring, coaching.

This is just nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Tombo2001 wrote:
    You are just making stuff up now.......

It's just a troll, hasn't a barney about Mayo football, just driven to post negativity on the forum in a way that makes it difficult to mod.

But make no mistake, said poster doesn't actually go to the games. He's just been on the wrong end of a few hidings in the past and is driven by bitterness.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Couldn't give a fiddlers about it, to be honest. I don't want the streak to end to Kerry, for obvious reasons. But if our position in the top 2 is secure, I wouldn't lose any sleep at all, if Jim Gavin sends out experimental teams to take on Monaghan or the Rossies and, we get bate by either one. The unbeaten streak is taking on a life of its own now, especially in the media. I could do without the pressure of it hanging around our necks over the summer.

I think Monaghan away could be a good game, and would love to see Monaghan win to be honest - due to family connections. They were unlucky last year in Croker.

I have an idea in my head that Monaghan is the one team that puts a bigger emphasis on the league than on the championship; and that may be the way to go for some others - the likes of Roscommon, Derry, Kildare.... much better to have 7 top class games with big crowds in the league than get knocked out of leinster championship in the semi final.

My overall impression coming out of Croker is that i'd much rather be watching Dublin - KK in Parnell in two weeks, than watching Dublin Roscommon in Croker.

Monaghan are an odd bird. I reckon they thought they put too much into league two years ago and that it cost them in Ulster. Last year they just did enough to stay up but didn't improve them any in championship. This year they seem to be taking league seriously again and are hard beat on their day. Their main problem is major lack of depth I reckon, alongside dependence on McManus.

They won Ulster two years ago.

I think they've bee the major beneficiary of the league in recent years. No doubt, there is a been a step up in coaching and facilities etc since 2010. They have a good set up, good facilities, good systems.

Strong league campaign means they are always in good shape coming in to Ulster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

It looks like Jack McCarron may shoulder some of the scoring burden with McManus - I'm guessing he's related to Ray McCarron in which case he's decent pedigree in the scoring stakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Gael85

DoctaDee wrote: »
    It looks like Jack McCarron may shoulder some of the scoring burden with McManus - I'm guessing he's related to Ray McCarron in which case he's decent pedigree in the scoring stakes

Was thinking they're related too. I think he played soccer with St Pats for a couple years too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Stoner wrote: »
    It's just a troll, hasn't a barney about Mayo football, just driven to post negativity on the forum in a way that makes it difficult to mod.

But make no mistake, said poster doesn't actually go to the games. He's just been on the wrong end of a few hidings in the past and is driven by bitterness.

Good man Stoner...call a spade a spade.;)

You are just making stuff up now.......half the population of Dublin grew up outside of Dublin.

There is not 1 GAA club in the entire city, where you wont find a heap of country people playing, mentoring, coaching.

This is just nonsense.

Im not making anything up and it is telling that you chose to dismiss what I am saying - which is 100% fact, in such a way. The term culchie gets used in a very derogatory tone by many dubs when describing people who are not from Dublin. As if people from the country are idiots, or stupid, or less honest etc. Has anyone ever heard a Dublin person using it in a positive tone? I haven't.

As for the above, what do you think this proves exactly? That they allow them to play gaa. Is that something that they deserve credit for? Id have thought it was a given.
    As for the population of Dublin who aren't from there - Im pretty sure they aren't supporting the Dublin football team either man, therefore are irrelevant to the topic.

Im not making anything up and it is telling that you chose to dismiss what I am saying - which is 100% fact, in such a way. The term culchie gets used in a very derogatory tone by many dubs when describing people who are not from Dublin. As if people from the country are idiots, or stupid, or less honest etc. Has anyone ever heard a Dublin person using it in a positive tone? I haven't.

As for the above, what do you think this proves exactly? That they allow them to play gaa. Is that something that they deserve credit for? Id have thought it was a given.
    As for the population of Dublin who aren't from there - Im pretty sure they aren't supporting the Dublin football team either man, therefore are irrelevant to the topic.

Sure, goodbye and good luck.

Stoner wrote: »

What proof have you of any of this? As for hidings, for a start, what hidings? Secondly, I have no issue with Dublin beating mayo at the weekend, they were by a distance the deserving winners in the game and should have won by more - no problem. In contrast my own side were rubbish and deserved the beating they got. So where is this stuff about bitterness from losses coming from exactly?

Re posting 'in a way that makes it difficult to mod', it appears that is posting within the rules and giving an honest opinion backed up with genuine observations. There is nothing difficult to mod about that. You might not agree with my view personally, but as regards modding, it would make no difference in the world for someone who is trying to moderate objectively.

Now if I was saying people hadn't a clue about football, and insisting they were at no games when really and truly, I could have no idea of either things, then it might be in a moderators place to step in, as that is just trolling...

Now you are really making things up. Mayo didn't score after the 47th minute and only scored 2 points in the last half-hour of the game. Are you really suggesting that the towel had been thrown in more or less by half-time by the Mayo footballers? Otherwise your post doesn't make sense as there were no "run of the mill points when the game was over".

blanch152 wrote: »
    Now you are really making things up. Mayo didn't score after the 47th minute and only scored 2 points in the last half-hour of the game. Are you really suggesting that the towel had been thrown in more or less by half-time by the Mayo footballers? Otherwise your post doesn't make sense as there were no "run of the mill points when the game was over".

The game was over at half time as far as Im concerned. All mayo's second half scores were pretty facile. Why it couldn't possibly be happening on or before the 47th minute for some reason, I will leave to you to explain.

Listen, this happened man. You can spend your day trying to nit-pick with passive aggressive bs about the mayo footballers throwing in the towel, but the reality is this isn't about the mayo footballers, or the Dublin footballers.

People don't really want to address this stuff so Im probably wasting my time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

MaM

As a neutral here I think you have a big chip on yer shoulder about the dubs, Dublin even when there not winning all Ireland's are the team to beat, that's the way it is & goes.

You should drop up to an Ulster match to see the abuse & blacarding that goes on, all in the name of craic ? sometimes I wonder. Or does anyone remember the Kerry & Tyrone teams & supporters having no respect for each other.

Mayo have lost all there important games to Dublin recently & it probably can stick in your craw, but MaM its only a game so lets keep it that way, alls fair in love n war.

over n out.

As a neutral here I think you have a big chip on yer shoulder about the dubs, Dublin even when there not winning all Ireland's are the team to beat, that's the way it & goes.

Listen, all I have said is that the type of, what can only be described as hate, that was being dished out, is 100% unacceptable. I tried to describe the content and tone of the stuff and to display how it was being hurled, seemingly without any real motivation or cause for anger. How you can deduce that this means I have a chip on my shoulder, I do not know.

You should drop up to an Ulster match to see the abuse & blacarding that goes on, all in the name of craic ? sometimes I wonder. Or does anyone remember the Kerry & Tyrone teams & supporters having no respect for each other.

I have shared croke park with tyrone fans numerous times, and in far tighter games. Indeed, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh too of late. Ive never seen this before.

Mayo have lost all there important games to Dublin recently & it probably can stick in your craw, but MaM its only a game so lets keep it that way, alls fair in love n war.

over n out.

It's not sticking in my craw though. Dublin won and deserved to win. Mayo were terrible and deserved a hiding. It isn't about the match going on, I don't get how you cant see that. At this point Im not really bothered about debating the thing, because I know it isn't going to happen, but let people understand the point being made at least.

MAM you are obsessed!

As I said above my daughter was called a "knacker" by a woman teacher from Mayo in 2013. I would never dream of claiming that she is representative of even a small % of Mayo people.

You get a small amount of idiots from all counties. Usually half cut like your woman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Its truly frightening the strength in depth Dublin have now. I don't think there is any doubt they are set to dominate Gaelic Football for the next 5 years at least.

At this stage, all that Mayo, Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone can hope to achieve is second best and AI runner up.