"Significant" numbers of babies remains actually found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

RobertKK wrote: »
    I think a lot of them will have died from disease.

Look at the children in recent times in the care of the HSE...

http://www.thejournal.ie/deaths-children-state-care-preventable-hse-official-report-494026-Jun2012/

84 natural deaths of children in state care from 2000 to 2010 out of a total of 196 children. This in a time when the country was booming, diseases control, prevention and cure rates much higher than the time of the Tuam's Mother and baby home.

I think people like to think we live in enlightened times, but one can be sure that many scandals are happening now, that will be revealed in decades ahead.
    History repeats itself.

The biggest scandal involving Tuam in 2017 is how the dead were treated and basically dumped. The biggest scandal of that era is how the women and dead were treated.

Malnutrition? No way Robert. And the fact that the death rate was far far higher than n the general population where rhe same conditions of poverty and disease occurred?

The babies were SUPPOSED to be being cared for in love and .. mercy! By experts in caring...

pilly wrote: »
    I'm not one for sticking up for the nuns but that's not a fair comparison. Children's allowance isn't the only income parents have now.

The point is that they got well paid for neglecting and starving babies.

Laois_Man wrote: »
    According to the report of the Inter-Departmental Group on Mother and Baby Homes via Department of Children and Youth Affairs, this is what the 796 babies died from. I didnt think it was unknown. Its recorded. The only thing that is not recorded is their burials

?width=630&version=3269000

What I want to know is.....

How were these homes funded through the time-period that the Tuam home was in operation?

In order for these prognoses to be arrived at. there must have been some outside medical personnel involved in treating them. Who were they? What did they know of the situation and who funded that?

What was the cost of a proper burial at these times and where would that money have come from?

From where did the order source food and medicine and who funded that?

Were they swamped with too many to cater for without adequate financial assistance or expertise and without the power to turn people away?

There's a ton of questions to be answered and can't be and shouldn't be all dismissed by statement to the effect that they were all evil bitches. There's more to it

easy to answer. Local drs, local suppliers.

With government money and of course 'contributions" from the public,

And the acid test of course is how they cared for the Sisters. Who did not starve or die from deficiency diseases and were buried in proper graves then exhumed and reburied with a costly monument.

To see truth you need to compare how the Sisters lived and how they treated the babies in their care.

There is no excuse. None

Grayson wrote: »
    Just on the comment that what they did was unchristian. It wasn't. Each of those nuns thought they were doing the right thing. None of them thought they were behaving unchristian. They had the support of the church and there's more than enough vile material in the bible that could justify their stance.

Being "christian" is very subjective. It's why there are groups like the KKK who are christian and groups like the salvation army. They couldn't be more different from each other but they're both christian groups.

I once heard someone say that to follow the bible to the word you'd have to be psychotic because there's so much nastiness and so much good in there. I believe people find what they want. If they're assholes they'll find justification/guidance for being an asshole, if they're good people they'll find justification/guidance for being a good person.
    And they'll spread their beliefs too. So in Ireland at that time, locking up unmarried mothers was considered being a good catholic. The women were fallen and needed to be redeemed. The women could not be trusted to raise their own children. Society also needed to be protected from them. The church believed this as did most of their flock.
    The nuns were actually being good Christians/Catholics.

What tortuous and illogical thinking! Laughable...and totally false. The Catholic Church is not Christian.

kbannon wrote: »
    I'm not listening to the radio so don't know who Fr. Paul is but how do you know he wasn't told all was ok in Tuam?

Many of the children and mothers apparently arrived in a disheveled state, undernourished, etc.
    I'm not trying to excuse the place or the fact that there were so many, frequent deaths, but at the moment, we don't have any evidence that they weren't beyond hope before the nuns got their hands on them.

The scientists can presumably detect certain deficiencies in the remains. When these deficiencies occurred is not as simple to deduce.

I understand your point. BUT my family and their colleagues work in India and Nepal with abandoned and starving babies. In appalling conditions. A baby can be rescued and turned back to basic good health swiftly and with basic sound nourishment. No dramatic medical input needed . Just to be fed and held. That too much to ask?

Same goes here. No excuse. They had far more money than any of the homes they came from did

They will have been fed watered down gruel; same as Mother Teresa did and her srs still do.

nhunter100 wrote: »
    The cause of death for some children was malnutrition.

and deficiency diseases that were based on malnutirition,

And the figures from Bessborogh and Roscrea are even more shameful Extreme malnutirion is listed there.

Graces7 wrote: »
    They have shown love and caring all these years. And have made some peace

But for them, who knpws but that houses would have been built over the graves

Sorry but you're totally contradicting yourself all over the place here Grace.

1. They have shown love and caring all these years but at the same time everybody knew??

2. They stopped houses and a playground being built and yet there are concerns about more bodies being buried underneath both?

3. If there are 800 death certs there are certainly 800 bodies. They haven't been found yet but they are somewhere, hopefully.

And finally, close the curtains and stay in is exactly the attitude that was around back then.

No I am not! You are simply not reading what I have written.. And you are not understanding the power of the church then.r

I am speaking of NOW, ; of the influx of sensation seeking reporters grabbing at people for more gore.Invading privacy etc for yet more sensational stuff when they have all they need already

THAT is what I would close my curtains on

In the day ? I would have been out there helping and supporting. Sticking my neck out and getting lambasted by the authorities as I have done all my long life and still am doing.

No idea what your point 2 is about? :confused:

neonsofa wrote: »
    Exactly. It's very clear to see in my own mother. She resents the immense backlash and sees it as a personal attack so remains loyal and tries to downplay scandals or say "it should be left in the past" etc and it's not malice I don't think, it's blind loyalty and almost a fear that if they admit to it then it was all for nothing. Like they don't want to even show a glimmer of betrayal to the church so they strongly deny. I don't think they believe entirely what they are saying but they would rather absolute denial than risk admitting/partial blame and that being seen as a weakness or a proof that the church is corrupt in its entirety. It's a want to protect their church I think and it's out of fear rather than malice. Not that it makes it ok at all, but I think that's the reason.

whooaahh. Faith in the Church and faith in God are 2 totally different things. Period. Many find expression of one n the other and they will be saddened but not stop mass etc and not stop praying and not stop knowing Jesus

Denial here is normal and a phase which I went through decades ago through being massively abused myself.

And it is OK. Very much so.

My mother is pretty much devout and I really feel for her when this **** happens.
    How can she reconcile her faith with this.

I did years ago as my faith is in God not the church. Faith not "religion"

blinding wrote: »
    Malnutrition could be given as a cause of death but there are conditions that even though the person/baby is getting enough food the body is not capable of absorbing that nutrition .

There is far too much jumping to conclusions . We need if its possible to be told what actually happened .

And I repeat that we should not absolve the politicians and the State of that time for their responsibilities .

How are they getting away with it and the Church taking all the blame . Our politicians are remarkable in the way they escape blame for anything.......

starvation over even a short period can indeed kill a baby and render it incapable of not coping with eg an ear infection.

These babies were often born there and thus if they died within a year?

Again, read the Ryan and Murphy reports.

The nuns were women and they were in charge.

I agree.

re the state pension; the nuns all got it and get it too... Paid into a central fund and they get an "allowance.."

beauf wrote: »
    How do we know the death certs are accurate.

Catherine Corless mentioned in the full video interview from a few years back, she had found official report from an inspector that described numerous children with malnutrition, and must have been concerned about it, to document it. But these reports did not seem to have been acted on.

The ryan and murphy reports are full of this and they too were never acted on.There were frequent PLANNED inspections where they put good food out which vanished the n when the visitors had left. One wee lad then was so looking forward to a rare apple but htey took it off him..

why they were never acted on is a very good question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Tramore Tilly

infogiver wrote: »
    Why don't you answer my questions? Do you hate the ordinary people who stood around and allowed the concentration camps? Who voted for the Nazi party?the people who lived alongside the KKK? Worked for them? Played golf with them ? Did business with them?
    Your concentrating all your bile on one small cog in a very big wheel because you lack the capacity to process the whole big picture.
    Pour as much hyperbole on it as you like.
    Your only going to get more frustrated as the whole story comes out.

Because your questions are deflections and trying to steer away from the fact that within the walls of those homes atrocities went on. Yes everyone who went along with it had a helping hand in the fate of those women and children. But only the women who physically assaulted other women are directly responsible for their actions. No one sanctioned that behaviour. They were in no position to judge the actions or behaviour of anyone else when they were physically assaulting people and dumping bodies in sewers. You may have issue with my judgement but I care little for that. No matter what era you live in, if you can justify abuse youre opinion is really not of any significance to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Well where is the thread full of outrage for Grace? A living breathing person who was dumped by the state in a hell hole for 20 years where she was sexually and physically abused with the full knowledge of the HSE? The HSE and TUSLA actually lied to her mother any time she enquired about her and 11 paid employees of the state who knew of her plight CONTINUE to be paid by the state to this very day and the "foster" parents continue to enjoy complete anonymity, but hey, I suppose it's a bit too close to home, a bit too near the bone for some people.

Only one of the foster parents are still alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Pilly, do not post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Excellent post and I agree entirely.
    Unfortunately as you can see from this thread, and if Boards is even remotely representative of Irish public opinion, people don't really want an expansive investigation into what role all the organs of the State played in this grotesque horror.
    That might reveal that Irish people on the whole were a harsh judgmental cold hearted race, and we wouldn't really like that.
    No, please just jump to the bit where the evil RCC monsters are to blame and no one else thank you very much.

You and I must be reading different threads. You're spreading your bias and righteous judgement very liberally.. why do you think the many calls for a criminal investigation will not come about because it will pull state officials, Guards, Doctors right smack into the middle of it. Folks on this thread and others are consistently crying out for criminal action, are you not reading those posts or willfully ignoring them?

The blame doesn't lie with today's population or posters on this thread. In fact the conditions of opaque accountability, loose hard-to-pin-down laws are as relevant today as they were then. How many rapes by a person of power goes unreported today because the victim and their family are scared knowing full well they have no real protection against a guard or a politician. The fear in society is as evident today as it was back then.. how many fecking stories have I heard from people about brutal and corrupt guards and no rules/ regs in place to deal with it and root the culprits out of a system which protects and hides them.

It's easy to pin it on the Church because it is clear: they are the ones that had all the children in their care. They are the ones who had a duty of care to those babies, were paid to care by the state, they are the ones that did the crime. Go after them first and let the chips fall where they may.

Simples.

“Female is real, and it's sex, and femininity is unreal, and it's gender.

For that to become the given identity of women is a profoundly disabling notion."

— Germaine Greer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

Mr.Wemmick wrote:
    It's easy to pin it on the Church because it is clear: they are the ones that had all the children in their care. They are the ones who had a duty of care to those babies, were paid to care by the state, they are the ones that did the crime. Go after them first and let the chips fall where they may.

Certain posters seem to be determined to try and dilute the capability of the church and the religious orders, in other words spread the blame.

nhunter100 wrote: »
    Certain posters seem to be determined to try and dilute the capability of the church and the religious orders, in other words spread the blame.

Ah! So, it's a self-motivated, self-driven high-handed bias stick to beat us all over the head with.

I think everyone reacts to these horrors differently. Many are angry at the Irish as a whole, hate the fact that so many are religious, on and on.. the rage..

Many old people don't get out, or don't see anyone for days. Church is a way for them to put on the one nice coat, the hat or that nice scarf and go see people and have a chat. Once a week, a social gathering. Worse years ago, I reckon, when poverty and hard work/slog were a constant and Church was the one place you might have got a rest a chance to see folks. We forget for many in remote parts of the country it was the weekly visit to church that got people together.. it function was as social as it was religious.

Not all members of the church are bad people. We know this, right? Terrible that they do not speak out, are they too scared to shout out, stay silent? The same as it was in the 50s/60s/70s.. ?

For that to become the given identity of women is a profoundly disabling notion."

— Germaine Greer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    In fairness it wasn't hard for the Catholic community to go along with what the priest preached from the pulpit.
    But Ireland was a horrific place.
    Mixed marriages were forced by the Catholic church to bring up their children as Catholics. As apparently church of Ireland doesn't matter and you go to hell.

My mother was actually told that by the local parish priest one day.
    She was playing with her sister outside the house on the road and the priest was walking by.
    He stops and tells them that they should convert to Catholicism or otherwise they will go to hell.
    This was in the 1950's.
    She was 6 years old at the time and her sister 8. They ran into the house bawling.
    Who says that to a child?

Oh this was absolutely some basket case of a country.

Unfortunately society and people in general tolerated behaviour by the Priests and RCC which should not have been tolerated. It was a sick country, thankfully things a changed a bit, but I wonder how many abuses by the Catholic church were swept under the carpet and have never been discovered or talked about yet?

Direct Provision
    Aras Attracta
    Grace
    Garda McCabe

Do any other western countries have all of these?

If you look at the next post I wrote, you'll find plenty of condemnation for current Irish society.

You also forgot to add "Mary Boyle".

And, yes, Ireland has a long way to go re: coverups of appalling behaviour, but for anyone to pretend that Ireland is the worst Country ever is just not true.

There was similar treatment of unmarried Mothers in other Countries during that time period, which is the point I was making, - though the method of burial in this case is horrible. I knew about the "Cillíní". I'm speechless at the thought of how these babies were treated....
    Mr.Wemmick wrote: »
    Ah! So, it's a self-motivated, self-driven high-handed bias stick to beat us all over the head with.

I think everyone reacts to these horrors differently. Many are angry at the Irish as a whole, hate the fact that so many are religious, on and on.. the rage..

Many old people don't get out, or don't see anyone for days. Church is a way for them to put on the one nice coat, the hat or that nice scarf and go see people and have a chat. Once a week, a social gathering. Worse years ago, I reckon, when poverty and hard work/slog were a constant and Church was the one place you might have got a rest a chance to see folks. We forget for many in remote parts of the country it was the weekly visit to church that got people together.. it function was as social as it was religious.

Not all members of the church are bad people. We know this, right? Terrible that they do not speak out, are they too scared to shout out, stay silent? The same as it was in the 50s/60s/70s.. ?

Plenty of us speak out. That doesn't mean we have to join the whole "the entire Catholic Church is evil" mantra that some posters push, especially when you consider that the members are the Church. All of them, not just the hierarchy, are the Church.

I don't know a single Catholic who thinks what happened is acceptable. If you think the hierarchy aren't aware of that, I disagree.

Beyond that - what do you expect us to do?
    Apologise for wrongs that we didn't commit?

We can't turn back time. We can neither defend, nor consider acceptable, the horrors that happened in our society, and in our Church.

But we can't change the past. The most we can do is say "Not in my name, not in the name of my faith!"
    We're doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭gucci

If you look at the next post I wrote, you'll find plenty of condemnation for current Irish society.

You also forgot to add "Mary Boyle".

And, yes, Ireland has a long way to go re: coverups of appalling behaviour, but for anyone to pretend that Ireland is the worst Country ever is just not true.

There was similar treatment of unmarried Mothers in other Countries during that time period, which is the point I was making, - though the method of burial in this case is horrible. I knew about the "Cillíní". I'm speechless at the thought of how these babies were treated....

Plenty of us speak out. That doesn't mean we have to join the whole "the entire Catholic Church is evil" mantra that some posters push, especially when you consider that the members are the Church. All of them, not just the hierarchy, are the Church.

I don't know a single Catholic who thinks what happened is acceptable. If you think the hierarchy aren't aware of that, I disagree.

We can't turn back time. We can neither defend, nor consider acceptable, the horrors that happened in our society, and in our Church.

But we can't change the past. The most we can do is say "Not in my name, not in the name of my faith!"
    We're doing that

Apologies for being a johhny come lately to this debate, and for picking on your post out of many similar, but faith and organised religion are different.

The reason there are so many different sects of christianity is because so many people had different opinions and beliefs of how it should be thought/ sold/ practiced.

How many more horrible vile recent/current would it take to actually step away from the RC and practice some different version of your faith? Thats the most you can do...challenge them, stop contributing to their pay, lobby your government to break the power agreements that they have over schools and in our law....thats some of the "most" you can do.

gucci wrote: »
    Apologies for being a johhny come lately to this debate, and for picking on your post out of many similar, but faith and organised religion are different.

The reason there are so many different sects of christianity is because so many people had different opinions and beliefs of how it should be thought/ sold/ practiced.

How many more horrible vile recent/current would it take to actually step away from the RC and practice some different version of your faith? Thats the most you can do...challenge them, stop contributing to their pay, lobby your government to break the power agreements that they have over schools and in our law....thats some of the "most" you can do.

I've told more than one priest what I think of what happened. Over many years. And they agreed with me...

I believe in the teachings of the Catholic Church. I wanted my children to go to a Catholic school - and they did.

They received a good education, were well treated, and grew up to be good people.

Why would I blame every priest or nun for what some of them did?

So, sorry, but while I am utterly disgusted at what was done - it doesn't mean anyone gets to tell me what to believe, or what to do.

I have my own conscience for that, thanks all the same... I'm also very happy with my version of faith - after all, it tells me the same thing you believe - that what happened was an inexcusable evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Hagar7

Note: I am not excusing what happened, or condoning it in any way - but the Irish were not the only race to try to hide the so-called "shame" of unmarried motherhood. For that matter, those Countries whose citizens "bought" these babies didn't seem to see anything wrong with people trafficking either.

I think what happened was beyond despicable - but to act as if Ireland was unique as a society in being cruel to unmarried mothers is just not realistic.

TLDR: Yes, Ireland should be ashamed of the way these women and babies were treated - but it is not alone. Other Countries were also disgustingly cruel...
    My wife said the same yesterday,almost word for word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭valoren

On those who question why people of that time didn't speak out, it helps to understand how within the framework of the catholic church there is a powerful mechanism inbuilt to prevent and suppress those who would seek to challenge it's authority.

Any conscientious person who sought to call out abuse, challenge their authority was being tempted by the devil. The church was infallible in that regard. The fear of the devil was a very real thing. He could be invoked any time someone was foolhardy enough to fall out with those involved with the church, who questioned it in any way that could expose it. Objectionable people became a threat to the system, and summoning the devil and all his temptations allowed the church to go nuclear on any individual. Reputation is everything. And to have it besmirched by inferring that you were in league with satan himself was a social, financial and personal death sentence.

I had a similar experience myself with this defense mechanism.

My mother was (thankfully) part of a sect in the Catholic Church which does something similar.
    It's the neocathechumenate way. It's where you have these groups of people called 'communities' who meet weekly to pray and have mass. You read the gospels, talk about what it means to you personally and sing and dance.

So far so good. The whole idea is that you are following the way of Christ, which is the way to be a christian according to the founder. You are made to feel unique, special. When you've become inculcated over the course of a year or so, then to complete your indoctrination you are asked to reveal what your cross in life is. If you are reticent then you are repeatedly told that this is necessary. They insinuate that you are not special and are not part of God's way etc if you fail to reveal the truth in the eyes of Christ. Guilt tripped on a divine scale so to speak. Many of my cousins were involved.
    This is usually a private and very personal thing. They don't accept anything like 'I got a speeding fine last week and my wife doesn't know'.

It had to be your biggest sin. And the juicier the better for them, particularly anything sexual from what I researched.
    It could be that you were sexually abused as a child, are an alcoholic or drug addict, you beat your wife, you cheated on your husband, you get the idea. Something deeply private and personal. That was the trap. When you reveal to a group something like that then it has a profound effect psychologically. You are far more likely to remain in case such information was made public. After this is done, the time taken up in activities within the sect really ramp up and it get's to the point where you feel that your life is taken over by activities within the Way. My mother had told them about my father's alcoholism. That she stuck by him, through the suffering was her own cross.

I started reading online about this Way. It was abundantly clear to me that this way was nothing but a cult, a money making operation. I spoke to my mother about it and made my case against it to her. Basically, what was wrong with simply going to Mass? But she enjoyed the company of my cousins, it became a social event for her.

One week they met at my mother's house for what they called a convivance. I happened to be there and one of my cousins asked to have a word with me. My mother, being an open and honest woman, had expressed her concerns to the group.

I was explicitly told that my research was simply me being tempted by the devil. I believe my reply involved such words as Off and Fcuk.

Asking questions, looking for accountability is a serious no no with cults like the Way and to a greater extent the RCC.

That was 10 years ago. Not the 1950's. Some things never change.

The women who had babies were seen as tempted by the devil. That was a serious charge. It was taken at face value. It may seem laughable now but at the time it was taken incredibly seriously. The babies born to fallen women, who had fallen in the eyes of God, were deemed the products of that sin. And they were treated as such and disposed of as such where necessary. They weren't married. That was their only 'crime'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Graces7 wrote: »
    whooaahh. Faith in the Church and faith in God are 2 totally different things. Period. Many find expression of one n the other and they will be saddened but not stop mass etc and not stop praying and not stop knowing Jesus

Denial here is normal and a phase which I went through decades ago through being massively abused myself.

And it is OK. Very much so.

I'm aware of that. And if you read my post that you quoted you will see that I was discussing their loyalty to the church, not god. And you don't need to keep saying period after your statements. It's a discussion board, posting something here is part of an overall discussion so saying period doesn't give you final say on a matter. My point was that denial is a normal natural phase, I wasn't disputing that. I don't agree that it is OK. But people are only human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Hagar7

In fairness it wasn't hard for the Catholic community to go along with what the priest preached from the pulpit.
    The protestants were always looked at as outsiders of this country (especially rural Ireland ) even though families could be here for half a millennium.
    Then throw in jealousy of farms or businesses and perceivation that somehow it doesn't belong to them and you can see how things could get petty and esculate.

The boycott ended when the local priest bought a packet of smokes in the local shop run by a protestant woman.

But Ireland was a horrific place.
    Mixed marriages were forced by the Catholic church to bring up their children as Catholics. As apparently church of Ireland doesn't matter and you go to hell.

My mother was actually told that by the local parish priest one day.
    She was playing with her sister outside the house on the road and the priest was walking by.
    He stops and tells them that they should convert to Catholicism or otherwise they will go to hell.
    This was in the 1950's.
    She was 6 years old at the time and her sister 8. They ran into the house bawling.
    Who says that to a child?

Oh this was absolutely some basket case of a country.
    A raving lunatic most likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

The nuns in this particular case certainly should take the largest share of blame for this.
    But to say they are solely responsible is wrong.

I seriously doubt for example the nuns did the actual physical work of interring the babies. It was probably men who did that. I'd be interested to know who did this or if the Tuam Home had caretakers and workmen and the like.

Secondly where were the fathers in the case of these babies. Just fcuked off and left the women high and dry by the sounds of it. These father must take a large share of blame for what went on. They should have been man enough to take care of the babies themselves.

The parents of the women, the state, local county council, various ministers for health, the blame spreads far and wide.

By blaming the nuns almost solely, lets not allow others off the hook either. Everyone responsible deserves blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

According to Galway CoCo no human remains were found during construction works on the site in the 1970s.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0308/857975-mother-baby-tuam/

The problem is that builders frequently don't report bone finds for fear of losing valuable work days either to forensic investigations or archaeological assessment by the Museum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

I've told more than one priest what I think of what happened. Over many years. And they agreed with me...

I believe in the teachings of the Catholic Church. I wanted my children to go to a Catholic school - and they did.

They received a good education, were well treated, and grew up to be good people.

Why would I blame every priest or nun for what some of them did?

So, sorry, but while I am utterly disgusted at what was done - it doesn't mean anyone gets to tell me what to believe, or what to do.

I have my own conscience for that, thanks all the same... I'm also very happy with my version of faith - after all, it tells me the same thing you believe - that what happened was an inexcusable evil.

There are far more good priests and nuns than bad ones.

Unfortunately, this gets lost in the clamour to blame the church for all societies ills.

Man gets woman pregnant and clears off. The church gets the blame.

Whether its shameful or not to have a baby out of wedlock, the man and woman and their parents should have dealt with the situation first, rather than dumping the child somewhere and making it someone else's problem.

I hope any enquiry into Mother and Baby homes looks at wider society and asks who these babies were, who their parents were, how they came to be conceived (some the result of rape for example?) and if there was any criminal responsibility. Its time to humanise these babies rather than have them as mere statistics.

Time to get to the bottom of issues like this once and for all.

We're doing that.

Plenty speak out? Who in the RCC has accepted a criminal investigation needs take place.. Who in the CC authority has come out and called this a crime? Who has spoken about the failure to act on the Murphy and Ryan reports findings? Who has spoken out about the evil that has systematically blocked the payments to victims and their families? We can't turn back time? Seriously? This is a crime which needs a full investigation, we all need to know the who, the what, the where and the how.. and people, human beings, who are hiding behind the RCC need to be rooted out and held accountable.

The crying about everyone calling the whole RCC evil is a subjective response and wearing thin. Look at the facts: this is a crime and the individuals who are responsible need to be held accountable. The RCC is being evasive and not calling for, assisting or being supportive of a full criminal investigation.

— Germaine Greer