Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nintendo Switch (Nintendo's next console)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭LeeroyJ.

M!Ck^ wrote: »

With travel I mean click, the ZL and ZR feel completely different when pressed, ZL barely moved while ZR clicks in a fair bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Yea not sure how it works. Overall I wouldn't bother complaining about having an item for sale at a higher price for a day and reducing it down the next and saying 20% etc off. They have some great deals (look at the PS4 one available at the minute) and never have a problem with replacing a damaged product.

Oh yeah, I'm grand with Argos and certainly not an expert on consumer law. I've availed of a fair few of their offers. They're typically a few euro more expensive than other places on console stuff and Lego but every now and then take a dip under Smyths prices so people pounce.

They were a lifesaver for small electronics during my art undergrad as well so I've a lot of time for the Argos brand :)

LeeroyJ. wrote: »
    With travel I mean click, the ZL and ZR feel completely different when pressed, ZL barely moved while ZR clicks in a fair bit.

Can't say I've noticed that, both seem same to me, I can do a video if you want to see are mine same as yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭dunworth1

Hmmm Pro Controller or I Am Setsuna and FAST RMX is the only decision I have left to make now.
    LeeroyJ. wrote: »
    Went out to get a pro controller - the joycons are great in mobile mode but terrible for a real couch gaming session. I recommend getting the pro for adults.

after playing with the joycon grip for the last two hours and i found i got used to it fairly quick

the pro controller is nicer alright but nothing wrong with the joycon in the grip
    I'm almost kinda regretting getting the pro controller now.

its nicer but its not needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭hairball

have to say overall it was so worth the wait. I love every bit of it's tactile, clicky soft-touch ness. Lovely piece of hardware design.
    Only thing I wasn't expecting was how loose it is in the dock, just a bit wobblier than i expected but I can deal.

Very chuffed right now, even though my Nintendo UK Zelda special edition hasn't shown up yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Got the console. GameStop can go swivel, never shopping there again.

Something bad happen?

Rhyme wrote: »
    Any word on the carry cases? Smiths have one for 19.99 and one for 12.99, wondering if anyone has experience with either.

here my one its the official Nintendo one with the screen protector

its not a hard shell kind of in between

officalcase.jpg

Disgusted with myself having to give them even only 40 euro today for Zelda as I had a voucher...

First thing I've bought off them since PS4 on launch day of that...

On another unrelated note, Zelda on the jacks is unbelievable...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭moonlighting

Picked mine up there from smyths galway. Sadly no Zelda. So i had to go for the digital download. Wont be playing it today with my crappy net connection. Wondering what would be a good sd card to get for the switch with good read/right speeds. Is there any recommended make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

Any unwanted Argos (Liffey Valley or Blanch) reservations for a neon console, going? Chancing my arm. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Ryath

Picked mine up there from smyths galway. Sadly no Zelda. So i had to go for the digital download. Wont be playing it today with my crappy net connection. Wondering what would be a good sd card to get for the switch with good read/right speeds. Is there any recommended make.

Stock in argos Galway
    http://checkargos.com/product/6847504

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

ERG89 wrote: »
    I'm assuming that was for the midnight launch. I'm going to awkwardly stand there later after I pick up mine expecting something :pac:

Lol yeah midnight launch goodness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Guy Incognito

So I've decided not to get a Switch...yet. I'm going to hang on a wait for other new game announcements at E3 and maybe get one closer to the Mario Odyssey release.
    Anyway, I reserved a Neon and a Grey version of the Switch in Argos in both Nutgrove and Tallaght this morning and waited until lunchtime to decide if it was worth it. So I ended up just getting BotW for the Wii U in Tallaght a few minutes ago.

Anyway, apologies to anyone who tried to get a console in either branch this morning but if anyone wants a reservation code for any from the list below, let me know:

Nutgrove
    Zelda - Wii U
    Console Grey
    Console Neon
    Pro Controller
    Zelda - Switch
    Pro Controller
    Switch Accessory pack

Tallaght:
    Console Neon
    Console Grey
    Zelda - Switch
    Pro Controller
    Joycon pair Grey
    Joycon pair Neon

Each line is a separate reservation code so you can have whatever you want or need.

dunworth1 wrote: »
    here my one its the official Nintendo one with the screen protector

its not a hard shell kind of in between

officalcase.jpg

All out in Smyths Jervis just now, going to try the Gamestop in Santry tomorrow morning.

That one looks grand, will have a chat with the folks in-store, see if I can have a look at the case but I figure that's the one for me.

hairball wrote: »
    Something bad happen?

Tried to force me to buy the CE of Zelda or not get one at all, claim I hadn't put down as much of a deposit as I had done, then said I wouldn't get my pre order bonus stuff if I didn't buy their game protection!

All out in Smyths Jervis just now, going to try the Gamestop in Santry tomorrow morning.

That one looks grand, will have a chat with the folks in-store, see if I can have a look at the case but I figure that's the one for me.

this is it in argos 5 euro more expensive than GameStop
    http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/6739557.htm

stock available in jervis

Tried to force me to buy the CE of Zelda or not get one at all, claim I hadn't put down as much of a deposit as I had done, then said I wouldn't get my pre order bonus stuff if I didn't buy their game protection!

Jesus. That ain't on at all. Did you talk to the store manager?

That's the one I got. Absolutely fine, doubles as a stand as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭paul79

SgtBob wrote: »
    Any unwanted Argos (Liffey Valley or Blanch) reservations for a neon console, going? Chancing my arm. :D

Have a reservation code for the grey version in Liffey valley if interested

Jesus. That ain't on at all. Did you talk to the store manager?

No I couldn't be bothered. I'll be complaing on Facebook and twitter though.

they'll block you on facebook blocked me for complaining about the price of a game once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

paul79 wrote: »
    Have a reservation code for the grey version in Liffey valley if interested

Thanks man, but I have my heart set on the neon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,164 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Sounds suspiciously like that circle of life stuff they've been puihing at their employees hard where they have a quota of extras to sell

Do. That kinda arm twisting isn't nice.

On a nicer note did you get your Switch set up yet? Haven't had too much time with it because work, but love what I have messed around with. The UI is very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Sarn

When I got to the counter in GS I just paid the balance on my console, was asked if I wanted a case or games, said no and out the door. Very efficient and no pressure. I was probably the quickest transaction.

I hadn't realised that the Switch and dock were so small. They fit just nicely beside the tv.

Amazon are a joke. Still preparing for dispatch on my Zelda order. Supposed to go out yesterday.

Do. That kinda arm twisting isn't nice.

On a nicer note did you get your Switch set up yet? Haven't had too much time with it because work, but love what I have messed around with. The UI is very nice.

I'm currently downloading the update :)

It's gorgeous. And is indeed much smaller than you'd imagine from videos.

Took it out of the box to have a look and I felt terrified I was going to drop it. Will feel a lot better when I get home where there are soft surfaces and carpets to ease my thumping heart*. Very neat little device and fits perfectly into my hands. Looking forward to getting playing later on to see how the controls feel while in use.

*That said, I'm the same with every big electronic purchase I make (Gamecube, Wii, tablet (sold to pay for Switch) camera etc) so I'll settle down before too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kurn

Anyone a reservation code for Argos St. Stephen's Green, that the're not using?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

The console doesn't recognise Zelda! What the feck?

OK, downloaded the update over my tethered phone, it sees the game.

Wait, another ****ing download???