Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Why I did not report my rapist"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Keyzer wrote: »
    RosemaryMacCabe @joedoyle11 oh please! The way he speaks about women and the fact you think it's acceptable = rape culture.

Jesus H. Christ...

Rapists running rampant in the streets...

Is there a more annoying phrase in use at the moment than rape culture - this is Ireland not fúcking Pakistan, there is no rape culture. Everyone in this country, bar rapists themselves, thinks it's a disgusting thing to do.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

jonnycivic wrote: »
    I have just read the McGregor piece, I am seriously lost for words after it.
    It would be my opinion that anyone who seriously believes Ireland is a "rape culture" needs to get out of their own heads and the philosophy they've adopted and look into the real world the rest of us live in. This is a problem with all radicals. All they have is a hammer, so everything starts to look like a nail.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Well everything I know of the Kardashians is they have big arses that all the younger women are all trying to emulate now so like where is the issue really if they have made a career out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Wibbs wrote: »
    It would be my opinion that anyone who seriously believes Ireland is a "rape culture" needs to get out of their own heads and the philosophy they've adopted and look into the real world the rest of us live in. This is a problem with all radicals. All they have is a hammer, so everything starts to look like a nail.

edit: not funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭timmy880

RosemaryMacCabe @joedoyle11 oh please! The way he speaks about women and the fact you think it's acceptable = rape culture.

Well at least there is finally some science and algebra behind the term "rape culture"

I would have thought that rape culture by definition would involve the act of rape combined with this act being frequent and acceptable in society. However, McGregor's words and your acceptance of those words = rape culture.

Good to know.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

On snap chat last night she said she wasn't taking 'abuse' from anyone anymore and her social media platforms are hers and she will block if she likes.

I've seen a few articles from new feminists saying the same. The rationale is there's no point arguing with people who never want to get it and you have to protect yourself
    Hmmm, is abuse just another word for "people just don't agree with me"? Obviously she is right to ban people who resort to personal abuse. But it seems that people who raise valid points are also being banned. Tarring all dissent in that manner is a tad disingenuous. As noted by a previous poster in this thread, she had no problems in setting her acolytes on others (eg. Mark Paul for his article in the IT last year, also some of her fellow bloggers etc). So is it a case of she is fine with abuse, as long as she is the one leading the charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

mzungu wrote: »
    Hmmm, is abuse just another word for "people just don't agree with me"? Tarring all dissent in that manner is a tad disingenuous. As noted by a previous poster in this thread, she had no problems in setting her acolytes on others (eg. Mark Paul for his article in the IT last year, also some of her fellow bloggers etc). So is it a case of she is fine with abuse, as long as she is the one leading the charge?

Seems that way for these social justice warrior types, baseless arguments founded on nothing but opinion and an unwillingness to listen or intelligibly debate/argue with those who don't agree. Similar foundations to fascism if I'm not mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,634 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

pilly wrote: »
    I'm swinging backwards and forwards on this, have to be honest but there's one thing that has convinced me that's it's not a rape.

Any rape victim who has posted here hasn't believed it was a rape and they more than any of us know the feelings and thought process involved.

Also another thing that is overlooked in the discussion is the age of the guy.

At certain stages I've agreed "yeah he was a sleaze, a creep" but let's remember he was college age so at the horniest stage of his life without the emotional maturity to deal with it. Sorry lads but think about it when you were that age. Were you different to how you are now?

(Presuming most here are finished college)

Apparently, that stage, 'horniness' never leaves us...it's part of evolution. Folks used to say we 'peak' but apparently, nope.

I would argue she was none too emotionally mature either-considering the time period.
    Plus the use of alcohol between them probably messed em up communication wise. I would argue when both are drunk, there is a shared responsibility unless violence enters the equation.

I noted, in an article in the independent, from someone who suffered a horrific rape (permanent damage suffered, requires surgery, will not be able to give birth naturally without risk to life, problems will happen at menopause too-she's only 24) that she 'did not want to be a victim'. Now, her torment was horrific, he's in jail for 10-15 yrs, but should be for life...and her words resonated with me.
    Most people don't want to ever be a victim after the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,595 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

fitzytour wrote: »
    I had commented on Rosemary's instagram post where she was crying, and stated my opinion in no uncertain terms that I thought she was NOT raped and that her post was a new low and seriously undermined the word rape etc. etc....she had wrote back to me and we had commented back and forth..a few people had commended me but a few others hadn't - one person in particular asked me 'was I deaf, did I not see the part in Rosemary's blogpost where she said no?'..funnily enough if I was deaf, it wouldn't affect my ability to read her blogpost so that comment gave me a LOL.

Anyway, the point I am getting to is that she now has that post deleted! It really annoy me because I think I made some very good points to which she had no response for, so she just deletes it! If she feels she is entitled to write a post calling her ex a rapist (when she was not raped), then why cant I question her on her post? (I never once got abusive or nasty) - Talk about hypocritcal - If she is going to go there with this type of post then be prepared to deal with feedback!

That's a majorly problematic part of modern online discussion. My view of healthy debate is that you put out your theory / opinion, and you see what comes back at you in terms of agreement / disagreement. So long as people are reasonable and civil and don't strawman it's moderately beneficial. I accept that many people will not share my views and I accept that people may say things that I don't personally want to hear.

Unfortunately, we are now in an age where people feel entitled to controlling the debate. They think nothing of deleting responses / comments on their social media that they don't like or that they perceive to show them in a bad light (or show them up). If the whole post / blog / tweet / whatever seems to have failed (i.e. your point of view is getting torn to shreds) just delete it entirely. This is normalised to the extent that even some of my friends who I love and respect and who are highly educated will do the same - and not even realise how inappropriate and intellectually bankrupt doing so is.

You can see it in terms of what certain users ask for on boards, indeed, you can see it in the request to have this thread limited / closed / deleted on feedback. There was a time where opinions were put forth into an arena for them to gain traction and submitted to a certain amount of scrutiny or discussion. Now you can have people with thousands of followers throwing their theories out in a highly controlled and protected manner, and they can manipulate the view of those theories to make it look like they are far more widely accepted and agreed with than is the case.

I know this is wrong. Any reasonable people who remember the world pre Internet know this is wrong. My fear is not that the likes of Rosemary McCabe doesn't know it's wrong. My fear is all the younger people for whom echo chambers are their only exposure to "discussion". Where that may lead is extremely dangerous for the future of society.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I know this is wrong. Any reasonable people who remember the world pre Internet know this is wrong. My fear is not that the likes of Rosemary McCabe doesn't know it's wrong. My fear is all the younger people for whom echo chambers are their only exposure to "discussion". Where that may lead is extremely dangerous for the future of society.
    Oh god yes. QFT. And we're already seeing it. One of the reason old style discussion boards are fading is because of this.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    My fear is all the younger people for whom echo chambers are their only exposure to "discussion". Where that may lead is extremely dangerous for the future of society.

Very dangerous future ahead of us if this behaviour continues. Sad thing is, it will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Very dangerous future ahead of us if this behaviour continues. Sad thing is, it will.

We're already there if you ask me. The rise of extremism in the west is down to people spending their time in echo chambers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

She filmed a video for youtube mocking bloggers who say they want positive comnents only. She says that constructive criticism should be embraced by all online content creators.
    Now she's blocking people for liking comments she doesn't want.
    And with regard to the blogger gossip thread, i'm not sure which thread she means, but she regularly contributes to threads about bloggers and uses her blog to make fun of them. I'm not sure if she's trolling herself or just has the absolute misfortune of being forced to contradict herself when trying to be everyone's friend doesn't pan out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭LightlyGo

Wibbs wrote: »
    Oh god yes. QFT. And we're already seeing it. One of the reason old style discussion boards are fading is because of this.

We are also seeing the ability to reason at all be eroded. It's quite bizarre really, we are probably the most educated generations that Ireland,even the world, has ever seen and yet the concept of thinking for yourself, reflecting, reasoning, weighing arguments not to take sides but to understand are all being lost. Signs by it the most powerful man in the world is an avowed tweeter.

Could we ever have dreamt that increased education and widespread access to technology would lead us here to a world of makeup enthusiasts with mobile phones and teen novel authors being political ideology gurus and "influencers".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I can say exactly why I didn't want sex as much as the men did when I was younger. Because when I did have sex, the men were very selfish/knowledgeless. Why would the woman want to have sex when she is not going to enjoy it?
    I feel I only really learned about sex when I moved out of Ireland later on to another country, that it was for my pleasure too.
    Ireland has very bad sexual attitudes.

Meaningless, generalising bull****. Another man hater here no doubt. Ffs some people would want to get a grip. We are not living under sharia law here. Women are treated very respectfully by the majority of men in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Digs

I agree. I have two young daughters and I'm left wondering how I help them navigate this new wave of utter rubbish that the likes of RMC is spouting. That Conor mc Gregor article bothered me so much!! Also the defence of objectifying men being allowable because women have it worse??? Boils my blood. Thats like defending poor treatment of women in Ireland, well because, ya know women have it so much worse in the Middle East.

Men are not the enemy, however, my daughters father, grandad and uncles etc are doing a good job of proving that to them as they grow up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Digs wrote: »
    I agree. I have two young daughters and I'm left wondering how I help them navigate this new wave of utter rubbish that the likes of RMC is spouting. That Conor mc Gregor article bothered me so much!! Also the defence of objectifying men being allowable because women have it worse??? Boils my blood. Thats like defending poor treatment of women in Ireland, well because, ya know women have it so much worse in the Middle East.

Men are not the enemy, however, my daughters father, grandad and uncles etc are doing a good job of proving that to them as they grow up.

To be fair though, Conor McGregor is well able to stick up for himself, I wouldn't be worried about him. I wouldn't put him up as a shining beacon of example to sons or daughters either.

RMC was wrong in linking him to rape culture but he's no gentleman either, it's all part of his persona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Digs

To be fair though, Conor McGregor is well able to stick up for himself, I wouldn't be worried about him. I wouldn't put him up as a shining beacon of example to sons or daughters either.

RMC was wrong in linking him to rape culture but he's no gentleman either, it's all part of his persona.

I'm not a bit concerned about Conor mcgregor himself! It's the article and her opinion on rape culture that bothered me.

Precisely the point, he may come across as crude in his remarks (to some) but linking him to this "rape culture" crap is a disgraceful attempt at sensationalism from RMC.

Agreed, not disputing that in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

anna080 wrote: »
    Both the crying selfie and the blog post itself were uploaded and written for the exact same reasons. Not to get conversation going, (as she initially claimed she wanted) that much is clear since she doesn't actually want to converse with anyone about the obvious ambiguity of the situation. But for absolute attention and commendation. It's clear that to be seen as a victim is the currency you need in today's climate, which is ironic and a complete contradiction of the empowerment mentality femisnist doctrine would have had you believe.

It's not so much to be seen as a "victim" garners social currency and validation, but to be seen as a "survivor", to have overcome an ordeal. The language, and the perspective changed, the circumstances are still the same. The whole "idea" (inverted commas because to me it was always a stupid exercise in semantic gymnastics), was to "give people who have been raped back their power". Yet again, the very idea is to paint a certain "one size fits all" narrative of people who have been raped, and define them all in exactly the same language and the exact same fashion, as though they are a cookie-cutter mentality - "they have experienced rape, and that's all that matters".

It isn't, and it shouldn't be, because just the same way as some posters have pointed out that modern feminism wants to paint a narrative of women having no agency, it's just as detrimental for society IMO when we collectively shun, shame, and try to shut people down whom we don't agree with, because we just don't like the cut of their jib.

It's as though for a lot of people they need to define people who have experienced rape in a way that fits in with their sociobiolological mental model that's been formed over decades of social influence. It's as though anything which interferes with that and causes them to question it, causes them a cognitive dissonance which appears to upset some people greatly, and some more than others, and the only solution to that is to block out that which contradicts their already formed narrative.

I've met all sorts of people who have experienced rape, and there are some that I'll be glad if I never saw them or met them again. The thing is though - I don't have to like them, I don't have to agree with them, I can think they're full of shìt and so far up their own hole they're never likely to see the light of day. None of that means I can ever allow myself to tell them that they weren't raped, if they say they were. That, IMO, would take an arrogance and hubris on my part that quite frankly I just don't have (other people have the agency and the freedom of thought to disagree).

As for the idea of echo chambers? Jesus lads, take a look around before anyone starts criticising anyone else for the formation of echo chambers. Pre-internet, post-internet, bloody hell since the dawn of man, echo chambers have existed to exclude people from the group think and influence a particular narrative. How the fcuk does anyone think religions came about? Identity politics is just religion 2.0, and nobody has to have Mensa level IQ or EQ to be able to see that for themselves.

Could just go on believing what they want too, if that's what keeps them happy, there's always that option when someone wants to control their own space, and it's perfectly rational, understandable human behaviour that some people aren't just happy controlling their own space, but they want to control everyone else's too. It never amazed me in the first place that some people are surprised when they meet an equal but opposing force. I didn't need Newton to explain something I'd known ever since I was a child. That's why when you're pushing for something you want from someone, civility and personal responsibility for yourself, and respect towards others, will always be a far more worthy endeavour that will last long term, than bulling ahead without any regard as to the consequences of your actions for yourself, or for others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

As for the idea of echo chambers? Jesus lads, take a look around before anyone starts criticising anyone else for the formation of echo chambers. Pre-internet, post-internet, bloody hell since the dawn of man, echo chambers have existed to exclude people from the group think and influence a particular narrative. How the fcuk does anyone think religions came about? Identity politics is just religion 2.0, and nobody has to have Mensa level IQ or EQ to be able to see that for themselves.

True but I think what we're seeing now is people, whose social media is tailored to their tastes, seeing only what they want to see and effectively being cocooned in their outlook. A lot of this seems to be getting hijacked by inflammatory political discourse from the states and seems to be stripping people of the ability to engage in reasoned debate. Instead, we're seeing the rise of the condescending soundbites being lobbed at the other side and people playing the victim card without people actually listening to each other.

It's not so much to be seen as a "victim" garners social currency and validation, but to be seen as a "survivor", to have overcome an ordeal. The language, and the perspective changed, the circumstances are still the same. The whole "idea" (inverted commas because to me it was always a stupid exercise in semantic gymnastics), was to "give people who have been raped back their power". Yet again, the very idea is to paint a certain "one size fits all" narrative of people who have been raped, and define them all in exactly the same language and the exact same fashion, as though they are a cookie-cutter mentality - "they have experienced rape, and that's all that matters".

It isn't, and it shouldn't be, because just the same way as some posters have pointed out that modern feminism wants to paint a narrative of women having no agency, it's just as detrimental for society IMO when we collectively shun, shame, and try to shut people down whom we don't agree with, because we just don't like the cut of their jib.

It's as though for a lot of people they need to define people who have experienced rape in a way that fits in with their sociobiolological mental model that's been formed over decades of social influence. It's as though anything which interferes with that and causes them to question it, causes them a cognitive dissonance which appears to upset some people greatly, and some more than others, and the only solution to that is to block out that which contradicts their already formed narrative.

I've met all sorts of people who have experienced rape, and there are some that I'll be glad if I never saw them or met them again. The thing is though - I don't have to like them, I don't have to agree with them, I can think they're full of shìt and so far up their own hole they're never likely to see the light of day. None of that means I can ever allow myself to tell them that they weren't raped, if they say they were. That, IMO, would take an arrogance and hubris on my part that quite frankly I just don't have (other people have the agency and the freedom of thought to disagree).

Could just go on believing what they want too, if that's what keeps them happy, there's always that option when someone wants to control their own space, and it's perfectly rational, understandable human behaviour that some people aren't just happy controlling their own space, but they want to control everyone else's too. It never amazed me in the first place that some people are surprised when they meet an equal but opposing force. I didn't need Newton to explain something I'd known ever since I was a child. That's why when you're pushing for something you want from someone, civility and personal responsibility for yourself, and respect towards others, will always be a far more worthy endeavour that will last long term, than bulling ahead without any regard as to the consequences of your actions for yourself, or for others.

Very measured and thought out post Jack except for the bit I've highlighted. What you're effectively saying is we should believe anyone who says they were raped?

So lets just say hypothetically a woman whom you've had consensual sex with in the past all of a sudden says you raped her? Do you still believe that you can't tell her she hasn't been raped because she "says" that she has been?

Doesn't hold water when all of sudden it's you, your son, your best friend etc.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

She filmed a video for youtube mocking bloggers who say they want positive comnents only. She says that constructive criticism should be embraced by all online content creators.
    Now she's blocking people for liking comments she doesn't want.
    And with regard to the blogger gossip thread, i'm not sure which thread she means, but she regularly contributes to threads about bloggers and uses her blog to make fun of them. I'm not sure if she's trolling herself or just has the absolute misfortune of being forced to contradict herself when trying to be everyone's friend doesn't pan out.

Dear god talk about been a hypocrite :mad:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOvbqAdCNMs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It's the message it sends and the principal of it, and the fact that she thinks she can misinterpret someone's words just because they may have form for saying idiotic things. "Ya but he's said something along those lines before", isn't a good enough defense for taking something and framing it in an entirely different context just to suit what you're saying. I doubt Conor gives a sh!t or is offended, but the message it sends is extremely offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Dear god talk about been a hypocrite :mad:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOvbqAdCNMs

Yup. I would've posted the link but couldn't bring myself to search for her page.
    Between things like that and crying to a therapist over not being ogled in Greece, it makes me wonder is she trolling and having a laugh at all of us who take her words at face value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭LightlyGo

I fully agree with the vast majority of what you're saying and kudos, it's very well said.

If I met a person who told me they had been raped I would absolutely not dream to tell them otherwise. I would know no context, I would understand that a verbal account would be traumatic and could easily leave out pivotal details or those that would embarrass or upset. I would not assume that even after they told me about it that I knew everything I needed to know to understand.

However here we have been supplied with all the necessary facts and context by the person involved in a publicly shared article that I assume she deliberated over and tweaked until it reflected exactly what she needed it to say. She placed it in the public domain for the inevitable scrutiny that comes with that, aware that her story can influence also so scrutiny by a reader is even more important.

Would you feel the same way if the man involved being labelled rapist was your brother/father/son ?
    Would you feel that any person should be able to call them a rapist without question, even after they have admittedly consented to sex?

The thing is while laying question at the door of a victim or someone who feels the victim of an assualt is a very unpleasant, counter intuitiive thing to do for most of us, there is another party who can bear injury once the word "rapist" is used. Saying you were raped is not like saying you are gay or ill or trans or something painful that no one else's life may be irreparably influenced by, instead it has very real consequences for another person and their family and life chances. Assuming the mantle of rape victim cannot be done just because you feel like the concept fits your reaction to an encounter. It has to retain the aspect of lack of consent, or intimidation or coercion into sex for it have any resonance. That is to the benefit of everyone ever planning to have sex and for rape victims.

And yes, this guy should've stopped at the first no and if she continued kissing he should have clarified exactly what she wanted. He was no blameless here. He bore half the responsibility, but it doesn't make him a rapist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

I read some of the mcgregor blog... wtf

bullvine wrote: »
    I read some of the mcgregor blog... wtf

Its ludicrous in its entirety... Absolute drivel.