If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

gargargar wrote: »
    Not sure if any others have noticed an annoying cyclist who shouts at other cyclists in an aggressive manner going from town through rathmines? Scared the sh*t out of me one morning. Then noticed him doing it to other people. People not doing much just not going fast enough for him. Cycled after him the time he did to me but he broke a red light at portobello bridge so I couldn't confront him.
    he is not cycling to or from work/school/therapy, in his wee world he is bombing along on the Paris Nice or Milan San Remo and your not cutting the mustard as his domestique, so he is right to shout at you!

he'll come back to the real world when a bigger shouty person gets the hump and shouts(maybe more than shouts) back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Sunsets On Tuesday

Big Cycle for me yesterday, only getting the chance to post it now.
    I went up Three Rock Mountain a grand total of 5 times, and then after all that I went up to Glencullen from Lamb Doyles via the Blue Light.
    So 6 major climbs, all the climbs up three rock were up different routes varying between gravel & concrete.
    Did it on my Giant Revolt 1, a "gravel bike". I really do love the bike, it's just so versatile and capable.
    It was a tough cycle no doubt, with it ending up as 68km and 2,193 elevation gain. Quite a lot of ascenting for such a distance. Thankfully the heavy winds yesterday seemed to work in my favour, more acting as a tailwind than headwind.

Link to Strava here:
    https://www.strava.com/activities/874737956
    Happy with that elevation profile, shows my madness!

Big Cycle for me yesterday, only getting the chance to post it now.
    I went up Three Rock Mountain a grand total of 5 times, and then after all that I went up to Glencullen from Lamb Doyles via the Blue Light.
    So 6 major climbs, all the climbs up three rock were up different routes varying between gravel & concrete.
    Did it on my Giant Revolt 1, a "gravel bike". I really do love the bike, it's just so versatile and capable.
    It was a tough cycle no doubt, with it ending up as 68km and 2,193 elevation gain. Quite a lot of ascenting for such a distance. Thankfully the heavy winds yesterday seemed to work in my favour, more acting as a tailwind than headwind.

Link to Strava here:
    https://www.strava.com/activities/874737956
    Happy with that elevation profile, shows my madness!

Awesome!

What are the trails like around 3rock and Kilmashogue? Makes me want to get a mountain bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭nomoreexams

The difference being, a lot of cyclists on my route actually totally ignore lights. I've been at a red for 20 seconds or more, when someone will just run through it as if it wasn't there. While this is bad and breaking the law, its not dangerous to me personally, but god help anyone crossing the road at the time.

What I have noticed though some cyclists will buzz past me (stopped at a red) doing over 25Km.h to jump a red light. Sometimes it's as close as a punishment pass because they are having to go through a narrow gap between me and a car.

That kind of behaviour drives me nuts, I personally don't mind if they kill themselves, that's just evolution, but putting other peoples' health at risk is a different matter.

The number of these idiots drops off steeply once they turn off into UCD.

I have been known to break the odd red light. At night, I cycle through a dodgy area and i feel nervous stopping for too long. I usually come to a stop, wait a few seconds to see if anyone is going to cross or any cars coming, if not I proceed slowly. I wonder if there was a rule of yielding to a red light would cyclists be more likely to slow down and keep going?! I assume there'd always be a few lunatics who'd throw themselves through the red light at everyone's peril.

*as an aside, I find way more pedestrians throw themselves out in front of red lights and saunter across the road as though they have no personal responsibility for their own road safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

So 6 major climbs, all the climbs up three rock were up different routes varying between gravel & concrete. Happy with that elevation profile, shows my madness!

Deadly! You got me inspired :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Sunsets On Tuesday

ronoc wrote: »
    Awesome!

What are the trails like around 3rock and Kilmashogue? Makes me want to get a mountain bike.

They're all in good condition from what I saw, apart from the gravel climb from Petros to the Aerial, where they were doing some tree felling yesterday which blocked the whole path. Seem to be doing a lot of tree cutting, so just watch out for that, you don't want a tree falling on you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭Imnotthehulk

Kaisr Sose wrote: »
    On my cycles (everyday) I see lots of motorists passing red lights when lit - often speeding up to do so...Just sayin...

To me the fact that many motorists don't stop for the red light at first is more of a reason for cyclists to stop.

Tuesday night I had stopped at a red light at a pedestrian crossing. The first car up to it stopped too. The car behind it (which had been some distance away) actually sped up and over took the first car to go racing through the crossing. Scared the hell out of me to be honest.

Two weeks ago during a weekday afternoon I was stopped at the traffic lights where exchequer street joins georges street. It's a pedestrian crossing with an island in the middle, and as such red light for traffic, green light for walkers. The pedestrian light turned red, light for traffic still red, but obviously there were still people mid cross, one of the cyclists in front of me starts up and goes directly into a lady, and of course he blames her, then cycles off. (She was grand btw, but got a good fright).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

To me the fact that many motorists don't stop for the red light at first is more of a reason for cyclists to stop.

Tuesday night I had stopped at a red light at a pedestrian crossing. The first car up to it stopped too. The car behind it (which had been some distance away) actually sped up and over took the first car to go racing through the crossing. Scared the hell out of me to be honest.

Two weeks ago during a weekday afternoon I was stopped at the traffic lights where exchequer street joins georges street. It's a pedestrian crossing with an island in the middle, and as such red light for traffic, green light for walkers. The pedestrian light turned red, light for traffic still red, but obviously there were still people mid cross, one of the cyclists in front of me starts up and goes directly into a lady, and of course he blames her, then cycles off. (She was grand btw, but got a good fright).

We need to think more about sense and less about rules. (And I hope karma was waiting around the corner for that cyclist.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

Chuffed today did 71km taking in ashford roundwood Laragh Rathdrum glenealy Wicklow and blainroe (my first time doing over 70 on a bike albeit a little slower than I would like) I feel im well on course for the wicklow 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Chuffed today did 71km taking in ashford roundwood Laragh Rathdrum glenealy Wicklow and blainroe (my first time doing over 70 on a bike albeit a little slower than I would like) I feel im well on course for the wicklow 100

Fair play! If you're already doing 70 the Wicklow 100 will be no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

35km, 2 punctures and the wind up to the featherbeds had a good go at killing me.
    Descending down thru Glenasmole was no fun either in that wind.
    Hope the two lads (one roadie and his mate on a mountain bike) who I met at viewpoint and again on the way up to featherbeds got down safely. I stopped early on but decided to keep going and once the wind hit I thought going to the top was a better option than turning and descending in that.
    Plan was to go up Ballinascorney hill after that but just past the pitch and putt puncture number 1 hit. The man in the club very kindly called me in so I could change the tube, and made me a lovely cup of tea with some biscuits. Still good people out there. That held til I turned off bothar catherine tynan, about 4km from home. Thanks again to the lad who stopped and offered me a tube, but I'd already called the missus to bail me out.
    Got soaked as the heavens opened just as the puncture hit. All in all a waste of time, should have stayed in bed!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Out with Bikerbhoy and crew again today for a wet and windy one, in around Enniskerry, Barnasligen and up to Foxes. Only 46k with 990m climbing, but tough enough in the wind and rain in some of the more exposed parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,977 ✭✭✭secman

Just posted mine in the wimp blog :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Crocked

Down to Laragh and back. Tough wind in spots and one or heavy showers on the way back. Joined a club back in the autumn and If I'd been going out solo I'd have stayed in bed, but got up and out knowing I'd be out with fellow nutters in that weather.

I was spinning 34x28 past Bushy park and barely making forward progress as I did into a headwind!!

Actually a great spin and thoroughly enjoyed it, great company and getting the clothing spot on helped with that

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,472 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Crocked wrote: »
    I was spinning 50x28
    sounds like you were cross-chaining?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Crocked

sounds like you were cross-chaining?

Ah feck, I of course meant 34x28, edited original to save me further embarrassment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭grouchyman

Crocked wrote: »
    Down to Laragh and back. Tough wind in spots and one or heavy showers on the way back. Joined a club back in the autumn and If I'd been going out solo I'd have stayed in bed, but got up and out knowing I'd be out with fellow nutters in that weather.

I was spinning 34x28 past Bushy park and barely making forward progress as I did into a headwind!!

Actually a great spin and thoroughly enjoyed it, great company and getting the clothing spot on helped with that

Excuse me while I show my ignorance :o but what does this mean?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

grouchyman wrote: »
    Excuse me while I show my ignorance :o but what does this mean?

Easiest available gear on many bikes, still hard work inching forward into a very heavy wind and driving rain. Same for me at the back of Marley park, felt like being in a wind tunnel.

smacl wrote: »
    Easiest available gear on many bikes, still hard work inching forward into a very heavy wind and driving rain. Same for me at the back of Marley park, felt like being in a wind tunnel.

Ah so my bike has a front 52/36 and a rear 11/28 so when I'm in the easiest gear I'm on 36 * 28 and when I'm in the hardest gear I'm on 52 * 11. Apologies as I know this is slightly off-topic but when I hear lads talking about bike gears a confused fog descends

I was out yesterday around Ballinasloe. Cold wet and windy. lots of surface water on the roads and got drenched. I was hoping to break 60kms for the first time but could only manage 41. The cold and wet were getting to me at that point. Happy enough but wish I could have broken the 60kms as I did 57 the previous week. Ah well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I got back cycling just for leisure at the end of June. Joined a club in September. Lost 17 Kg.
    I did a national race for the first time yesterday, Lacey Cup. I came 7th in A4, delighted!

https://www.strava.com/activities/880846257

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Just back in after almost an hour and only 15km done. It's a lovely day for a spin, kids are at school and getting picked up later, I'm not in work until tonight, what could go wrong?
    Hit a slight bump in the road and as I was seated, the saddle rocked back. Stopped and had a look and found the saddle clamp loose. Tightened it up and set off again, only for it to happen again. Had a closer look at the clamp and the two halves are not fully on opposite sides of the seat rail. I took it apart fully and found one half of the clamp is split.
    I limped home sitting on the nose of the saddle or not on it at all. Off to find a new clamp now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Just in myself from a 51km spin. Much nicer weather than I thought it would be. Kept looking over my shoulder expecting to see sleet etc. No complaints though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

My first snow cycle :D okay, wet non sticking snow but still. How long does it take for your skin to stop burning after the freezing wet!!! Took even more pleasure than normal from passing everyone sitting in traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Pleasant enough spin this morning from Swords to Duleek via Bellewstown. Not so pleasant heading back as the rain arrived while we were enjoying our pancakes in Sage & Stone.
    On the home stretch coming in the Finglas Road at Tolka Bridge I decided to take the on-road bus/bike lane rather than the pedestrian/bike one on the footpath as there are normally cars parked on the footpath outside Glasnevin Cemetery. The driver of the #40 bus behind didn't appreciate my choice and passed me at speed with less than 30cm clearance. When I caught up with him soon after, he wasn't inclined to discuss the punishment-pass until I told him I would be reporting it. His response was that I should have been on the footpath.
    I have reported it to both Dublin Bus and Finglas Gardaí and await replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

grouchyman wrote: »
    I was out yesterday around Ballinasloe. Cold wet and windy. lots of surface water on the roads and got drenched. I was hoping to break 60kms for the first time but could only manage 41. The cold and wet were getting to me at that point. Happy enough but wish I could have broken the 60kms as I did 57 the previous week. Ah well

Pity you couldn't get your goal of 60km but 41km is still a good spin! Well done!

It will be no bother to you to do 60 when the weather gets better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭ckeego

Lovely spin in the snow and ice in Ballinastoe..

Was really chuffed with myself (4 days of MTB this week) until I saw a very brave lady on a beautiful Vitus luminous green Cross bike go up the Chairlift in the drops:eek:

Very impressive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

Just did my first spin in 3 years, Tralee to Farranfore and back approx 42 km. Felt good beside the wind and rain and the two punctures but a very sound lad passing gave me a spare! Faith in humanity restored !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Fireball XL5

Nice spin up to Glencree today before the weather turned bad - 53k and knackered going up the hills! Must be gettin too old for this at 60. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,237 ✭✭✭✭dahat

3 consecutive days on the Turbo, I really need to get outdoors more , hopefully when the evenings stretch a but I can do a few sessions outdoors.

Really hanging on for the Sunday Spin each week.