The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

20170220_160816_zpsfodmwrq7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Goodlad....That's a fair old stint to be off the bike. I can see you selling.

Stew....how long to you expect the carbon to last? Is it carbon dipped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

Goodlad....That's a fair old stint to be off the bike. I can see you selling.

Stew....how long to you expect the carbon to last? Is it carbon dipped?

Not a hope tbh. I would sooner leave the fz1 sitting in a shed for another 6 months before i sold it. I dont really have any use for a bike these days since i work so close to home and only have a free day to drive it probably once or maybe twice a month but thats good enough. It can live in the shed out of the elements when not being used.

The stuff Stewy got is Hydro dipped. It will last for years. The stuff is fairly durable. I had bits done on my vstrom ages ago to test it. I dipped the bellypan to see how it held up on the daily commute at the time up the N7 every day. It was still perfect after 6 months

It was Goodlad who put me onto RJ Carbon.And it was his photos that made me decide to go for it.It looks like the real deal and it seems well done too,tough and scratch resistant.
    Jaysus Goodlad you are becomming the wize old man of Boards motorbike section with all these tips and contacts for us mere mortals.:pac::D

Get back out on that bike quick.
    Race ya.:P:D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

I like modding my bike more than driving it! haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Chiorino

How long did they take to do the job Stewy?

Chiorino wrote: »
    How long did they take to do the job Stewy?

Bang on 2 weeks.
    Was told that on the phone before dropping the parts down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

I haven't posted in this thread before, I've owned my VFR (06) since 08. Just got my forks back from VMTEK in Cork, progressive springs fitted, new oil, seals etc. It's only after I got the serviced forks back that I realised how saggy the front end was! Forks are back on, I also needed to replace the exhaust downpipes as they had rusted to sh1te! Ordered a new set from Delkevic, delivery was great, but the collector box needs to go back as some of the tubing is flattened on one side.
    Getting the old pipes off was a c**t of a job, every seized/corroded bolt was a fight, EZE outs and Irwin rounded bolt removers have been used extensively and I've had to cut the exhaust off in bits. It's off now, just waiting for the replacement box and it can all be bolted back together. At the start of December I was only gonna be giving the bike a quick service, almost €1000 later the bike is almost like new again...... just need a rear shock now, but funds won't allow that 'til later in the year.

VMTEK provide a great service.

Got the S1000rr back from Joe Duffy BMW today.

Turns out that the ABS and TC didnt need a recalibration for the wider 200 section rear tyre,as the paramaters are allready built into the electronics for a wider tyre.

They ordered new OEM banjo bolt washers and fixed the leaking HEL braided brake lines.

The new DID 520 chain and shorter Renthal gearing have turned her into a bit of a wheelie monster now.Went with a 16T front and a 45T rear.
    Just need to change my riding style to suit her now and keep the front wheel down a bit more often.:pac::D

Thanks to Dermot in Joe Duffy for sorting her out for me.:)

Also got a set of pillion footrests for the R1 for the girlfriend,as she wants to go out on the back of the R1 to Mondello.

Ebay Germany to the rescue for this one.:pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

2 drain plugs......................well for some eh?.:pac::p:D

Cant beat the Motul.:)

Another 2 today!:pac:
    t5i4q3kn.jpg

The frame is the oil tank:eek:
    hze4n9rm.jpg

One filter on drain plug on the frame
    amxob37n.jpg

The main filter is on right hand side.
    rfazyemz.jpg

Soaked the new filter in oil and then fitted it.
    kn4d4ngt.jpg

Put everything back and topped up with 2.5 litres of oil.
    Run the bike and there is an oil filter bleeder screw so this must be loosened while idling.
    Switch off,leave for a few minutes and add as much oil as needed.

Looking good Blade.:)

Today I changed the oil and filter on the S1000rr from Castrol to Motul and from OEM to KnN Filter.
    Also installed a race air filter too.
    Just have to get the inconel system on her tomorrow and then shes off down to Gary @ Mototuning to be mapped on the dyno.:)

Oil Filter wrench from Lidl for 3 euro in the bargain bin the other day too.:D

20170222_152209_zpsvlro6tsy.jpg

20170222_173246_zpsbsrutymk.jpg

20170222_173546_zpsflspknzp.jpg

20170222_173634_zpsy1bturdx.jpg

^^^^^^^^^^^°
    Bah!!! Only one drain plug!:P

blade1 wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^°
    Bah!!! Only one drain plug!:P

1 is enough.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Love the smell of the Motul oil, its like caramel!!!!

I use it all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Had a really nice day last weekend so I got the aux lights and new LED headlight installed. WOW, these lights are super bright.
    The majority of install time is assembling the lights, brackets, and wiring on the bench. the actual install on the bike took only minutes. Did have to cut a groove in a socket to make room for the power wire while torqueing the mounting nut.
    HL1_zpst3pdk9wg.jpg
    HL2_zps4mxuegxp.jpg
    HL3_zps13yaoxbs.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Airliner

Refitted the shock on my bike yesterday after Gary at Mototuning swaped out the spring for me. Was admiring stewygriffin's S1000rr whilst picking up the shock and accidentlay knocked it over. God, me and Gary had such a laugh, but it was was alright, he said no one would notice the dent on an already angular S1000rr tank........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

now Mr. Stephen there's a heart attack for you

Today I traded in my beloved MT01.
    QwMGGQs.jpg
    Took this yoke home instead,
    pRetav8.jpg
    Totally different to the MT in every way, ludicrously fast, smooth and refined. Loads of extras. Unfortunately won't have time for a proper spin on it until Sunday ðŸ™

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,915 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Why the hell Yamaha designed the R1 rear end they way they did is beyond me.A back end strip out just to stick on a set of pegs.Jeez..

Seems to me that bike designers are only interested in the part forward of the rider, they get some intern (or a random drunk dragged in off the street) to 'design' the rear end because nobody cares about that, right? So those bits you need to get at are impossibly hard to get at for no good reason. Those plastic panels you need to take off are almost impossible to remove without breaking the lugs. As for storage space... :pac:

This is my experience with Honda, Suzuki, Kawasaki and Triumph. I haven't yet owned a Yamaha or BMW but I wouldn't be optimistic.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

2010 GSX1250F ABS

Spent a good 3-4 hours trying to get the air out of my brakes lines yesterday, I even have a pressure vaccum and no joy. Replaced the piston seals in the calipers and just cannot get a good hard lever. Has to be air trapped in the ABS module or the like at this stage.....

Any other ideas lads ****ed if I am leaving it into a shop at this stage.....?

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    2010 GSX1250F ABS

Spent a good 3-4 hours trying to get the air out of my brakes lines yesterday, I even have a pressure vaccum and no joy. Replaced the piston seals in the calipers and just cannot get a good hard lever. Has to be air trapped in the ABS module or the like at this stage.....

Are the seals definitely in correctly, i.e if they are shamfered on one edge is it in the right direction?

it sounds like air is getting in, did you replace any of the caliper or lever bolts with new ones? If so try the old ones

I have no experience of bleeding abs brakes so have no idea about that aspect

Just back from the Nifty Fifty.Great craic down in Mondello today.:D

Would have loved to go in that.
    We used to have our own nifty fifty races down my way when we were teenagers!!!
    On a closed road of course!!!:pac:

blade1 wrote: »
    Would have loved to go in that.
    We used to have our own nifty fifty races down my way when we were teenagers!!!
    On a closed road of course!!!:pac:

Same here,the Darndale 500.:pac::pac:

It was good craic allright.posted some pics.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,314 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    2010 GSX1250F ABS

Abs pump has to be cycled if you have abs.

Same for any vehicle.

listermint wrote: »
    Abs pump has to be cycled if you have abs.

Same for any vehicle.

Not with the S1000rr,doesnt need to be cycled at all.
    Normal manual bleed works fine on them with the ABS pump.

Vacum line is ideal though,makes it dead handy on any bike.

Akra headers off the S1000rr and full AR inconel race system ready to go on.Should sound nice and raspy.:D
    Managed to get the pillion footpegs on the R1 tonight,to take her good ladyship out on the bike over the weekend.

20170224_115220_zps9g1irdbe.jpg

20170224_121021_zpsrdctaeuc.jpg

20170224_120013_zpsu2ghb0gd.jpg

20170224_204950_zpsnwzdiw0k.jpg

20170224_232919_zpsqaxdpfrw.jpg

Today I traded in my beloved MT01.
    QwMGGQs.jpg
    Took this yoke home instead,
    pRetav8.jpg
    Totally different to the MT in every way, ludicrously fast, smooth and refined. Loads of extras. Unfortunately won't have time for a proper spin on it until Sunday ðŸ™

me likey.:)