A 70" tv, a 2016 car and a Dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Grayson wrote: »
    So boards has turned into a place for doxing

It's terrible isn't it? After all that poor Paul Browne and his wife Sarah from Donaghmede with their picture in the Journal did to remain anonymous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

I don't see the problem?

A 70" TV = wow you can pick one up for a few hundred hardly bank breaking

A 2016 car = Eh finance anyone. Also could be cheaper than buying an old banger and keeping it on the road so smart move really

A dog = Now seriously some of you need to get out more and stop being drama queens.

I'm sure one of our investigators could easily check if the car is financed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

A 2016 car = Eh finance anyone. Also could be cheaper than buying an old banger and keeping it on the road so smart move really
    There is pretty much no way buying a car on finance will work out cheaper than buying a cheap car for a few grand. No matter what way you try to justify it, massage the figures, or assume worst case scenarios for used cars. Fact is it's a hugely depreciating asset.

Again, the fact that they can tie up a few hundred a month in car finance (assuming it's financed) yet can't or won't pay rent looks bad to a lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

Just had a look on Dublin Corp housing application form. The income limits range from approx 35k to 42k.
    Our pal here with 3 kids can afford to earn approx 41k and fulfill qualifying criteria.
    I'm surprised more people don't go on it with threshholds that high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

Graces7 wrote: »
    THank you for being the only poster to focus on the real issue here.

All reminds me of the old days when you had to sell your bed sheets before the "relief officers" would give any help...

All these benefits are based on actual income not on how you spend it. Which if he has been made redundant will be low indeed.

Not on how they lived when he was in work. Sure folk here will say they should have saved, but how many here do that?

And yes, a total mess by the council. Again!

I am in a similar mess because of a foul up. Waiting for rent allowance to be sorted as the system means that if you cross the county line ( and I was facing eviction where I was as the ll was selling the house and finding a place that allows RA? ) So at present I am paying full rent; am nearly 80 by the way and on a small pension. Cutting back on everything else to sort it as rent comes first. Whatever else goes, rent gets paid.

Well into the second month of this mess; at one place it lasted 7 months before it got sorted so I am not hoping for immediate action, and yes I took this cottage with full permission from ll re rent allowance.

This is not an instant award; the paperwork involved is amazing. Proof at every level and all gets checked.
    Amd no not social housing; private rental. So this family will not even be on a council list now.

As for luxuries; yes I have a roof and a bed and food. All I need. Even a small car that will soon be heading for the great scrapyard in the sky . No hope of replacing it.

SHOCK HORROR ! I have a dog! And cats! Rescues....Small dog who alerts m to any would be intruders. Vet visits are very very rare thankfully. I do not begrudge them their food, and beg at butcher shops.

That family has been messed about with by the Council; who are we to judge?
    Does everyone here live prudently in case they suddenly lose their jobs?

My generation was raised to know how to manage with little; seems today's folk are now.Also we could not buy on HP
    Graces7 wrote: »
    HAP is a more complicated system than RA and allows for people to top up rent if their house is higher than the limit we have with RA. So they pay more and can also thus take a better house. And they can still get HAP if they are in effect less dependent on welfare than they would be on RA.

When I moved, I was told that as I was getting RA where I lived before and because of my advanced age. I would still be on RA even though this is an HAP area. I was also told that I was lucky ( by HSE) as HAP applications take up to 8 weeks to come through.

Checks re rigorous as is right.

I seem to remember from somewhere on boards reading that these days there is a Garda vetting?

RA and HAP are not instant. Any landlord or agent surely knows that? I was prepared for some delay. Not for the foul up that has developed .

To lose a job when you have kids etc is a trauma.

Redundancy, loosing a job
    Have you read the article? If so, why are you making up "alternative facts? "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

cisk wrote: »
    Captions like "Just leave this here" on a brand new 20k car, "damn you sports mode" and posts a picture of a speeding fine.

Some neck.

I switched on sports mode on a Hyundai i40 one time. All it does is turn on a light on the dash

The article says the council paid the deposit

“They then proceeded to transfer the deposit and two months rent to the landlord and we moved in.

What the council say about deposits

"If your landlord requires a deposit, you will have to pay this yourself – the local authority will not pay it for you. You may be able to get an Exceptional Needs Payment to help with paying the deposit."

So they buy a new car and hit up the council for "exceptional needs payment" for a deposit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Yet taxpayers are paying their rent for them.

Is there any of these "impending homelessness" stories legit?

Are the people who rent privately/pay mortgages mugs?

Yes I think we are.

http://www.thejournal.ie/homeless-dublin-family-staff-parkgate-hall-3243257-Feb2017/

TLDR

Family get basically free house from taxpayer,

Family get letter in error from the council.

Nothing else happens

I don't see the problem?

A 70" TV = wow you can pick one up for a few hundred hardly bank breaking

A dog = Now seriously some of you need to get out more and stop being drama queens.

70" TV = €1500 minimum. YOU DONT HAVE A JOB MATE.

Don't buy a car on finance if you don't have a job, goes without saying.

Also a new car is always more expensive than an old car. 100% of the time.

The dog is probably fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,363 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

People really have no shame any more. In the past you'd be embarrassed to be in the papers admitting you were in trouble, now everyone has a brass neck because its a good way of getting sorted out and jumping queues and waiting lists.

I just wish some of these websites and papers would do some more questioning before publishing stories....the Sindo has one too about some young girl lviing in a hotel with her 4yr old and mother who has cancer, but so many obvious questions are being ignored in all these stories.

NIMAN wrote: »
    People really have no shame any more. In the past you'd be embarrassed to be in the papers admitting you were in trouble, now everyone has a brass neck because its a good way of getting sorted out and jumping queues and waiting lists.

I just wish some of these websites and papers would do some more questioning before publishing stories....the Sindo has one too about some young girl lviing in a hotel with her 4yr old and mother who has cancer, but so many obvious questions are being ignored in all these stories.

Yes, I read the story about the welfare tourist who moved back from liverpool to live with her homeless daughter. It certainly does raise lots of questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

colm_mcm wrote: »
    There is pretty much no way buying a car on finance will work out cheaper than buying a cheap car for a few grand. No matter what way you try to justify it, massage the figures, or assume worst case scenarios for used cars. Fact is it's a hugely depreciating asset.

Again, the fact that they can tie up a few hundred a month in car finance (assuming it's financed) yet can't or won't pay rent looks bad to a lot of people.

I just started driving last year. I bought an old car for €800 and spent €150 on parts to make some improvements to it. As a learner driver with a car over 10 years old my insurance was steep, though somewhat mitigated by my age. My emissions tax was low as I went with a small engine. Dividing the costs over 12 months comes to less a month than this man's brother says his monthly car repayments are. In fact the difference is slightly more than I spend on petrol each month. There is just no way on earth that buying a cheap car could ever possibly turn out to be more expensive than buying a new one, my entire annual running costs are less than his finance alone. And hopefully my insurance costs will start to go down once I get a full license and build up a no claims bonus. If/when I go to trade up, I'll probably be able to sell my car for not too much less than I paid for it. And if it ever conks out and will cost more than it's worth to fix, I'll break it up and sell it piece by piece as parts (like the seller I bought my parts from did). Either way, selling my car will pay most of the cost of a replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,045 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

bubblypop wrote: »
    No one needs money for a brand new car.
    PCP finance?

If you can afford to finance a new car, surely you should pay your own rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Certainly if the Facebook page is anything to go by, he gives the impression of a guy who would milk "the system" and have a laugh about it. We seem to have come to a point where that's actually something people accept as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

iguana wrote: »
    I just started driving last year. I bought an old car for €800 and spent €150 on parts to make some improvements to it. As a learner driver with a car over 10 years old my insurance was steep, though somewhat mitigated by my age. My emissions tax was low as I went with a small engine. Dividing the costs over 12 months comes to less a month than this man's brother says his monthly car repayments are. In fact the difference is slightly more than I spend on petrol each month. There is just no way on earth that buying a cheap car could ever possibly turn out to be more expensive than buying a new one, my entire annual running costs are less than his finance alone. And hopefully my insurance costs will start to go down once I get a full license and build up a no claims bonus. If/when I go to trade up, I'll probably be able to sell my car for not too much less than I paid for it. And if it ever conks out and will cost more than it's worth to fix, I'll break it up and sell it piece by piece as parts (like the seller I bought my parts from did). Either way, selling my car will pay most of the cost of a replacement.

I have been driving (good) old bangers for years. Mr M and I did the sums, as he was arguing maybe I should turn to newer cars as it might be better value. I didn't because it simply wasn't. It makes total sense to drive a banger if you just want functionality for cheap. (Insurance refusals are an issue now though)

He's got a nice, newer car, because he wanted it, simple as.
    You can't always get what you want, except when the system's got your back, for some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Banana Republican

mickdw wrote: »
    If you can afford to finance a new car, surely you should pay your own rent.

Eh car finance can be as little as 250 a month. Find me a place to rent in Dublin for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Eh car finance can be as little as 250 a month. Find me a place to rent in Dublin for that.

It's hardly a matter of a car or paying rent. But, the car payments could go towards the rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,492 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Again, even the cheapest PCP requires a deposit of several thousand €

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I have been driving (good) old bangers for years. Mr M and I did the sums, as he was arguing maybe I should turn to newer cars as it might be better value. I didn't because it simply wasn't. It makes total sense to drive a banger if you just want functionality for cheap. (Insurance refusals are an issue now though)

It's hardly a banger if it's working well though is it? My car may be 15 years old but it runs just fine, is as fuel efficient as a non-hybrid can be, doesn't struggle even slightly on steep hills or at 120km. It looks just fine, in fact I think it's pretty nice when it's cleaned up. It's far from fancy and now that I'm comfortable driving with music on, I'm debating whether I should try root my cds out of the attic or take a chance on an FM transmitter because my radio doesn't have an AUX port but in terms of getting me from A to B, I'm not sure what a newer car would do so much better to justify the expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I may have missed it, but where does it say he doesn't have a job? Look like he was working full time. His employer (Sorry went a-stalking) hasn't made anyone redundant.

He apparently does have a job, it says in the article.

420 child benefit

His brother was also homeless, seems to be the family business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭dexter_morgan

420 child benefit

Some people never dream of building or buying their own house. They think they are entitled to a home that someone else pays for. A relative of my wife recently told me about her troubles trying to get a house. She seem baffled when I told her that I had to pay for my own house.

Same person is on single parent allowance. Child benefit for 3 children and another on the way. Her partner is also on welfare (who apparently doesn't live with her). Every time I meet her she complains about the government and rich people not paying enough tax!

I often thought about reporting her.

420 child benefit

He can flip off for himself then.

New policy;

Lad- "I don't have a house"

Govt- "Yeah, so?"

Lad- "I have nippers though"

Govt- "Orphanage is that way mate"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

420 child benefit

The same brother now saying that is he who pays the 290 for the car? It's on a lease he says, even though you can't lease in another person's name and also the gobdaw himself has been posting speeding fines so he must be the registered owner of it.

They'd be doing well to turn the wifi off in their gaff for a while and lie low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A dog is clearly the height of excess. Used to have one myself but had to give him up for adoption after I was spending thousands a week on dog food
    I had to sell drugs to support my dog, any time she got sick I had to rob cars to pay for the vet.
    What the council say about deposits

"If your landlord requires a deposit, you will have to pay this yourself – the local authority will not pay it for you. You may be able to get an Exceptional Needs Payment to help with paying the deposit."

Council: We'll pay the rent, but we won't pay the deposit, you'll have to find that money yourself.

Scrounger: Ah come on I'm broke, please pay the deposit for me.

Council: Hmm, OK. But this is the last time.

Scrounger: Thanks council, you're the best.

razorblunt wrote: »
    The same brother now saying that is he who pays the 290 for the car? It's on a lease he says, even though you can't lease in another person's name and also the gobdaw himself has been posting speeding fines so he must be the registered owner of it.

They'd be doing well to turn the wifi off in their gaff for a while and lie low.

Yes. The very same lad :pac:

Under an article on the hearlds fb page about increasing rents, he tells his story of drug riddled hostels and homelesness as a single male.He had to sleep on the streets causing him to lose his job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Banana Republican

Some people never dream of building or buying their own house. They think they are entitled to a home that someone else pays for. A relative of my wife recently told me about her troubles trying to get a house. She seem baffled when I told her that I had to pay for my own house.

Same person is on single parent allowance. Child benefit for 3 children and another on the way. Her partner is also on welfare (who apparently doesn't live with her). Every time I meet her she complains about the government and rich people not paying enough tax!

I often thought about reporting her.

You do realise people on rent allowance or in social housing don't get the house free? They pay a percentage of their wages towards the rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,845 ✭✭✭✭maccored

You'd have to go to his facebook page for those kind of facts. They wouldn't fit well beside the sad face picture abd woe is me story in the journal

read more of the comments and you see his brother bought him the car

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

maccored wrote: »
    read more of the comments and you see his brother bought him the car

This is the same brother that is homeless........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,106 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

A big screen tv these days is hardly the luxury item it once was.