Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

dog attack on sheep, please always know where your dog is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

PucaMama wrote: »
    You say it was being walked. Was it with its owner? Under control? Out of control? Trying to understand why you shot it here.

owners were a long way away. if it was under control it would of been beside them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Being walked on farmland without a lead unless it's at the owners heel or within a number of feet of the owner means it is not under control. I've had to put down a cow chased into a drain, never walked again once pulled out with a back injury and sweating and heartbeat going 90 due to fear and pain, had calves chased thru wire fencing with subsequent injuries, a cornered cow with lacerations to her face by gs and rotties. The damage a simple chase, which is not "only playing, to pregnant ewes is horrific. Abortions heart attacks etc. Dont have sheep but i would suggest an owner of a dog caught worrying sheep should be brought on site to deal with the aftermath physically as well as financially.
    Every case we dealt with no owner would accept responsibility and worse didn't even change their ways. 3 dogs, after multiple naive warnings, killed due to irresponsible owners. I see anyone walking dogs off lead on our land will be told to leave whether livestock are near or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

kathleen37 wrote: »
    I'm genuinely being respectful here, as I think that so many people are unaware of what can happen to sheep when they are chased. Sheep die of fright. They flock together and the whole flock can die. A dog doesn't have to touch them for this to happen. Pregnant ewes can abort. And this can happen with not one sheep actually being touched by a dog. Needless to say, if a dog attacks a sheep, then that outcome is also devastating.

I've been a veg for over 35 years. I've been involved in animal/wildlife rescue for nearly as long. I genuinely love animals, especially dogs (and sheep)

But I completely understand why farmers shoot dogs which are unrestrained and have potential to destroy a flock.

Which is why it gives me the complete rage that some people don't care enough about their animals to protect them from being shot unnecessarily.

Which is why I was asking. Dog wasn't being walked if it was off in another field chasing livestock. It was let walk itself.

would you believe it dogs sometime run away from their walkers chasing after a scent or whatever!

and theres dog leads in lidl this week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

ganmo wrote: »
    would you believe it dogs sometime run away from their walkers chasing after a scent or whatever!

and theres dog leads in lidl this week...
    I wouldn't be recommending dog leads from lidl.

better than none

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

better than none

Not if it snaps and the dog gets loose.

muddypaws wrote: »
    Not if it snaps and the dog gets loose.

so a lead that might break is better than none?!

i think i'll start making wire rope leads so

if the rope of the lead breaks there'd be at least catch on the collar and if the clasp breaks you still have the rope that you could tie to the collar

so a lead that might break is better than none?!

i think i'll start making wire rope leads so

if the rope of the lead breaks there'd be at least catch on the collar and if the clasp breaks you still have the rope that you could tie to the collar

OK, you're absolutely right buying a cheap lead is better than none at all, because when it does go wrong, its grand, cos at least you tried.

If the lead breaks, it will be because the dog was pulling, and so the dog will be gone, there will be nothing to tie onto the collar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

They are good quality. Most from LIDL is.

Where I lived once, a dog got loose in a field full of in-lamb ewes. Eleven died, some with their throats torn out and others aborted.

Farmer shot the dog and put a big ad in the paper. ANY DOG SEEN ON MY LAND WILL BE SHOT.

Similarly by the cable car at Dursey a sign banning dogs with the words DOGS HAVE BEEN SHOT

People love to see their dogs run free but need to respect farmland. If mine ever got loose I would expect the outcome. In- lamb ewes in the fields around the cottage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

Graces7 wrote: »
    They are good quality. Most from LIDL is.

I don't think they are for bigger dogs... a friend bought me an extendable one for my husky a while ago because they knew I was waiting to buy a new one. I used it but the first time she pulled at all it broke the extendable break and off she went (lucky only till the end of the lead). The proper one for her size cost 48 euro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

OK, you're absolutely right buying a cheap lead is better than none at all, because when it does go wrong, its grand, cos at least you tried.

If the lead breaks, it will be because the dog was pulling, and so the dog will be gone, there will be nothing to tie onto the collar.

Plus if the dog was on a lead, pulled very hard because he smelled/heard the sheep in the neighbouring field, snapped the cheap lidl lead and ran onto the field.....it still would have got shot by the farmer because at that moment it was out of control, despite the owners doing everything they could have to keep their dog under control.

It would be a tough situation - the dog owners did what they could to keep their dog on the lead and the farmer (rightly so) doesn't give the dog a chance to hassle the flock and shoots it. There's no winners there!

The above situation might be hypothetical but its definitely plausible. I have two steam trains posed as dogs at home. When it comes to leads collars and harnesses, I do invest my money on a good one that wont snap! Stay away from lidl and dealz leads!

Ashbx wrote: »
    Plus if the dog was on a lead, pulled very hard because he smelled/heard the sheep in the neighbouring field, snapped the cheap lidl lead and ran onto the field.....it still would have got shot by the farmer because at that moment it was out of control, despite the owners doing everything they could have to keep their dog under control.

It would be a tough situation - the dog owners did what they could to keep their dog on the lead and the farmer (rightly so) doesn't give the dog a chance to hassle the flock and shoots it. There's no winners there!

The above situation might be hypothetical but its definitely plausible. I have two steam trains posed as dogs at home. When it comes to leads collars and harnesses, I do invest my money on a good one that wont snap! Stay away from lidl and dealz leads!

I am completely paranoid and always use two leads. Husky owner, nuff said.

imo retractable leads are shi te in general

But when the dog does not get off lead, they give a bit of freedom. I use a retractable lead and it gives my girl freedom while I am still in control. She is also wearing a handle lead so that if for any reason she gets loose she still has the handle to catch if she is close to me. She has never got loose from her lead but I still have her wear the handle just in case.

And lethal when people are out walking dogs in the evening/night as others walking or running can easily trip over them. Should be outlawed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭pawrick

I have a couple of retractable leads. I upgraded as my dog grew so the current one covers dogs of up to and beyond her weight and is very solid, however, too many people are probably using ill suited types for their dogs size + just aren't strong enough to hold on to them if a dog gets running. There is also the issue of using them in suitable surroundings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭dashoonage

hahahaha i thought that was just me!

I've an Akita cross and use two as well!

I've a short one and a long on joined together. The short one is like a little loop so i can keep her at me side and the longer one lets her out to the required restricted breed two meters.

Anyway your paranoia is well served! the catch on the short one broke on me one day out walking and i was able to just switch to the long one!

I think my entire walking setup must be over 100 euro worth with harness leads and muzzle..a small price to pay for the doggies safety and to make sure she doesnt bother other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

And lethal when people are out walking dogs in the evening/night as others walking or running can easily trip over them. Should be outlawed.

Why would you run between an owner and their dog anyway? I always run to the side where the dog isn't.

razorblunt wrote: »
    Why would you run between an owner and their dog anyway? I always run to the side where the dog isn't.

As would I but firstly depending on where it is its not always possible and secondly dogs tend to dart around on them so can suddenly run across your path etc.

I think that it is your responsibility to watch where you are going weather you are running or walking!

AryaStark wrote: »
    I think that it is your responsibility to watch where you are going weather you are running or walking!

Yeah because it's so easy to see that a dog 10 or 15ft from their owner is actually on a lead rather than off the lead when it's dusk or in poor street lighting.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Folks,
    Can we get back on topic now, please?
    Thanks.
    DBB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

As would I but firstly depending on where it is its not always possible and secondly dogs tend to dart around on them so can suddenly run across your path etc.

That's a fair enough point, I ran into a lead once when out on a jog. Idiotic dog ownership there. Since then I've been lucky enough that the owners actually bring the dog to them/move over when you're trundling along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

razorblunt wrote: »
    That's a fair enough point, I ran into a lead once when out on a jog. Idiotic dog ownership there. Since then I've been lucky enough that the owners actually bring the dog to them/move over when you're trundling along.

If the dog is on a lead ye are not happy and if it's off lead ye are not happy.its public space and the person with the dog has as much right to be there as long as their animal is under control and cleaned up after as Johnny "aldi gear" the jogger has.
    Why don't you try jogging with your eyes open the next time and show some responsibility for your own actions instead of blaming everyone else for your own mistakes.
    Maybe everyone should stay indoors while ye are out running incase a delay would occur saying hello to someone or sidestepping a dog and ruining your personal best time?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Folks,
    Maybe my warning a few posts ago wasn't obvious enough.
    This thread is not about joggers and extending leads.
    And CassCass4444, it's certainly not on for posters to be so scathing towards one another. Dial it back please.
    Now, back on topic or there will be actions taken for repeated ignoring of a mod's on-thread instructions.
    DBB

About straying stock that posters feel might endanger their stock?

A good few years ago now, a farmer abandoned a few sheep on my land ;"spare" rams mostly.

I contacted various authorities and was told that if that happened I could legally keep them and/or they would be impounded.

The gardai etc are reluctant to do it as it takes them time to round them up and transport them, but it works .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,347 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Do people not have there dogs trained to come to them when called, and also to lie down, it would save a lot of trouble if a lead breaks, why do people allow there dogs to pull constantly on the lead.

As others have said, when a dog takes off after sheep they go crazy. I had a collie who was a car chaser. Took her in when she was 5. I used to walk the dogs in my landlords's field ( with his permission) in the early hours as although the fences were good, ..... At the least sound of an engine she would. although usually I had good recall, take off at high speed. No lead (and I did not use leads there) would have stopped her without taking my hand off.

At all other times, she was docile and obedient. Many dogs are like that with other critters. Collie was great with sheep by the way as I worked them with her.