If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Had an interesting talk, recently, with someone who works as a lecturer in an art school (school shall remain nameless, his area of expertise is history, or art history-I think). Anyway, he's only been working in this art school for a good year or two (previous experience in another college) and one of his colleagues spoke to him about how, incredulously, a number of students coming into the fashion degree program don't know how to sew. Something that was taught in Home Economics, in many schools, they cannot do. So, the lecturers themselves have to teach students how to do something that even national school kids, years ago, could do. It's a module, now, I believe.

The reason for this lack of sewing expertise? The lecturer blames it on feminism. Much of the students they get in fashion design are girls and young women (with the exception of males, too), and they have so embraced the 'feminist' agenda, that sewing and cooking is something they cannot do-it's 'archaic', oppressive in their eyes.
    It's completely ridiculous, tbh. I've never accidentally killed anyone, but I have the distinct ability to cook. Probably could sew a button or two if I had to. The sad thing is, sewing and cooking are survival skills, tbh. Embracing such a harsh view of them shows an inherent devolution.

Obviously, with colleges and resources being kind of crap, the lecturer was none too pleased at having to teach a subject taught in secondary schools, a mere few years ago. But in order to hold onto the limited resources they have, they have to teach it.

Just saw that and reminded myself of the difference in attitudes- LoN's mom is able to cook and do all sorts of adult stuff (the mentioning of her mom making her dad a cake for Valentine's day by LoN, I found a really sweet thing to do-then I thought 'how many people can actually bake or cook for their sweethearts?' (male or female). And then I realised...Lon probably cannot. Cos patriarchy).
    Hence why no dude will stick around.
    (Also her tweeting 'my birthday is 12 days after valentines day, so when I had boyfriends I would dump em in march so I got mah presents...') Yeah...cannot see why she's single...

The domestic arts were not the done thing when I was growing up. Not in my circle, at least. I can cook and bake, but I've only just learned to sew in the past year. And yes they were seen as a bit oppressive and 1950's housewife. 1950s housewife's getting a bit of a revival now. People realise it's optional and there's nothing wrong with it.

'' A close friend called for tea recently, and after an hour I looked at my watch, smiled, and said “Ok, I’ve had enough. It’s time for you to leave now.'' ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Had an interesting talk, recently, with someone who works as a lecturer in an art school (school shall remain nameless, his area of expertise is history, or art history-I think). Anyway, he's only been working in this art school for a good year or two (previous experience in another college) and one of his colleagues spoke to him about how, incredulously, a number of students coming into the fashion degree program don't know how to sew. Something that was taught in Home Economics, in many schools, they cannot do. So, the lecturers themselves have to teach students how to do something that even national school kids, years ago, could do. It's a module, now, I believe.

The reason for this lack of sewing expertise? The lecturer blames it on feminism. Much of the students they get in fashion design are girls and young women (with the exception of males, too), and they have so embraced the 'feminist' agenda, that sewing and cooking is something they cannot do-it's 'archaic', oppressive in their eyes.
    It's completely ridiculous, tbh. I've never accidentally killed anyone, but I have the distinct ability to cook. Probably could sew a button or two if I had to. The sad thing is, sewing and cooking are survival skills, tbh. Embracing such a harsh view of them shows an inherent devolution.

Obviously, with colleges and resources being kind of crap, the lecturer was none too pleased at having to teach a subject taught in secondary schools, a mere few years ago. But in order to hold onto the limited resources they have, they have to teach it.

Just saw that and reminded myself of the difference in attitudes- LoN's mom is able to cook and do all sorts of adult stuff (the mentioning of her mom making her dad a cake for Valentine's day by LoN, I found a really sweet thing to do-then I thought 'how many people can actually bake or cook for their sweethearts?' (male or female). And then I realised...Lon probably cannot. Cos patriarchy).
    (Also her tweeting 'my birthday is 12 days after valentines day, so when I had boyfriends I would dump em in march so I got mah presents...') Yeah...cannot see why she's single...

I can't sew (could sew a button or whatever) has nothing to do with feminism, just my own laziness. Didn't do home economics as I wanted to do art instead. Nothing at all to do with oppression (perceived or otherwise). I bake alot, just have no "sweetheart" to share it with so im slowly getting fat alone :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

She clearly hates men and then wonders why she is single. Even if she had a boyfriend can you imagine her ever cooking a cake for him. Not in a million years. Id say she would do no favours for any man. So once rampant sexual attraction part of her relationships died down id imagine the relationship would have nowhere to go. I just imagine her relationship full of pettiness and faultfinding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

timmy880 wrote: »
    While Louise O'Neill got the ball rolling, people like this aren't really doing the movement any favours. Their aim doesn't seem to remove any sort of rape culture in Ireland that they believe to exist. They're just rushing to the nearest website to tell stories about "Proof that rape culture exists".... And then block out or shout above anyone asking legitimate follow up questions to their claims.

Real feminists should probably be taking a dim view of the likes of LON and the other tall tale merchant from the journal. They are basically make a mockery of the movement for a paycheck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I bet you dollar to donut that this story is completely fabricated.

If you want to be a good third wave feminist, you need your token sexual harassment story to get on the happy happy joy joy make me some money victim train.

Women who have been through traumatic sexual experiences, they don't talk about it with almost glee like this piece does.

That is one of the most bullsh1t articles I've ever come across.

And then there's this quote: Growing up in Waterford, I experienced this form of sexual terrorism on a daily basis

This is nothing more than attention-seeking nonsense.

She should try growing up in South Africa where a woman is actually raped about once every 5 minutes on average, or in many parts of Saudi Arabia or Pakistan where women have about the same status as dogs. 'Growing up in Waterford', Jesus wept.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,384 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The worst thing about trying to discuss these issues with someone is that the nature of the subject of rape is inherently sensitive. Some people just can't seem to accept questioning an abrasive view point, as anything other than diminishing the sensitivity of the subject.

I only read the opening paragraph of the article being discussed recently in this thread then glanced through the subheaders/quotes. It was written as drama and was quite over sensational. Not for want of dredging fables, but there is a strong feeling of "Boy who Cries Wolf." There's a whole load of false alarms being directed towards us online. That in itself is diminishing the sensitivity of the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,666 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/male-aggression-is-out-of-control-3231703-Feb2017/

I really have to question the accusations in this piece- and where she's coming from in terms of her psychoanalysis-plus the allegation of violence at the gym? IF it were true, name the gym, and make sure the gardai were told.
    No use revealing it on twitter-or facebook-doesn't stop it happening again.

Seriously doubt her allegations, as well as the mention of rape on tv shows-like, that's fiction. (Also loses me when mentioning Amy Schumer-a woman who joked about her actually raping a guy, which happened).

Also, as the comments below note-the 'author' is often using her instagram to promote stuff like 'jeans that will make men wolf whistle at you'...dear sweet jeebus, the irony is strong, so strong...

What kind of gym allows members play their own songs on the gym's speakers? And if they did just go to a staff member and ask if different music could be put on. Complete fabrication of a story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭vg88

I understand your point, but disagree that it's the result of feminism. As someone who is just out of school and college, many of the kids now have more money then you can imagine. What's the point of learn to fix something when a new one is just as cheap, or why better cooking when tesco pizza is so cheap.

It's more of being cheaper and easier getting new rather than fixing imo for the current generation. I learned to sew and cook outside school (cubs and scouts), never had the chance without school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

moloner4 wrote: »
    I understand your point, but disagree that it's the result of feminism. As someone who is just out of school and college, many of the kids now have more money then you can imagine. What's the point of learn to fix something when a new one is just as cheap, or why better cooking when tesco pizza is so cheap.

It's more of being cheaper and easier getting new rather than fixing imo for the current generation. I learned to sew and cook outside school (cubs and scouts), never had the chance without school.

Well what I found weird about it is that a friend of mine, who's into fashion, into art, and probably around the same age as you (just a guess, not trying to be a smart@ss) is deeply immersed in sewing and knitting. And it was taught in her school, but it wasn't 'forced' on people-like, it was even a part of art classes in some secondary schools (rather than home ec).

So for some-it sort of comes down to a hobby, or relaxation or something similar.Like, I could understand the 'it's cheaper to buy a new one' but when people cannot sew a button, or in the case of their college degree, sewing is integral to creating projects-that leaves me with serious questions. Especially the college thing. I mean, I would even wonder about commitment to the task at hand if, in college, one cannot do a required task. It's like enlisting in art school, and not knowing how to draw.

I think the point is, buying new and cheap and disposable/short life items isn't the best way, economically or environmentally. One of the worst polluters of the planet is 'Fast Fashion' industry. I know most people ''just out of college'' don't care about this but personally, I think they should have been educated to at least be aware of it. There is also civic education class, or something like it, after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

What's the point of learn to fix something when a new one is just as cheap, or why better cooking when tesco pizza is so cheap.
    Really? Honest to God, really??

You make me sad that you don't already know what so terribly wrong with that statement.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Zulu wrote: »

You make me sad that you don't already know what so terribly wrong with that statement.

Yea tesco pizza is shocking...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

aidan24326 wrote: »
    That is one of the most bullsh1t articles I've ever come across.

And then there's this quote: Growing up in Waterford, I experienced this form of sexual terrorism on a daily basis

This is nothing more than attention-seeking nonsense.

She should try growing up in South Africa where a woman is actually raped about once every 5 minutes on average, or in many parts of Saudi Arabia or Pakistan where women have about the same status as dogs. 'Growing up in Waterford', Jesus wept.

What happens when she goes home for the weekend or goes to a school reunion or even meets her parents or siblings?

If my daughter were to say "growing up in dublin, I experienced sexual terrorism on a daily basis" I would feel so ashamed that she was routinely abused in the most horrible way but didnt feel able to tell me about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Also, when you look at it-some things aren't as easy as just 'getting a new one'. Family heirlooms for one thing-it's more important to fix it than get a new one. Sort of like preserving their memory.

Also, the 'quick fix meal'-it's often horrendous and terrible for one's health. Full of salt, saturates. Crap, basically. A home cooked meal is sooooo much better-I remember living with a room mate who was helping a girl he fancied learn how to cook...he had to start her with the basics, boiling an egg.
    Him and me, on the other hand, had been cooking since we could remember. I can remember, vividly, my mum and dad having me do small tasks in the kitchen (at a very young age) and then working up and up until I was cooking the dinner while they were at work. (They would get back late-worked on our farm, so all sorts of things could crop up too, delaying em) Being in school, and a teenager at this stage (and we're always hungry at that age), and knowing the ropes, I was cooking dinner. My bro would often help out too, but stayed away from any spices or pepper (allergies).
    It was organic to me-I've even cooked for girls...cos you know, fastest way to her heart and all that.
    Its worth knowing how to cook-it's not the fancy manicures, 'gelled hair and pecs' that keep a guy or girl around-it's general survival skills.

Also, when you look at it-some things aren't as easy as just 'getting a new one'. Family heirlooms for one thing-it's more important to fix it than get a new one. Sort of like preserving their memory.

Also, the 'quick fix meal'-it's often horrendous and terrible for one's health. Full of salt, saturates. Crap, basically. A home cooked meal is sooooo much better-I remember living with a room mate who was helping a girl he fancied learn how to cook...he had to start her with the basics, boiling an egg.
    Him and me, on the other hand, had been cooking since we could remember. I can remember, vividly, my mum and dad having me do small tasks in the kitchen (at a very young age) and then working up and up until I was cooking the dinner while they were at work. (They would get back late-worked on our farm, so all sorts of things could crop up too, delaying em) Being in school, and a teenager at this stage (and we're always hungry at that age), and knowing the ropes, I was cooking dinner. My bro would often help out too, but stayed away from any spices or pepper (allergies).
    It was organic to me-I've even cooked for girls...cos you know, fastest way to her heart and all that.
    Its worth knowing how to cook-it's not the fancy manicures, 'gelled hair and pecs' that keep a guy or girl around-it's general survival skills.

General survival skills, yes! Also known as having ''a bit of cop-on'' in Limerick!

I also want to add that if replacing a top or a pair of jeans or whatever clothing is cheaper than mending it, I'd love to know where people are buying their clothes. Or maybe I wouldn't!

As for cooking, there's lots of ways to learn, from the internet to people like Jamie Oliver who's still relatively young, and fairly interesting to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

General survival skills, yes! Also known as having ''a bit of cop-on'' in Limerick!

I also want to add that if replacing a top or a pair of jeans or whatever clothing is cheaper than mending it, I'd love to know where people are buying their clothes. Or maybe I wouldn't!

As for cooking, there's lots of ways to learn, from the internet to people like Jamie Oliver who's still relatively young, and fairly interesting to watch.

A godsend when it comes to finding quick recipes. The BBC is a good example.

So simple even I can't f!!! them up. :)

A godsend when it comes to finding quick recipes. The BBC is a good example.

So simple even I can't f!!! them up. :)

There's even one, possibly the BBC, that you can input whatever ingredients you have, and it provides recipes you can make with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭vg88

For me this is not true (made a decent soup for lunch and a stir fry for dinner from scratch), but it is for many others of my generation. I was just playing devils advocate as many of my generation would often state this or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

What happens when she goes home for the weekend or goes to a school reunion or even meets her parents or siblings?

She lets out a gutteral, visceral scream as she remembers the daily terror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

fullstop wrote: »
    She lets out a gutteral, visceral scream as she remembers the daily terror.

Indeed, Waterford is clearly a very dangerous place.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

darkdubh wrote: »

Oh please somebody share this with LON...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,416 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I don't think she was really pissed off there, I think she was playing it up as a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I reckon the only people who actually attended were people to check who was and wasn't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Who actually gives these workshops and lectures on consent?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I don't think she was really pissed off there, I think she was playing it up as a joke.

She was playing it up but trying quite hard to keep in her indignation especially at the .35 mark where she lets out that weird "yeah" exclamation and the look on her face said it all.

Who actually gives these workshops and lectures on consent?

No doubt some deranged feminist twat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Very interesting posts the last few days.
    givyjoe wrote: »

Not even remotely justifying any of it, but you have to be smarter and not get involved in these situations to start with. Poking the bear and what not..

I firmly believe that in general, the scumbags roaring and behaving aggressively towards women are the same towards men. They just vary their insults depending on gender.
    It's far-fetched but as someone said in a comment, they could have been ''roid heads'' and they're hardly representative of 'alpha males' as she calls them.

First thing I thought of as well.
    I bet you dollar to donut that this story is completely fabricated.

If you want to be a good third wave feminist, you need your token sexual harassment story to get on the happy happy joy joy make me some money victim train.

Women who have been through traumatic sexual experiences, they don't talk about it with almost glee like this piece does.

I'm in partial agreement. I don't want to give the article another click but I am not sure she said she was a direct victim of sexual assault. It is very hard to talk about publicly, and even Louise O'Neill herself seemed more reticent than usual when she disclosed it. It's a bit like Lena Dunham's "I wish I had an abortion" comment.

Which brings me onto...
    red ears wrote: »
    And people who know her and the owners of her local gym (if she even has one) will likely know of her and which gym she goes too.

Not only that, but I do hope she cleared with her friend who was gang-raped that it was ok to mention it in the article. I imagine as Waterford is a small place a gang-rape victim would be swiftly identified. I know if someone disclosed my own assault to the media I'd be furious.
    I find it strange that she goes from very distressing real-life incidents to popular culture and never moves beyond an admittedly chilling moment from Broadchurch to make her point. Is that research?

Unfortunately for people educated in English lit etc, twisting literature and popular culture has become as factual as actual research in their eyes.
    orubiru wrote: »
    You have to wonder what the target audience is for content like this. 63,869 views.

I feel like there is no credibility when you have a Feminist complaining about the danger caused by "Masculinity". Realistically, she has a strong ideological basis for telling an anecdote where "men" have done a bad thing.

I think anyone who has been to a gym will know that there is behavior that can range from the annoyance of people leaving towels and empty bottles all over the place to irritating loud grunting when lifting weights to outright fighting over equipment.

I think, for the most part, that we can all accept the basic principles that bad things happen and that some people are a-holes. So an anecdote doesn't tell us anything we don't already know.

The more relevant question is just how many people are behaving this way?

We quickly move on from that though and the basic premise is that childhood remarks and insults lead to aggressive behavior at the gym and this then ultimately leads to rape.

"It eventually resulted in the gang rape of one of my friends. While she attempted suicide many times, these boys went on to become men with careers and families, cementing their place in a society where the sole responsibility of preventing rape is placed on the woman."

Society is in a lose-lose situation here.

On one hand we can't ask that women take responsibility for preventing rape. On the other hand we can't reach into the minds of rapists to stop them from raping.

Society is to blame though. Western Culture is to blame. There's this thing in that movie or that show or this joke or that thing the guy on the radio said. TV causes rape. Songs cause rape. Jokes cause rape.

This is how we are expected to understand the crime. This is how we are expected to stop the crime.

These bad people over here, right, the angry guy at the gym, the boys who participated in a gang rape, Brock Turner, Roman Polanski, the bad villain from TV? If we just took away their TV and their Internet then these things would never happen.

We have left reality behind here. We're not looking at these crimes and the motives behind them. We are looking at a crime that has been committed for MILLENNIA and asking "do you think jokes on Twitter are causing this".

Here's the weird thing. People like this want to be pedantic about the definitions of "sexism" or "rape culture" or even "feminism". However, when it comes to proving the causal relationship between Pop Culture and "Rape Culture" they can't even be bothered trying. It just is OK. Just accept it. You aren't one of those evil MRAs are you? Rape Apologist!

You want to talk about Rape Culture? Show me a period in human history where society and culture have either not fully developed or have broken down and I will show you a period where some of the most horrific crimes imaginable are frequent and widespread. If anything the existence of society and culture reigns in some of humanities worst instincts. It certainly doesn't cause them and it certainly doesn't endorse them.

"Ladies, the gym is overrun by sexual terrorists."
    "Which gym? Did you call the guards?"
    "I'm not saying. It's not my responsibility to call the guards it's..."

I wonder if there will be a tipping point where this whole "We Live In A Rape Culture" movement is either fully embraced by society and turns into mass hysteria or is abandoned and just runs out of steam.

This is one of the best posts on the thread in my opinion, and sums up so much of what I feel. I think it is quietly running of steam. There are only so many of these pieces you can read, the consent classes are getting quietly dropped... And in Ireland at least we don't have any legal legacy from it as such. They have clarified consent in law which is actually useful, but I'm not sure it arose from this.

I was listening to an excellent podcast called In The Dark, which went into detail about the hysteria around child abuse, and illustrated how things got so extreme in America- but again, that's America.

I think it is the throwaway culture too, probably more than feminism. I think also, that some people entering fashion probably have a certain image of it and are fame hungry, rather than a real love for fabrics, crafts etc. I definitely found that in studying journalism. Some of us really loved words, others loved the idea of the profession and potential fame.
    The worst thing about trying to discuss these issues with someone is that the nature of the subject of rape is inherently sensitive. Some people just can't seem to accept questioning an abrasive view point, as anything other than diminishing the sensitivity of the subject.

I only read the opening paragraph of the article being discussed recently in this thread then glanced through the subheaders/quotes. It was written as drama and was quite over sensational. Not for want of dredging fables, but there is a strong feeling of "Boy who Cries Wolf." There's a whole load of false alarms being directed towards us online. That in itself is diminishing the sensitivity of the subject.

Couldn't agree more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

The problem with the UCD workshops, was people had to give their consent to go to them. I presume it was for men only. Perhaps they should not have been allowed to have to consent to attend. But should have been compelled.