Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers mentioning/promoting products

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

suziki832 wrote: »
    Has anyone messaged grace about which products are ads or anything? I'd love to hear what her response would be but she'd probably go back on snapchat with the crocodile tears and labelling anyone who questions her a bully

I'd imagine I would be blocked if I did. She's so defensive about everything. It's quite immature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Anastasiafaye

I didn't think that was a paid gig at all from her snap chat. The opposite, I thought it was one of the few times she took a break from paid work. Really disappointed about that. I have zero trust left in faces by grace as a blogger or an influencer

I was just thinking the exact same thing as I don't follow her on instagram. The girl is becoming an absolute joke. I used to take her word about every product she spoke about but wouldn't touch anything she mentions now. I didn't even cop on to her until the whole curry's thing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭mad about nuts

suziki832 wrote: »
    Has anyone messaged grace about which products are ads or anything? I'd love to hear what her response would be but she'd probably go back on snapchat with the crocodile tears and labelling anyone who questions her a bully

I have messaged but snapchat says something like faces by grace has to add me as a friend?even though i can see her snaps!
    Its odd...but id love to know too if she has taking anything on board,like i sent a snap saying very nicely that less snaps of the baby...i felt in the days after the whole gossies saga..she was basically using her own baby as a buffer amd had a load of baby snaps up....i felt it was wrong.

I was just thinking the exact same thing as I don't follow her on instagram. The girl is becoming an absolute joke. I used to take her word about every product she spoke about but wouldn't touch anything she mentions now. I didn't even cop on to her until the whole curry's thing!!

Me too..i only have snapchat and facebook so anything on twitter or instagram i dont see....so shouldnt any sponsered or advert content be the same over all media channels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭GradGirl27

I have messaged but snapchat says something like faces by grace has to add me as a friend?even though i can see her snaps!
    Its odd...but id love to know too if she has taking anything on board,like i sent a snap saying very nicely that less snaps of the baby...i felt in the days after the whole gossies saga..she was basically using her own baby as a buffer amd had a load of baby snaps up....i felt it was wrong.

It's not technically classed as 'friends' on snapchat i.e you can 'follow' someone and message them if they have their snaps 'open to everyone' even if they don't 'follow' you back but it doesn't show as 'so and so has to add you as a friend' in order to message them. I follow Grace and she doesn't follow me back but the option to message is there for me (swipe up on one of her snaps to 'chat') so I'm not sure why you can't message her.

For the sake of the topic of this thread though beware about messaging her in regards to asking about her #ad or #spon as the block button is almost always out in force.

GradGirl27 wrote: »
    It's not technically classed as 'friends' on snapchat i.e you can 'follow' someone and message them if they have their snaps 'open to everyone' even if they don't 'follow' you back but it doesn't show as 'so and so has to add you as a friend' in order to message them. I follow Grace and she doesn't follow me back but the option to message is there for me (swipe up on one of her snaps to 'chat') so I'm not sure why you can't message her.

For the sake of the topic of this thread though beware about messaging her in regards to asking about her #ad or #spon as the block button is almost always out in force.

Thanks...i can send her a message but when i sent it a little message goes under it saying something along the lines of her accepting me as a friend before she can read it...
    I have already learned my lesson on the blocking front....eye opener as to what can get you blocked...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 suziki832

Tbh I went off Grace after she set up an instagram account for her baby girl who was only a few weeks old. The child has a right to privacy too and shouldn't be used like that. And not to mention she had the phone in the childs face the whole time from what I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Babyspice13

I didn't think that was a paid gig at all from her snap chat. The opposite, I thought it was one of the few times she took a break from paid work. Really disappointed about that. I have zero trust left in faces by grace as a blogger or an influencer

Her exact words on snapchat were...So last week when me and Ally went swimming, she said 'instead of a coffee, we needed to have a bottomless brunch' so todaaaaay we are doing just that and we're going to le drunch in The Marker Hotel for brunch and a few sneaky cocktails.

Absolutely no mention of being invited. It's another Currys situation. Making it out that her and her friend are treating themselves to brunch when infact it's being sponsored by The Marker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

Her exact words on snapchat were...So last week when me and Ally went swimming, she said 'instead of a coffee, we needed to have a bottomless brunch' so todaaaaay we are doing just that and we're going to le drunch in The Marker Hotel for brunch and a few sneaky cocktails.

Absolutely no mention of being invited. It's another Currys situation. Making it out that her and her friend are treating themselves to brunch when infact it's being sponsored by The Marker

Why does she do that she never learns .. she goes on radio talking about how transparent she is and then does that .. the hotel should be contacted they need to make sure she is transparent too .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

Cria wrote: »
    Why does she do that she never learns .. she goes on radio talking about how transparent she is and then does that .. the hotel should be contacted they need to make sure she is transparent too .

If she's called out she just goes on snapchat crying about bullying. The more often it happens people have to realise its not naivety, she knows exactly what she's doing.

I actually at the time thought she had bought the tv for her mum as that's exactly what she led everyone to believe. Same here and loads of examples before and since. I think i have a major issue with her as she's one of the most vocal about how she always discloses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

The main responsibility lies with the company doing the deal! maybe instead of contacting grace and getting blocked! Contact the marker ;)

Also, you know when they say oh I was givin such and such but was never asked to show it or say if I liked it or not! Sure how are we to know what was said between company and blogger!

GradGirl27 wrote: »

Grace generally has her snaps closed so that's why you can't send any messages - ie she has it set up so only her friends and not her followers can send snaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Shouldn't all discount codes be #ad? I assume the blogger/influencer is getting a cut of the profits when a certain % of the goods are sold so why isn't that considered an ad? Money is exchanging hands there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

This is literally the worst, most lazy piece of #sp snap ever..... Like if I was that company I would be so annoyed. Couldn't even be bothered to get a proper picture like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Ray37

IMO if I had a brand and was looking for 'influencers' to work with I'd be running a mile from Grace. She's almost become a parody of what a blogger is, not being able to put her phone down for one second etc. Any company she works with/promotes I wouldn't go near. I hope they start to see how bad she is at disclosing, because it's going to damage their reputations, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

heyjude88 wrote: »
    This is literally the worst, most lazy piece of #sp snap ever..... Like if I was that company I would be so annoyed. Couldn't even be bothered to get a proper picture like.

Wow I wonder how much they paid for that snap!

Janey that's bad, clearly she doesn't give a toss about creating a decent advert

I thought the exact same thing haha!! Also interesting how she has no mention of #ad on the Bella Baby event she's attending this week, judging by how busy she claims she is I presume she's not going out of the goodness of her own heart. I've really started going off her the past few weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

I wonder is the ring she got made an ad? Just she is making a video for them? Or maybe they asked her because she had a following and she agreed? I know she has money so would be able to afford ring that's why am wondering!!

Does anyone follow the white moose cafe on snap chat? When he puts up #ad is it real or is he just messing? Only started following him recently so not sure!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

It's a sad reflection on the current state of the blogging industry that we literally can't trust any of them anymore and have to question every mention they make.

I don't really follow any bloggers currently, except for one who is a friend of mine, but I have in the past and still check some Instagrams and Facebooks when I'm bored. Everything is an ad, or certainly appears to be one. A blogger's recommendation means nothing anymore.

idunno78 wrote: »
    I wonder is the ring she got made an ad? Just she is making a video for them? Or maybe they asked her because she had a following and she agreed? I know she has money so would be able to afford ring that's why am wondering!!

Does anyone follow the white moose cafe on snap chat? When he puts up #ad is it real or is he just messing? Only started following him recently so not sure!

She literally just put up on snapchat that she's in moores making a video about the ring so I'm presuming it was an ad or she got it for free. So annoying as I genuinely thought she was paying for it herself when she first mentioned it. Doesn't bother me that she gets it for free but she could at least mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Mzo1978

SJ is obviously reading all the comments as she's taking the pissed on her sisters snapchat.

Can I also add why are you following grace if you all dislike her so much. My 15 year old niece follows her she wouldn't be my cup of tea at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭hearmehearye

Mzo1978 wrote: »
    SJ is obviously reading all the comments as she's taking the pissed on her sisters snapchat.

Can I also add why are you following grace if you all dislike her so much. My 15 year old niece follows her she wouldn't be my cup of tea at all

I follow and unfollow her often. Mainly because I'm flabbergasted that someone can actually make a living out of what she does. I check back to see if the content has changed, but no, baby, boyfriend, family, that wee nephew she seems to exploit, taking things out of presses, making fun of her mother, using the feckin nespresso, moaning about her baby belly and having an infinite number of lazy days.

As far as sponsorship and brand association goes, I don't trust her so I don't trust any brand naieve enough to work with her. Its strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

Mzo1978 wrote: »

Ah on her sisters? Is she not brave enough to put it on her own?! Or a canny way to try and get the sis some more followers?!

Not sure why a 15 year old would be still interested in following her considering the amount of snaps about babies and breast milk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 sassychick91

All these bloggers will be forgotten about in 5 years lets face it

As regards Grace, I wish she would do more make up which is what made her popular in the beginning instead of snapping her never ending lazy days with her baby

I loved Just Jordan but after reading some of the comments here I'm kinda shocked...I thought she was one of the more genuine ones. And what is this about her attitude? someone mentioned her attitude is notorious in cork or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

Grace has obviously taken the "over-snapping/sharing" comments on board, she has signed off early two nights in a row now.

As regards Grace, I wish she would do more make up which is what made her popular in the beginning instead of snapping her never ending lazy days with her baby

I loved Just Jordan but after reading some of the comments here I'm kinda shocked...I thought she was one of the more genuine ones. And what is this about her attitude? someone mentioned her attitude is notorious in cork or something?

Well i had sent her a question about products and if they should be tagged as ad or sponsered and i got a snotry reply and then she blocked me...not sure if im allowed to post her message to me here......but then blocked me for a simple question
    And i always enjoyed her snaps...she seemed like a fun person...the fun gorl next door type..but her behaviour has really opened my eyes to it all...it seems all an act!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Mzo1978

Ah on her sisters? Is she not brave enough to put it on her own?! Or a canny way to try and get the sis some more followers?!

Not sure why a 15 year old would be still interested in following her considering the amount of snaps about babies and breast milk!

Originally because of her link to inglot. Is that why u follow her for baby and milk snaps because from reading that's all she does I'm laughing at the comment above "taking things out of presses" is thst for real

Well i had sent her a question about products and if they should be tagged as ad or sponsered and i got a snotry reply and then she blocked me...not sure if im allowed to post her message to me here......but then blocked me for a simple question
    And i always enjoyed her snaps...she seemed like a fun person...the fun gorl next door type..but her behaviour has really opened my eyes to it all...it seems all an act!
    Ah gwan show us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 MattEWES

idunno78 wrote: »
    The main responsibility lies with the company doing the deal! maybe instead of contacting grace and getting blocked! Contact the marker ;)

Also, you know when they say oh I was givin such and such but was never asked to show it or say if I liked it or not! Sure how are we to know what was said between company and blogger!
    I have contacted Miss Fit Skinny tea twice regarding Grace being a Brand Ambassador and they have not responded on either occasion.
    [font=Calibri, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]I asked what is the process for selecting brand ambassadors for the Miss Fit Skinny Tea range? Raised my concerns that FacesByGrace is a brand ambassador for the tea, when she does not even drink it? Surely part of the ambassadorship agreement is a stipulation regarding [font=Calibri, sans-serif]actually [/font]drinking the tea? Grace has a young, vulnerable and often naive fan base. Grace has mad claims like "users can lose 5lbs a week from the tea" - how can she possibly claim this when she has no experience drinking it for over a year. If she was sticking to the drop a dress size challenge then I could possibly understand why she is still involved - but she is not even doing that (yet still shows the group on FB and opens the incorrect menus and pretends she is doing it).[/font]
    [font=Calibri, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]And asked them to explain why someone who has not used their product for over a year, and is not looking to drink it anytime soon (i.e. still breast feeding), and is not doing the challenge recipes makes a good brand ambassador.[/font]