Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scotland vs Ireland, 4th Feb 2017, Murrayfield, 2:25, RTÉ 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

No complaints, only played for 30 minutes. Andy Farrell is doing to be the one with the sleepless nights in Carlton House this week, he has alot to work over the next few months. Rory Best I thought was awful, terrible line outs and was at fault for the third try. Also, I think someone like Donnacha Ryan was missed for his aggression he brings at the break down and his ability in the line out.

Im a big fan of Joe but the basics on defense, line out and at the ruck area was way off, and alot of the accountability of this defeat lies with him. Poor attacking threat too, it was by pure bludgen and nothing else is how we scored. That wont do against England, Wales and France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,555 ✭✭✭✭walshb

You blame the ref if it suits you, it's an excuse, we were awful.

That was the final sentence in my post. We tried, a couple errors cost us points. That's rugby. The ignorant and classless slating those men for their efforts is what I am addressing. Bunch of George Hook posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

awec wrote: »
    Dunbars try was a farce. RTÉ etc will waffle on about sexton and Jackson, Murray and wingers but it's just that, waffle. That game was lost up front.

That's nonsense, especially Jackson who was our best player. We lost that through mental frailty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Time to blood some of the younger guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭kittyeater102

Heaslip giving away that penalty is unforgivable. Scotland offered nothing in the second half. Nothing.Into the Irish 22 with less than 10 to go and we basically hand them 3 points and victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

England, Wales and France will probably beat them with bonus point wins

What does that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Also Murray is the best SH in the world for my money but he does kick a bit too much sometimes. Perhaps it's the gameplan but I've seen him do it for both Munster and Ireland, kicking ball away in the final few minutes when it's not the right option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

This will be a wake up call, we'll win our remaining games but what a waste. Going into a championship as favorites doesn't suit us and there was more than a hint of complacency about that performance. Similar feeling to Wales in the 2011 WC. Credit to Scotland but I don't think we made them work for a single score.

Zebo was biggest disappointment for me and Murray was well below his best. Think Glasgow's tactics a few weeks back played on his mind. One instance in the first half where there was a Scotland player on the blindside of a ruck when he was about to kick and he threw the ball to Kearney who was coming into guard.

noc1980 wrote: »
    Nah, we're going to hear how great Scotland are now. Forgetting the fact they let a 21-5 lead slip. They are awful. Italy will still be targeting them as their best chance of a win.

If they aren't targeting us, that is. Suddenly this trip next week has become daunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Disappointing result but the lack of creativity and pace in our back line shown again.

We have turned into England trying to plod the ball over the gainline. Sean O'Brien was the only forward to try and step around players instead of crashing into them.

This result could be a blessing in disguise.

Need to bring in fresh blood.

Conor Murray was very pedestrian.

Ref should have binned a Scottish player after the amount of penalties but Ire just weren't good enough to take advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,918 ✭✭✭shootermacg

DR to call the lineout. He was missed there and at the breakdown. Toner a bit of a show pony ^ ^. Oh and #JoeOut! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

Championship is gone. We will be lucky to beat the s.hitalians at this rate.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,414 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

duskyjoe wrote: »
    We did.

I meant we didn't deserve to win. Which we didn't. A decent 2nd half doesn't make up for a disgraceful first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Notice Scotland didn't kick any reckless ball away
    How can a do called world class 9 kick away so much ball?
    Kearney was useless in the first half. Ringrose looked lost.
    Lads reputations keeping them in the team.
    How does that win against the all blacks look now? Flash in the pan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

You can't keep kicking away the ball in international rugby

Scotland won't win a GS. Win our remaining games and we're in contention for the championship.

We wont get within a country mile of the English. They'll come to Dublin already champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Also Murray is the best SH in the world for my money but he does kick a bit too much sometimes. Perhaps it's the gameplan but I've seen him do it for both Munster and Ireland, kicking ball away in the final few minutes when it's not the right option.

He probably is, but today was not a good day for him IMO.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

awec wrote: »
    Dunbars try was a farce. RTÉ etc will waffle on about sexton and Jackson, Murray and wingers but it's just that, waffle. That game was lost up front.

That was a joke.

spiralism wrote: »
    We wont get within a country mile of the English. They'll come to Dublin already champions.

The overreactions on here are extreme! England will have a big challenge in Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

And they will pump us raw in front of our own fans and president. Mickey D better get used to walk off the red carpet because that is going to be one muck filled day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Jaysus. Scotland celebrating like they won the Slam. Not the mentality I would like to see if I was a Scottish fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Lost that game in the first half. Best lost his voice when the lineout fell apart and it showed.

Few things contributed to the loss. Scotland were better than expected, we were worse. Lineout was shocking and the backs had a bad day out.

Poite forgot the offside rule.

We worked hard for our scores but gifted 2 to Scotland from virtually nothing.

Gutted now, I still don't rate Scotland.

Their front row is pretty average at all facets of the game. Their bench has less depth than Ireland. But Hogg is just a class above anything Ireland can offer in the back 3 at the moment - Bowe back in the day was class, but he's too old now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Sean Kinsella

walshb wrote: »
    That was the final sentence in my post. We tried, a couple errors cost us points. That's rugby. The ignorant and classless slating those men for their efforts is what I am addressing. Bunch of George Hook posters.

It was consistent errors for much of the match; watch the footage again.

Butchered at least 1 try, probably 2.

Defeat brings criticism, particularly when it was so avoidable and I'm just glad that wasn't Wales or England today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

It took us 40 minutes to match Scotland's intensity. We were more than equal to them in the second half.

Defence needs to be tightened and lineout worked on. These are fixable. The state of the backline is a harder one to manage.

And they will pump us raw in front of our own fans and president. Mickey D better get used to walk off the red carpet because that is going to be one muck filled day

Ah here leave it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Remember Wales 2013 folks. Ireland beat them in Cardiff in Round 1 where for 50-60 minutes Wales were an utter shambles similar to Ireland today. Wales won the title on PD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Serious question marks need to be asked of Farrell. We leaked a lot of soft scores in the autumn too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Peregrine wrote: »
    That was a joke.

It was a shocker to let Dunbar get that try.....as Pope said, Willow Park under 13's would haven't allowed that to happen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 229 ✭✭aled

Each Ireland player should hand their English counterpart their medal on Paddy's weekend before making their holiday plans for june.

Embarrassment, the lot of them.

That is not fair. What is fair is that the strategy of bulldozing your way to a win is a muck strategy. We need to define who we are, our style of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,249 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    You can't keep kicking away the ball in international rugby

Apart from about 5 minutes near the end, we barely kicked the ball at all.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"