Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Will you go? I haven't seen any live match of any description in well over a year. Today is our family day so I won't even get the rugby. The OH is in wiked form, I think I'm gone deaf. The only woman around me not causing me grief is my 2year old.

On another note, I have two very scuttery cows. Dosed with bimecten and closmectin. Sent mother into vet for something to take a dung sample and they sent out sulpha no 2 packets and no dung sample. For the weekend I'm gonna feed hay and observe and if no improvement, just call out vet.

Would I want to consider Zanil for rumen fluke?

Just use a shoulder length glove to take the sample, turn it inside out and tie a knot in it. That's the way I have always done it and seen our vet doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Just use a shoulder length glove to take the sample, turn it inside out and tie a knot in it. That's the way I have always done it and seen our vet doing it.

They're not inclined to test it at all.
    Is it burren vets you use?
    I forgot to mention ''twas second cut silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

naughto wrote: »
    When you hit a certain age you have to go regardless?

Yes but it's more conditions ya have to meet at 21yrs.

They're not inclined to test it at all.
    Is it burren vets you use?
    I forgot to mention ''twas second cut silage.

Ya burren vets, no problem doing it for me.

'Twas said to me alright that they were good that way. It's amazing the different approaches they take.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

_Brian wrote: »
    Wow. Reminds me of the old hamlet cigar ads !!
    https://youtu.be/tiHR11QqIoI

The next one in line isn't bad either....

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I have two very scuttery cows. Dosed with bimecten and closmectin. Sent mother into vet for something to take a dung sample and they sent out sulpha no 2 packets and no dung sample. For the weekend I'm gonna feed hay and observe and if no improvement, just call out vet.

Would I want to consider Zanil for rumen fluke?

See how the Sulpha powders work first. The local vets have local knowledge.

After that, you've used the same worm ingredient twice. If my notes were taken correctly Ivermectin wormers are only effective 62.5% of the time (and they were the best) so resistance is a consideration. The criterion for effectiveness is, I believe, a 95+% kill.
    So perhaps a different wormer might help and if if does then you should consider re-dosing them all.

As regards fluke, a lot depends on time of use of Closamectin relative to housing time.

If those things are sorted then a trial dose of Zanil for Rumen Fluke is sensible enough.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Talking to local woman this morning who is a big GAA supporter. Ón about national league starting and Cavan v. Dublin etc. (she has son that should be on the panel. Was saying that I often see him running the roads, and asked her how she thought the local club would do this year.
    "They'll be as bad as every other year, that's fit sure, that team is like a packet of Woodbine""
    "Huh? How do you mean", I asked
    "They have no feckin players"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Talking to local woman this morning who is a big GAA supporter. Ón about national league starting and Cavan v. Dublin etc. (she has son that should be on the panel. Was saying that I often see him running the roads, and asked her how she thought the local club would do this year.
    "They'll be as bad as every other year, that's fit sure, that team is like a packet of Woodbine""
    "Huh? How do you mean", I asked
    "They have no feckin players"

Just saw the team Dublin named...the first string is back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Very poor rugby match...like WTF.
    neither team played well

greysides wrote: »
    See how the Sulpha powders work first. The local vets have local knowledge.

After that, you've used the same worm ingredient twice. If my notes were taken correctly Ivermectin wormers are only effective 62.5% of the time (and they were the best) so resistance is a consideration. The criterion for effectiveness is, I believe, a 95+% kill.
    So perhaps a different wormer might help and if if does then you should consider re-dosing them all.

As regards fluke, a lot depends on time of use of Closamectin relative to housing time.

If those things are sorted then a trial dose of Zanil for Rumen Fluke is sensible enough.

Thanks for that. I dosed with bimectin after 6 weeks housed. Then I used the cosmectin on the cow about a week after calving which was a week ago just in case the initial dose didn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Bad day for hurling, Hon Ballyea :D

They've way too much for St. Thomas's.

Edit. What a fightback by Thomas's. Great credit to them. The clock just beat them in the end.
    Great entertainment there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

Anyone tell me how much 25 kilo bag calf crunch nuts are in glanbia I'm doing a bit financial planning to see how many calves to buy ???

marathon wrote: »
    Anyone tell me how much 25 kilo bag calf crunch nuts are in glanbia I'm doing a bit financial planning to see how many calves to buy ???

I think something like 9 or 10 euro

They've way too much for St. Thomas's.

Edit. What a fightback by Thomas's. Great credit to them. The clock just beat them in the end.
    Great entertainment there.

Heart attack hurling, took their foot off the gas when they had the lead built up. Looking forward to paddys day now. Some atmosphere in the stand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Reggie. wrote: »
    I think something like 9 or 10 euro

Tell them if they put 5% of the bags they have in your jeep you'll pay 8EUR a bag and they'd be mad not to snap up the opportunity. Tell em you'll do the same for them for a year and a day.

Tell them it's a special "Fixed Price Scheme" to help them cope with volatility. For their convenience, because you care.

And if they look a bit odd about it, tell 'em OK - you'll pay - 8.50 and they can pay back the extra 50c once the weather improves.

kowtow wrote: »
    Tell them if they put 5% of the bags they have in your jeep you'll pay 8EUR a bag and they'd be mad not to snap up the opportunity. Tell em you'll do the same for them for a year and a day.

Tell them it's a special "Fixed Price Scheme" to help them cope with volatility. For their convenience, because you care.

And if they look a bit odd about it, tell 'em OK - you'll pay - 8.50 and they can pay back the extra 50c once the weather improves.

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Reggie. wrote: »
    ?

It's a play on the Fixed Milk Price Scheme from Glanbia Reggie.:)

I.E the shoe is on the other foot now.
    Your the purchaser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

naughto wrote: »
    When you hit a certain age you have to go regardless?

My second cousin is in the same boat as Reggie. He said something about the fact that he didn't bother to try and more up a rank means that he has to leave after 21 years, as he wont be offered a new contract.
    This could be wrong as I was talking to him about it over 2 years ago, and i never thought of army lads being on contracts.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    It's a play on the Fixed Milk Price Scheme from Glanbia Reggie.:)

I.E the shoe is on the other foot now.
    Your the purchaser.

You have me completely lost still

My second cousin is in the same boat as Reggie. He said something about the fact that he didn't bother to try and more up a rank means that he has to leave after 21 years, as he wont be offered a new contract.
    This could be wrong as I was talking to him about it over 2 years ago, and i never thought of army lads being on contracts.

That's it bang on only the conditions are a bit hard to fulfill. It's not only getting to a certain rank I'm afraid. You have to be lucky to get all the conditions filled and even at that stage people get fed up jumping through hoops and leave anyways.

All soldiers are on contracts.
    It's 0 to 5.
    5 to 9
    9 to 12
    12 to 21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was talking to a farmer the other day they got an automatic fail in their Bord Bia inspection as they were using an old dosing container which they had straps and dosing gun set up on. This would be refilled with new dosing when empty. The date on the old container was well up. This was an automatic fail, he tried to plead the case that what was in the container was not out of date.... might have been better if he had removed the label from the container altogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was talking to a farmer the other day they got an automatic fail in their Bord Bia inspection as they were using an old dosing container which they had straps and dosing gun set up on. This would be refilled with new dosing when empty. The date on the old container was well up. This was an automatic fail, he tried to plead the case that what was in the container was not out of date.... might have been better if he had removed the label from the container altogether!

doubt it
    unmarked ... could be anything, I can see the auditor's point

new rules proposed re critical failure, meaning approved status not lost if remedied within 30 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

whelan2 wrote: »

Its a matter of time before an inspector is choked :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

orm0nd wrote: »
    doubt it
    unmarked ... could be anything, I can see the auditor's point

new rules proposed re critical failure, meaning approved status not lost if remedied within 30 days
    I know but the farmer had the container he had poured into it there, anyway its a heads up for the rest of us who do the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Bullocks wrote: »
    I know of a case where an inspector wouldn't believe that the farmer had dosed 130 calves in one day. He said it was impossible. The guy was using pour-on for fecks sake.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Heart attack hurling, took their foot off the gas when they had the lead built up. Looking forward to paddys day now. Some atmosphere in the stand!
    'Hon Ballyea.
    You went LC. Fair play. I only saw the 2nd half. Great hurling for this time of year.

I know of a case where an inspector wouldn't believe that the farmer had dosed 130 calves in one day. He said it was impossible. The guy was using pour-on for fecks sake.:mad:

Its crap like that that would drive me spare , with the right set up you could run that many calves through the crush in 2/3 hrs all going well .
    Why would an inspector even question it ? It would make me think they were trying too hard to catch you on something that wasnt there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

Bullocks wrote: »

I'd imagine that would be an automatic fail.:D

mf240 wrote: »
    I'd imagine that would be an automatic fail.:D

Imagine all the street cred though :D