Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ed Sheeran, am i missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

I think there is something dubious about him. He was in a legal battle recently over suspected plagiarism of a song (that eventually settled in his favour admitedly). And there is a definite air of "copy cat" syndrome with his new song 'Castle on the Hill'. Listen closely and it is basically the same structure as Lukas Graham's massive hit of last year.

His grandparents are from the same part of the world as myself, and there is an almost surreal fascination with him as a result. Me being ever the cynic thinks that he plays the whole 'Irish card' to garner popularity though. I wonder did he mention his family ties when he was busking in London?

Sure "Shape of You" sounds a bit like Sia's "Cheap Thrills"/"The Greatest", especially the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

I Have a couple of female mates, who shared a tonne of crap on FB about her pregnancy, and if you go against the grain and not like her oh your in trouble with these ladies....She has a talented voice imho, and that's about it, her shows are just her jiggling her arse and pyro/fireworks....

I hate the begrudger line -you don't have to like the stuff mainstream media/radios force feed you

My favourite is some of her fanbase immediately call 'RACISM' if you happen to not love every move she makes. Sickening really to trivialise an issue which does often play a role in the media and celeb culture.
    To each their own, I think she's a talented performer but am long sick of the unrelenting praise and adoration!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I Have a couple of female mates, who shared a tonne of crap on FB about her pregnancy, and if you go against the grain and not like her oh your in trouble with these ladies....She has a talented voice imho, and that's about it, her shows are just her jiggling her arse and pyro/fireworks....

I hate the begrudger line -you don't have to like the stuff mainstream media/radios force feed you

Beyonce has a great voice and really does not need the cheap gimmicks at all.

Her voice alone would make her stand out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I think there is something dubious about him. He was in a legal battle recently over suspected plagiarism of a song (that eventually settled in his favour admitedly). And there is a definite air of "copy cat" syndrome with his new song 'Castle on the Hill'. Listen closely and it is basically the same structure as Lukas Graham's massive hit of last year.

His grandparents are from the same part of the world as myself, and there is an almost surreal fascination with him as a result. Me being ever the cynic thinks that he plays the whole 'Irish card' to garner popularity though. I wonder did he mention his family ties when he was busking in London?

That song he sings about breaking his leg at 6 years old chasing his brother is very similar to that JBC song that some fella wrote and sang a few years ago. It's about when he was 5 years old traveling with his dad in his JCB. This sheeren fella seems to like copying other people's songs.

Her arse isn't half bad either :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Her arse isn't half bad either :)

It's a serious tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,173 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He also sits on a crock of gold.

In his castle on the hill :p

It's a serious tool.

She could crack nuts with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

She supposed to be very good live though....i know lads what were made go to her concert years ago

Who would be very cynical,and they begrudingly admitted to enjoying it......cant say the same for ed sheeran though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Sam Kade wrote:
    If that's true the world seriously needs a wake up call.

Why? I mean, there's plenty of music out there that I have no time for, but I would never say those that do listen to it need a wake up call. It's a bit of a ridiculous thing to say really.

I like Ed Sheeran. Generally, pop music would be fairly far down in my list of listened to genres. Ed Sheeran (and P!nk, among a select few others) would be an exception. He really gained my respect with I See Fire. He also doesn't play all teenage love songs. I'm one of the least romantic people out there and I still like his music.

To be honest, the hatred on this thread reminds me of primary school with its level of ridiculousness. Is it cool to hate him now? I'm afraid I'm not up to date with what's "cool" but, on this thread at least, those against him are at the same level of unreasonableness as One Direction teen superfans.

Why his talent and singing voice are being called into question is perplexing. It's like one big school yard game where people try to out do one another by saying how much they dislike him, completely losing track of any reasonableness. I don't even like the guy enough to buy tickets but find some posts on this thread to be silly in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

py2006 wrote: »
    Once you get the teenage girls in you're a winner. Then you have to stick to that formula (even if you don't want to) to be a success and make money.

I noticed some of the local male scumbags around my area were celebrating getting tickets. Strange.

Although I also noticed that the the Swedish House Mafia are also big with degenerates. And they are basically Celine Dion with a Dance beat.

The kids nowadays..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

That song he sings about breaking his leg at 6 years old chasing his brother is very similar to that JBC song that some fella wrote and sang a few years ago. It's about when he was 5 years old traveling with his dad in his JCB. This sheeren fella seems to like copying other people's songs.

From a recent interview

“There are a lot of singer-songwriters around now. I’m not the first but there are more than before. I’m very happy for everyone to be in the same race as me, even if they copy every single thing I’ve done.
    "In a 100m sprint to get a No1 album I just know I’m going to win. I don’t care who’s doing what. I just know I’m going to win. I’m going to make sure I come first.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭DuMorph

awec wrote: »
    Some absolute nonsense posted on here. Average singer and average songwriter? Wise yourself.

Not into all his music but there is no denying he is incredibly talented.

a5b1fa2e840b8b6934d42939d4f7ed6255a9d949072088b1a05be1dcc1f86d0f.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Her auto-tuned voice or her real voice? She is an ok singer. In terms of talent she is nowhere near the likes of Aretha Franklin, Nina Simone, Diana Ross, or even Mariah Carey. Beyonce is 10% talent and 90% hype.

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

In the interest of fairness, I watched the video. Yes, it's gimmicky. Does he do this kind of thing for the whole show? Technically he's reasonably proficient with the looper, well-rehearsed. What is he doing with the looper that wouldn't sound better with a full band of top class musicians? This makes it unprofessional for me. Although clearly he knows his audience.

If I saw some guy down the pub doing this I'd be well impressed for about 10 minutes, after that it gets boring. If I'd paid money to see this (without knowing what to expect) I'd feel cheated.

I think you are largely missing the point of doing it without a band.

Also he came from a busking background. Not sure why he has to turn it into band to be credible.

I like his hobbit song. While I can appreciate his skills, his music is all a bit the same to me. But I don't begrudge him his success. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

Not a big fan of Ed Sheeran, wouldnt go to one of his shows or anything, but definitely can see the attraction.

Fair play to the lad, it's not easy to get your own music heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Great voice. Sure.

Her music though seems a bit sterile to me.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    In his castle on the hill :p

I see the makings of a song for him here, couldn't be any worse than the drivel he writes himself :)

From a recent interview

“There are a lot of singer-songwriters around now. I’m not the first but there are more than before. I’m very happy for everyone to be in the same race as me, even if they copy every single thing I’ve done.
    "In a 100m sprint to get a No1 album I just know I’m going to win. I don’t care who’s doing what. I just know I’m going to win. I’m going to make sure I come first.”

So you reckon the jcb fella copied sheerans song even though the jcb song came out 10 years ago when sheeran was 15 years old and far away from the limelight. Just because he says something in an interview doesn't mean it's true :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ronnie085 wrote: »
    Average singer, average songwriter, go as far as saying he'd struggle to fill the local based on talent (in my opinion) yet he is one of the biggest deals at the moment.

we're living in an age of musical mediocrity

a generation ago the likes of Sheeran wouldn't have got a look in, but now a days with feck all talent about...below average maestros like him are lauded

sup_dude wrote: »
    Why? I mean, there's plenty of music out there that I have no time for, but I would never say those that do listen to it need a wake up call. It's a bit of a ridiculous thing to say really.

I like Ed Sheeran. Generally, pop music would be fairly far down in my list of listened to genres. Ed Sheeran (and P!nk, among a select few others) would be an exception. He really gained my respect with I See Fire. He also doesn't play all teenage love songs. I'm one of the least romantic people out there and I still like his music.

To be honest, the hatred on this thread reminds me of primary school with its level of ridiculousness. Is it cool to hate him now? I'm afraid I'm not up to date with what's "cool" but, on this thread at least, those against him are at the same level of unreasonableness as One Direction teen superfans.

Why his talent and singing voice are being called into question is perplexing. It's like one big school yard game where people try to out do one another by saying how much they dislike him, completely losing track of any reasonableness. I don't even like the guy enough to buy tickets but find some posts on this thread to be silly in the extreme.
    It was a tonuge in cheek comment ;) no need to get your knickers in a twist over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Steve F

mimimcmc wrote: »
    I can't believe he's charging €86 a ticket!! :eek:

It's called "making hay while the Sun shines"
    It's his time at the moment,but he has no idea how long his popularity will last.
    Couple of years down the line he might struggle to sell 200 copies of an album
    By then of course he will be a multi millionaire thanks to the people that paid the 86 euro for a few hours sing song :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Will ye all **** off. He's ginger. He got famous (did I mention he's a ginger?). Women find him attractive (did I mention he's a ginger?!?). He's won the lotto 3 times, just be happy for him. He gives off the "I'm a nice guy vibe pretty well". Probably rapes kittens in his spare time but he does well being interviewed. As a mongrel ginger (Everything's red below my eye line) I for one am proud of one of my melanin deficient comrade. Fight the good fight Ed. Only heard a few of his songs. Not my cup of tea but nice easy listening stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Dylar

fryup wrote: »
    we're living in an age of musical mediocrity

a generation ago the likes of Sheeran wouldn't have got a look in, but now a days with feck all talent about...below average maestros like him are lauded

There's loads of great new music and talented people around!

There's always been crappy pop music around so he probably would have gotten a look in a generation ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 CeeCeeMack

I noticed some of the local male scumbags around my area were celebrating getting tickets. Strange.

Although I also noticed that the the Swedish House Mafia are also big with degenerates. And they are basically Celine Dion with a Dance beat.

The kids nowadays..

Swedish House Mafia broke up years ago. I don't know who you're talking about? ChainSmokers maybe?

Is it because of the Healy Rae comb forward hair style?

What's the problem with ginger hair? I thought it was only idiots in the UK mocked people with ginger hair, seems like there are a few this side of the water as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

What's the problem with ginger hair? I thought it was only idiots in the UK mocked people with ginger hair, seems like there are a few this side of the water as well.

people with ginger hair or no hair get mocked all the time for no real reason or fault of their own.

im not a huge fan of ed he seems an ok guy with a few catchy tunes but hes terribly overrated.

sky88 wrote: »
    people with ginger hair or no hair get mocked all the time for no real reason or fault of their own.

im not a huge fan of ed he seems an ok guy with a few catchy tunes but hes terribly overrated.

I've auburn hair that was more ginger when I was younger and was never mocked because of it. It's a fairly stupid mentality to mock someone with ginger hair and even more so when adults do it.