Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ed Sheeran, am i missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭ttenneb

We live in a world that accepts, even admires mediocrity. In services, quality of goods, and especially popular music. The attraction most of these so-called Singer/musicians enjoy has nothing to do with musical excellence, rather does it centre on physical attributes. We seem to accept any level of competence, particularly in popular music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

sabat wrote: »
    original.jpg

Three of them are called Corey....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

vicwatson wrote: »
    No he's not, his grandmother is Irish

Shush ........

You'll destroy the very reason he's so popular here, like "ah sure he's one of our own" has been claimed on more than one occassion on Irish airwaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,510 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Three of them are called Corey....

Corey Taylor?
    Now there's a singer/songwriter who knows how to put on a show and has mastered his instruments and is part Irish through his granny. The chap has it all and yet barely gets a track on the air?
    Hardly seems fair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I do think that Ed gets more of a craze/trend like following and its very social media driven. Comes across as a decent guy. Good singer but majority of his songs are corny as fúck. In a non social media world he'd be a blip on the landscape at most but due to the abundance of saddos competing with each other on social media, he has become a bigger deal than he actually is.

I can understand women liking him but there is grown men fighting over his tickets......jesus wept
    If that's true the world seriously needs a wake up call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

He is just another example of the awful crap that passes for pop music today.

riclad wrote: »
    theres not many good singers who write songs, play the guitar and
    have a good live singing voice .so fair dues to him.

He has talent .he may not be to everyone,s taste.
    so you judge a singer without listening to one song?
    Yes lady gaga has loads of talent , when was the last time she had a hit.
    She seems to have lost her mojo or the ability to write a good pop song.
    Theres loads of people who can play 3-4 instruments who will be backing singers or who cannnot write a good pop sing.
    Writing a song that is an international hit in europe and the usa is a very special talent.
    Most love songs tend to be a bit corny or cliched .
    i don,t a singer by jsut how many instruments they can play ,madonna
    or elvis dont play any instruments but they still had loads of hits and
    sell millions of records.
    I think he can go on for at least another 10 years as he can sing and write songs ,he is not a one hit wonder.
    And he seems like a nice down to earth bloke .
    But out of those 3 traits he can only manage to play the guitar ;) His songs are crap the same as his singing, in fact he can't even sing and he admitted it himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Looks like a fooking leprechaun to me, but by jaysus he appears to be popular. No interest in him and if anyone of my generation (40s) has, they need to take a serious look at their lives.

Average, mediocre chap, but best of luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭trashcan

dulpit wrote: »
    Can an opinion be wrong though?

Oh God yeah. I come across wrong opinions all the time, especially where music is concerned. Basically, Anyone who disagrees with me:D

As for Sheehan, don't really know his stuff, but at least he plays and writes his own songs, which is to be commended I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

trashcan wrote: »
    Oh God yeah. I come across wrong opinions all the time, especially where music is concerned. Basically, Anyone who disagrees with me:D

As for Sheehan, don't really know his stuff, but at least he plays and writes his own songs, which is to be commended I guess.

Sheehan?

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Looks like a fooking leprechaun to me, but by jaysus he appears to be popular. No interest in him and if anyone of my generation (40s) has, they need to take a serious look at their lives.

Average, mediocre chap, but best of luck to him.

He also sits on a crock of gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Broken Hearted Road

Ha. I was just saying in work that I don't know one of his songs and they wouldn't believe me. I'm 36, did I miss something? Is he only huge in Ireland like Garth Brooks? Living in London till 2015 I didn't hear of him at all till I came home to Dublin.

I think he appeared in an episode of Home and Away. I don't watch the programme but that's what I read. So he must be popular over there in oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Once you get the teenage girls in you're a winner. Then you have to stick to that formula (even if you don't want to) to be a success and make money.

His music generally isn't my cup of tea, the slow songs I've heard by him do nothing for me. I do think "Sing" is a great pop tune though. Plus he seems like a sound lad.
    He's not some musical messiah or anything but there are far worse out there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

A big tool is a serious yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,915 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'd love to see Adele or a male version of her sing Ed Sheeran's songs

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Abril Narrow Sibilant

My problem with him and others like Adele, Beyoncé, Kings of leon, Bruno Mars while they have talent, their latest releases are always on the radio (every station) at least 5 times a day.....and it goes on for a number of months till were sick of the song

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Hans_Memling

I often think this site should be renamed Begrudgery.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

py2006 wrote: »
    Once you get the teenage girls in you're a winner. Then you have to stick to that formula (even if you don't want to) to be a success and make money.

I'm surprised he appeals to that age group though. He's not exactly a pretty boy.

His songs are similar to what a teenage girl would write in a diary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

Don't remember ever hearing one of his songs, didn't know he used a loop pedal. Can't stand loop pedals. They can be a useful tool for practice, but using one as part of a live show is unprofessional and gimmicky imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Muir

Don't remember ever hearing one of his songs, didn't know he used a loop pedal. Can't stand loop pedals. They can be a useful tool for practice, but using one as part of a live show is unprofessional and gimmicky imo.

I posted a youtube video earlier in the thread - Ed Sheeran Multiply Dublin. If you watched even some of the first song on it I don't know how you could see his use of the loop pedal as gimmicky or unprofessional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Dylar

Muir wrote: »
    I posted a youtube video earlier in the thread - Ed Sheeran Multiply Dublin. If you watched even some of the first song on it I don't know how you could see his use of the loop pedal as gimmicky or unprofessional.
    He has at most 4? loops going at once. Not that impressive really. It's as much choreography as anything else, knowing when to start and stop the loop. Aside from that its just playing in time like with any backing track. His 'rapping' is comical.

He appeals to a certain group and seems like a nice fella but he certainly won't be remembered in 20 years time as a musician of any significance.

The screaming at the start of that video is enough to make your ears bleed! :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,918 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Noveight wrote: »
    He's a very, very good songwriter. I saw him in Dublin last time he was around (3ish years ago?) and he puts on an excellent live show. I think he's a good singer as well, not excellent but good. More luck to the lad.

He sounds like a poor mans Tracy Chapman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

Muir wrote:

In the interest of fairness, I watched the video. Yes, it's gimmicky. Does he do this kind of thing for the whole show? Technically he's reasonably proficient with the looper, well-rehearsed. What is he doing with the looper that wouldn't sound better with a full band of top class musicians? This makes it unprofessional for me. Although clearly he knows his audience.

If I saw some guy down the pub doing this I'd be well impressed for about 10 minutes, after that it gets boring. If I'd paid money to see this (without knowing what to expect) I'd feel cheated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

My problem with him and others like Adele, Beyoncé, Kings of leon, Bruno Mars while they have talent, their latest releases are always on the radio (every station) at least 5 times a day.....and it goes on for a number of months till were sick of the song

The main problem with Beyoncé is the cult of personality that has developed and is rammed down our throats - see, for example, her pregnancy announcement.
    NOTE: before anyone accuses me of being a begrudger, I quite enjoy most of her music and would like to see her in concert at some stage. I just think this Messiah image is excessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,223 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I think there is something dubious about him. He was in a legal battle recently over suspected plagiarism of a song (that eventually settled in his favour admitedly). And there is a definite air of "copy cat" syndrome with his new song 'Castle on the Hill'. Listen closely and it is basically the same structure as Lukas Graham's massive hit of last year.

His grandparents are from the same part of the world as myself, and there is an almost surreal fascination with him as a result. Me being ever the cynic thinks that he plays the whole 'Irish card' to garner popularity though. I wonder did he mention his family ties when he was busking in London?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

To me, he's like one rung above an X Factor winner. And kind of like the archetype for the annoying guy at a party who starts banging on acoustic guitar and manages to pick up chicks even though he's brutal.

But he's overcome a lot. It's not easy being born an ugly fat ginger, he played a blinder in that regard in fairness.

The main problem with Beyoncé is the cult of personality that has developed and is rammed down our throats - see, for example, her pregnancy announcement.
    NOTE: before anyone accuses me of being a begrudger, I quite enjoy most of her music and would like to see her in concert at some stage. I just think this Messiah image is excessive.

I Have a couple of female mates, who shared a tonne of crap on FB about her pregnancy, and if you go against the grain and not like her oh your in trouble with these ladies....She has a talented voice imho, and that's about it, her shows are just her jiggling her arse and pyro/fireworks....

I hate the begrudger line -you don't have to like the stuff mainstream media/radios force feed you

I often think this site should be renamed Begrudgery.ie

Why do you think that? Maybe you should check out the meaning of begrudgery.