Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

On reading that first I though you had TBL and a few others in the bath with you:eek:

Great stuff Tang, That's an impressive debut marathon, The best of luck for 2017.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

The Muppet wrote: »
    On reading that first I though you had TBL in the bath with you:eek:

Great stuff Tang, That's an impressive debut marathon, The best of luck for 2017.

Cheers TM, no TbL only likes taking bubble baths with FBOT1, all the best to you in 2017, seriously impressive debut year from you am sure you will improve no end this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

The Muppet wrote: »
    On reading that first I though you had TBL and a few others in the bath with you :eek:

:D:D:D it's not beyond the realms of possibility T!

What are you insinuating..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Want to be a big feckin bath :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Happy new year B here's to some great running in 2017, no injury, loads of pb's :)

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Happy new year B here's to some great running in 2017, no injury, loads of pb's :)

Same to you A, hope 2017 is good to all the Mc's to.

Monday 2.1.17 - 20 mins Recovery
    Tuesday 3.1.17 - 6 miles Easy
    Wednesday 4.1.17 - 13 miles Easy
    Thursday 5.1.17 - Rest
    Friday 6.1.17 - 2E,20mins Hard off 45secs, 2E
    Saturday 7.1.17 - 6 miles Easy
    Sunday 8.1.17 - 7 miles Steady

Nearly 42 miles total for the week with a missed run in there due to a visiting Baby sister who I won't see again for another 6-7 months before returning to Italy.

Monday was recovery in every sense of the word, hangover central but felt better for all of a few hours after it, amshamed to say I was in bed fast asleep by 9.30pm that night!!! Prior to Wednesday's 13 miler I thought this would be a slog as it's a while since I ran that far but no issues at all and sailed through it.

Fridays session was ran at 5k pace, avg for the 20mins was sub 6 minute pace and felt comfortable the recoveries were generous and no doubt helped me. The Easy runs for the week as they should be easy and extremely comfortable for me.

Today's Steady miles is my favourite kind of run, totally in the zone for it and would have tagged on another few miles only I was under time pressure to get back to let Mrs tang1 go to work. Very busy since start of year work wise leaving me feck all time to update here a few times weekly the way I normally like, hoping it may settle down from this week on. That's what happens when you have just 20 AGS to police the entire western half of county Meath!!! Crazy stuff.

I didn't abuse myself overly during the festive period only drinking alcohol on Christmas Day and New Years Day and kept the eating garbage reasonable to but have gained a few pounds and could feel it this week, normally doesn't take long to lose it though thankfully, 13stone 5pounds currently, need to be well the other side of 13 come March 12th.

Monday 9.1.17

6.10 miles Easy@8.46min/mile in 53min 30secs

I normally take Monday as my rest day but am a bit behind the 8 ball this week trying to juggle runs in between mine & the missus' working hours. Very easy and enjoyable miles on an undulating out and back route from home.

Tuesday 10.1.17

9 miles Progression(4 Easy, 3 Steady, 2 MP)

When I seen this on the plan I was only dying to get out and do it, love running steady miles and really felt they stood to me during my last marathon cycle for Rotterdam. Chose a newish enough route for this with a few sneaky little hills thrown in. The Easy stuff was as it says, easy. The steady stuff was great and highly enjoyable, my favourite type of run as I said and the MP miles(7.17, 7.16) felt super easy. So all in all an enjoyable run.

Wednesday 11.1.17

6.10 miles Easy@8.46min/mile in 53min 31secs

Man is was chilly in the Royal county this morning, but still not tights chilly. Same route as Monday and again another easy, enjoyable trot. No niggles to report at this stage which is good news. Need some new shoes so a trip to the Nike store in Blanch may well be on the cards later in the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Good going, B.
    I deduce from the MP miles you have 3:10 in mind?

snailsong wrote: »
    Good going, B.
    I deduce from the MP miles you have 3:10 in mind?

Ssssh, nobody is suppose to know that!!! That's the hope alright at the minute P, we'll see how I go. Can always be adjusted down if needs be, as in slower.

You should be well fit for it, all going well.

tang1 wrote: »
    Ssssh, nobody is suppose to know that!!! That's the hope alright at the minute P, we'll see how I go. Can always be adjusted down if needs be, as in slower.

We can add you know!!!! Get the head down between now and then and no reason in the world you won't achieve your goal although you might want to leave the stilettos and tights at home...:pac:

you might want to leave the stilettos and tights at home...:pac:

I'll pack them just in case TbL makes an appearance...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Tuesday 10.1.17

9 miles Progression(4 Easy, 3 Steady, 2 MP)

When I seen this on the plan I was only dying to get out and do it, love running steady miles and really felt they stood to me during my last marathon cycle for Rotterdam. .

I had the exact same feeling when i seen my Progression run for Wednesday on the plan and i fully agree that i think all the steady paced runs really help in a marathon as the MP then feels so comfortable. I love the alternating paces too!!#greatcoach

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,405 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I'd assume MP is faster than steady pace though? I've read recently where certain coaches don't schedule anything around moderate or intermediate pace. Everything is either easy or hard. I think there is a place for steady running as long as you are not telling yourself it is easy pace.

I follow one guy on strava who runs 20 mins for 5k, 3:30 for the maracthon but is logging 7:50 m/m as a recovery run!

adrian522 wrote: »
    I'd assume MP is faster than steady pace though? I've read recently where certain coaches don't schedule anything around moderate or intermediate pace. Everything is either easy or hard. I think there is a place for steady running as long as you are not telling yourself it is easy pace.

I follow one guy on strava who runs 20 mins for 5k, 3:30 for the maracthon but is logging 7:50 m/m as a recovery run!

Yeah steady pace is 25-30secs slower than MP, circa 7.50min/mile, I found it great for building endurance in my last marathon cycle and was able to hold MP till 22 miles reasonably comfortably in Rotterdam till I fell off a bit, but it being my first marathon I was expecting that. Crazy running recovery at that pace the best marathon runners in the world wouldn't run a recovery that quick I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

adrian522 wrote: »
    I think there is a place for steady running as long as you are not telling yourself it is easy pace.

Agreed, steady running is probably my favourite workout, feel unbelievable when running it and they are hugely important too. To coaches like Lydiard, Canova, Salazer and a ton more, that's their bread and butter run. Gives big bang for your buck without killing yourself. No training plan should be as two dimensional as hard and easy. Most people know that that hard and easy are important, easy runs do get beefed up as very important and rightly so because let's face it, most people run easy too hard. In reality, once someone has got the concept of easy down, all efforts of easy/moderate/hard become equally as important.

Easy helps you recover from hard efforts and has benefits to aerobic fitness

Moderate(Steady-MP) gives you accelarated aerobic benefits with a bit higher recovery cost

Hard(intervals, tempos) gives improved speed endurance, helps you peak but has a very high recovery cost

They are all important parts of training and will all come together to piece together the puzzle. Don't ever run moderate runs and you are missing out on big aerobic gains, don't ever run easy and you are missing out on recovery and general aerobic, don't ever run hard and you are missing out on getting a good peak. The trick is finding a balance in training that incorporates those efforts and both their strengths and weaknesses when it comes to what it gives you and how much it costs. If an effort is really hard today, you go really easy tomorrow, moderate effort today, maybe an easy long run tomorrow. If you aren't doing hard efforts like during base, you can do more moderate efforts etc etc. Hard/easy is a very simplistic way of looking at training in my opinion , great if someone has not quite nailed down the concept of running too hard/not hard enough during workouts or running too hard on easy days but a much better approach in my opinion is benefit/cost. Then you can start to mix it up with efforts and are not neglecting certain parts of training that can help you improve.

Thursday 12.1.17

Rest, after getting my hair done for a date with the Lemon who promised we'd hold hands I was offered some bullish!t excuse that his phone was on the blink. Obviously the promise from his London toyboy was more appealing, he's like a good sailor I suppose, has a bit in every port!!!! Suited anyway, weather was muck.

Friday 13.1.17

2E, 5x4mins@10k pace off 3mins, 2E

Spent morning & early afternoon walking around the shops in Blanch but at least I got myself a new pair of Ballymunners. Set off on a rolling enough route to do this, more conscious on this marathon cycle to stick to rolling, undulating routes as Barcelona has a few bumps in it I believe. This could not have went any better, coasted through the reps with no issues plus plenty more left to give. Made sure to stick to the training paces coach has laid out rather than running these at my hoped 10k pace. Paces as follows:

6.23, 6.23, 6.21, 6.23, 6.21

Had to shorten the cool-down as I had to get back to let herself off to work.

Saturday 14.1.17

14 miles Easy@8.47min/mile in 2hr 2min 59secs

Set off in early afternoon to get this done before Mrs tang1 went to work, body felt good, legs felt good so I felt good, no effects from previous days quicker intervals. Again another rolling route taking in as many hills and short sharp little climbs as I could in the run. Went out overdressed and had to duck by the house at 9 miles to discard my woolly hat, ruined my hair though!!! Took on 250mls of water with half a zero tablet in it at about 9.5 miles and felt the benefit of taking in some fluids, not that I was under any pressure to do so. As comfortable an LSR I have done, hopefully they'll stay this way!!!

Sunday 15.1.17

6.10 miles Easy@8.47min/miles in 53min 37secs

Again out before herself headed for work, again legs were feeling good and felt strong doing this. Nothing more than that really to report.

49.30 miles for the week, now the OCD among you will be pulling your hair out seeing that, but the 0.70 of a mile doesn't bother me. Even topped TbL mileage wise this week, that's a first, obviously feeling the pain after his few days in London.

Monday 16.1.17

6.05 miles Easy@8.48min/miles in 53min 12secs

Like a tin of Ronseal, exactly what it says and no more.

Tuesday 17.1.17

10.75 miles Steady@7.41min/miles in 1hr 22min 36secs

Miscalculated this small bit, should have been only 10 miles but the last .75 will do me no harm. My favourite kind of run and could easily have gone on for another 10 of these.

Wednesday 18.1.17

Rest

Thursday 19.1.17

7 miles Easy@8.46min/mile in 61min 25secs

Another Ronseal run, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Just catching up, all going great delighted for you

Steroo wrote: »
    Just catching up, all going great delighted for you

Cheers Ste, all ticking along nicely thanks. Feeling good at the minute heading for Barcelona, Trim 10 mile this day two weeks will be the big gauge of where I'm at.

Friday 20.1.17

2E, 4x8mins@HMP off 3mins, 2E

The Friday session and one I was looking forward to getting the teeth into when I seen it on the plan this week. As has been the case lately, ran a undulating/rolling route to do this. I would have been guilty in the past of doing most of my sessions on flat enough terrain, nothing really to be learnt from that really, not many totally flat races above 5k in Ireland.

The four repeats could not have went better, in total control doing it and had to rein the pace back on each one when I lost a bit of concentration. Again rigidly sticking to the paces coach has laid out for me( lick ar$e ain't I!!).

Times for repeats were:

6.40, 6.41, 6.44, 6.40

Two miles easy to finish for 10 miles total.

Saturday 21.1.17

6.10 miles Easy@8.47min/miles in 53min 35secs

Spent early morning with the fambily walking/running around the frosty Porchfields in Trim either running downhills after the wee one as she tried to pet every dog in the place or the young lad who was mad to get into a freezing cold Boyne river!!! Photo of glorious castle & said river below. Only had small window, hour max to run so no long run this week after Friday session. All good in the hood on the run.

Sunday 22.1.17

15.10 miles Easy@8.47min/mile in 2hrs 12min 32secs

Out at 10am to get this in, not as cold as morning before and had, I'm ashamed to say company in a Marathontalk podcast for the first time!!! This could well be a weekly thing before Barcelona on my long run, very informative and enjoyable and made the run go in half the time. Very comfortable again and only thing I took as in last week was 250ml of water with half a Zero tab at 10.5 miles. Lovely enjoyable run.

55 miles on the nose for the week and all feeling good thankfully, only difference I have noticed in past few weeks is I'm tired more and want more sleep. For a man that suffered chronically with insomnia for years through other issues, I'm only happy to catch an extra hour or two in the scratcher.

only difference I have noticed in past few weeks is I'm tired more and want more sleep. .

Aha! that'll be old age catching up with you teachers pet! :D

You are the expert on old age I suppose.........

Monday 23.1.17

Rest, and glad of it to be honest with you.

Tuesday 24.1.17

5.10 miles Easy@8.45min/miles in 44min 39secs

Happy to start the week off on a short easy run after work, a definite stretch in the evening thankfully which spells an end to my monotonous mile out and back in Summerhill hopefully. All felt good.

Wednesday 25.1.17

2E, 4x2@MP off 3mins, 2E

The midweek session and it was a lengthy one for me but was mad to try it when i seen it on the plan for the week. It was blowing an absolute maelstrom my way and not that i found the MP pace daunting, i knew it would be that bit tougher in the gale that was blowing. Got the two miles easy done, quick whizz and off into the MP miles. Settled into MP pace more or less straight away and was well sheltered for them, into the 3mins rest and the countryside opened up and i was blown backwards. Next two i turn away from the wind and have it blowing off my right and helping some what, pace feeling an absolute doddle. Three mins rest.

Into 3rd MP section, gliding along as the wind is still off my right, jesus this feels gift i remember thinking. A bit of a rise and into the wind, working a bit harder now but stlll very comfortable all told. 3mins rest into the wind and then into the last MP section and i'm working a little more but still running well within myself, breathing is very stable, no gasping or looking for a breath. Turn left again and the wind is off my right again for last 3/4 of a mile, gliding along again and finish the session out with last 3 mins rest.

MP miles as follows:

7.12 7.08 7.12 7.10 7.10 7.10 7.10 7.11

Two easy to finish and 13.40 miles for session.

Thursday 26.1.17

7 miles Easy@8.46min/mile in 61min 30secs

Legs had zero fatigue in them on this, good or bad thing? Felt like the previous days run had just been a bog standard easy run, i'll take it as a sign the legs are getting stronger and the fitness is improving all the time. Again gale like conditions out but everything feeling in good shape thankfully, even me glute!!!!

How are you feeling about Trim B? The countdown is on, as is the pressure...

No pressure, only another race. All I can do is go out & perform to my best and hope it's good enough. It should be I feel with the training Coach has me doing, I can say I'm quietly confident about a good showing and a PROPER 10 mile PB.

Friday 27.1.17

Rest, enforced, a 20 hour day put an end to my planned 7 miles easy.

Saturday 28.1.17

2E, 8x3mins@10k off 2mins, 2E

Got out mid-afternoon to get this done and knew straight away i was under dressed with just a t-shirt and shorts but plowed on regardless hoping the faster stuff would warm me up. Got the 2 miles easy done and into the 10k stuff, again on a lumpy enough route. Into 10k pace handy enough and found the reps handy going, never under pressure to get through them and warmed up nicely getting them done. Paces as follows for the reps:

6.23 6.23 6.21 6.22 6.23 6.22 6.21 6.20

Last two were the fastest and no extra effort in doing so. 10.50 miles all in for session.

Sunday 29.1.17

16 miles Easy@8.47min/mile in 2hrs 20min 30secs

Again mid afternoon getting out and into the cold rain, tale of the first 13 miles then the last 3!!! Run went swimmingly well for first 13 listening to Marathon Talks latest podcast and an interview with Mike Gratton, 1983 London Marathon winner who's still knocking out sub 90 min Half Marathons at 62, hope for TbL yet so:P:P:P. Tired no end in the last 3 miles if i'm honest and it was only my pure thickness that kept me going to the finish. Its done now and in the bank and that can't be taken away from me. Fridays 20 hour day had an impact no doubt, us public servants work no more 6 hours on a busy day normally!!!

52 miles in 5 days running which isn't bad considering, jaysis 30 miles was a big week not so long ago. Tiredness isn't as bad this week, body adapting no doubt, drop in mileage next week what with Trim 10 mile next Sunday. Well done to all at Raheny today, see my pacer took no ounce of my advice on board:D.

Well done tang.
    You should mention that those 6 hour days have 4 hours of tea breaks:).

Same milage as me this week and I feel the same way. Any sane person would say 52 miles is an awful lot of running. Unfortunately we left sanity behind a long while ago.:)