Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hail To The Chief (Read Mod Warning In OP)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭orubiru

What's the story here? This guy hits a woman at the Women's March.

Would this be considered an assault?

The other women standing around don't seem too bothered about stopping the guy from getting away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,363 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

https://twitter.com/ap/status/823949141894111233

Oh look, for his latest whizz, Kim Don Trump is putting a gag order on the Eviromental Protection Agency and stopping their work.

The man is a despot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Oh look, for his latest whizz, Kim Don Trump is putting a gag order on the Eviromental Protection Agency and stopping their work.

The man is a despot.

ffs. Figures, he's got all those regulations to undo, and can't have the EPA reporting what's being got rid of. I assume the world will find out right around the time there's another Love Canal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Imo setting people on fire isn't idiocy, it's evil. It's a different story for some young kid in school who doesn't know any better. If she was plastered in hairstray or whatever else it could have been extremely serious.

My friends law student son set fire to a guys fancy dress beard in a drunken prank in a night club destroying the other guys career path and causing him months and months of seering pain while simultaneously destroying his own career and immediate family. He's still in prison and rightly so.
    No excuses

infogiver wrote: »
    My friends law student son set fire to a guys fancy dress beard in a drunken prank in a night club destroying the other guys career path and causing him months and months of seering pain while simultaneously destroying his own career and immediate family. He's still in prison and rightly so.
    No excuses

I vaguely remember that case. It wasn't all that long ago, was it? Not more than a couple of years at most.

And since we're all sharing stories of immolation, I've managed to set my own hair on fire more than once. No-one's ever done it for me though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Igotadose wrote: »
    Nope - Alt-Right is way worse than 'SJW.' SJW's mostly annoying. Alt-right's evil and criminal.

So, no, not going to say that AT ALL. Alt-Right's way worse than whatever you think SJW is. Really do we have to point that out to you?

This...

one side support ethnic cleansing... the other are maybe overly sensitive.

Totes equally as bad.

dudara wrote: »
    The local school idiot lit my ponytail on fire once on the school bus. Just for the craic cause he was bored. You get idiots everywhere. I don't tend to read too much into that other than there are people everywhere who shouldn't be left out. Unfortunately, they get attracted to public events and gatherings where they can have an audience.

Right but a BIG component of the opposition to Trump was his attitude towards, and treatment of, women.

Yet, here you have someone at an anti-Trump protest who thinks it's just fine to set a woman's hair on fire.

Sorry, but I am getting the real sense here that they want women to be a protected class right up until they find a woman who disagrees with their political views.

There are loads of examples of this.

When it suits them to focus on identity alone then that's what they focus on. As soon as a member of one of these "marginalized groups" disagrees it goes out the window and they are fair game for abuse.

This...

one side support ethnic cleansing... the other are maybe overly sensitive.

Totes equally as bad.

One ends up falsely equivocating to placate the angry people. It's incorrect, but it's a white lie if only to have an actual conversation.

Bar the real crazies, and they tend to be crazy for a specific point (anti-hunting is the left-wing version of anti-abortion activists in how they go about things), SJWs are at worst rather irritating, unless you want to blame them for immigration, which many do.

The alt-right, mark that they're not the right, they're the extreme ones, are assholes on a variety of subjects, mostly involving harming other people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

orubiru wrote: »
    What's the story here? This guy hits a woman at the Women's March.

Would this be considered an assault?

The other women standing around don't seeand m too bothered about stopping the guy from getting away.

He slunk away quickly enough when he thought she was taking it further
    Probably has a pile of warrants waiting for his attention
    What a hero.

Right but a BIG component of the opposition to Trump was his attitude towards, and treatment of, women.

Yet, here you have someone at an anti-Trump protest who thinks it's just fine to set a woman's hair on fire.

--
    When it suits them to focus on identity alone then that's what they focus on. As soon as a member of one of these "marginalized groups" disagrees it goes out the window and they are fair game for abuse.

True equality is when one can be an absolute fcuking nutcase without "representing" all of one's female, black, Asian, gay fellows as a matter of course. A white male hits someone? It's not a Thing. He's dealt with as an individual idiot. A black male hits someone? Blacks are violent.

The idiot up above needs ..wait, just to be clear here, he set fire to the hair of a woman at an anti-Trump protest and it's ...assumed that he was on the side of the protest, right? As opposed to..maybe..protesting the protest? And setting fire to people. Just to be clear here. Most people don't set fire to their allies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

The man is a despot.

That's depressing :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Il Fascista

Igotadose wrote: »
    Nope - Alt-Right is way worse than 'SJW.' SJW's mostly annoying. Alt-right's evil and criminal.

So, no, not going to say that AT ALL. Alt-Right's way worse than whatever you think SJW is. Really do we have to point that out to you?

What exactly are the crimes of the Alt Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The man is a despot.

That's shocking. Install a climate change denier to run the dept and now stops them reporting their findings. He's simply going to take the shortest of shortcuts to get to where he wants to go and it doesn't matter who or what he destroys in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,088 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Agricola wrote: »
    That's shocking. Install a climate change denier to run the dept and now stops them reporting their findings. He's simply going to take the shortest of shortcuts to get to where he wants to go and it doesn't matter who or what he destroys in the process.

Guess Wikileaks is going to get pretty busy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

In fairness, and I don't like the protesters , I think the hair on fire and the face punch were examples of assholes and not a reflection of most of the liberals out there.

There's a longer version of the hair on fire incident where several protesters are seen apologising over it. They seemed just as pissed off as the Trump supporters about it.

What exactly are the crimes of the Alt Right?

I suggest you go have a look at Stormfront for a starting notion.

The idiot up above needs ..wait, just to be clear here, he set fire to the hair of a woman at an anti-Trump protest and it's ...

Just to clear up something here. The person who lit the hair on fire was another woman, and most certainly with the protesters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,088 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

There is no doubt that some of the people on the protests are little more than thugs.

But the same was true of some of the supporters at Trumps rallies.

The difference is that no one is condoning the behaviour of those protesters, unlike Trump who asked for people to be beaten up and promised to cover any legal bills.

Just to clear up something here. The person who lit the hair on fire was another woman, and most certainly with the protesters.

Okay, gotcha. She's an idiot and a criminal and entirely deserves to be arrested.

I suggest you go have a look at Stormfront for a starting notion.

So being racists on the internet is their crime?

Okay, gotcha. She's an idiot and a criminal and entirely deserves to be arrested.

Yes and as I was saying not really representative of the rest of the protesters.

So being racists on the internet is their crime?

No, it's a symptom of their mode of thinking and what they'll work themselves up to do. And yes, that frame of thought is a legacy of people like the KKK and the Nazis. Do I need to enunciate their crimes? Those notions have been kept stamped down by evil liberals and their strange notions of civil rights and minority protections. Well, those notions are being overturned, and well done to it, says Butters1979 (well, he did earlier). Do you trust them to have developed a sense of human decency in the decades since their ways of thinking were given free reign last time?

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/01/24/trump-ignores-standing-rock-sioux-question-after-dakota-access-order.html
    I suppose that was inevitable.

Yes and as I was saying lot really representative of the rest of the protesters.

Unfortunately, most people won't see that. They'll call out that a woman did something bad at an anti-Trump protest and therefore liberals* are evil and vicious creatures.

These people are idiots, but what can you do.

*Just "liberals". As a whole. At least the alt-right are being picked out specifically rather than "the right" or "conservatives".

No, it's a symptom of their mode of thinking and what they'll work themselves up to do. And yes, that frame of thought is a legacy of people like the KKK and the Nazis. Do I need to enunciate their crimes? Those notions have been kept stamped down by evil liberals and their strange notions of civil rights and minority protections. Well, those notions are being overturned, and well done to it, says Butters1979 (well, he did earlier). Do you trust them to have developed a sense of human decency in the decades since their ways of thinking were given free reign last time?

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/01/24/trump-ignores-standing-rock-sioux-question-after-dakota-access-order.html

That's not what I said. I think you're mixing up perceived injustices with actual rights.

One of the saddest things about the last week for me has been seeing intelligent people become hysterical and meet what they see as a lack of decency in public life with utter indecency themselves. I have found some of the women's march stuff really vulgar and demeaning of women. Also what they're supposed to stand for is the anthesis of this rife obsession with tearing his wife to pieces, his marriage , his child, his appearance.
    Smart people seem to be having their view obscured by idiotic memes and social media fever discussing the gift his wife brought to the Obamas, comparing the Obama marriage to the Trump marriage etc. It's uncovered a really ugly underbelly of modern society. Hardly anyone is actually discussing anything of actual substance in regard to his presidency. I'm being led to despair more for the state of humanity than the inauguration of Trump himself.

If you think about the media we consume, think about the basics of many religions or look at how we learn history then it kind of makes sense.

We are constantly told that it's usually OK for us to do bad things as long as there are good reasons for doing it. It's not OK damage property or to kill but it's fine if "our boys" are bombing the **** out of some far away land.

You are seeing that to a less extreme degree with these protests.

I know folks who would be PISSED OFF if you made fun of a celebrity woman's appearance but who also have no trouble making fun of Trumps appearance.

From there I don't know how much of a leap it would be to shout "stop violence against women" and then find yourself an hour later punching a lady in the mouth because she voted Trump.

I think the SJWs have the good intentions when the arguments are taken at face value. Violence is wrong and people should be allowed to make choices in their lives without an overbearing society or government criminalizing things like same sex marriage or abortion.

It just seems so much worse then when the people who SHOULD objectively stand as the good guys here, the SJWs who are against prejudice and oppression and inequality, end up revealing themselves as terrible, irrational, bullies.

I just feel like I would EXPECT irrational craziness from the Alex Jones', the Breitbart's, the 4Chan's and the Alt-Right's of the world. I think on some level they themselves know they are acting the maggot.

Instead we have Madonna telling us how she has "thought an awful lot about blowing up the White House".

I think both sides need to have their "are we the baddies" moment.

Well the poster I responded to implied they'd committed crimes all ready, which they haven't. It was just hysterical nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

If you think about the media we consume, think about the basics of many religions or look at how we learn history then it kind of makes sense.

We are constantly told that it's usually OK for us to do bad things as long as there are good reasons for doing it. It's not OK damage property or to kill but it's fine if "our boys" are bombing the **** out of some far away land.

You are seeing that to a less extreme degree with these protests.

I know folks who would be PISSED OFF if you made fun of a celebrity woman's appearance but who also have no trouble making fun of Trumps appearance.

From there I don't know how much of a leap it would be to shout "stop violence against women" and then find yourself an hour later punching a lady in the mouth because she voted Trump.

I think the SJWs have the good intentions when the arguments are taken at face value. Violence is wrong and people should be allowed to make choices in their lives without an overbearing society or government criminalizing things like same sex marriage or abortion.

It just seems so much worse then when the people who SHOULD objectively stand as the good guys here, the SJWs who are against prejudice and oppression and inequality, end up revealing themselves as terrible, irrational, bullies.

I just feel like I would EXPECT irrational craziness from the Alex Jones', the Breitbart's, the 4Chan's and the Alt-Right's of the world. I think on some level they themselves know they are acting the maggot.

Instead we have Madonna telling us how she has "thought an awful lot about blowing up the White House".

I think both sides need to have their "are we the baddies" moment.

I think I understand what you are saying but I feel like my problem with the current state of play is not that people are protesting or that people object in a manner not to my taste. I really am starting to fear that one of the greatest threats we are starting to face is complete obfuscation of the real issues in place of hysterical nit picking over misspelled tweets or a wife's momentary facial expression. It is like we are now caught in the grip of some reality TV frenzy and intelligent, educated, capable people are right in there with no objectivity what so ever being themselves everything that they hate. On some level it's almost as if the western world have got the president they deserve, big on tweets and bluster, small on meaningful, coherent content.
    Whether we like it or not the world and the Trump administration are moving on, meetings being held, policies being formulated. Gaze needs to firmly shift back there. Distraction has been the only real product of the last 3 months since the election. People really need to get back to either shutting up and not adding further to the distracting sideshow or start talking about what this new administration are actually doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Well it looks like the Democrats are back to their old tricks of race baiting, grievance culture and blaming white people for everything.

https://www.informationliberation.com/?id=56165

They have learned nothing and it's almost like they had such a great time in the last election, they want Trump for the full 2 terms :)

I think I understand what you are saying but I feel like my problem with the current state of play is not that people are protesting or that people object in a manner not to my taste. I really am starting to fear that one of the greatest threats we are starting to face is complete obfuscation of the real issues in place of hysterical nit picking over misspelled tweets or a wife's momentary facial expression. It is like we are now caught in the grip of some reality TV frenzy and intelligent, educated, capable people are right in there with no objectivity what so ever being themselves everything that they hate. On some level it's almost as if the western world have got the president they deserve, big on tweets and bluster, small on meaningful, coherent content.
    Whether we like it or not the world and the Trump administration are moving on, meetings being held, policies being formulated. Gaze needs to firmly shift back there. Distraction has been the only real product of the last 3 months since the election. People really need to get back to either shutting up and not adding further to the distracting sideshow or start talking about what this new administration are actually doing.

I totally agree but I think we won't see the full impact of this (if there is any impact at all) until the preparation for the next election starts to build up.

Will the Democrats decide to put forward their own version of Trump who is all style and no substance or will both parties go back to supporting actual politicians. They flirted with the idea at least when they focused on Hillary's gender rather than her politics from time to time. Media criticism of "Bernie Bros" would be an example. Maybe they will just go "all in" for 2020. Get Beyonce to run, or something.

The Republicans never wanted Trump as far as I could tell but we have to now wonder if next time they will just back an unqualified loudmouth from the start. It worked this time so why not just go for another reality star? I hear Caitlyn Jenner is a Republican and maybe Kanye could be her VP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

infogiver wrote: »
    He slunk away quickly enough when he thought she was taking it further
    Probably has a pile of warrants waiting for his attention
    What a hero.

http://www.informationliberation.com/?id=56158

His name is Dion Bews and his **** just got real lol.