Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working with Boggers

• Site Banned Posts: 72 ✭✭Mr Whom

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    I work in an office of Dubs.

Tallaght Dubs.

I often feel they'd prefer a Dub instead of me.

But tell us if your "ways" my country friend !

Do you bring your own fried egg sandwiches in a sliced pan wrapper???

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I'm a Dub, working with farmers in a construction environment.. the thing I've noticed most is, they talk about winning the Lotto a lot.

They can also tell you what Shane who lives 2 mile from the Maxol had for his breakfast. and then tell you that Shane is a nosy bastard.

They love ham.

They all build their own houses. Mostly from surplus site materials that they sneak away on trailers.

They all "go to the bog" at some stage throughout the year, it's like Christmas or Easter, it's unavoidable and it's a big thing.

and finally... They all hate Dubs.

My study continues, I shall report back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

A bogger I work with breaks up auld pallets and brings them home for 'da schtove'.

His family have their own plot on the bog too. BTW, turf is counted by the trailer load down the sticks.

pablo128 wrote: »
    There are 3 questions I ask to identify a bogger.
    Q1. Could you drive a mechanically propelled vehicle before the age of 10?

Q2. Do you live within 5km of a handball alley?

Q3. Do you know what a hoggett is?

If you can answer 'yes' to all 3, congratulations. You are a 100% bogger.

What the fock is a handball alley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

It's where you play handball. Handball being the national sport of Ireland. The alley being the court it is played on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

retalivity wrote: »
    I'm a bogger, and work for a large financial institution in D4. Im surrounded by boggers, my whole team are culchies like myself, its great!

Im guessing they couldn't find any qualified jackeens to fill the roles...or boggers are just better.

The Financial Instutions are the cutest of hooors...very early on their (Blackrock College educated) senior management realized that seperating Irish rustics from their money,was a difficult,and highly specialized procedure requiring talents far beyond the ken of Urbanites,wherever they're from.

This may explain your predicament,which probably pays very well,although being based in Dublin 4 may well allow you an avenue of escape ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

longshanks wrote: »
    It's where you play handball. Handball being the national sport of Ireland. The alley being the court it is played on.

You spelled 'tis' wrong at the start.

Back to bogscoil for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

greenflash wrote: »
    You spelled 'tis' wrong at the start.

Back to bogscoil for you

So true, Dubs don't say 'Tis' and Boggers don't says 'yous'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Boggers tend to be fitter.

Yes this is exactly the type of creature I am talking about. Helpful and innocent type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Mr Whom wrote: »
    These wonderful innocent creatures with their odd country ways often carrying a hurley or sod of turf in their weekend bag.

Is that Peat in accounts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,376 ✭✭✭enricoh

xzanti wrote: »
    I'm a Dub, working with farmers in a construction environment.. the thing I've noticed most is, they talk about winning the Lotto a lot.

They can also tell you what Shane who lives 2 mile from the Maxol had for his breakfast. and then tell you that Shane is a nosy bastard.

They love ham.

They all build their own houses. Mostly from surplus site materials that they sneak away on trailers.

They all "go to the bog" at some stage throughout the year, it's like Christmas or Easter, it's unavoidable and it's a big thing.

and finally... They all hate Dubs.

My study continues, I shall report back.

Use to work on sites in Dublin during the tiger - the passats n corrollas would be belching out daysul fumes on a Friday evening loaded with contraband.
    All of them seemed to be permanently building a shed.
    Then they went home at the weekend to do a bit on the farm. And do the silage or the bog, possibly lobster pots too. And throw a gearbox into something.
    The dubs were in the pub at 4.30 on friday. They we on the coke by 10.30.
    They were getting a sub on Monday from the boss for the child maintenance (see coke dealer!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Sound Bite wrote: »
    So true, Dubs don't say 'Tis' and Boggers don't says 'yous'!
    Thankfully most people say neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,351 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Most entertaining thread I've seen on here in a while, very witty posts from both Dubs and culchies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭BlinkingLights

I have to say as someone who has lived abroad the funniest one is when you've someone with a fla(t) Dubli(n) accen(t) laughing at someone from Cork or Belfast with a slight southern lilt or northern drawl but who is 100% intelligible and clear.

There are some extremely strong Dublin accents that I actually struggle to understand - just like to rest of Ireland (and Britian too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

They say "Divil the bit" a lot, despite being under 30. I always find that saying odd coming from a young persons lips. I also find that lads from the country stick to their own kind a lot more than they would townies, its as if they need strength in numbers.

Also they tend to set up house in their mammys and daddys back garden, or definitely somewhere very near to family where they will no doubt pass that on to their grandchildren. Never heard of them moving from country into the city.

They say "Divil the bit" a lot, despite being under 30. I always find that saying odd coming from a young persons lips. I also find that lads from the country stick to their own kind a lot more than they would townies, its as if they need strength in numbers.

Also they tend to set up house in their mammys and daddys back garden, or definitely somewhere very near to family where they will no doubt pass that on to their grandchildren. Never heard of them moving from country into the city.

"Soft day"
    "Hardy day"
    "Cushy day"
    "Footin' turf day"
    "Hacky day"

etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

The house thing really is a contrast to Dublin city dwellers, where in the country property is handed down from parent to child, compared to the much more civilised way the dubs do it.. They burn down the house with the parents inside when they die (and sometimes even before that). It's a tradition the travelling community picked up from. Them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Tefral

I have worked with several firms who said they wouldnt hire "Dublin Eegits" as they were too soft and "Wouldnt work to warm themselves". I find that true of nearly all townies.

We had to hire a load of Dublin Electricians to finish a job in Dublin and the amount of complaining they do is unreal. The rest of us keep the heads down and plough on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Tefral wrote: »
    I have worked with several firms who said they wouldnt hire "Dublin Eegits" as they were too soft and "Wouldnt work to warm themselves". I find that true of nearly all townies.

We had to hire a load of Dublin Electricians to finish a job in Dublin and the amount of complaining they do is unreal. The rest of us keep the heads down and plough on.

Ah here that's absolute crap. I work with a few lads from the country and they are the sneakiest work-shy bunch of awl-fellas-trapped-in-young-bodies you could ever be unlucky enough to work with. They lick up to management, they climb the ladder despite having no skills and they fins ways to hide in the office to stop being asked to do a tap of work, all under the guise of being a cute hoor or a "character". Its bull to say townies complain and do no work.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,384 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I'm from Dublin and I've worked with some culchies who were worse than useless. That said, I've also worked with some Dubs who were worse than useless. And dare I say it for fear of being called a racist, I've worked with foreigners who were worse than useless. If someone is sh*te at their job, they're sh*te at their job. Where they're from has no bearing on it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

Country people are big for gossiping, especially the women, I can't be doing with it, I am a country boy but am not like the rest. I could never imagine marrying an Irish country person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Country people are big for gossiping, especially the women, I can't be doing with it, I am a country boy but am not like the rest. I could never imagine marrying an Irish country person.

I thought boggers were mad for cailins with a few acres with road frontage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

I worked on a large site in Dublin in the last year and about 30% of the workforce were split Dubs and the rest of the country.
    The other 70% odd were non Irish

Surprised no one has used the term "muldoons" yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

pablo128 wrote: »
    There are 3 questions I ask to identify a bogger.
    Q1. Could you drive a mechanically propelled vehicle before the age of 10?

Q2. Do you live within 5km of a handball alley?

Q3. Do you know what a hoggett is?

If you can answer 'yes' to all 3, congratulations. You are a 100% bogger.

Q1: I once sat on my Dad kneee on Dollymount Strand and he let me steer the car? Does that count?

Q2: No. But I know that Fingallians in Swords have one and that is about 5 or 6 miles away.

Q2: Christ no. WTF is is? I know what a suckler is though. (I think.) Does that count?

How'd I do? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Mouseslayer17

Culchies are on the whole sound enough to work with,but their attitude to money and women baffles.
    And the obsession with owning property is odd too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

enricoh wrote: »
    The dubs were in the pub at 4.30 on friday. They we on the coke by 10.30.

I laughed at this, I'm neither a bogger (technically speaking) nor a Dub.
    In my experience it's the exact opposite, I work with both. What I have noticed at staff parties is that the authentic, born on a farm "boggers" are the best banter for the session, they always think theres going to be a lock in, you get about 10 free shots of Jager bombs and everything ends in a sing song. My experience of the Dub's at the same parties would be; complaining about the jacks, complaining about the pints, complaining about the music, complaining about the carpet.. complaining about each other, everything's an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,351 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

222233 wrote: »
    I laughed at this, I'm neither a bogger (technically speaking) nor a Dub.
    In my experience it's the exact opposite, I work with both. What I have noticed at staff parties is that the authentic, born on a farm "boggers" are the best banter for the session, they always think theres going to be a lock in, you get about 10 free shots of Jager bombs and everything ends in a sing song. My experience of the Dub's at the same parties would be; complaining about the jacks, complaining about the pints, complaining about the music, complaining about the carpet.. complaining about each other, everything's an issue.

If you weren't born in Dublin city you're a bogger, it's ok learn to embrace it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

If you weren't born in Dublin city you're a bogger, it's ok learn to embrace it.

I feel like the term "bogger" has to relate to someone who lives in close proximity to a bog, but I feel more at ease in that bracket anyway.